DETAILED ACTION
Claims Filed: 03-07-2025
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/07/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the 03/07/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 recites “…..before fabricating the housing”, which is vague
and requires clarification, which is mentioned once in para 4 of the Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, 13-14, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US Publication) 20220014842 A1 in view of Pavlov (US Publication) 20200100021 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Shen teaches comprising: a front end configured to mount a speaker cone (Fig 3 [120], yoke, para 48) coupled to a speaker driver (In Fig 3, the speaker driver has a diaphragm, where the front side projects sound away from the casing, see para 8. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the front/back end are defined positionally by the speaker driver as the upper/lower portions, see para 8. Also shown, the voice coil [126] of the speaker drive, mounted on the diaphragm (dome [110] and outer membrane [112]) is defined, para 48);
one or more side walls, wherein the one or more side walls define a cavity surrounding the speaker driver (In Fig 3, the resonance chamber [116] is formed by portions of the lower casing [104], interior casing [136], wall [134], and portions of the speaker drive, specifically the yoke [120]. Similarly, resonance chamber [118] is formed by portions of upper casing [102], lower casing [104], wall [134], and interior casing [136]. See para 51);
and a back end (in Fig 3, the back side of the diaphragm side projects sound into both the first & second resonance (cavity) chamber, see para 8), wherein:
one or more resonators are attached to a portion of the back end or the one or more side walls (In Fig 3, the second vent [106/108] couples with second resonance [118] chamber and creates a second pathway from their respective chambers to the exterior casing, respectively, see para 8), and the one or more resonators and the cavity combine to form an acoustic cavity that encloses a volume of air (Resonance chamber [116] has a space behind the dome [110], which is cavity [128], see para 51. The resonance chambers [116/118] and vents [106/108] are based on the Helmholtz resonator, see para 40).
Shen does not explicitly teach an enclosure for a speaker
Pavlov discloses an enclosure (Fig 1 [1], acoustic enclosure, para 62) for a speaker (In Fig 1, the acoustic enclosure is for a loudspeaker, para 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of an enclosure for a speaker as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to have an acoustic chamber damped with plural resonant chambers. In para 5, in Pavlov.
Regarding claim 2, Shen teaches wherein: a first resonator (Fig 3 [116], para 48) of the one or more resonators has a first resonance frequency within a first frequency range (The chamber [116] can be tuned for sub bass, bass, midrange, and etc; see para 46); a second resonator of the one or more resonators has a second resonance frequency within the first frequency range (The chamber [118] can be tuned to the same ranges as chamber [116]; see para 46); and the first resonance frequency differs from the second resonance frequency (Both resonance chambers can be tuned to improve performance; specifically, one resonance chamber is tuned such that its resonant frequency is in the lower end of a range than the other resonance chamber, see para 46).
Regarding claim 5, Shen teaches wherein the one or more resonators includes at least one Helmholtz resonator (The resonance chambers [116/118] and vents [106/108] are based on the Helmholtz resonator, see para 40).
Regarding claim 6, Shen teaches wherein the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48) include: a first Helmholtz resonator (Fig 3 [118], resonance chamber, para 48) including a first cavity having a first volume, and a first port (Fig 6, 7 [106], para 36,37) having a first sectional area and a first length (the resonance chambers [116, 118] can be tuned to the same but also opposite frequencies, para 46. In Fig 10, the first chamber [118], the area can shift from about 9200 mm^(3) [1002] down to 2300 mm^(3) [1008] (para 43); and in Fig 11, the second chamber [116], the area can shift 2650 mm [1102] to 660 mm [1108] (para 44). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the volume with each chamber is affected by the size & shape of the opening (or vent in this example), [para 40];
and a second Helmholtz resonator (Fig 3 [116], acoustic chamber, para 48) including a second cavity having a second volume, and a second (Fig 8,9 [108], para 38,39) port having the first sectional area and the first length (Note: In Fig 7 [vent 108], the length of the vent is about 15mm to 40mm (or 26mm to 33mm) [para 37]and in Fig 9 [vent 106], the length of the vent is about 2mm to 15mm (or 7.5mm to 10mm) [para 39]. The second chamber [116], the area can shift 2650 mm [1102] to 660 mm [1108] (para 44); wherein the frequencies range from 400 Hz to 700 Hz (or 3.5 kHz to 5.5 kHz). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that though the lengths of the vents are from different ranges, the value outside these ranges can be implemented [para 37, 39]. So, the length of the vent, or port, may be the same).
Shen does not explicitly teach A port and a first length
Pavlov discloses A port and a first length (In Fig 4A-C, the Helmholtz resonator [41c, 42c] can be configured by different aspects to produce different frequencies but when combined can dampen the frequency response, see para 86. But the ducts or necks can have either identical or different dimensions, para 83).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of A port and a first length as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve perceived sound quality compared to previous enclosures and/or devices. In para 47, in Pavlov. (Note:Shen demonstrates that holding one such parameter fixed while varying the other predictability shifts resonant frequency. Pavlov discloses the Helmholtz resonator pairs where the chamber’s volume and duct’s length can each be an independent variable. A person of ordinary skill of the art would recognize the combination of Shen’s identifying parameter method with Pavlov’s resonator structure was obvious to try to meet the limitation of “same port, different volume”. The results would lead to a predictable outcome by the application of a known tuning technique [Shen] to a known resonator-pair structure [Pavlov].
Regarding claim 7, Shen teaches wherein the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48) include:
a first Helmholtz resonator (Fig 3 [118], resonance chamber, para 48) including a first cavity having a first volume and a first (Fig 6, 7 [106], para 36,37) port having a first sectional area and a first length (the resonance chambers [116, 118] can be tuned to the same but also opposite frequencies, para 46. In Fig 10, the first chamber [118], the area can shift from about 9200 mm^(3) [1002] down to 2300 mm^(3) [1008] (para 43); and in Fig 11, the second chamber [116], the area can shift 2650 mm [1102] to 660 mm [1108] (para 44). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the volume with each chamber is affected by the size & shape of the opening (or vent in this example), [para 40];
and a second Helmholtz resonator (Fig 3 [116], resonance chamber, para 48) including a second cavity having the first volume and a second (Fig 8,9 [108], para 38,39) having a second sectional area and a second length Note: In Fig 7 [vent 108], the length of the vent is about 15mm to 40mm (or 26mm to 33mm) [para 37]and in Fig 9 [vent 106], the length of the vent is about 2mm to 15mm (or 7.5mm to 10mm) [para 39]. The first chamber [118], the area can shift from about 9200 mm^(3) [1002] down to 2300 mm^(3) [1008] (para 43); wherein the frequencies range from 500 Hz to 2 kHz or more [para 9]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that though the lengths of the vents are from different ranges, the value outside these ranges can be implemented [para 37, 39]. So, by adjusting the length and area of the vent, or port, the volume of the resonance chamber may be the same).
Shen does not explicitly teach A port and a length
Pavlov discloses A port and a first length (In Fig 4A-C, the Helmholtz resonator [41c, 42c] can be configured by different aspects to produce different frequencies but when combined can dampen the frequency response, see para 86. But the ducts or necks can have either identical or different dimensions, para 83).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of A port and a first length as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve perceived sound quality compared to previous enclosures and/or devices. In para 47, in Pavlov. (Note: Shen demonstrates that holding one such parameter fixed while varying the other predictability shifts resonant frequency. Pavlov discloses the Helmholtz resonator pairs where the chamber’s volume and duct’s length can each be an independent variable. A person of ordinary skill of the art would recognize the combination of Shen’s identifying parameter method with Pavlov’s resonator structure was obvious to try to meet the limitation of “same port, different volume”. The results would lead to a predictable outcome by the application of a known tuning technique [Shen] to a known resonator-pair structure [Pavlov].
Regarding claim 9, Shen teaches comprising: a speaker driver (in Fig 3, comprises of the yoke [120], magnet [122], washer [124], and voice coil [126], see para 48) including a cone (Fig 3 [120], yoke, para 48), a pole (Fig 3 [124], washer, its coupled to the magnet [122] and part of the magnet system that make up the pole, para 48), and a magnet system (In Fig 3, comprises of the magnet [122] and the washer [124], see para 48);
wherein the speaker driver and surrounding the speaker driver (The resonance chambers [116, 118] surround portions of the speaker driver, see para 51);
and one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48), coupled to a portion of the housing, wherein the one or more resonators and the cavity combine to form an acoustic cavity that encloses a volume of air (Resonance chamber [116] has a space behind the dome [110], which is cavity [128], see para 51. The resonance chambers [116/118] and vents [106/108] are based on the Helmholtz resonator, see para 40)
Shen does not explicitly teach a speaker a housing, the housing define a cavity.
Pavlov discloses a speaker (In Fig 1, the acoustic enclosure is for a loudspeaker, para 62) a housing (Fig 1 [2], housing, para 64), the housing define a cavity (The housing around the transducer defines a acoustic chamber [18], see para 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a speaker a housing, the housing define a cavity as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve perceived sound quality compared to previous enclosures and/or devices. In para 47, in Pavlov.
Regarding claim 10, Shen teaches wherein: a first resonator (Fig 3 [116], para 48) of the one or more resonators has a first resonance frequency within a first frequency range (The chamber [116] can be tuned for sub bass, bass, midrange, and etc; see para 46); a second resonator of the one or more resonators has a second resonance frequency within the first frequency range (The chamber [118] can be tuned to the same ranges as chamber [116]; see para 46); and the first resonance frequency differs from the second resonance frequency (Both resonance chambers can be tuned to improve performance; specifically, one resonance chamber is tuned such that its resonant frequency is in the lower end of a range than the other resonance chamber, see para 46).
Regarding claim 13, Shen teaches a wherein: the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48) are included in to a back end (in Fig 3, the back side of the diaphragm side projects sound into both the first & second resonance (cavity) chamber, see para 8) of the housing.
Shen does not explicitly teach a separate housing; and the separate housing includes an interface connecting the separate housing.
Pavlov discloses a separate housing (Fig 1 [2], housing, para 64); and the separate housing includes an interface connecting the separate housing (In Fig 7, there are multiple housing [71] sections are part of the enclosure [70], via side-branch resonators [73a-b], see para 93).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a separate housing; and the separate housing includes an interface connecting the separate housing as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve perceived sound quality compared to previous enclosures and/or devices. In para 47, in Pavlov.
Regarding claim 14, Shen teaches wherein: the magnet system (In Fig 3, comprises of the magnet [122] and the washer [124], see para 48) and one or more side walls (Fig 3 [136], interior casting, para 48. Note: a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize between Fig 3 & Fig 4, the interior casting acts as the side wall between the first and second resonance chambers) of ;
and a first resonator (Fig 3 [116], resonance chamber, para 48) of the one or more resonators is positioned on the one or more side walls along the volume (based on Fig 3 & 4, the resonance chamber [116] is annular and positioned near the speaker driver, which houses the the magnet [122]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the obviousness of both resonance chamber is coupled to the speaker driver and part of the interior casting [136], or side wall, see para 48) included in the cavity.
Shen does not explicitly teach the housing define an acoustic volume.
Pavlov discloses the housing (Fig 1 [2], housing, para 63) define an acoustic volume (Fig 1 [18] acoustic chamber, para 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of the housing define an acoustic volume as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve perceived sound quality compared to previous enclosures and/or devices. In para 47, in Pavlov.
Regarding claim 15, Shen teaches a method comprising: the housing including a front end, one or more side walls (In Fig 3 & 14 [different view, para 56], the resonance chamber are divided by combination of the Wall [134] and interior casting [136], para 48, 51), and a back end (In the audio system, the speaker driver has a diaphragm [or dome Fig 3 (110)] that projects sounds away from the casting [front side] and into the resonance chambers [back side], see para 8.);
adding a speaker driver to the housing, wherein the speaker driver and surrounding the speaker driver (In Fig 3 & 14, there is a speaker driver within the resonance chamber [116], which is resonance chamber [118] is disposed around chamber [116], see para 48. Also, defined around different portions of the speaker driver, see para 51);
and coupling one or more resonators to the back end or the one or more side walls of the housing (Resonance chamber [116] has a space behind the dome [110], which is cavity [128], see para 51. The resonance chambers [116/118] and vents [106/108] are based on the Helmholtz resonator, see para 40),
wherein the one or more resonators and the cavity combine to form an acoustic cavity that encloses a volume of air (Resonance chamber [116] has a space behind the dome [110], which is cavity [128], see para 51. The resonance chambers [116/118] and vents [106/108] are based on the Helmholtz resonator, see para 40).
Shen does not explicitly teach fabricating a housing for a loudspeaker device, housing define a cavity.
Pavlov discloses fabricating a housing (the attachable side-branch resonator, more than two side-branch resonators may be acoustically coupled (optionally) to the acoustic chamber [78], para 95) for a loudspeaker device (Fig 1 [10], loudspeaker module, para 62), housing (Fig 1 [2], housing, para 64) define a cavity (Fig 1 [18], acoustic chamber, para 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of fabricating a housing for a loudspeaker device, housing define a cavity as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve perceived sound quality compared to previous enclosures and/or devices. In para 47, in Pavlov.
Regarding claim 16, Shen teaches wherein the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48) are coupled to the back end or the one or more side walls of (In Fig 3, and in further view of Fig 13, both the resonance chambers are positioned on the back side of the speaker driver [para 48], which is divider between the front/back end [para 8]. Also, they are coupled to the wall [134], which is coupled to the interior casting [136], forming the side wall, see para 48, 51)
Shen does not explicitly teach the housing before fabricating the housing.
Pavlov discloses the housing (Fig 1 [2], housing, para 63) before fabricating the housing (For the purpose of this examination, this fabrication aspect is interpreted as attachable side-branch resonator that can be optionally added to the main enclosure, see para 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of the housing before fabricating the housing as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve perceived sound quality compared to previous enclosures and/or devices. In para 47, in Pavlov.
Regarding claim 17, Shen teaches wherein: the one or more resonators include a plurality of resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48);
a first resonator of the plurality of resonators is coupled to the back end (in Fig 3, the back side of the diaphragm side projects sound into both the first & second resonance (cavity) chamber, see para 8. The first resonance chamber [116] is coupled to the Wall [134], which is annular, that is coupled to the lower casting [104], interior casting [136], and speaker driver, para 51);
and a second resonator (Fig 3 [118], resonance chambers, para 48) of the plurality of resonators is coupled to the one or more side walls (In Fig 3, the second vent [106] couples with second resonance [118] chamber, see para 8. Couples to the same wall [134] similar to the first resonance chamber, see para 51).
Shen does not explicitly teach of the housing.
Pavlov discloses of the housing (Fig 1 [2], housing, para 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of of the housing as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve perceived sound quality compared to previous enclosures and/or devices. In para 47, in Pavlov.
Regarding claim 18, Shen teaches wherein the one or more resonators includes at least one Helmholtz resonator (The resonance chambers [116/118] and vents [106/108] are based on the Helmholtz resonator, see para 40).
Regarding claim 19, Shen teaches wherein coupling the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48) to the back end or the one or more side walls (Fig 3 [134], wall, para 51);
Shen does not explicitly teach further comprising: upon fabricating the housing, fabricating one or more ports along at least one wall of the housing or along the back end of the housing, of the housing comprises connecting each of the one or more resonators to a respective one of the one or more ports.
Pavlov discloses further comprising: upon fabricating the housing (the attachable side-branch resonator, more than two side-branch resonators may be acoustically coupled (optionally) to the acoustic chamber [78], para 95), fabricating one or more ports along at least one wall of the housing or along the back end of the housing, of the housing comprises connecting each of the one or more resonators to a respective one of the one or more ports (The side branch resonators [74a-b]) and their respective necks [75a-b] are coupled to the acoustic chamber [78], para 93-94).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of further comprising: upon fabricating the housing, fabricating one or more ports along at least one wall of the housing or along the back end of the housing, of the housing comprises connecting each of the one or more resonators to a respective one of the one or more ports as taught by Pavlov in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to extend the frequency response of the acoustic chamber by damping the first frequency and the second frequency. In para 94, in Pavlov.
Claim 3-4, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US Publication) 20220014842 A1 in view of Pavlov (US Publication) 20200100021 A1, in further view of Goossens (US Publication) 20160165335 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Shen teaches wherein the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48)
Shen does not explicitly teach reduce a fluctuation in a frequency response of the speaker
Goossens discloses reduce a fluctuation in a frequency response of the speaker (In Fig 1, the port [110] connects the first [70] and second [100] cavities together making a Helmholtz resonator [para 65] and the resonator connected to the loudspeaker reduces the peak in the frequency response at the fundamental resonance [para 66])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of reduce a fluctuation in a frequency response of the speaker as taught by Goossens in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve the quality of the sound produced by the loudspeaker. In para 16, in Goossens.
Regarding claim 4, Shen teaches the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48)
Shen does not explicitly teach wherein: the fluctuation occurs within a first frequency range; and a first resonator of has a first resonance frequency within a second frequency range; and the second frequency range falls within the first frequency range
Goossens discloses wherein: the fluctuation occurs within a first frequency range (in Fig 2, the frequency peaks twice, when the resonator is not there and when it is undamped; for undamped the system has a reduced peak that shifts to a lower frequency [para 69]; and a first resonator of the has a first resonance frequency within a second frequency range (Based on Fig 2, both curves mirror before shifting away from each other due to the presence of the resonator system); and the second frequency range falls within the first frequency range (in Fig 2, when the “damped” resonator is applied, the peaks shortens and the bandwidth enlarges with a flat top, which shows a more constant response, see para 69. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the obviousness that the Helmholtz Resonator can smooth the frequency response of a speaker; which reduces the peak of the resonance but also tune the frequency within one of the specific ranges [para 20] (Note: the resonance frequency can be tuned several times due to the Helmholtz resonator, whether 0.5 to 4 times or 1.5 to 2 times, see para 66)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein: the fluctuation occurs within a first frequency range; and a first resonator of has a first resonance frequency within a second frequency range; and the second frequency range falls within the first frequency range as taught by Goossens in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve the quality of the sound produced by the loudspeaker. In para 16, in Goossens.
Regarding claim 11, Shen teaches wherein the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48)
Shen does not explicitly teach reduce a fluctuation in a frequency response of the speaker
Goossens discloses reduce a fluctuation in a frequency response of the speaker (In Fig 1, the port [110] connects the first [70] and second [100] cavities together making a Helmholtz resonator [para 65] and the resonator connected to the loudspeaker reduces the peak in the frequency response at the fundamental resonance [para 66])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of reduce a fluctuation in a frequency response of the speaker as taught by Goossens in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve the quality of the sound produced by the loudspeaker. In para 16, in Goossens.
Regarding claim 12, Shen teaches the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48)
Shen does not explicitly teach wherein: the fluctuation occurs within a first frequency range; and a first resonator of has a first resonance frequency within a second frequency range; and the second frequency range falls within the first frequency range
Goossens discloses wherein: the fluctuation occurs within a first frequency range (in Fig 2, the frequency peaks twice, when the resonator is not there and when it is undamped; for undamped the system has a reduced peak that shifts to a lower frequency [para 69]; and a first resonator of the has a first resonance frequency within a second frequency range (Based on Fig 2, both curves mirror before shifting away from each other due to the presence of the resonator system); and the second frequency range falls within the first frequency range (in Fig 2, when the “damped” resonator is applied, the peaks shortens and the bandwidth enlarges with a flat top, which shows a more constant response, see para 69. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the obviousness that the Helmholtz Resonator can smooth the frequency response of a speaker; which reduces the peak of the resonance but also tune the frequency within one of the specific ranges [para 20] (Note: the resonance frequency can be tuned several times due to the Helmholtz resonator, whether 0.5 to 4 times or 1.5 to 2 times, see para 66)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein: the fluctuation occurs within a first frequency range; and a first resonator of has a first resonance frequency within a second frequency range; and the second frequency range falls within the first frequency range as taught by Goossens in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve the quality of the sound produced by the loudspeaker. In para 16, in Goossens.
Claim 8, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US Publication) 20220014842 A1 in view of Pavlov (US Publication) 20200100021 A1, in further view of Zhao (US Patent) 12069426 B1.
Regarding claim 8, Shen teaches wherein the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48).
Shen does not explicitly teach form an acoustic metamaterial capable of absorbing soundwaves.
Zhou discloses form an acoustic metamaterial capable of absorbing soundwaves (Based on Fig 1C, the acoustic impedance of the metamaterial is tunable by tuning the resonances of the resonators it’s composed of, where it parallels with the other medium, dimensions of the resonant structure. As a result the sound will be absorbed at the interface, see Col 13 L65-67, Col 14 L1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the one or more resonators form an acoustic metamaterial capable of absorbing soundwaves as taught by Zhou in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to absorb sound waves over different frequencies. In Col 14 L15-17, in Zhou.
Regarding claim 20, Shen teaches forming, from the one or more resonators (Fig 3 [116, 118], resonance chambers, para 48).
Shen does not explicitly teach form an acoustic metamaterial capable of absorbing soundwaves.
Zhou discloses form an acoustic metamaterial capable of absorbing soundwaves (Based on Fig 1C, the acoustic impedance of the metamaterial is tunable by tuning the resonances of the resonators it’s composed of, where it parallels with the other medium, dimensions of the resonant structure. As a result the sound will be absorbed at the interface, see Col 13 L65-67, Col 14 L1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the one or more resonators form an acoustic metamaterial capable of absorbing soundwaves as taught by Zhou in Shen’s invention. The motivation would have been to absorb sound waves over different frequencies. In Col 14 L15-17, in Zhou.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Grazian (US Publication) 20190082252 A1 – identifies front/back end with attachable resonators branches
/MARCUS A BARBOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692