DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drainage chamber and water stirring rib as claimed in claim 3 and the insertion socket in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8 “according to any one of claims 1” should be “according to claim 1”.
In claim 9 “claims 1” should be “claim 1”.
In claim 10, “claims 1” should be “claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “driving mechanism” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “small” and “large” in claim 1 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “small” and “large” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For example, how small and how large would the tubs be before they are not considered small or large? Similar issue is taken with the same terms in the dependent claims.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "multiple drainage channels" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear if such drainage channels include the drainage channel in claim 1 or exclude such channel. For examination purposes, the limitations will be understood as though claim 1 recites “at least one drainage channel” and claim 5 recites “wherein the at least one drainage channel is multiple drainage channels” as it is believed that is what applicant intended.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "two drainage channels" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear if such drainage channels include the drainage channel in claim 1 or exclude such channel. For examination purposes, the limitations will be understood as though claim 1 recites “at least one drainage channel” and claim 6 recites “wherein the at least one drainage channel is two drainage channels” as it is believed that is what applicant intended.
The remaining claims are rejected for their dependence on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryosuke (JP2019084328A).
As to claim 1 Ryosuke discloses a washing assembly (Figs.1 & 10-16), comprising a large tub (ref 102), a small tub (ref 300), and a first pulsator (ref 205), the first pulsator being arranged inside the large tub and located at the bottom of the large tub, and the small tub being located inside the large tub (see Figs.2 & 10-16); wherein the small tub is arranged on the first pulsator (see Figs.1-2 & 10-16), a drainage channel (from ref 370 to ref 206 and including ref 950) is provided on a side wall of the small tub in its length direction, and a water inlet of the drainage channel (ref 370) is located at the top of the wall of the small tub; the bottom of the first pulsator is provided with a drainage hole (ref 206 or 250, see [0069 & 0096]), and the drainage channel is communicated with the drainage hole (see Figs.10-16); and when the small tub rotates, water inside the small tub flows into the drainage channel and is discharged to the bottom of the first pulsator through the drainage hole. Further, the last limitation is merely intended use, and met as Ryosuke comprises the structure to perform such a function.
As to claim 2, Ryosuke teaches the washing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the drainage hole is located below the drainage channel (see Figs.10-16).
As to claim 4, Ryosuke teaches the washing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the small tub is a conical cylinder, and an inner diameter of a top end of the small tub is larger than an inner diameter of a bottom end of the small tub (see Figs.10-16).
As to claim 7, Ryosuke teaches the washing assembly according to claim 1, wherein an insertion socket is provided on the first pulsator, and the drainage channel is inserted into the insertion socket (see portion where ref 950 connects to pulsator in view of [0027 & 0048] indicating other locking mechanisms such as bayonet type mechanisms).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryosuke (JP2019084328A) in view of Terai (JP2002346270A).
As to claim 3, Ryosuke teaches the washing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the drainage hole is provided at the bottom wall of the pulsator (see ref 250). Ryosuke does not disclose a water stirring rib is provided on the first pulsator, and a drainage chamber provided inside the water stirring rib; and the drainage channel is in communication with the drainage chamber; the water in the drainage channel can flow through the drainage chamber to the drainage hole, and can be further discharged to the bottom of the first pulsator. However, such a feature would be obvious in view of the teachings of Terai. Further, the last limitation of claim 3 is intended use and met so long as the structure is capable of performing the function.
Terai discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein a water stirring rib is provided on a pulsator (see Fig.5). The stirring rib has a water drainage chamber (see Fig.6 interior of ref 28) and allows for suctioning of water during rotation of the pulsator [0026-0030]. Allow passage of water through the stirring ribs, movement of water can be provided without hindering rotation, and thereby improve the cleaning effect [0032-0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ryosuke to incorporate the stirring rib with the water drainage chamber, and allow for water to be conducted through the ribs in order to improve cleaning effect without hindering rotation (Terai [0032-0034]). Such a modification would allow for passage of water through the ribs and to a drain hole of the pulsator located below the bottom rib wall when conducting a drainage function.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryosuke (JP2019084328A) in view of Yang (US20210087739A1).
As to claims 5-6, Ryosuke teaches the washing assembly according to claim 1, but does not disclose multiple drainage channels arranged at intervals on the side wall of the small tub in a circumferential direction or two drainage channels symmetrically arranged on the side wall of the small tub in a circumferential direction. However, such a feature is known in the art, as a manner of providing drainage channels to a tub as seen by Yang.
Yang discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is shown that multiple drainage channels (Fig.5 ref 220) may be provided circumferentially on a sidewall of a tank in a symmetrical manner to guide water to be drained (abstract). Accordingly, Yang indicates another known alternative structure for a draining channel of a water tank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ryosuke to implement the multiple drainage channels, as seen by Yang, as such is known in the art. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known drainage structure in place of, or in addition to, another with a reasonable expectation of success. In this case, the modification would provide two symmetric and distinct drainage channels which lead to the legs (see ref 950 of Ryosuke) on the sidewall.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryosuke (JP2019084328A) in view of Zhou (WO2020108244A1).
As to claims 8-10, Ryosuke teaches the washing assembly of claim 1, wherein the small tub is detachably fitted with the first pulsator [0064-0065]. Although Ryosuke does not explicitly disclose the fitment being a snap fit, such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Zhou. Ryosuke also does not disclose a second pulsator arranged inside the small tub and located at the bottom of the small tub; a driving mechanism arranged at the bottom of the washing assembly, configured to drive the large tub, the first pulsator, and the second pulsator of the washing assembly to rotate. However, such features are also known from Zhou.
Zhou discloses an art related washing machine assembly (abstract), wherein an inner tub is provided within a larger outer tub (see Figs.1-3 & 8-11), and further discloses that the fitment of the inner tub can be via a snap-fit [0025]. It is also seen that a second pulsator (ref 140) can be provided such that it is fitted above a first pulsator (ref 120) and located within the inner tub. A drive mechanism allows for operation of the first pulsator, second pulsator and the larger tub [0018, 0023, & 0030]. The second pulsator allows for improved washing action within the smaller of the two tubs [0042-0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ryosuke to utilize snap-fitting as a manner for connection of the inner tub as such a is a known manner in the art (Zhou [0025]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known manner of fitting in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to incorporate a second pulsator and drive mechanism to rotate the first pulsator, second pulsator, and larger tub in order to provide improved washing action (Zhou [0042-0043]).
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711