DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hirota (JP2012002547, utilizing a machine translation) and Jiang et al. (“Three-dimensional fabric orientation visualisation technique for distributed fractures using X-ray computed tomography”).
Hirota discloses a method for analyzing an orientation state of a filler in a resin molded product, the method comprising:
a slice image acquisition step of acquiring a slice image in a predetermined direction regarding at least a part of a resin molded product obtained by molding a resin composition containing a filler in a predetermined proportion (“acquisition step of acquiring slice images in a predetermined direction for at least a portion of a resin molded product made by molding a resin composition containing a filler in a predetermined proportion” at paragraph 0011, line 2);
a power spectrum image acquisition step of selecting, from the slice image, one or more slice images and performing Fourier transform on the selected slice images, thereby acquiring a power spectrum image (“an image conversion step of selecting one or more slice images from the slice images and converting the selected slice images into binarized images; a power spectrum image acquisition step of acquiring power spectrum images by applying a Fourier transform to the binarized images” at paragraph 0011, line 4); and
an orientation state analysis step of analyzing an orientation state of the filler in the power spectrum image based on the power spectrum image (“an orientation state analysis step of analyzing and quantifying the orientation state of the filler in each power spectrum image based on the power spectrum images” at paragraph 0011, line 7).
Hirota does not explicitly disclose digitalizing an orientation state.
Jiang et al. teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of fiber orientation determination comprising an orientation state analysis step of analyzing an orientation state of the filler in the power spectrum image based on the power spectrum image (“The power spectrum components of a given wavevector k is associated with a single second order structure tensor Q(k), characterising its orientation” at section 2.1, paragraph 4, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a tensor as taught by Jiang et al. to express the fiber orientation of Hirota as it “provides not only a preferred direction of the fabric which is described in terms of three-dimensional space, but also a valid description of the geometric information” (Jiang et al. at section 3.1, line 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not explicitly teach or disclose in the orientation state analysis step, a two-dimensional tensor T indicated by the following mathematical formula 4 is obtained from brightness of a pixel at any position in the power spectrum image using the following mathematical formula 1, the following mathematical formula 2, and the following mathematical formula 3:
wherein, in the mathematical formulae 1 to 4, F (x, y) indicates a density of a pixel at an X position and a Y position in the image, and x and y indicate positions of the pixel in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, respectively as required by claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Omoto et al. (US 20210389259) is relevant as disclosing analyzing an orientation state of a filler in a resin molded product utilizing power spectrum analysis. Hishida et al. (US 20160247271) is relevant as disclosing analyzing an orientation state of a filler in a resin molded product by utilizing Fourier transform analysis. Hishida et al. (US 10,068,349) is relevant as disclosing systems for analyzing an orientation state of a filler in a resin molded product utilizing a tensor analysis. Marks et al. (NPL reference) is relevant as disclosing a system for analyzing fiber orientation by utilizing x-ray radiography.
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KATRINA R FUJITA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672