DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 13 and 15 recite “the first light ray angle conversion element includes at least a third region and a fourth region” [emphasis added]. The examiner believes this to be a typographical error and will examine the claims as if they recite “the second light ray angle conversion element includes at least a third region and a fourth region”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what applicant means by red and blue as recited in claim 14.
Drawings
Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lipton (U.S. Publication No. 20150301313). Lipton teaches a stereo adaptor comprising a first light ray angle conversion element 409/410 and a second light ray angle conversion element 407/408 configured to change angles of light rays propagating from a target object, wherein the light rays propagating from the target object propagate through insides of the first light ray angle conversion element and the second light ray angle conversion element (see fig 4), and the first light ray angle conversion element and the second light ray angle conversion element are arranged at a predetermined distance from each other with respect to an optical axis.
Regarding claim 2, the first light ray angle conversion element includes at least a first region 409 and a second region 410, the second light ray angle conversion element includes at least a third region 407 and a fourth region 408, a direction in which an angle of the entering light ray is changed in the first region of the first light ray angle conversion element and a direction in which an angle of the entering light ray is changed in the second region of the first light ray angle conversion element are substantially opposite to each other, and a direction in which an angle of the entering light ray is changed in the third region of the second light ray angle conversion element and a direction in which an angle of the entering light ray is changed in the fourth region of the second light ray angle conversion element are substantially opposite to each other. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the first light ray angle conversion element includes at least a first region 409 and a second region 410, the second light ray angle conversion element includes at least a third region 407 and a fourth region 408, an angle of the light ray entering the first region of the first light ray angle conversion element and an angle of the light ray entering the third region of the second light ray angle conversion element are changed in opposite directions, and an angle of the light ray entering the second region of the first light ray angle conversion element and an angle of the light ray entering the fourth region of the second light ray angle conversion element are changed in opposite directions. See fig. 4. See also ¶41 “Each set of prisms generally diverts the light path horizontally in equal and opposite directions to increase the effective distance of t.”
Regarding claim 4, the first light ray angle conversion 409/410 element is installed in a preceding stage that is an entrance side of the light rays (light rays 411/412 enter 409/410), and the second light ray angle conversion element 407/408 is installed in a subsequent stage (fig. 4), and an angle of the entering light ray is changed in the first light ray angle conversion element such that the light ray travels toward a direction of the optical axis (see prism shape 409/410, fig. 4), and an angle of the entering light ray is changed in the second light ray angle conversion element such that the light ray travels in an opposite direction to the direction in the first light ray angle conversion element (see prism shape 407/408).
Regarding claim 5, the first light ray angle conversion element includes at least a first region 409 and a second region 410, and the first region and the second region of the first light ray angle conversion element are spatially separated from each other (by 414).
Regarding claim 6, the second light ray angle conversion element includes at least a third region 407 and a fourth region 408, and the third region and the fourth region of the second light ray angle conversion element are spatially separated from each other (by 414).
Regarding claim 7, the first light ray angle conversion element 409/410 is formed of a first prism 410 that is a prism, and the second light ray angle conversion element 408 is formed of a second prism that is a prism different from the first prism. See fig. 4 as well as ¶41, “The aforementioned combinations of prisms have this specification: 410 and 408”.
Regarding claim 11, the first light ray angle conversion element 409/410 and the second light ray angle conversion element 407/408 are arranged in series with respect to the optical axis. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 12, Lipton teaches a stereo camera (¶¶3, 11, 14, 25) comprising: a first light ray angle conversion element 409/410 and a second light ray angle conversion element 407/408 configured to change angles of light rays propagating from a target object; a light condenser 405/406 configured to focus an image formed by light transmitted through the first light ray angle conversion element and the second light ray angle conversion element; and a light receiver 402 configured to detect the focused image, wherein the light rays propagating from the target object propagate through insides of the first light ray angle conversion element and the second light ray angle conversion element, and the first light ray angle conversion element and the second light ray angle conversion element are arranged at a predetermined distance from each other with respect to an optical axis. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 13, the first light ray angle conversion element includes at least a first region 409 and a second region 410, the second light ray angle conversion element includes at least a third region 407 and a fourth region 408, the light receiver includes a first light receiving region (region to the right of 414) and a second light receiving region (region to the left of 414), the light ray transmitted through the first region of the first light ray angle conversion element and the third region of the second light ray angle conversion element is made to fall on the first light receiving region by the light condenser, and the light ray transmitted through the second region of the first light ray angle conversion element and the fourth region of the second light ray angle conversion element is made to fall on the second light receiving region by the light condenser.
Regarding claim 14, a separation direction in entrance of red and blue in the first light receiving region matches the separation direction in the second light receiving region, in the same direction as a direction in which the first light receiving region and the second light receiving region are arranged side by side. See fig. 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipton (U.S. Publication No. 20150301313). Lipton teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for
a refractive index of the first prism is larger than a refractive index of the second prism. Lipton does teach that the first prism 409/410 has a different index of refraction from the second prism 407/408. See ¶41. The goal of the different indices of refraction is to lower chromatic aberration (see ¶41). Since there are only two choices to try, higher or lower, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a refractive index of the first prism being larger than a refractive index of the second prism for the purpose of reducing chromatic aberration.
Regarding claim 9, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of an angle of a tilted portion with the smallest tilt with respect to the optical axis among tilted portions forming the first prism is smaller than an angle of a tilted portion with the smallest tilt with respect to the optical axis among tilted portions forming the second prism for the purpose of compensating for differences in refractive indices between prisms and ensuring proper alignment of image optical axis on the sensor.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipton (U.S. Publication No. 20150301313) in view of Tode (JP H08-286274). Lipton teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for using a prism instead of at least one of the first light ray angle conversion element and the second light ray angle conversion element is a diffraction element. Tode teaches that a diffraction grating is a known equivalent to a prism as used in Lipton. The applicant is directed to review figures 5 and 7 as well as ¶26 “Example 5. A fifth embodiment of the present invention will be described with reference to FIG. 7, the same reference numerals as those in FIG. 5 denote the same or corresponding portions, and 17 denotes a diffraction grating. In the fifth embodiment, the diffraction grating 17 is used instead of the triangular prism.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Tode for the purpose of utilizing readily available optical elements or for creating a lower profile.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipton (U.S. Publication No. 20150301313) in view of Yoshida (JP2003047028). Lipton teaches a first light ray angle conversion element 409/410 and a second light ray angle conversion element 407/408 configured to change angles of light rays propagating from a target object; a light condenser 405/406 configured to focus an image formed by the light rays transmitted through the first light ray angle conversion element and the second light ray angle conversion element; a light receiver 402 configured to detect the focused image wherein the first light ray angle conversion element includes at least a first region 409 and a second region 410, the first light ray angle conversion element includes at least a third region 407 and a fourth region 408, the light rays propagating from the target object propagate through insides of the first light ray angle conversion element and the second light ray angle conversion element, the first light ray angle conversion element and the second light ray angle conversion element are arranged at a predetermined distance from each other with respect to an optical axis, the light receiver includes a first light receiving region (to the right of 414) and a second light receiving region (to the left of 414), the light ray transmitted through the first region of the first light ray angle conversion element and the third region of the second light ray angle conversion element is made to fall on the first light receiving region by the light condenser, the light ray transmitted through the second region of the first light ray angle conversion element and the fourth region of the second light ray angle conversion element is made to fall on the second light receiving region by the light condenser. See fig. 4. Lipton teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except the stereo image processing apparatus detects disparity based on output signals of the first light receiving region and the second light receiving region. Yoshida teaches that it was known to detect disparity based on output signals of the first light receiving region and the second light receiving region (¶15, “a relative image is obtained for each color component in response to a shift in image position for each of a plurality of color components of the subject image signal caused by the prism type stereo adapter.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Yoshida for the purpose of further chromatic correction.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipton (U.S. Publication No. 20150301313) in view of Yoshida (JP2003047028) and further in view of Inaba (JP J08-122945). Lipton as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except a distance is estimated based on the disparity, and in estimation of the disparity, a base line length is changed depending on a stereo camera incidence angle that is an angle of the light ray entering the first light ray angle conversion element and that is an incidence angle of the entering light ray with respect to a plane perpendicular to an optical axis. Inaba teaches that it was known to estimate a distance based on disparity (disparity seen in fig. 12) and in estimation of the disparity, a base line length is changed depending on a stereo camera incidence angle that is an angle of the light ray entering the first light ray angle conversion element (¶¶9-10 and 23, “the distance between the optical axes of the two taking lenses can be adjusted, and the focal points of the two reflex viewfinders are adjusted.”) and that is an incidence angle of the entering light ray with respect to a plane perpendicular to an optical axis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Inaba for the purpose of reducing parallax.
The applicant should note that ¶6 discusses auto focusing which is often performed based on disparity between image receiving elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kanda (U.S. Patent No. 4712206) and Crehore (U.S. Patent No. 548701) both teach diffraction gratings may be used in place of a prism. Girsdansky (GB224954) teaches first and second prisms of assorted shapes used in stereophotography. The applicant is directed to review figures 8a-c.
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852