Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “main module” in claim 1 (support in paragraphs 31-32 of specification) and “display module” in claim 20 (support in specification paragraph 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baek (US 2013/0113777).
Regarding claim 14, Baek discloses A display device comprising:
a display module (fig. 1(121)); and
a main module (fig. 1(110)) configured to transmit video signals to the display module so that a video is displayed on the display module ([0039, 0056]), and
wherein the main module is configured to:
transmit test signals for detecting a transmission environment of the video signals to the
display module ([0039, 0041, 0043] test patterns are transmitted and used for error checking).
Regarding claim 15, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: adjust a video signal transmitted to the display module based on a feedback signal responsive to the test signals received from the display module ([0075, 0116]).
Regarding claim 16, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: transmit the test signals between the video signals ([0041]).
Regarding claim 17, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: transmit the test signals during blank period between transmission periods of the video signals, wherein the blank period is a period that the video signals are not transmitted ([0074]).
Regarding claim 18, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: continuously adjust a signal compensation level of the video signal by transmitting the test signals at each blank period ([0075, 0115, 0116]).
Regarding claim 19, Baek discloses wherein the blank period is a period in which a training pattern for generating a reference signal of clocks or a control signal (CTL) is transmitted ([0041]).
Regarding claim 20, Baek discloses wherein each of the test signals includes a preset pattern, and the display module is configured to: transmit the feedback signal including an error detection result of the preset pattern to the main module ([0043, 0048, 0078]).
Regarding claim 21, Baek discloses wherein each of the test signals includes a different pattern ([0048, 0098, 0105]).
Regarding claim 22, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: transmit a first test signal including a first pattern and then change the signal compensation level of the video signals to a first level when an error is detected in the first test signal, and transmit a second test signal including a second pattern with a higher recognition difficulty than the first pattern if an error is not detected in the first test signal and then change the signal compensation level of the video signals to a second level lower than the first level when an error is detected in the second test signal ([0062, 0078, 0091]).
Regarding claim 23, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: change the signal compensation level by changing at least one of the signal level and a pre-emphasis value ([0043]).
Regarding claim 24, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: transmit a first feedback signal and a second feedback signal, respectively, in response to the first test signal and the second test signal, to the main module ([0062, 0078, 0091]).
Regarding claim 25, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: transmit one feedback signal responsive to the first test signal and the second test signal to the main module ([0075, 0091, 0116]).
Regarding claim 26, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: adjust the signal compensation level of the video signals and then transmit a response signal to the display module ([0075, 0116]).
Regarding claim 27, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: transmit a third test signal including a third pattern with a higher recognition difficulty than the second pattern if an error is not detected in the second test signal and then change the signal compensation level of the video signals to a third level lower than the second level when an error is detected in the third test signal ([0048, 0050, 0082]).
Regarding claim 28, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: maintain the signal compensation level when the error is not detected ([0054]).
Regarding claim 29, Baek discloses wherein the main module is configured to: adjust the signal compensation level by transmitting test signals to the display module starting from an order of low recognition difficulty ([0082]).
Regarding claim 30, Baek discloses wherein the main module comprises: a panel (fig. 1(170)), a gate driver ([0056]) for supplying a scan signal to the panel, and a source driver ([0057]) for supplying a video signal to the panel, wherein the main module includes a timing controller for controlling the gate driver and the source driver (fig. 1(110)).
Regarding claim 31, Baek discloses wherein source driver is configured to recognize high or low in the test signals ([0078, 0086, 0103]).
Regarding claim 32, Baek discloses wherein the source drive is configured to recognize high, the longer a duration of high, the lower a recognition difficulty of a pattern included in the test signals and the shorter the duration of high, the higher the recognition difficulty of the pattern included in the test signals ([0048, 0082, 0086]).
Regarding claim 33, Baek discloses wherein the source drive is configured to recognize low, the longer a duration of low, the lower a recognition difficulty of a pattern included in the test signals and the shorter the duration of low, the higher the recognition difficulty of the pattern included in the test signals ([0082, 0101, 0103]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426