Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/6/2025 and 12/10/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “acquisition unit”, “planning problem formulation unit” and “input/output unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material or acts for performing the entire claimed function and clearly link the structure material or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed functions of the units. The disclosure of the application does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of the ordinary skill in the art to understand which structure or structures perform the claimed function(s). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
If applicant wishes to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to include the phrase “means for” or “step for”. The phrase “means for” or “step for” must be modified by functional language, and the phrase or term must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function; or
(b) Present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation is written as a function to be performed and the claim does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. For more information, see MPEP § 2181.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of route search. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of the ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “acquiring a network topology of a network having the plurality of bases as nodes, the number of users for each of the bases, and a movement time matrix between the bases; formulating a planning problem including an influence on the users as a constraint condition based on the network topology, the number of users, and the movement time matrix; and outputting a solution obtained by giving the formulated planning problem to the solver.”
The recited limitations above are a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation done by a human but for the recitation of generic computer components under mental steps. That is, other than reciting “by one or more processors”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human using generic computer components. For example, “acquire”, “formulate”, and “output” in the context of this claim encompasses the user to manually determine a route for a vehicle for providing services.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite the following additional elements- a “processor” and a “non-transitory computer readable medium” to perform the above recited steps. The computer elements recited at a high-level of generality (generic computer elements performing a generic computer function of receiving information, identifying solutions and determining what should be presented to a user) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, the additional elements recited do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the computer elements to perform the steps of claims 1, 6 and 7 amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The limitations of the dependent claims 2-5 further describe the identified abstract idea. In addition, the limitations of claims 2-3 and 5 define how the vehicle route is determined which further describes the abstract idea. The generic computer component of claim 4 (interface) merely serve as the generic computer component and the functions performed by the generic computer components essentially amount to the abstract idea identified above. None of the dependent claims when taken separately in combination with each dependent claims parent claim overcome the above analysis and are therefore similarly rejected as being ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuoka (JP2021082203A).
As to claims 1, 6 and 7, Matsuoka teaches a device a method and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
search for a movement route of a vehicle to a plurality of bases providing services to users using a solver, the route search device comprising: an acquisition unit, comprising one or more processors, configured to acquire a network topology of a network in which the plurality of bases are nodes, the number of users at each of the bases, and a movement time matrix between the bases; (para 2, 47-48, 55-56 and 61)
a planning problem formulation unit, comprising one or more processors, configured to formulate a planning problem including an influence on the users as a constraint condition based on the network topology, the number of users, and the movement time matrix; (para 47-48)
an input/output unit configured to output a solution obtained by delivering the formulated planning problem to the solver. (para 47-48)
As to claim 2, Matsuoka teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Matsuoka further teaches:
wherein the constraint condition includes a condition for minimizing an influence on the users due to an interruption of the service at each of the bases. (para 47-49, 72 and 81)
As to claim 3, Matsuoka teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Matsuoka further teaches:
Wherein the constraint condition further includes a condition satisfying a network flow of the network topology. (para 19-21)
As to claim 4, Matsuoka teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Matsuoka further teaches:
Wherein the acquisition unit is configured to acquire the movement time matrix from a cloud providing a map application programming interface (API) (para 34-35)
As to claim 5, Matsuoka teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Matsuoka further teaches:
wherein the movement route is a patrol route for patrolling each of the plurality of bases in a single stroke. (para 47-49, 72 and 81)
Conclusion
/ZEINA ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628