Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/30/2026 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s argument wherein Ishitobi (JP2007007618A) does not teach that the fluid is not retained within the sections separated by the retaining walls 31, has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive because a container does not have to be separated from other sections completely to have a retention time. While sections of the treatment tank 21 may still be fluidly connected to other sections, defined by partition walls 31, the fluid flowing through the tank is retained, for periods of time, in each section of the treatment tank 21.
The applicant’s argument for the lack of rationale for the combination of references, has been full considered, but is not found persuasive because the examiner showed in the nonfinal rejection from 04/29/2026, how the combined references were analogous, and benefits of each combined references that would improve the reference in which it was combined to. To summarize, one would be motivated to combine the following references to Ishitobi (or Ishitobi modified by another reference) because:
Ryan (US20120312755A1)
Advantageously utilizes the shape of the drop-bed structure to maximize the performance of the components (centrifuge, screw presses, and trailer shape) within the treatment system.
Yamada (JP2003300077A)
Yamada’s system can be easily installed, removed, and transported, which for a mobile treatment system, such as what Ishitobi teaches, would be advantageous to have significant modularity.
Roberts (US20160016825A1)
Operating the system with a pump adds a level of autonomy to the system, and as taught by Roberts, these mobile treatment systems are often implemented in hazardous locations, thus autonomy in the system creates less need for workers, lowering costs and reduces risks of workers in hazardous environments.
Ikuta (WO2010046960A1)
Utilizes alternative energy sources to power the system, which can reduce the costs of operation for the user, as well as allow for operation in areas, where grid power may be less available.
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges and enters the amendments from the applicant submitted on 07/27/2026 wherein claims 8, 10, and 11 are cancelled; and claim 9 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishitobi (JP2007007618A)), in view of Ryan (US20120312755A1). *Ishitobi is directed to the attached, English, machine-translated version.
Regarding claim 9, Ishitobi teaches a water purification apparatus using a wastewater treatment device, comprising: one or a plurality of container main bodies into which raw water to be treated is introduced from an outside; {Bottom page 5 through top page 6, "water purification apparatus 1 … is compactly mounted on container 3 … supplies raw water pumped from ponds, rivers, pools, etc."}
a plurality of treatment tanks, including at least a first treatment tank into which the raw water to be treated is to be introduced and a second treatment tank into which treated water that has been treated in the first treatment tank is to be introduced, {Middle page 7, "filter filtration unit 20 … to chemical treatment tank 21"} the plurality of treatment tanks being arranged inside the container main body so that heights of liquid levels become lower in order; {Middle page 7, "filtration unit 20 includes … bag filters 23 … purified water leaked from bag filter 23 is disposed in the lower water collecting tank … and supplied to chemical treatment tank 21"}
Ishitobi is silent to each of the treatment tanks having a bottomed cylindrical shape, however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of treatment tank 21 of Ishitobi to a cylindrical shape, as multiple other tanks in Ishitobi conform to this cylindrical shape. {Middle page 6, re. priming water tank 4b and Figure 1} Doing so would provide a more even distribution of force against the cylindrical tank walls, therefore creating a more structurally resilient reaction tank.
Ishitobi further teaches a plurality of chemical agent tanks that contain chemical agents to be fed to the first and second treatment tanks; {Middle page 8, "drug supply device 38", which is supplying chemicals to treatment tank 21} (While Ishitobi only teaches one chemical treatment tank, they claim multiple tanks with the same structure. MPEP 2144 “Duplication of parts” states, “that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.” As referenced below, Ryan discloses multiple chemical treatment tanks, as well as multiple chemical agent storage tanks to treat the multiple chemical treatment tanks {Ryan, paragraphs 35 and 66}, thus showing one of reasonable skill in the art would and can utilize multiple chemical treatment tanks within a mobile treatment system)
first filtration means for filtering the treated water that has been treated in the plurality of treatment tanks, the first filtration means including a filter member internally partitioned into a plurality of filtration chambers, {Top page 8, "chemical treatment tank 21 is divided into partition walls 31"}
second filtration means for filtering the treated water that has been filtered by the first filtration means so as to turn the treated water into potable water; {Middle page 8, "the drug for drinking water stored in the chemical treatment tank 21 is sodium hypochlorite"}
and disinfecting means for disinfecting the treated water that has been filtered by the second filtration means to obtain potable water; {Middle and bottom page 8, "purified water supply port 42 … to the purified water supply unit 1c… connected to water purifier 50 and faucet 51"}
wherein the first and second treatment tanks each have an inflow side being separated from an interior of a corresponding one of the first and second treatment tanks by a first partition wall, {Top page 8, "chemical treatment tank 21 is divided into partition walls 31" and Figure 1 reference (32) circled}
the first partition wall including a bottom portion having a first communication hole for communication with the interior of a corresponding one of the first and second treatment tanks, {Figure 1 reference (21) circled arrow between references (32)}
the raw water or the treated water to flow into the first and second treatment tanks being supplied to an upper end portion of the inflow side separated by the first partition wall, {Figure 1 reference (33) "feed pipe"} and the first and second treatment tanks each have an outlet side being separated from the interior of a corresponding one of the first and second treatment tanks by a second partition wall, {Top page 8, "chemical treatment tank 21 is divided into partition walls 31" and figure 1 reference (32) circled}
the second partition wall including an upper end portion having a second communication hole for communication with the interior of a corresponding one of the first and second treatment tanks, {Figure 1 reference (21) circled arrow between references (32)}
and wherein the raw water or the treated water introduced into the first and second treatment tanks is retained therein for predetermined time periods by causing the treated water to flow out from a predetermined depth on the outflow side separated by the second partition wall. {Bottom page 8, "Over time, the reaction mixture is surely mixed and reaches the most downstream chamber"}
Ishitobi fails to teach a foreign matter removal means formed of a cyclone centrifugal separator configured to remove foreign matter from the raw water that has been introduced from the outside;
the filter member being arranged between a fixed board and a movable board that are arranged so as to face each other in a horizontal direction, the first filtration means filtering the treated water introduced into the filter member after the movable board is moved toward the fixed board to reach a filtration position;
wherein all steps of a water purification treatment for turning the raw water into the potable water except for at least a step of removing the foreign matter from the raw water are completed inside the one or plurality of container main bodies.
Ryan teaches a foreign matter removal means formed of a cyclone centrifugal separator configured to remove foreign matter from the raw water that has been introduced from the outside; {Page 32, "dewatering equipment 90, such as … centrifuges"} (While the intended use of the centrifuge of Ryan, may be different than the intended use of the instant application, the structure of the centrifuge allows it to be capable of removing raw material from a raw waste stream)
the filter member being arranged between a fixed board and a movable board that are arranged so as to face each other in a horizontal direction, the first filtration means filtering the treated water introduced into the filter member after the movable board is moved toward the fixed board to reach a filtration position; {Paragraph 32, "dewatering equipment 90 such as filter presses, … screw presses" and figures 1A&1B reference (90)}
wherein all steps of a water purification treatment for turning the raw water into the potable water except for at least a step of removing the foreign matter from the raw water are completed inside the one or plurality of container main bodies. {Paragraph 32, "The first trailer 12 houses the chemical mixing section 30, clarifier section 50, and thickening section 70 … The second auxiliary trailer 14 contains the dewatering equipment" and Figures 1A-1B} (The auxiliary trailer 14 is not within a container, nor the same container as the chemical treatment process, thus per the claim language, is not inside the container main body)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan with the Ishitobi because these inventions both involve the purification of water in compact, transportation-friendly treatment systems. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine Ryan to Ishitobi because Ryan advantageously utilizes the shape of the drop-bed structure of the trailer to maximize the performance of the components within the treatment system. {Ryan, paragraph 33}
Regarding claim 13, Ishitobi teaches wherein a raw water tank for storing the raw water to be treated is arranged inside or outside the container main body, and the raw water is transferred from the raw water tank to the first treatment tank by a pump arranged in the raw water tank. {Middle page 6, "The solid-liquid separation processing unit 1a is configured to temporarily store the raw water pumped up by pump 4a"}
Regarding claim 14, Ishitobi teaches wherein the first filtration means is arranged so as to face an opening portion formed in a side surface of the container main body, {Bottom page 11, "The container 3 having a large number of doors 73 in the surroundings by the above configuration [Figure 7] can be formed into a rigid frame structure"} (Given this embodiment shows doors surrounding the entirety of the, regardless of which portion of the container the first filtration means exists, it will be facing an opening of said container.) and a sludge pan configured to receive sludge remaining inside the filter member is arranged below the first filtration means. {Top page 7, "convey the floc and be discharged from the terminal discharge port 16" and Figure 2 references (16) & (20)} (The figure represents discharge port 16 as the flat "pan" shaped device, as well as showing the discharge port below the first filtration means or in this case "first filtration unit 20")
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishitobi (JP2007007618A) modified by Ryan (US20120312755A1), in view of Yamada (JP2003300077A), in further view of Roberts (US20160016825A1). *Ishitobi and Yamada are directed towards the attached, English, machine-translated versions.
Regarding claim 12, Ishitobi modified by Roberts fails to teach wherein a most downstream treatment tank of the plurality of treatment tanks is arranged directly on a bottom surface of the container main body, and the treated water is transferred from the most downstream treatment tank to the first filtration means by a pump.
Yamada teaches the water purification apparatus using a wastewater treatment device according to claim 9, wherein a most downstream treatment tank of the plurality of treatment tanks is arranged directly on a bottom surface of the container main body. {Figure 2 references (9A-9D)} (This figure shows a plurality of treatment tanks arranged on the base of a portable treatment system)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishitobi modified by Ryan with Yamada’s teachings wherein a most downstream treatment tank of the plurality of treatment tanks is arranged directly on a bottom surface of the container main body as doing so would Yamada discloses their system can be easily installed, removed, and transported; {Yamada, middle page 16} which for a mobile treatment system, such as what Ishitobi teaches, would be advantageous to have significant modularity.
Roberts teaches the treated water is transferred from the most downstream treatment tank to the first filtration means by a pump. {Furthermore, the system 210 of the current embodiment includes lines for recirculating treated water from the distribution subsystem 220 … to earlier components of the treatment train 218" and reference (220) "distribution pump"}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishitobi modified by Ryan with Roberts’ teachings wherein the treated water is transferred from the most downstream treatment tank to the first filtration means by a pump as operating the system with a pump adds a level of autonomy to the system; and as taught by Roberts, these mobile treatment systems are often implemented in hazardous locations, {Roberts, paragraph 66} thus autonomy in the system creates less need for workers, lowering costs and reduces risks of workers in hazardous environments.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishitobi modified by Ryan (US20120312755A1), in view of Ikuta (WO2010046960A1). Ishitobi and Ikuta are directed towards their attached, machine-translated, English versions.
Regarding claim 15, Ishitobi modified by Ryan fails to teach the wastewater treatment device comprising electric power supply means including at least one of a solar panel or a wind power generator, the electric power supply means supplying electric power to at least one or all of devices configured to transfer the raw water and the treated water, and feed and agitate the chemical agents.
Ikuta teaches the wastewater treatment device comprising electric power supply means including at least one of a solar panel or a wind power generator, {Top half page 7, "solar cell module 61" and "wind power generator 63"} the electric power supply means supplying electric power to at least one or all of devices configured to transfer the raw water and the treated water, and feed and agitate the chemical agents. {Top half page 7, "the container 51 is operated by electricity obtained from solar cell module 61"}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishitobi modified by Ryan with Ikuta’s teachings wherein the wastewater treatment device comprising electric power supply means including at least one of a solar panel or a wind power generator, the electric power supply means supplying electric power to at least one or all of devices configured to transfer the raw water and the treated water, and feed and agitate the chemical agents as doing so utilizes alternative energy sources to power the system, which can reduce the costs of operation for the user, as well as allow for operation in areas, where grid power may be less available.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J ROTONDI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1773 /JOSEPH W DRODGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773