DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “adaptive suspension device configured to suspense”. This appears to be a typographical error and should state ““adaptive suspension device configured to suspend .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding the above claims, the phrase "particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For example, the claim 1 recites “a membrane, particularly an elastic membrane”. It is not clear if the claim requires an elastic membrane or this is an optional feature. For purposes of examination, it will be considered an optional feature. It is suggested that the term “particularly” be removed from the claims.
Regarding claim 24, the claim recites “the or a transmissive member” and “the or a membrane”. Thus, it appears to claim recites the parts with and without antecedent basis. However, the claim recites “a transmissive member” and “a membrane”. Thus, it is unclear as to an embodiment where a second such part is recited. For purposes of examination, it will be understood to have antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 15, 16, 18, 19, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elsey (US 2016/0297144 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Elsey meets the claimed additive manufacturing apparatus for additively manufacturing a three- dimensional object by curing a photocurable resin, particularly of a bottom-up configuration, (see Fig. 18-24, structured light 118 in accordance with the cross-sectional geometry of the object under construction is emitted from light source 116 to selectively harden regions of the layer of photohardenable liquid 104, [0121]) comprising: - a vat device, the vat device delimiting a receiving volume for receiving a photocurable resin, (a trough or dish 108 for containing the photohardenable liquid 104) the bottom of the receiving volume being defined by a membrane, particularly an elastic membrane; (sheet 101, not being supported, will deflect away from the object 122 as shown in FIG. 19, [0121]) - a build platform device, (platform 121, Fig. 18-24) the build platform device comprising a build platform, particularly arranged above the membrane, moveably supported relative to the membrane in at least one degree of freedom of motion; (a positioner 120 capable of linear motion along the z-direction is coupled to and moves a platform 121 on which the object being made is mounted, [0102]) - a transmissive member (member 110, Elsey teaches exposure takes place through the member 110, [0121]) arranged below the membrane, the transmissive member being moveably supported in a horizontal motion plane so as to be moveable in at least one operating position in which it is arranged below the membrane and in which it provides a mechanical support for the membrane, (actuator 112 is engaged to move the member 110 along the underside the sheet as shown in FIG. 20, see [0123]) particularly for a deformed membrane, and in at least one non-operating position in which it is not arranged below the membrane and in which it does not provide a mechanical support for the membrane; (sheet 101, not being supported, will deflect away from the object 122 as shown in FIG. 19 ) and - at least one irradiation device, particularly a digital light projector device, (light source 116, scanning mirror 174 whose rotation is controllable in one or more axes by mirror controller 178, [0101]) disposed below the transmissive member, the at least one irradiation device configured to emit electromagnetic radiation to selectively and successively cure the or a resin provided in the receiving volume to additively manufacture a three-dimensional object in a build direction. (structured light 118 in accordance with the cross-sectional geometry of the object under construction is emitted from light source 116 to selectively harden regions of the layer of photohardenable liquid 104, [0121]).
Regarding claim 2, Elsey meets the claimed 2 additive manufacturing apparatus of claim 1, wherein, in a zero-state of the membrane, a gap space is present between the membrane and the transmissive member. (sheet 101, not being supported, will deflect away from the object 122 as shown in FIG. 19. Examiner notes a gap between sheet 101 and member 110 is present in Fig. 19 and 23, which meets the claimed zero-state).
Regarding claim 3, Elsey meets the claimed wherein the motion plane is a horizontal plane parallel to the base plane of the membrane or the build surface of the build platform, respectively. (actuator 112 is engaged to move the member 110 parallel to the sheet 101 and platform 121, FIG. 19-22)
Regarding claim 4, Elsey meets the claimed wherein the at least one degree of freedom of motion of the transmissive member is a translatory motion of the transmissive member about a horizontal axis, particularly an axis parallel to the base plane of the membrane, (actuator 112 is engaged to move the member 110 parallel to the sheet 101 and platform 121, FIG. 19-22) and/or wherein the at least one degree of freedom of motion of the transmissive member is a rotational motion of the transmissive member about a vertical axis, particularly an axis perpendicular to the base plane of the membrane. (this limitation is considered an alternative).
Regarding claim 5, Elsey meets the claimed further comprising an actuator device coupleable or coupled with the transmissive member so as to exert a drive force on the transmissive member for moving the transmissive member from the at least one operating position into the at least one non-operating position, and vice versa. (actuator 112 is engaged to move the member 110 along the underside the sheet as shown in FIG. 19-22, see [0123])
Regarding claim 6, Elsey meets the claimed further comprising a controller configured to control motion of the transmissive member between the operating position and the non-operating position, and vice versa. (actuator 112 may be controlled by a controller 160 to coordinate the apparatus to make the object, see [0135]).
Regarding claim 7, Elsey meets the claimed wherein, in the at least one operating position, the transmissive member compensates for a deformation, particularly a curvature, of the membrane resulting from a motion, particularly a downward motion, of the building platform towards the membrane. (sheet 101, not being supported, will deflect away from the object 122 as shown in FIG. 19, while member 110 supports the sheet, see Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 15, Elsey meets the claimed additive manufacturing apparatus of claim l, wherein the transmissive member is built as or comprises a glass plate, (soda-lime glass or any other suitable material that is sufficiently transparent to the particular actinic light used [0126]) particularly a borosilicate glass plate. (Examiner notes this is considered an optional limitation).
Regarding claim 16, Elsey meets the claimed additive manufacturing apparatus of claim l, wherein the vat device comprises multiple frame-like vat device elements (parts 193, 196, and 197, Fig. 38. Examiner notes the claimed elements correspond to elements 6.2 and 6.3 in the instant specification and drawings, which appear to form a single tensioner) connectable or connected with each other to build the vat device, wherein the vat device comprises a first frame-like vat device element (a sheet-contacting component 193 in the form of a ring attached to the frame, Fig. 38, [0130])and a second frame-like vat device element, (hook or drip 196, 197) wherein the first frame-like vat device element comprises at least one first connection interface (sheet-contacting component 193) and the second frame-like vat device element comprises at least one second connection interface, (hook or drip 196, 197) wherein the at least one first connection interface and the at least one second connection interface are configured to co-act to clamp the membrane between the first frame-like vat device element and the second frame-like vat device element. (tensioner may be used to tension the sheet 101, keeping it taut, see [0130]).
Regarding claim 18, Elsey meets the claimed 18. (Currently amended) The additive manufacturing apparatus of claim 16, wherein at least one of the first frame-like vat device element and the second frame-like vat device element comprises a deformation compensation section (one or more biasing elements may comprise a spring arrangement having extension springs 194,195, for example, operationally coupled to the sheet and the frame, [0130], Fig. 38) which compensates for deformation effects of the membrane which would result in an uneven bottom of the receiving volume at least in one operational state of the membrane. (tensioner may be used to tension the sheet 101, keeping it taut, see [0130]).
Regarding claim 19, Elsey meets the claimed additive manufacturing apparatus of claim 18, wherein the deformation compensation section comprises at least a first, second and third, sub-section, (Examiner notes the claimed elements appear to correspond to elements 6.6.1-6.6.3 of the instant specification and drawings which form a single shoulder element of a tensioner. Elsey teaches a tensioner 190 to include frame 192 and sheet-contacting component 193, [0130], Fig. 38, which meets the claimed first, second, and third subsections) wherein the first sub-section extends inclined relative to the membrane, (sheet-contacting component 193) the third sub-section extends parallel to the membrane, (frame 192) and the second sub-section being arranged between the first and the third sub-section and connecting same extends with a curvature. ( sheet-contacting component 193 may have any suitable form, such as square or oval, [0130]).
Regarding claim 23, Elsey meets the claimed additive manufacturing apparatus of claim 17, wherein the multiple membrane elements are bonded with each other by means of an adhesive and/or cohesive bonding agent. (a multilaminate construction. For example, the sheet may comprise a layer of silicone bonded to a polyester film, [0097])
Regarding claim 24, Elsey meets the claimed method for additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object by selectively and successively curing a resin provided in a receiving volume of a vat device via electromagnetic radiation emitted from at least one irradiation device of an additive manufacturing apparatus, (see Fig. 18-24, structured light 118 in accordance with the cross-sectional geometry of the object under construction is emitted from light source 116 to selectively harden regions of the layer of photohardenable liquid 104, [0121]) particularly an additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) the method comprising at least the step of: moving a transmissive member in a horizontal motion plane in at least one operating position in which it is arranged below a membrane and in which it provides a mechanical support for the membrane of the vat device of an additive manufacturing apparatus, (sheet 101, not being supported, will deflect away from the object 122 as shown in FIG. 19, while member 110 supports the sheet, see Fig. 20) and/or moving the or a transmissive member in the or a horizontal motion plane in at least one non-operating position in which it is not arranged below the or a membrane of the additive manufacturing apparatus and in which it does not provide a mechanical support for the membrane of the vat device of the additive manufacturing apparatus. (Examiner notes this is an alternative limitation. Moreover, Elsey teaches moving member 110 away to not provide support, see Fig. 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 8, 11, 20, 22 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Elsey (US 2016/0297144 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Elsey does not teach in a single embodiment the claimed further comprising an adaptive suspension device, the adaptive suspension device configured to suspense the transmissive member.
Examiner notes that the claimed “adaptive suspension device” is given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Elsey teaches an embodiment where member 110 includes two parallel drive shafts 114 to hold 736,738 and window 734, see Fig. 17, [0120]. Examiner notes the parallel drive shafts 114 meet the claimed adaptive suspension device because the parts 736, 738, and 734 are suspended.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to select the embodiment of Fig. 17 of Elsey to be the generic member 110 of Figs. 19-22 of Elsey because Elsey teaches elements of the presented embodiments of a member may be combined and the rollers minimize friction between it and the sheet, [0120].
Regarding claim 11, Elsey meets the claimed additive manufacturing apparatus of claim 8, wherein the adaptive suspension device is moveably supported relative to the membrane in at least one degree of freedom of motion in the or a horizontal motion plane (a positioner 120 capable of linear motion along the z-direction is coupled to and moves a platform 121 on which the object being made is mounted, [0102]) so as to be moveable in at least one first position in which the transmissive member suspended by the adaptive suspension device is in its operating position and in at least one second position in which the transmissive member suspended by the adaptive suspension device is in its non-operating position. (sheet 101, not being supported, will deflect away from the object 122 as shown in FIG. 19, while member 110 supports the sheet, see Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 20, Elsey meets the claimed 20. (Currently amended) The additive manufacturing apparatus of claim l, wherein the membrane comprises multiple membrane elements connectable or connected with each other in a vertically stacked arrangement to build the membrane, wherein the membrane comprises a first membrane element which comprises an anti-sticking surface or anti- sticking material which enables an anti-sticking effect relative to the or a resin provided in the receiving volume, (Sheet 101 may possess anti-stick properties in relation to the photohardenable material 104 when it is cured in contact with the sheet. Suitable materials for sheet 101 include FEP fluoropolymer film, [0096])
Elsey does not explicitly teach a second membrane element which comprises an anti-sticking surface or anti-sticking material which enables an anti-sticking effect relative to the transmissive member.
Elsey teaches substance 980 in FIG. 34. The substance may be, for example, a liquid lubricant such as a mineral or silicon oil, [0129].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine anti-stick properties of the sheet 101 of Elsey and the substance 980 to achieve a second film element with anti-sticking properties because friction should be reduced between the film and member 110, see [0129].
Regarding claim 22, Elsey as modified meets the claimed additive manufacturing apparatus of claim 20, wherein the first membrane element is built of or comprises at least one fluoropolymer, particularly tetrafluoroethylene or a tetrafluoroethylene compound, (Examiner notes this is considered an alternative limitation. Moreover, Elsey teaches for sheet 101 include FEP fluoropolymer film manufactured. [0096]) and/or wherein the second membrane element is built of or comprises at least one polyester-based polymer, (a multilaminate construction. For example, the sheet may comprise a layer of silicone bonded to a polyester film, [0097]) particularly poly(ethylene terephthalate) or a poly(ethylene terephthalate) compound.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Elsey (US 2016/0297144 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Elsey is silent on the claimed additive manufacturing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one sensor device, the sensor device comprising one or more sensor elements configured to determine the lateral and/or a horizontal position of the transmissive member, particularly relative to the membrane, wherein the at least one sensor device is configured to generate sensor information indicative of a position of the transmissive member which corresponds to its operating position.
Elsey teaches controller may be configured to execute the step of illumination of the material while the member contacts a portion of the downwardly facing surface directly beneath the object being made, [0045], controller may be configured to coordinate movement of the member and the positioner, and the light source, and in some embodiments other parts, [0062].
Wang teaches he displacement sensor 1185 is a laser displacement sensor, whereby triangulation is applied by combining the displacement sensor 1185 with a position sensitive device (PSD) to perform ranging (detecting the amount of displacement), [0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the displacement sensor of Wang and the apparatus of Elsey because it improves the coordination of the movement of the member and the positioner, and the light source, as required by Elsey.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, Elsey meets the claimed 9 the additive manufacturing apparatus of claim 8, but does not teach or suggest wherein the adaptive suspension device comprises one or more suspension elements, the one or more suspension elements being adjustable with respect to a suspension direction of the suspension device, particularly corresponding to the build direction.
Claim 10 is allowable because it depends from allowable claim 9.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mansouri (US 2023/0330933 A1 ) teaches [0099] In some exemplary embodiments, bottom frame 360 and top frame 320 may employ at least one fastening mechanism or other similar force-generating mechanisms such as springs 450, as shown in FIG. 12A-FIG. 12C. In this case, when a platform starts to move up after the current layer (i.e. that forms part of the 3D object being printed) is cured, the top frame travels with the platform due to the bonding force between the current cured section and the tensioned film 330.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744