DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of US Application No. 19/109,807, filed on 07 March 2025, are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 07 March 2025 has been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “a quite space” but should recite – a quiet space –.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sensing unit that collects”, “traveling-enabling unit that moves”, and “output unit that outputs” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “quite space”, i.e., quiet space, in claims 6 and 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “quite”, i.e., quiet, is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vu et al. (US 2007/0192910 A1, “Vu”).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Vu discloses a companion robot for personal interaction and teaches:
a sensing unit that collects situational information in the vicinity (microphone 32 to collect audio data – see at least Fig. 1B and ¶ [0111]; microphone may monitor ambient sound or noise levels – see at least ¶ [0149]; camera 304 – see at least Fig. 1B and ¶ [0148);
a traveling-enabling unit that moves the guidance robot (wheels 14 and motor – see at least Fig. 4 and ¶ [0112]);
a display on which visual information is displayed (body display panel 18 – see at least Fig. 1A and ¶ [0167]);
an output unit that outputs an utterance associated with preset guidance information or visual information displayed on the display (speaker 20 – see at least Fig. 1A and ¶ [0103]; speaker may function as an annunciator – see at least ¶ [0127]); and
a processor that is electrically connected to the sensing unit, the display, and the output unit (controller – see at least ¶ [0156]; PCB E20, PCB E30, PCB E46 – see at least Fig 6B and ¶ [0164]) and adjusts the volume of the utterance to be output to the output unit based on the collected situational information (annunciator may adjust volume based on detected background noise – see at least ¶ [0252]).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Vu further teaches:
wherein, based on the collected situational information, the processor performs control to adjust the volume of the utterance within a first setting range when a first condition is satisfied (if resident is hard of hearing, robot may increase volume up to about 75 dB or some other threshold – see at least ¶ [0252]; i.e., first condition = a hard of hearing individual in room) and performs control to adjust the volume of the utterance within a second setting range different from the first setting range when a second condition is satisfied (normal speaking volume may be about 55 dB to 65 dB – see at least ¶ [0252]; i.e., second condition = no hard of hearing individuals in room), and wherein the maximum value within the second setting range is set to be lower than the maximum value within the first setting range (i.e., 75 dB>55-65 dB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu in view of Wolford et al. (US 2019/0308327 A1, “Wolford”).
Regarding claim 4, Vu fails to teach but Wolford discloses condition-based robot audio techniques and teaches:
wherein the sensing unit includes a sensor detecting the traveling speed of the guidance robot (conditional state can also reflect values of conditional parameters computed from the real-time inputs of various sensors, e.g., ambient volume from microphones, orientation from gyroscopes, speed, cliff presence from cliff detectors, height from depth sensors, object presence from cameras, wind presence from wind detectors, and temperature from thermometers – see at least ¶ [0064]), and
wherein the processor recognizes the traveling speed detected through the sensor, as the collected situational information (conditional state can also reflect values of conditional parameters computed from the real-time inputs of various sensors, e.g., ambient volume from microphones, orientation from gyroscopes, speed, cliff presence from cliff detectors, height from depth sensors, object presence from cameras, wind presence from wind detectors, and temperature from thermometers – see at least ¶ [0064]), and, based on the detected traveling speed, adjusts the volume of the utterance within the first setting range (conditional state of robot is determined at 520 – see at least Fig. 5 and [0069]; at 530, audio object is generated that match the obtained conditional state – see at least Fig. 5 and ¶ [0070]; audio object may be associated with an audio parameter, e.g., volume parameter – see at least ¶ [0061]; audio enhancement is output from one or more speakers based on audio object – see at least Fig. 5 and ¶ [0080]; e.g., current speed can be used as conditional parameter that affects audio enhancement, e.g., increasing enhancement as speed increases – see at least ¶ [0076]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot of Vu to provide a sensor to detect traveling speed and adjust volume based on the traveling speed, as taught by Wolford, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would provide intuitive, real-time, and responsive feedback to the user which makes the robot easier to use, increases user engagement and makes the robot seem more anthropomorphic (Wolford at ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Vu fails to teach but Wolford discloses condition-based robot audio techniques and teaches:
wherein the sensing unit comprises: a sensor for detecting whether or not a visitor is present in the vicinity (conditional state can also reflect values of conditional parameters computed from the real-time inputs of various sensors, e.g., ambient volume from microphones, orientation from gyroscopes, speed, cliff presence from cliff detectors, height from depth sensors, object presence from cameras, wind presence from wind detectors, and temperature from thermometers – see at least ¶ [0064]; conditional parameter can also indicate the presence or absence of users in a room, e.g., computed from camera data – see at least ¶ [0064), and wherein the processor adjusts the volume of the utterance within the first setting range based on the sensor's detection of whether or not a visitor is present in the vicinity (If users are present, the audio objects can be different than if users are not present – see at least ¶ [0064]; conditional state of robot is determined at 520 – see at least Fig. 5 and [0069]; at 530, audio object is generated that match the obtained conditional state – see at least Fig. 5 and ¶ [0070]; audio object may be associated with an audio parameter, e.g., volume parameter – see at least ¶ [0061]; audio enhancement is output from one or more speakers based on audio object – see at least Fig. 5 and ¶ [0080]; e.g., current speed can be used as conditional parameter that affects audio enhancement, e.g., increasing enhancement as speed increases – see at least ¶ [0076]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot of Vu to provide a sensor to detect presence of visitor and adjust the volume based on the detection, as taught by Wolford, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would provide intuitive, real-time, and responsive feedback to the user which makes the robot easier to use, increases user engagement and makes the robot seem more anthropomorphic (Wolford at ¶ [0005]).
Claims 3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu in view of Huber et al. (US 2019/0311718 A1, “Huber”).
Regarding claim 3, Vu fails to teach but Huber discloses context-aware control for smart devices and teaches:
wherein the first condition is for a case where the utterance targets an unspecified multiplicity of persons, and the second condition is for a case where the utterance targets a specific person (target user activity is detected at 402 – see at least Fig. 4 and ¶ [0047]; context parameters may include the number of target users detected – see at least ¶ [0047]; at 406, input/output modalities are set in accordance with use context – see at least Fig. 4 and ¶ [0048]; modulate output volume to match the detected use context – see at least ¶ [0007], [0022]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot of Vu to provide for conditions regarding the number of persons, as taught by Huber, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for optimizing the user interaction for a particular environment (Huber at ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, Vu fails to teach but Huber discloses context-aware control for smart devices and teaches:
a sensor for detecting a traveling space for the guidance robot (voice-interaction device – see at least ¶ [0022]), and wherein the processor adjusts the volume of the utterance within the first setting range, depending on whether or not the traveling space recognized through the sensor is a closed space or a quite space (target audio signal being whispered indicates a quiet room – see at least ¶ [0022], [0054]; controller may adjust output volume lower to match the input context – see at least ¶ [0022], [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot of Vu to provide for adjusting the volume, as taught by Huber, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for optimizing the user interaction for a particular environment (Huber at ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, Vu fails to teach but Huber further teaches:
wherein when the traveling space recognized through the sensor is determined to be a closed space or a quite space, the processor adjusts the magnitude of the volume of the utterance either to the minimum value within the first setting range or to a value lower than the minimum value (target audio signal being whispered indicates a quiet room – see at least ¶ [0022], [0054]; controller may adjust output volume lower to match the input context – see at least ¶ [0022], [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot of Vu to provide for adjusting the volume, as taught by Huber, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for optimizing the user interaction for a particular environment (Huber at ¶ [0003]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu in view of Wolford, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0005810 A1, “Park”).
Regarding claim 9, Vu and Wolford fail to teach but Park discloses a robot and operating method and teaches:
wherein in response to the sensor detecting that no visitor is present in the vicinity, the processor adjusts the magnitude of the volume of the utterance either to the minimum value within the first setting range or to a value lower than the minimum value (sound is output in a first, second, or third mode when the user is within FFA, STA, or NFA zones – see at least Figs. 4, 7; i.e., no sound output outside of these zones is a volume magnitude lower than a minimum).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot of Vu to provide for recognizing visitors and changing the volume of the utterance, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for adjusting the sound output intensity depending on the position of the sound source (Park at ¶ [0111]).
Regarding claim 10, Vu and Wolford fail to teach but Park discloses a robot and operating method and teaches:
wherein the processor recognizes that one of the visitors in the vicinity approaches (input sound from a base sound source is received through a plurality of microphones – see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0107]), and, based on verification of the approaching visitor's intention to use the guidance robot (CDR of sound is calculated at 620 – see at least Fig. 6 and ¶ [0107]), changes the volume of the utterance to a value lower than before within first setting range or changes the volume of the utterance within the second setting range, for the purpose of adjustment (if sound source is in far field area FFA at S730, sound is output in a first mode having the strongest volume output at S740 – see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0111]; when sound source is in sound tracking area STA at S745, sound is output in a second mode or third mode at S750 and S760, respectively, having a lower volume – see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0113]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot of Vu to provide for recognizing visitors and changing the volume of the utterance, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for adjusting the sound output intensity depending on the position of the sound source (Park at ¶ [0111]).
Regarding claim 11, Park further teaches:
wherein, in response to the approaching visitor moving away by a predetermined range or greater, the processor adjusts the volume of the utterance to a value higher than before within the first setting range (if sound source is in far field area FFA at S730, sound is output in a first mode having the strongest volume output at S740 – see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0111]; when sound source is in tracking area STA at S745, sound is output in a second mode or third mode at S750 and S760, respectively, having a lower volume – see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0113]).
Claims 12-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu in view of Shin et al. (US 2020/0005787 A1, “Shin”).
Regarding claim 12, Vu further teaches:
wherein the display comprises:
a first display provided on the front surface of the body of the guidance robot (body display panel 18 – see at least Fig. 1A and ¶ [0167]); and
[ ], and
wherein, based on the collected situational information, the processor controls the output unit in such a manner as to output an utterance associated with content displayed on one of the first and second displays (speaker 20 – see at least Fig. 1A and ¶ [0103]; speaker may function as an annunciator – see at least ¶ [0127]).
Vu fails to teach but Shin discloses an intelligent service robot and teaches:
wherein the display comprises:
a second display provided on the rear surface of the body of the guidance robot (display unit 151 may be provided on the rear as well as the front – see at least Fig. 1 and ¶ [0056]), and
controls the output unit in such a manner as to output an utterance associated with content displayed on one of the first and second displays (audio output module 152 – see at least Fig. 1 and ¶ [0068]; speaker 152 performs a function of notifying information to be provided to the user through a voice – see at least ¶ [0053]; simultaneous output of information via the display unit and the speaker – see at least ¶ [0102]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot of Vu to provide a second display, as taught by Shin, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would provide information for users located in front or behind the robot as the robot travels a path (Shin at ¶ [0056).
Regarding claim 13, Shin further teaches:
wherein, while the guidance robot travels, the processor controls the output unit in such a manner as to output an utterance associated with content displayed on the second display (audio output module 152 – see at least Fig. 1 and ¶ [0068]; speaker 152 performs a function of notifying information to be provided to the user through a voice – see at least ¶ [0053]; simultaneous output of information via the display unit and the speaker – see at least ¶ [0102]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined robot of Vu and Shin to output an utterance displayed on the second display, as further taught by Shin, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would provide information for users located in front or behind the robot as the robot travels a path (Shin at ¶ [0056).
Regarding claim 14, Shin further teaches:
wherein, while the guidance robot travels, the processor controls the output unit in such a manner as to output an utterance associated with content displayed on the second display (audio output module 152 – see at least Fig. 1 and ¶ [0068]; speaker 152 performs a function of notifying information to be provided to the user through a voice – see at least ¶ [0053]; simultaneous output of information via the display unit and the speaker – see at least ¶ [0102]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined robot of Vu and Shin to output an utterance displayed on the second display, as further taught by Shin, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would provide information for users located in front or behind the robot as the robot travels a path (Shin at ¶ [0056).
Regarding claim 20, Vu further teaches:
outputting an utterance associated with content displayed [ ] at the adjusted volume, based on the collected situational information (annunciator may adjust volume based on detected background noise – see at least ¶ [0252])
Vu fails to teach but Shin discloses an intelligent service robot and teaches:
a step of displaying different content items on a first display provided on the front surface of the body of the guidance robot and a second display provided on the rear surface of the body of the guidance robot, respectively (display unit 151 may be provided on the rear as well as the front – see at least Fig. 1 and ¶ [0056]); and
a step of outputting an utterance associated with content displayed on one of the first and second displays at the adjusted volume, based on the collected situational information (audio output module 152 – see at least Fig. 1 and ¶ [0068]; speaker 152 performs a function of notifying information to be provided to the user through a voice – see at least ¶ [0053]; simultaneous output of information via the display unit and the speaker – see at least ¶ [0102]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot of Vu to display different content on first and second displays, as taught by Shin, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would provide information for users located in front or behind the robot as the robot travels a path (Shin at ¶ [0056).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON L TROOST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666