Diagnosing a Hydrogen Sensor
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s reply filed 05/14/2026 which has amendments to the claims and Applicant's arguments related to the previous rejection. The above have been entered and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the amendments obviate the rejections under 112(b) for indefiniteness. The examiner is persuaded and withdraws the rejections under 112(b).
Applicant traverses the anticipation and obviousness rejections and argues Sasaki fails to disclose a liquid-impermeable membrane separates the measurement space and environment since Sasaki detects a temporary abnormality has occurred in the gas detection element due to adhesion of moisture caused by a supply of gas.
The examiner is not persuaded. While Sasaki clearly addresses a temporary abnormality condition of short circuiting due to the adhesion of moisture, Sasaki’s moisture is due to humidification of reaction gas. The examiner asserts humidity is water vapor, a gaseous form of water. After the humid reaction gas reaches the detection chamber, some of the water vapor may condense within the chamber (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 2, ¶ 3). Therefore, Sasaki’s filter is liquid impermeable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki (JP 2006153601).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki discloses, in figures 1-4, a method of diagnosing a hydrogen sensor (p. 2, ¶ 5, “gas sensor failure detection method”) having a measurement space (11a), a heater (13) and a temperature sensor ((12) see Sasaki’s translation, p. 8, ¶ 2, examiner notes Sasaki’s gas sensor measures temperature and is a temperature sensor), wherein the measurement space (11a) is fluid connected to an environment (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 5, “The gas detection chamber 11a communicates with the inside of the exhaust pipe 15d through a filter 14”) of the hydrogen sensor (1) by a measurement space opening (not enumerated, see previous comment) closed by a gas-permeable and liquid-impermeable membrane ((14) see Sasaki’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 5, “exhaust gas… is introduced into the gas detection chamber 11a through the filter… the filter 14 removes water droplets contained in the exhaust gas”), the method comprising: changing the temperature ((ST6) see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 1-2, examiner notes Sasaki “continues to drive the heater”) in the measurement space (11a) using the heater (13); ascertaining ((ST7) see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, Sasaki determines “whether or not this abnormal signal has continued for a predetermined time”, the examiner construes Sasaki’s determination as evidence the signal is sampled) a diagnosis value (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, “signal”) in the measurement space (11a) using the temperature sensor (12); and determining a diagnosis ((ST7) see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, Sasaki determines if the sensor has failed or is temporarily abnormal due to water in the filter) based at least in part on the diagnosis value (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, “signal”).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki discloses, in figures 1-4, the ascertained diagnosis value (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, “signal”) comprises a value selected from the group of: a temperature (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 8, ¶ 2, examiner notes Sasaki’s gas sensor measures temperature).
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki discloses, in figures 1-4, comparing the ascertained diagnosis value (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, “signal”) with a recorded diagnosis value (see fig. 4, see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, Sasaki compares the current signal to threshold A to determine if the diagnosis is a failure or temporary abnormality).
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki discloses, in figures 1-4, the recorded diagnosis value is of a matching type with the ascertained diagnosis value (see fig. 4, examiner notes Sasaki’s threshold and signal value types are represented as current values on the y axis).
Regarding claim 7, Sasaki discloses, in figures 1-4, changing the temperature in the measurement space (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 1, Sasaki “continues to drive the heater”) and ascertaining the diagnosis value are conducted simultaneously, after a time delay, or in direct succession (see fig. 4, see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, examiner notes the fault determination is occurs in a subsequent step to the heater continuing to be driven).
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki discloses, in figures 1-4, the method begins ((ST2), see Sasaki’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 5, examiner notes ST2 is the beginning of the abnormality determination step and ST1 is the temperature acquiring step used in ST2) when the temperature in the measurement space (see fig. 4) reaches a particular temperature (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 5, “threshold A”).
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki discloses, in figures 1-4, a hydrogen sensor (1) comprising: a measurement space (11a); a heater (13); a temperature sensor ((12) see Sasaki’s translation, p. 8, ¶ 2, examiner notes Sasaki’s gas sensor measures temperature and is a temperature sensor); wherein the measurement space (11a) is fluid connected to an environment (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 5, “The gas detection chamber 11a communicates with the inside of the exhaust pipe 15d through a filter 14”) of the hydrogen sensor (1) by a measurement space opening (not enumerated, see previous comment); a membrane (14) closing the measurement space opening (not enumerated, see previous comment); wherein the membrane is gas-permeable and liquid-impermeable (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 5, “exhaust gas… is introduced into the gas detection chamber 11a through the filter… the filter 14 removes water droplets contained in the exhaust gas”); and a controller (7) operable to change the temperature ((ST6) see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 1-2, examiner notes Sasaki “continues to drive the heater”) in the measurement space (11a) using the heater (13), ascertain ((ST7) see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, Sasaki determines “whether or not this abnormal signal has continued for a predetermined time”, the examiner construes Sasaki’s determination as evidence the signal is sampled) a diagnosis value (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, “signal”) in the measurement space (11a) using the temperature sensor (12), and determine a diagnosis ((ST7) see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, Sasaki determines if the sensor has failed or is temporarily abnormal due to water) based at least in part on the diagnosis value (see Sasaki’s translation, p. 7, ¶ 2, “signal”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (JP 2006153601) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishijima (US 9702836).
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki fails to disclose determining a blockage of the membrane.
Nishijima teaches, in figures 1-5, determining the diagnosis comprises determining a blockage of the membrane by a foreign body or a liquid (col. 2, lines 43-47, “the clogging detection means is configured to determine that the element cover is subjected to clogging if a change in the temperature of the element section observed when the element section is heated by the heater is greater than a predetermined judgment value”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nishijima’ s scheme of determining a clogged element cover when a change in temperature observed due to heating is greater than a threshold into Sasaki’s scheme of detecting a gas sensor trouble since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so provides a reliable way of determining multiple failure modes of a gas sensor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY P GRAVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855