DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/6/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 3/7/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an acquisition unit”, “an opening degree determination unit”, and “an opening degree control unit” in claims 1 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, the claims recite : “an acquisition unit”, “an opening degree determination unit”, and “an opening degree control unit” in claims 1 and 6. The specification fails discloses the computer and the algorithm(s) that achieve the claimed function in sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claim subject matter at the time of filing. It is not enough that one skilled in the art could theoretically write a program to achieve the claimed function, rather the specification itself must explain how the claimed function is achieved. The specification fails to teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “a minimum opening degree set value and a maximum opening degree set value of the opening degree of the vane set in advance”. The terms “minimum and maximum” in claim 5 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “minimum and maximum” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, as used to qualify the opening degree of the vane set, these terms renders the same indeterminate and the claim (and all claims depending therefrom) indefinite with regard to the scope of protection sought thereby.
Claim limitation : “an acquisition unit”, “an opening degree determination unit”, and “an opening degree control unit” in claims 1 and 6 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification fails to teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-4 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al (JP 2015161499) .
Regarding claims 1 and 6, in view of indefiniteness, Arai teaches a centrifugal chiller (fig. 1) comprising: a turbo compressor (TC) that compresses a refrigerant gas (gas, pg. 2, paragraph 4); a vane (IGV) that is capable of adjusting flow rate of the refrigerant gas sucked by the turbo compressor (pg. 2, paragraph 4); a condenser (4) that condenses the refrigerant gas compressed by the turbo compressor by causing the refrigerant gas to release heat through heat exchange; an expansion valve (7) that expands a liquid refrigerant introduced from the condenser; an evaporator (5) that evaporates the liquid refrigerant expanded by the expansion valve by causing the liquid refrigerant to absorb heat through heat exchange; and a chiller control device (20), wherein the chiller control device includes an acquisition unit (compressor head condition, pg. 5, paragraph 4, one of ordinary skill would recognize control device 20 is receiving information about the system for controlling the IGV, abstract) that acquires at least a state amount of the refrigerant gas when starting the centrifugal chiller (pg. 5, paragraph 4), an opening degree determination unit (the IGV is opened to the opening degree corresponding to the compression head condition, pg. 5, paragraph 4, one of ordinary skill would recognize control device 20 is receiving information about the system for controlling the IGV, abstract) that determines an opening degree (the IGV is opened to the opening degree corresponding to the compression head condition, pg. 5, paragraph 4) of the vane based on the acquired state amount, and an opening degree control unit (20 perform control, pg. 4, paragraph 5, one of ordinary skill would recognize control device 20 is receiving information about the system for controlling the IGV, abstract) that controls the opening degree of the vane based on the determined opening degree (pg. 4, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 7, it is noted that although the preamble of claim 7 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Regarding claim 8, Arai teaches all the limitations of claim 8 including a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (20 stores the relationship, pg. 4, paragraph 4) that stores a program (pg. 4, paragraph 4) causing a computer (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize 20 as a computer, pg. 4, paragraphs 4-5, 6).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al (JP 2015161499) as applied to claim 1 and in view of Drake (US 20230137972).
Regarding claim 2, in view of indefiniteness, Arai teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the acquisition unit acquires at least one of a pressure and a temperature of the refrigerant gas sucked by the turbo compressor as the state amount of the refrigerant gas.
However, Drake teaches the acquisition unit acquires (S) at least one of a pressure and a temperature (it is well known in the art for sensors to measure pressure and sensors of refrigerant) of the refrigerant gas sucked by the turbo compressor as the state amount of the refrigerant gas (paragraph 0026) to efficiently monitor the chiller system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the centrifugal chiller of Arai to include the acquisition unit acquires at least one of a pressure and a temperature of the refrigerant gas sucked by the turbo compressor as the state amount of the refrigerant gas in view of the teachings of Drake to efficiently monitor the chiller system.
Regarding claim 3, in view of indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach a pressure sensor (Pe of Arai) that detects the pressure of the refrigerant gas on an outlet side of the evaporator (fig. 1), wherein the acquisition unit acquires the pressure of the refrigerant gas detected by the pressure sensor as the state amount of the refrigerant gas (pg. 4, paragraph 5 of Arai).
Regarding claim 4, in view of indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach the acquisition unit acquires an operating rotation speed of the turbo compressor during a steady operation of the centrifugal chiller (rotation speed, pg. 2, paragraph 3 of Arai, paragraph 0004 of Drake), and the opening degree determination unit calculates the opening degree of the vane based on a differential pressure between an upstream side and a downstream side of the vane in a suction direction of the refrigerant gas (fig. 2 of Arai).
Regarding claim 5, in view of indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach the opening degree determination unit determines the opening degree of the vane such that the opening degree falls between a minimum opening degree set value and a maximum opening degree set value of the opening degree of the vane set in advance (pg. 4, paragraphs 1-3, fig. 2).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763