DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GAUTHIER (US 10,124,716).
Regarding claim 1, GAUTHIER discloses a light distribution control system that performs vehicle-external recognition and performs light distribution control over headlights (120, Fig.1) mounted on a vehicle, based on the vehicle-external recognition, the light distribution control system comprising:
an external sensor (164, Fig.1) that acquires information about an object around the vehicle; and
a ground speed acquisition unit (140, Fig.1) that acquires a ground speed of the object based on an output from the external sensor (as seen in col.4, lines 24-64 and col.6, lines 1-16, “ground speed acquisition unit” was considered to be the electronic control unit 140 receiving data [e.g. speed] from the external sensor 164),
wherein based on the ground speed acquired by the ground speed acquisition unit, an emission range of the headlights is variably set (as seen in col.6, lines 1-16, the headlights 120 are set based on the data acquired by the ground speed acquisition unit 140).
Regarding claim 2, GAUTHIER further discloses wherein in a case where the ground speed of the object is less than a first threshold in the ground speed acquisition unit, an emission direction of headlights of a self-vehicle is set to a high beam (as seen in col.6, lines 1-16, since the high beam is turned off based on the external sensor 164 [e.g. motion sensor] detecting a speed of an oncoming vehicle, the high beam was considered to be also turned on or set based on the external sensor 164 not detecting a speed of an oncoming vehicle; as a result, when the speed of the object is less than a first threshold, the headlights 120 is set to a high beam).
Regarding claim 8, GAUTHIER as discussed above for claim 1 was considered to disclose the method of performing vehicle-external recognition and performs light distribution control over headlights mounted on a vehicle, based on the vehicle-external recognition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAUTHIER (US 10,124,716).
Regarding claim 3, GAUTHIER further discloses an image acquisition unit (162, Fig.1) that acquires an image of a periphery of the vehicle; and
a light spot detection unit (140a, Fig.1) that detects a light spot included in the image (as seen in (19) col., line, the “light spot detection unit” was considered to be the CPU 140a detecting a light spot as pixels in the image).
GAUTHIER fails to explicitly disclose wherein the emission direction of the headlights of the self-vehicle is set to a low beam or a high beam for shielding the object from light in a case where the light spot detection unit detects no light spot and the ground speed acquisition unit acquires the ground speed of the object greater than or equal to a first threshold.
As seen in col.5, lines 9-25 of GAUTHIER, the image acquisition unit 162 [e.g. a camera] detects a light spot of an oncoming vehicle. As seen in col.6, lines 1-16 of GAUTHIER, the external sensor 164 [e.g. motion sensor] detects a speed of an oncoming vehicle. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that there can be a parameter set for the headlights to adjust when a light spot is not detected and the speed of the object is greater than or equal to a first threshold. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the parameter in order to control the headlights.
Regarding claim 4, GAUTHIER further discloses a vehicle detection unit that detects a vehicle included in the image (as seen in col.5, lines 4-8, vehicles are detected in the image from the image acquisition unit 162).
GAUTHIER fails to explicitly disclose wherein the ground speed of the object is determined to be greater than or equal to the first threshold in the ground speed acquisition unit in a case where the vehicle detection unit detects no vehicle.
As seen in col.6, lines 1-16 of GAUTHIER, the external sensor 164 [e.g. motion sensor] detects a speed of an oncoming vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that there can be a parameter set for the speed of the object is greater than or equal to the first threshold when no vehicle is detected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the parameter in order to control the headlights.
Regarding claim 5, GAUTHIER fails to explicitly disclose wherein the emission direction of the headlights of the self-vehicle is set to the low beam or the high beam for shielding the object from light in a case where the vehicle detection unit detects the vehicle and the ground speed acquisition unit acquires the ground speed of the object greater than or equal to a second threshold of a speed greater than the first threshold.
As seen in col.5, lines 9-25 of GAUTHIER, the image acquisition unit 162 [e.g. a camera] detects a light spot of an oncoming vehicle. As seen in col.6, lines 1-16, the external sensor 164 [e.g. motion sensor] detects a speed of an oncoming vehicle. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that there can be a parameter set for the headlights to adjust when a vehicle is detected and the speed of the object is greater than or equal to a second threshold. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the parameter in order to control the headlights.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAUTHIER (US 10,124,716), and in view of KIM (US 2020/0184654).
Regarding claim 6, GAUTHIER fails to disclose wherein the vehicle detection unit detects a vehicle using machine learning based on parallax information and feature on the image.
However, KIM discloses machine learning based on information on the image (para[0072] and para[0088]).
Therefore, in view of KIM, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate machine learning as taught by KIM to the light distribution control system of GAUTHIER in order to provide training and data to the control systems of the vehicle.
Regarding “parallax information”, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a machine learning model can be trained with desired data and information such as parallax information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate machine learning based on parallax information to the light distribution control system of GAUTHIER modified by KIM in order to provide the model to the light distribution control system to control the headlights.
Regarding claim 7, GAUTHIER fails to discloses wherein the ground speed acquisition unit also uses information about the ground speed of the object as object information for performing autonomous driving or advanced driver-assistance of the vehicle.
However, KIM discloses information about a ground speed of an object as object information for performing autonomous driving (para[0271]).
Therefore, in view of KIM, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate objection information as taught by KIM to the light distribution control system of GAUTHIER in order to provide data to the control systems of the vehicle for autonomous driving.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210046861, US 20180037154, US 20210253021, US 20210031675, US 20220178510, US 20210213869, US 20210232842, and US 11007926 discloses a light distribution control system including sensors and adjusting the headlights based on the sensors
Conclusion
/J.M.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875