DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2023/074592 filed on 9/7/2023, which claims priority to US provisional application 63/406,551 filed on 9/14/2022 and EP22198428.9 filed on 9/28/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 8/1/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to for “one or more herbicidal compound” which should be “one or more herbicidal compounds” for grammatical sense.
Claim 2 is objected to as applicant provides “are applied”, but should recite a structure such as “A method for controlling undesired plants comprising applying at least one compound of formula (I)……. and at least one herbicide compound to the undesired plants or their habitat.” to correctly provide the step of “applying”.
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to for additional periods after i and ii in the claim where one period is allowed per claim unless for a decimal point or acceptable abbreviation. Applicant may recite these as i) and ii) instead.
Claim 11 is objected to for missing the word “or” between “decoupler herbicides;” and “(o) other herbicides….”
Claim 11 is objected to for recitations of dymron, which is more appropriately “daimuron”.
Claim 11 is objected to for the recitations of the CAS numbers in the claim (item (o)). Applicant should just utilize named chemical compound as provided outside the parenthetical.
Claim 19 is objected to for “is elected”, which should be “is selected”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for “comprising use of at least one compound” in this method claim without setting forth the action in what “use of” does to perform the method. Applicant may consider replacing “use of” with “adding” or “contacting” and after the compound definition including “with one or more herbicidal compounds.”
Claim 5 is indefinite for providing a new “n” in one of the R1 groups of the list and then defining that n as 0, 1 or 2 when claim 2, on which claim 5 depends, already has a definition for “n”, which is in a range of 1 to 10. Thus, it is unclear that applicant is redefining n in all senses of its use in the claims or if the definition of n in claim 5 is independent from what is provided for n in claim 2. Applicant may consider calling the “n” in claim 5 as a different letter or perhaps “ n’ “.
Claims 6-8 are rejected for being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim 10 is indefinite for “A is a CH2CH2 or a combination of CH2CH2 and CH2CH(CH3)” since if A was a combination of CH2CH2 and CH2CH(CH3), it would provide a group having C5 which is more than what A allows for carbons. It is unclear if applicant means the combination to allow for such a combined group or if applicant means to say “A is CH2CH2 or CH2CH(CH3)” or if applicant is allowing for A to be different for each (A-O)n group when n is an integer from 2 to 10. Applicant should clarify the claim, but for the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner will consider the A can be the combination option when n is 2 to 10.
Claim 11 recites the limitations "the glutamine synthetase inhibitors", “the enolpyruvyl shikimate 3-phosphate synthase inhibitors”, “the synthesis of very long chain fatty acids” in the claim with no first recitation of “glutamine synthetase inhibitors”, enolpyruvyl shikimate-3-phosphate synthase inhibitors” and “synthesis of very long chain fatty acids”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “lipid biosynthesis inhibitors”, and the claim also recites (acetyl-CoA carboxylase inhibitors, ACCase inhibitors), which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 11 is indefinite for “inhibitors of the synthesis of very long chain fatty acids (VLCFA inhibitors)” as what is in parentheticals does not indicate these have to be “synthesis inhibitors” and so the meaning of what is in parentheticals could be to various other inhibitors involving VLCFA signaling. Applicant may remove the parenthetical or provide it as (VLCFA synthesis inhibitors) so that it is a proper abbreviation.
Claim 11 is indefinite for “oleic acid” as an herbicide in the group (o). It is not clear that oleic acid has herbicidal activity by the art and how it would fit as being an herbicide compound. Applicant may remove oleic acid from the group.
Claim 11 is indefinite for “methyl iodide” as an herbicide in the group (o). Although methyl iodide is used for controlling pests/insects/bacteria/fungi, it does not appear to be known in the art as an herbicide/weed control agent. Applicant may remove methyl iodide from the group or provide evidence of its use as an herbicide.
Claim 11 is indefinite for DSMA and MSMA as the claim nor the specification provides what they are abbreviations for. Thus, it is unclear how these abbreviations should be read in the claim and unclear if applicant has support for what they might be.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation (HST-inhibitor, FMC), and the claim also recites “6-chloro-4-(2,7-dimethyl-1-naphthyl)-5-hydroxy-2-methyl-pyridazin-3-one”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 11-15 and 19 recite the limitation "the herbicide compound" in the claims with dependence to claim 2, which introduces the limitation as “at least one herbicide compound”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may recite the limitation in these claims as “the at least one herbicide compound…”
Claims 14-15 recite the limitation "the compound of formula (I)" in the claims with dependence to claim 2, which introduces the limitation as “at least one compound of the formula (I)”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may recite the limitation in these claims as “the at least one compound of the formula (I)….”
Claims 12, 13 and 19 recite the limitations "the group (a)”, “groups (b) to (o)” and “group a” and in the claims with dependence (direct or indirect) to claim 2, which does not introduced these groups. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that claim 12 should be dependent on claim 11 for the claims to make sense.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long US 20190110469A1.
Long teaches a liquid herbicidal composition that includes glufosinate and/or a salt thereof and an alkyl ether sulfate or a salt thereof (abstract). Long teaches the alkyl ether sulfate as R—(OCH2CH2)n—OSO4 (I), wherein R is linear or branched alkyl group having from 8 to 18 carbon atoms and wherein the subscript n ranges from 1 to 10 (abstract, also see paragraphs 17-22). Paragraph 19, teaches sodium or potassium salts (paragraph 19). Paragraphs 57-58 provides another water soluble herbicidal component such as isopropylatnmonium glyphosate, or of potassium aminophosphate or aminophosphonate salt, such as potassium glyphosate salt. Long teaches glufosinate ammonium in table 1. Long teaches 10 to 30 wt% of glufosinate or a salt thereof (claim 4 of Long). Long teaches 20 to 30 wt% of alkyl ether sulfate (claim 16 of Long). Thus, Long provides for 1:1 to 3:1 weight ratios of alkyl ether sulfate to glufosinate herbicidal compound. Long teaches diluting the composition with water in a spray tank prior to applicant, which allows for tank mixed (paragraph 53). Note an aqueous spray liquor is a formulation that has been diluted with water. Long teaches a procedure of adding the ingredients to a mixing vessel with mixing in each ingredient (paragraphs 65-72). Long teaches a stable glufosinate soluble liquid formulation (paragraph 73).
Long does not teach a specific compound with an R group as on applicant’s claimed compound of formula (I) where R is a branched C10 alkyl, but Long does allow for branched alkyls of 8 to 18 carbon atoms.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have worked within the alkyl ether sulfate salts provided by the group in Long to provide formulations that combine a glufosinate or salt thereof with such an alkyl ether sulfate salt having a branched C10 alkyl group since the range of 8 to 18 carbon includes 10. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in providing the claimed formulations through the teachings of Long’s formulations. In producing such formulations through combination of glufosinate and the alkyl ether sulfate salt(s), increased herbicidal effectiveness (an activity of the composition) would occur.
Claims 2-15 and 19 in addition to Claims 1 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long US 20190110469A1 and Baur US20080045415A1.
Long teaches the claims as discussed above. Long also teaches use of branched alkyl ether sulfates along with glufosinate herbicide. Long teaches the alkyl ether sulfate as R—(OCH2CH2)n—OSO4 (I), wherein R is linear or branched alkyl group having from 8 to 18 carbon atoms and wherein the subscript n ranges from 1 to 10 (abstract, also see paragraphs 17-22).
Long does not teach particular types of branched alkyls for its alkyl ether sulfate, does not teach applying the formulation to undesired plants or their areas, although Long does teach the composition is herbicidal, and does not provide an alkyl ammonia salt of the alkyl ether sulfate as in applicant’s claims. Long does not teach other herbicides for claim 13.
Baur teaches “Alkyl ether sulfates having 1 to 9 carbon atoms in the alkyl chain and 1 to 20 alkyleneoxy units in the ether moiety are suitable for use as low-foam additives for enhancing the activity of water-soluble or partially water-soluble agrochemicals” (abstract). Baur teaches suitable alkyl ether sulfates including those with isooctyl or ethylhexyl (paragraph 47) and 2-ethylhexyl (paragraphs 182-191), which are branched chain alkyl. A compound of the formula AI is listed in paragraphs 49-50, which is similar to applicant’s ether sulfate compound besides not having an alkyl with 10 carbons. Baur teaches ratios of active ingredient to alkyl ether sulfate of 1:0.1 to 1:10 (paragraph 267). Baur teaches sprayer liquor (paragraph 266). Baur teaches that the alkyl ether sulfates promote uptake of the active ingredient into the plant (paragraph 265) by virtue of their surfactant properties. Baur teaches a tank mix process (paragraph 264). Baur teaches applying the glufosinate formulations for controlling weeds by applying to land having weeds (paragraphs 299-303, also paragraphs 290-291). Baur teaches ammonium salts of the alkyl ether sulfates (paragraph 202-203). Baur does teach alkanolamine or amine organic salts in paragraph 211. Baur teaches various salt counterions including substituted ammonium ions such as alkylammonium as an organically substituted ammonium ion (paragraph 38). Baur teaches “The formulations of the invention may further also comprise active ingredients of type (b), which are largely insoluble in water, examples being herbicides from the group of the diphenyl ethers such as oxyfluorfen, carbamates, thiocarbamates, triphenyltin compounds and tributyltin compounds, haloacetanilides, phenoxyphenoxyalkanecarboxylic acid derivatives and heteroaryloxyphenoxyalkanecarboxylic acid derivatives, such as quinolyloxy-,quinoxalyloxy-, pyridyloxy-, benzoxalyloxy- and benzothiazolyloxyphenoxyalkanecarboxylic esters, examples being diclofop-methyl, fenoxaprop-ethyl and fenoxaprop-P-ethyl.” (paragraph 18). Diclofop-methyl and fenoxaprop are acetyl CoA carboxylase inhibitors.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have combined the teachings of Long with the teachings of Baur in order to produce formulations and methods with branched chain alkyl ether sulfates of applicant’s claims and herbicides such as glufosinate, and reasonably expected alkyl ether sulfates as surfactants would promote the uptake of the active herbicidal ingredients as provided by Baur with a reasonable expectation of success. Although Long does not provide a particular branch structure, it allows for C10 alkyl and Baur notes some branched chain structures on alkyl ether sulfates that would promote such alterations of the alkyl groups with branching. Baur also promotes ammonia and organically modified ammonia counterions for acceptable salts of alkyl ether sulfates. Baur teaches addition of other herbicidal ingredients for such formulations that would be in addition to the glufosinate or salts thereof. Baur teaches the method of using such a formulation with applying it to an area with weeds in need of control.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, and 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10729129. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim set provides for formulations of branched alkyl ether sulfates of similar formula that can have a C10 alkyl at the R position and be combined with a herbicidal active like glufosinate in aqueous formulations.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613