DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
References to specific claims (as on page 1, lines 4 and 5, page 3, lines 2 and 3, and page 17, line 23) should not be made in the specification because claim numbers and/or claim dependencies may change during the prosecution of the application.
On page 3, line 11, “axis” should be changed to --axle--.
On page 3, line 14, “axis” should be changed to --axle--.
On page 8, line 1, “axial” should be changed to --axle--.
On page 13, line 24, “collusion” should be changed to --collision--.
On page 14, line 10, “is” should be changed to --is in--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the spatial position” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the spatial” to --a spatial-- in line 2.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the respective link arm" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the respective” to --a respective-- in line 7.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "that side of the wheel axis (R) that faces away from the pivot bearings" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “that side” to --a side-- in line 10.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the region of the support portion (20) for connecting the respective link arm (8) to a spring element" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the region” to --a region-- in line 2.
Claim 2 suffers from double inclusion, since it can be read to include the same element twice (i.e., “a spring element” is introduced in claim 1, line 9, and then “a spring element” is recited again in claim 2, line 3, both recitations being drawn to the same element (i.e., 14)). MPEP § 2173.05(o). This rejection could be overcome by changing “a spring” to --the spring-- in line 3.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the width of the axle bridge" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the width” to --a width-- in line 3.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the outer peripheral regions" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing "the outer” to --outer-- in line 5.
The limitation “a base plate (30), which extends across the width of the axle bridge(22) in an at least approximately constant plane and has a greater overall height (H) in its central portion than in the outer peripheral regions” in claim 4 does not accurately describe the invention because the base plate (30) does not have a greater overall height (H) in its central portion than in the outer peripheral regions, since the base plate (30) is just a flat plate.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the upper edge of the axle bridge" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the upper” to --an upper-- in line 2.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the direction of extent of the axle bridge" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the direction” to --a direction-- in line 3.
Claim 7 suffers from double inclusion, since it can be read to include the same element twice (i.e., “fastening elements (28a) for fastening suspension struts” are introduced in claim 6, line 4, and then “fastening elements (28a) for fastening suspension struts” are recited again in claim 7, lines 1-2). MPEP § 2173.05(o). This rejection could be overcome by changing “fastening” to --the fastening-- in line 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the associated fastening element(s)" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the associated” to --an associated-- or --associated-- in line 4.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the link arm (8) associated with this suspension strut" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the link” to --a link-- in line 7.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the direct line" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the direct” to --a direct-- in line 8.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the associated fastening point" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the associated” to --an associated-- in line 8.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the center" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the center” to --a center-- in line 9.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the associated wheel" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the associated” to --an associated-- in line 9.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the fastening element (28b) for attaching a toe management device" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the fastening” to --a fastening-- in line 2.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the opposite side of the axle bridge" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the opposite” to --an opposite-- in line 3.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the fastening bracket (24) for attaching suspension struts" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the fastening” to --a fastening-- in line 3.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the outer ends of the axle bridge" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the outer” to --outer-- in line 2.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the longitudinal center axis (L) of which" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the longitudinal” to --a longitudinal-- in line 5.
The limitation “one end of the sleeve (44) is an intermediate space (50) in which a connecting element (52) of a link arm (8) is inserted” in claim 11, lines 9-11 does not accurately describe the invention because the one end of the sleeve (i.e., 44) is not an intermediate space (i.e., 50). This rejection could be overcome by changing “is an” to --is in an-- in line 10.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "that side of one of the two plates (42a, 42b) that faces away from the sleeve" in lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “that side” to --a side-- in line 13.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the upper of the two plates (42a, 42b) that are located at one end of the axle bridge" in lines 2-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since an upper plate of the two plates was not previously introduced and since it was not previously established that the two plates are located at one end of the axle bridge. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the upper of the two plates (42a, 42b) that are located at one end of the axle bridge (22) and has been fixedly connected to the axle bridge (22)” to --an upper plate of the two plates (42a, 42b) and has been fixedly connected to the axle bridge (22), wherein the two plates (42a, 42b) are located at one end of the axle bridge (22)-- in lines 2-4.
Claim 15 suffers from double inclusion, since it can be read to include the same element twice (i.e., “a spring element” is introduced in claim 1, line 9, and then “a spring element” is recited again in claim 15, line 3, both recitations being drawn to the same element (i.e., 14)). MPEP § 2173.05(o). This rejection could be overcome by changing “a spring” to --the spring-- in line 3.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the spatial position” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the spatial” to --a spatial-- in line 2.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the respective link arm" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome by changing “the respective” to --a respective-- in line 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chua et al. (US 2018/0361811 A1). Chua discloses a commercial vehicle (paragraph 0053) which has an axle structure for a commercial vehicle chassis (said chassis comprising frame rails 20a and 20b), having a wheel axis, the spatial position of which is determined by axes of rotation of at least two wheels (e.g., a wheel is shown at 344 in Fig. 22) located on opposite sides of the axle structure, the wheels are each held, via a wheel carrier (e.g., at 26a in Fig. 1), on a link arm (e.g., 32 and also, optionally, 62) connected to the wheel carrier, the link arms are spaced apart from one another along the wheel axis and are each oriented in a direction transverse to the wheel axis, the link arms each have a pivot bearing (e.g., 62) at a first end, an interface (e.g., where the link arm is connected to axle clamp assembly components 42), at a first spacing from the pivot bearing, for attaching a wheel carrier to the respective link arm, and a support portion (e.g., at 148a), at a second spacing from the pivot bearing, for connecting the respective link arm to a spring element (e.g., 160a), characterized in that the link arms, on that side of the wheel axis that faces away from the pivot bearings, are connected to one another via an axle bridge (e.g., 150). The link arms are also connected to the axle bridge in the region of the support portion for connecting the respective link arm to a spring element (e.g., 160a; Figs. 2, 16-18 and 22). The axle bridge at its outer ends has a respective fastener for connection to an air-spring (e.g., 160a) bellows (Figs. 2, 16, 18 and 22). A corresponding end of the axle bridge is connected both to the link arm and to the air-spring bellows at a connection node (Figs. 2, 16, 18 and 22). The connection between the axle bridge and the link arm is configured such that it is possible to mount a spring element on at least one of these elements without needing to detach the connection between the axle bridge and the link arm (Figs. 2, 16, 18 and 22).
Claims 1, 2, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imre et al. (US 2006/0237938 A1). Imre discloses a commercial vehicle which has an axle structure for a commercial vehicle chassis (said chassis comprising a pair of frame rails 10), having a wheel axis, the spatial position of which is determined by axes of rotation of at least two wheels (Fig. 1) located on opposite sides of the axle structure, the wheels are each held, via a wheel carrier (e.g., 45), on a link arm (said link arm comprising a trailing arm 15) connected to the wheel carrier, the link arms are spaced apart from one another along the wheel axis and are each oriented in a direction transverse to the wheel axis, the link arms each have a pivot bearing (e.g., at 9) at a first end, an interface (e.g., where the link arm is connected to the wheel carrier), at a first spacing from the pivot bearing, for attaching a wheel carrier to the respective link arm, and a support portion (e.g., at 55), at a second spacing from the pivot bearing, for connecting the respective link arm to a spring element (e.g., 75 or, alternatively, just the coil spring of element 75), characterized in that the link arms, on that side of the wheel axis that faces away from the pivot bearings, are connected to one another via an axle bridge (e.g., 30). The link arms are also connected to the axle bridge in the region of the support portion for connecting the respective link arm to a spring element (Figs. 2-4). The connection between the axle bridge and the link arm is configured such that it is possible to mount a spring element on at least one of these elements without needing to detach the connection between the axle bridge and the link arm (Figs. 2-4).
Claims 1, 2, 5-10, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mazyek et al. (WO 2024/037934 A1). The related document US 2026/0048632 A1 may be used as an English translation of WO 2024/037934 A1. Mazyek discloses a commercial vehicle which has an axle structure for a commercial vehicle chassis, having a wheel axis A, the spatial position of which is determined by axes of rotation of at least two wheels (implicit) located on opposite sides of the axle structure, the wheels are each held, via a wheel carrier (Fig. 1), on a link arm (e.g., 50) connected to the wheel carrier, the link arms are spaced apart from one another along the wheel axis and are each oriented in a direction transverse to the wheel axis, the link arms each have a pivot bearing at a first end (Fig. 1), an interface (e.g., where the link arm is connected to the wheel carrier), at a first spacing from the pivot bearing, for attaching a wheel carrier to the respective link arm, and a support portion (e.g., 52), at a second spacing from the pivot bearing, for connecting the respective link arm to a spring element (Fig. 1; paragraph 0028), characterized in that the link arms, on that side of the wheel axis that faces away from the pivot bearings, are connected to one another via an axle bridge (e.g., 40). The link arms are also connected to the axle bridge in the region of the support portion for connecting the respective link arm to a spring element (Fig. 1). A fastening bracket (e.g., 43) for attaching suspensions struts (e.g., 44) is formed in the central region of the axle bridge. The fastening bracket is in the form of a projection which is beneath the upper edge of the axle bridge and extends in a direction transverse to the direction of extent of the axle bridge, wherein fastening elements for fastening suspension struts (e.g., 44) are formed on the projection and have a direction of tension which, when viewed from above, is at an angle (α)<45° and > 0° with respect to the direction of extent of the axle bridge (Fig. 1). Fastening elements for fastening suspension struts (e.g., 44) are formed on opposite sides of the projection, at least one respective suspension strut being rotatably and/or articulatedly connected to the associated fastening element(s), on each side of the projection, at the fastening elements, and this suspension strut extends from the associated fastening element, when the axle structure is mounted and inactive in a commercial vehicle, to a point of attachment of the suspension strut to the link arm associated with this suspension strut, at an angle which deviates from the direct line between the associated fastening point and the center in the associated wheel by an angular dimension (Fig. 1). A fastening element for attaching a toe management device is formed on the axle bridge, characterized in that the fastening element is a shaft (e.g., the shaft that extends through central opening 31 – see Fig. 1) for connection to a Watt linkage (abstract). The fastening element for attaching a toe management device is arranged on the opposite side of the axle bridge from the fastening bracket for attaching suspension struts (Fig. 1). The connection between the axle bridge and the link arm is configured such that it is possible to mount a spring element on at least one of these elements without needing to detach the connection between the axle bridge and the link arm (Fig. 1).
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imre et al. (US 2006/0237938 A1) in view of Merkle (DE 3526272 A1). Imre teaches the limitations of claim 2, as explained above. Imre does not teach the limitations of claims 3 and 4. Merkle teaches an axle bridge 12 that is in the form of a welded structure (paragraphs 0005, 0009, 0010 and 0016) which on its underside has a base plate 40, which extends across the width of the axle bridge in an at least approximately constant plane and has a greater overall height in its central portion than in the outer peripheral regions (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make an axle bridge as taught by Imre in the form of a welded structure, according to the known technique taught by Merkle, since such an axle bridge would advantageously be “characterized by lightweight construction and is easy and quick to manufacture” (paragraph 0007). All the claimed elements were known in the cited prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imre et al. (US 2006/0237938 A1) in view of Brown et al. (US 2019/0168559 A1). Imre teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above. Imre further teaches a toe management device comprising a Watt linkage formed on the axle bridge (paragraphs 0014 and 0019). Imre does not explicitly teach that a fastening element for attaching the toe management device is formed on the axle bridge, characterized in that the fastening element is a shaft for connection to a Watt linkage. Brown teaches a fastening element (e.g., 133; paragraph 0037) for attaching a toe management device that is a shaft for connection to a Watt linkage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an invention as taught by Imre with a fastening element that is a shaft, as taught by Brown, in order to define a “first rotational axis” (paragraph 0037 of Brown) for the Watt linkage. All the claimed elements were known in the cited prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chua et al. (US 2018/0361811 A1) in view of Kamiya (JP H06239121 A). Chua teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above. Chua further teaches a bellows carrier (e.g., the bottom of air spring 160a – see Figs. 1, 2, 16, 18 and 22). Chua does not teach the limitations of claim 11. Kamiya teaches an axle structure, characterized in that the outer ends of an axle bridge (e.g., 1) have two plates (10) which are spaced apart from one another and, when the axle structure has been mounted on a vehicle, are oriented at least approximately horizontally, wherein between the two plates there is at least one sleeve (e.g., 6), the longitudinal center axis of which, when the axle structure has been installed in a vehicle, extends in an at least approximately vertical direction (Figs. 1 and 2), at least one of the two plates having, in the continuation of the longitudinal center axis of the sleeve, a passage opening (e.g., 11) through which a threaded bolt (e.g., 2) that fits into the sleeve is guided, formed between the two plates and one end of the sleeve is an intermediate space in which a connecting element of a link arm (e.g., 3) is inserted, the connecting element of the link arm also having, in the continuation of the longitudinal center axis of the sleeve, a passage opening (e.g., 5) through which the threaded bolt that fits into the sleeve is guided, and at least that side of one of the two plates that faces away from the sleeve has a clamping surface, against which a threaded nut or a head of the threaded bolt is screwed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect an axle bridge and a trailing arm as taught by Chua using two plates, a sleeve and bolt, according to the known technique taught by Kamiya, since “the torsional rigidity of the bush 6 determines the roll rigidity and alignment characteristics, and different vehicle types can be addressed by changing the bush 6” (paragraph 0007). “Furthermore, these bushings also serve to absorb some shock, resulting in an improved ride comfort” (paragraph 0009). Such a combination would naturally result in an invention characterized in that the bellows carrier is placed on the upper plate of the two plates that are located at one end of the axle bridge and fixedly connected to the axle bridge. All the claimed elements were known in the cited prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chua et al. (US 2018/0361811 A1) in view of Ingo et al. (DE 102014223632 A1). Chua teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above. Chua does not teach the limitations of claim 16. Ingo teaches a connection comprising at least three screwed connections (e.g., 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a connection between a link arm and an axle bridge in Chua with at least three screwed connections, according to the known technique taught by Ingo, in order to strengthen the connection and in order to provide additional connections should one or two screwed connections fail (e.g., due to corrosion, vibrations, etc.). All the claimed elements were known in the cited prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, the recitation of additional screwed connections does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the cited prior art, since mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.04(VI).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 11, 16 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8-10 of copending Application No. 19/109,818 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of said claims of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are essentially recited in said claims of copending Application No. 19/109,818. The limitations of claim 1 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are essentially recited in claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/109,818. The limitations of claims 1 and 5 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are essentially recited in claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/109,818. The limitations of claims 1 and 16 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are essentially recited in claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 19/109,818. The limitations of claims 1 and 11 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are essentially recited in claims 1 and 9 of copending Application No. 19/109,818. The limitations of claims 1 and 17 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are essentially recited in claim 10 of copending Application No. 19/109,818.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4-15 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 5-16 of copending Application No. 19/109,832 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of said claims of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in said claims of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claim 1 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1 and 4 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1 and 9 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1 and 5 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1, 5 and 6 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1, 10 and 11 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1 and 5-7 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1 and 10-12 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1 and 8 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1 and 13 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1, 8 and 9 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1, 13 and 14 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1 and 10 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1 and 15 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1 and 11 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1 and 12 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1, 12 and 13 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1, 5 and 6 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1, 11 and 14 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1, 2 and 7 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1 and 15 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 19/109,832. The limitations of claims 1 and 17 of the instant application (i.e., 19/109,827) are recited in claims 1 and 16 of copending Application No. 19/109,832.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Johansson (US 2025/0033426 A1) teaches an axle structure comprising an axle bridge.
/KEITH J FRISBY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614