DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanada (8,764,153).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Sanada teaches a printing device and method comprising:
an ink ejection means (fig. 12, item 25) for ejecting a photocurable ink onto a recording medium while relatively moving with respect to the recording medium in a first direction (fig. 12, Y1 direction); and
an irradiation means (fig. 12, item 35) for irradiating the recording medium with light while relatively moving together with the ink ejection means (see fig. 12),
wherein the irradiation means includes a plurality of light irradiation elements (fig. 12, items 35b, 35c-4) arranged in a second direction (fig. 12, direction X) intersecting with the first direction, and
wherein the printing device further comprises an irradiation control means (fig. 5, item 108) for controlling the irradiation means such that turning-on and turning-off of irradiation with the plurality of light irradiation elements are repeatedly performed in a predetermined order during one cycle in which the ink ejection means and the irradiation means relatively move in the first direction (see figs. 9, 10, 12, 13, Note that 35b is turned on delta t2 time after the last nozzle row begins ink ejection and turns off delta t2 time after the last nozzle row has completed ejection in a scan in the Y1 direction. Note that 35c-4 is turned on and off a predetermined time after the last nozzle row starts and ends its ejection in the scan direction Y1. Note that all times and orders shown are predetermined).
Regarding claim 2, Sanada teaches the printing device as set forth in claims 1, wherein the irradiation control means controls the irradiation means such that turning-on and turning off of the irradiation with the plurality of light irradiation elements are repeatedly performed in a predetermined order in the second direction (see figs. 10, 13).
Regarding claim 3, Sanada teaches the printing device as set forth in claim 1 and 8, wherein the irradiation control means turns on irradiation with another light irradiation element after elapse of a first time from when irradiation with a predetermined light irradiation element is turned on, turns off the irradiation with the predetermined light irradiation element after elapse of a second time from when the irradiation with the predetermined light irradiation element is turned on, and turns on the irradiation with the predetermined light irradiation element after elapse of a third time from when the irradiation with the predetermined light irradiation element is turned off (see figs. 10, 13, Note that any of the irradiation elements shown, including those not in the above-claimed “plurality of light irradiation elements, can be selected to meet the limitations).
Regarding claim 4, Sanada teaches the printing device as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first time is shorter than each of the second time and the third time, and wherein the second time is longer than the third time (see figs. 10, 13, Note that any of the irradiation elements shown, including those not in the above-claimed “plurality of light irradiation elements, can be selected to meet the limitations).
Regarding claims 5, Sanada teaches the printing device as set forth in claim 1, wherein the irradiation control means does not generate a time period in which all of the plurality of light irradiation elements are simultaneously turned off (see figs. 10, 13, Note that a time-span for the operation has not been specified, and thus if the claimed “a time period” is taken to be only a time when at least one of the plurality of light irradiation elements is on, the limitation is met).
Regarding claims 6, Sanada teaches the printing device and method as set forth in claim 1, wherein the plurality of light irradiation elements are divided into a plurality of groups (fig. 12, group 35a, 35b and group 35c, 35d), and wherein the irradiation control means controls the irradiation with the light irradiation elements for each of the groups (see figs. 10, 13).
Regarding claim 7, Sanada teaches the printing device and as set forth in claim 6, wherein the irradiation control means turns on the irradiation with the light irradiation elements included in another group adjacent to a predetermined group after elapse of a predetermined time from when the irradiation with the light irradiation elements included in the predetermined group is turned on (see figs. 10, 13, Note that irradiation element 35c-4 is turned on a predetermined time after element 35b).
Regarding claim 9 Sanada teaches the printing device as set forth in claim 2, wherein the irradiation turns on irradiation with another light irradiation element after elapse of a first time from when irradiation with a predetermined light irradiation element is turned on, turns off the irradiation with the predetermined light irradiation element after elapse of a second time from when the irradiation with the predetermined light irradiation element is turned on, and turns on the irradiation with the predetermined light irradiation element after elapse of a third time from when the irradiation with the predetermined light irradiation element is turned off (see figs. 10, 13, Note that all lights are turned on and off with each scan at predetermined times and in relation to the timing of all other lights. Note that if 35b is the predetermined element and 35c-4 is the another element, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 10, Sanada teaches the printing device as set forth in claim 9, wherein the first time is shorter than each of the second time and the third time, and wherein the second time is longer than the third time (see figs. 10, 13, Note that 35c-4 is turned on a short first time after 35b is turned on, and 35b stays on longer than it stays off).
Regarding claim 11, Sanada teaches the printing device as set forth in claim 2, wherein the irradiation control means does not generate a time period in which all of the plurality of light irradiation elements are simultaneously turned off (see figs. 10, 13, Note that a time-span for the operation has not been specified, and thus if the claimed “a time period” is taken to be only a time when at least one of the plurality of light irradiation elements is on, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 12, Sanada teaches the printing device as set forth in claim 2, wherein the plurality of light irradiation elements are divided into a plurality of groups (fig. 12, group 35a, 35b and group 35c, 35d), and wherein the irradiation control means controls the irradiation with the light irradiation elements for each of the groups (see figs. 10, 13).
Regarding claim 13, Sanada teaches the printing device as set forth in claim 12, wherein the irradiation control means turns on the irradiation with the light irradiation elements included in another group adjacent to a predetermined group after elapse of a predetermined time from when the irradiation with the light irradiation elements included in the predetermined group is turned on (see figs. 10, 13, Note that irradiation element 35c-4 is turned on a predetermined time after element 35b).
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853