DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-22, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulino USPA_20120141766_A1.
1. Regarding Claims 1, 6, 9, 14, 24, 25, Paulino discloses a film for snack-food packaging (corresponds to claimed limitation of instant Claim 25) (paragraph 0005) and used in label applications (corresponds to limitations of instant Claim 24) (paragraph 0003, 0004) using a PLA (corresponds to claimed polymeric) film that has polystyrene (corresponds to claimed limitation of instant Claim 6) as a cavitating agent (paragraphs 0002, 0054) in a core layer (corresponds to claimed cavitated layer of instant Claims 1, 14) (paragraph 0058) of said film and said core layer can also comprise talc (corresponds to claimed opacifying agent of instant Claims 1 and 9) (paragraph 0059). Paulino further discloses said film can undergo transverse uniaxial orientation (paragraphs 0025, 0055).
2. Regarding Claim 5, it is well known that standard polystyrene has a melting temperature of less than 270C.
3. Regarding Claim 7, Paulino discloses said polystyrene ranging from 2 to 10 wt% (Claim 1).
4. Regarding Claim 10, Paulino discloses using 1 to 6 wt% of talc (paragraph 0059).
5. Regarding Claims 11, 20, 22, Paulino discloses transverse orientation to be more than 4 times of machine direction (paragraph 0024).
6. Regarding Claims 13, 14, Paulino discloses its film being a single core layer or a multilayer film (paragraph 0022).
7. Regarding Claim 15, Paulino discloses a film density of less than 1.24 (Claim 2) whilst using its talc from 1 to 6 wt% as mentioned above.
8. Regarding Claims 16, 17, Paulino discloses a method for making the aforedescribed film that includes adding said talc and PS, extruding, orienting, and (Claims 21-24) and cooling (paragraph 0055).
9. Regarding Claim 18, Paulino discloses blending twice (paragraph 0059).
10. Regarding Claim 19, Paulino discloses coextruding a second layer (Claim 21).
11. Regarding Claim 21, Paulino discloses coextruding at between 170 and 230 C (paragraph 0025).
12. Regarding Claim 8, although Paulino does not disclose the claimed particle size, it does state how talc particle size can offset the density reduction (paragraph 0006). It would be obvious to vary the particle size in light of this result-effective variable.
13. Regarding Claim 12, the Examiner respectfully submits that this is a product-by-process limitation.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulino USPA_20120141766_A1, as applied to Claims 1, 5-22, 24, and 25, and in view of Ambroise USPA_20110268979_A1.
14. Regarding Claims 2-4, Paulino does not disclose the claimed polymer.
15. Ambroise discloses shrink films and labels made from thereof (Title) that can comprise 2 to 50 wt% of an alpha-olefin polymer having a peak melting point temperature of 60 to 125 C (Claims 1 and 3) and that this polymer can contribute towards easier orientation (paragraph 0030). Ambroise also discloses that its core layer comprising said alpha-olefin can also comprise PLA (paragraph 0036).
16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the core layer, of Paulino, by trying the use of alpha-olefins, or Ambroise. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain easier orientation ability when creating shrink films for use in packaging and labels as disclosed by Ambroise.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 August 25, 2026