DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 25-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/29/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 07/29/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “devulcanization means” in claim 1.
The corresponding structure appears to be a structure for breaking bonds in the three-dimensional structure of the vulcanized rubber, in particular the S-S bonds, via method such as thermomechanical processes, mechanochemical processes, grinding, or thermal processes with sufficiently high temperatures (Specification, p.13, lines 19-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 13-14, 17-20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martena (US 20220315725 A1), further in view of Fukamachi et al. (JP H11140222 A).
Regarding claim 13, Martena teaches a method for deodorizing a rubber granulate (S310, Fig. 5) comprising:
a step of baking the rubber granulate ([0121]),
wherein the rubber granulate subjected to the baking treatment comprises rubber in a vulcanized state (“methods relating to removing, de-vulcanisation, and reworking may be combined to one method, wherein the de-vulcanisation method is optional, because it is only needed for recycling of vulcanized rubber”, [0095]),
wherein the rubber granulate is heated during the baking step at a temperature of between 55°C and 180°C (100-120°C), and
wherein the baking step does not comprise a devulcanization means (devulcanization step is S320, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select 100°C as the deodorizing step temperature of Martena because in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Modified Martena fails to mention a period of time of 8.5-21.3 hours at 100°C as stated in the instant claim 13 table.
Fukamachi teaches a method of deodorizing vulcanized rubber granulates ([0001]), citing the inverse relationship between the heat treatment time and temperature to establish a desired deodorizing effect (p.7, 3rd paragraph of English translation), specifically where a treatment of 150°C at 40 minutes (within the instant claim 13’s range) is equivalent to a treatment of 200°C at 20 minutes.
Martena and Fukamachi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vulcanized rubber recycling methods comprising a heat-based deodorization step.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range of 8.5-21.3 hours treatment time at 100°C from the inverse relationship between the heat treatment time and temperature as taught by Fukamachi through routine optimization, because doing so would still reach a desired deodorizing effect (Fukamachi, p.7, 3rd paragraph of English translation).
Regarding claim 14, modified Martena teaches a pressure range preferably between atmospheric pressure and 2.7 bar ([0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select atmospheric pressure as the deodorizing/baking step pressure of modified Martena because in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 17, modified Martena teaches a prior step of grinding a vulcanized rubber article to provide the rubber granulate (“Peeling rubber chips from the rubber component: peeling is performed by a rotor with milling knives that rotate against the rubber component and grate the surface to produce rubber chips”, [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Martena teaches wherein the rubber granulate is heated during the baking step at a temperature of between 60°C and 130°C (100°C, claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 19, modified Martena teaches wherein the rubber granulate is heated during the baking step at a temperature of between 65°C and 120°C (100°C, claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 20, modified Martena teaches wherein the rubber granulate is heated during the baking step at a temperature of between 75°C and 100°C (100°C, claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 24, modified Martena teaches herein the vulcanized rubber article is used tires or fragments of used tires (abstract).
6. Claims 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martena (US 20220315725 A1), further in view of Fukamachi et al. (JP H11140222 A), as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Matsushita et al. (US 6777453 B1, cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 03/07/2025) and Vergnaud (FR 2475458 A1, cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 07/29/2026).
Regarding claim 15, modified Martena fails to teach wherein the rubber granulate is in a form of particles, a volume mean diameter D50 of which is between 0.8 mm and 20 mm.
Matsushita teaches the crushing of crosslinked (vulcanized) rubber prior to degasification (col.6, last paragraph) but is silent to the purpose of the crushing, where Vergnaud mentions that a rubber crumb size of equal to 900 microns allows for the inexpensive production of recovered rubber articles (p.1, 2nd-4th paragraph of English translation).
Modified Martena, Matsushita, and Vergnaud are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of crushed rubber processing methods.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rubber granulate of modified Martena by incorporating a crushing step prior to the heat degasification/deodorization step as taught by Matsushita, specifically crushing to a size equal to 900 microns as taught by Vergnaud, because doing so would allow the inexpensive production of recovered rubber articles (Vergnaud p.1, 2nd-4th paragraph of English translation) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 22, the instant combination teaches wherein the rubber granulate is in the form of particles, the volume mean diameter D50 of which is between 0.8 mm and 8 mm (900 microns = 0.9 mm, see claim 15 rejection above).
7. Claims 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martena (US 20220315725 A1), further in view of Fukamachi et al. (JP H11140222 A), as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Matsushita et al. (US 6777453 B1) and Pialot (WO 2020128212 A1, cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 03/07/2025).
Regarding claim 16, modified Martena fails to teach wherein the rubber granulate is in a form of particles, a volume mean diameter D50 of which is between 10 and 800 um.
Matsushita teaches the crushing of crosslinked (vulcanized) rubber prior to degasification (col.6, last paragraph) but is silent to the purpose of the crushing, where Pialot mentions that a rubber crumb average size (D50) between 100-800 microns allows for the production of molded rubber objects (p.1, 2nd-4th paragraph of English translation).
Modified Martena, Matsushita, and Pialot are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of crushed rubber processing methods.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rubber granulate of modified Martena by incorporating a crushing step prior to the heat degasification/deodorization step as taught by Matsushita, specifically crushing to a size of 100 microns as taught by Pialot, because doing so would allow the production of molded rubber objects (Pialot, p.1, 2nd-4th paragraph of English translation), and in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 23, the instant combination teaches wherein the rubber granulate is in the form of particles, the volume mean diameter D50 of which is between 50 um and 200 um (100 microns, see claim 16 rejection above).
8. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martena (US 20220315725 A1), further in view of Fukamachi et al. (JP H11140222 A), as applied to claim 14 above, further in view of Matsushita et al. (US 6777453 B1).
Regarding claim 21, Modified Martena teaches a deodorizing step pressure of atmospheric pressure (see claim 14 rejection above), but fails to teach wherein the pressure used during the baking step is between 30,000-50,000 Pa.
Matsumisha teaches a degasification of vulcanized rubber (col.2, last paragraph, and col.3, lines 29-31), further teaching that reduced pressure within the heated degasification step promotes gasification from the malodor rubber components (col.3, lines 29-46).
Modified Martena and Matsumisha are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heat-based degasification/deodorization of vulcanized rubber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range of 30,000-50,000 Pa treatment pressure as taught by Matsushima through routine optimization, because doing so would provide a desired degasification efficiency (Matsushima, col.3, lines 29-46).
Conclusion
/Aham Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758