DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application and are rejected.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification does not provide a brief description of the several views of the drawing(s).
Appropriate correction is required.
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Preliminary Amendment filed 10 March 2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: “the contents of each of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entireties.”
MPEP 211.02 and MPEP 201.06(c)(IV) state the following in regard to “Incorporation by Reference” and PCT Rule 20.6, Rule 20.7 and Rule 4.18 are directed specifically to International applications:
MPEP 211.02, in-part
For applications filed on or after September 21, 2004, a claim under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or 120 and 37 CFR 1.78 for benefit of a prior-filed provisional application, nonprovisional application, international application designating the United States, or international design application designating the United States that was present on the filing date of the continuation or divisional application, or the nonprovisional application claiming benefit of a prior-filed provisional application, is considered an incorporation by reference of the prior-filed application as to inadvertently omitted material, subject to the conditions and requirements of 37 CFR 1.57(b). The purpose of 37 CFR 1.57(b) is to provide a safeguard for applicants when all or a portion of the specification and/or drawing(s) is (are) inadvertently omitted from an application. See MPEP § 201.06 and 217. However, applicants are encouraged to provide in the specification an explicit incorporation by reference statement to the prior-filed application(s) for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or 120 if applicants do not wish the incorporation by reference to be limited to inadvertently omitted material pursuant to 37 CFR 1.57(b). See 37 CFR 1.57(c). See also MPEP §§ 217 and MPEP § 608.01(p).
When a benefit claim is submitted after the filing of an application, and the later-filed application as filed did not incorporate the prior-filed application by reference, applicant cannot add an incorporation by reference statement of the prior application. An incorporation by reference statement added after an application’s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date (see 35 U.S.C. 132(a)). See Dart Indus. v. Banner, 636 F.2d 684, 207 USPQ 273 (C.A.D.C. 1980). See also 37 CFR 1.57(b).
MPEP 201.06(c)(IV), in-part
201.06(c) 37 CFR 1.53(b) and 37 CFR 1.63(d) Divisional-Continuation Procedure [R-07.2015]
IV. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE
An applicant may incorporate by reference the prior application by including, in the continuing application-as-filed, an explicit statement that such specifically enumerated prior application or applications are “hereby incorporated by reference.” The statement must appear in the specification. See 37 CFR 1.57(c) and MPEP § 608.01(p). The inclusion of this incorporation by reference statement will permit an applicant to amend the continuing application to include subject matter from the prior application(s), without the need for a petition provided the continuing application is entitled to a filing date notwithstanding the incorporation by reference. For applications filed prior to September 21, 2004, the incorporation by reference statement may appear in the transmittal letter or in the specification. Note that for applications filed prior to September 21, 2004, if applicants used a former version of the transmittal letter form provided by the USPTO, the incorporation by reference statement could only be relied upon to add inadvertently omitted material to the continuation or divisional application.
An incorporation by reference statement added after an application’s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date (see 35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If an incorporation by reference statement is included in an amendment to the specification to add a benefit claim under 35 U.S.C. 120 after the filing date of the application, the amendment would not be proper. When a benefit claim under 35 U.S.C. 120 is submitted after the filing of an application, the reference to the prior application cannot include an incorporation by reference statement of the prior application. See Dart Indus. v. Banner, 636 F.2d 684, 207 USPQ 273 (C.A.D.C. 1980).
20.6 Confirmation of Incorporation by Reference of Elements and Parts
(a) The applicant may submit to the receiving Office, within the applicable time limit under Rule 20.7 , a written notice confirming that an element or part is incorporated by reference in the international application under Rule 4.18 , accompanied by:
(i) a sheet or sheets embodying the entire element as contained in the earlier application or embodying the part concerned;
(ii) where the applicant has not already complied with Rule 17.1(a) , (b) or (b-bis) in relation to the priority document, a copy of the earlier application as filed;
(iii) where the earlier application is not in the language in which the international application is filed, a translation of the earlier application into that language or, where a translation of the international application is required under Rule 12.3(a) or 12.4(a) , a translation of the earlier application into both the language in which the international application is filed and the language of that translation; and
(iv) in the case of a part of the description, claims or drawings, an indication as to where that part is contained in the earlier application and, where applicable, in any translation referred to in item (iii).
(b) Where the receiving Office finds that the requirements of Rule 4.18 and paragraph (a) have been complied with and that the element or part referred to in paragraph (a) is completely contained in the earlier application concerned, that element or part shall be considered to have been contained in the purported international application on the date on which one or more elements referred to in Article 11(1)(iii) were first received by the receiving Office.
(c) Where the receiving Office finds that a requirement under Rule 4.18 or paragraph (a) has not been complied with or that the element or part referred to in paragraph (a) is not completely contained in the earlier application concerned, the receiving Office shall proceed as provided for in Rule 20.3(b)(i) , 20.5(b) , 20.5(c) , 20.5bis(b) or 20.5bis(c) , as the case may be.
20.7 Time Limit
(a) The applicable time limit referred to in Rules 20.3(a) and (b) , 20.4 , 20.5(a) , (b) and (c) , 20.5bis(a) , (b) and (c) , and 20.6(a) shall be:
(i) where an invitation under Rule 20.3(a) , 20.5(a) or 20.5bis(a) , as applicable, was sent to the applicant, two months from the date of the invitation;
(ii) where no such invitation was sent to the applicant, two months from the date on which one or more elements referred to in Article 11(1)(iii) were first received by the receiving Office.
(b) Where neither a correction under Article 11(2) nor a notice under Rule 20.6(a) confirming the incorporation by reference of an element referred to in Article 11(1)(iii)(d) or (e) is received by the receiving Office prior to the expiration of the applicable time limit under paragraph (a), any such correction or notice received by that Office after the expiration of that time limit but before it sends a notification to the applicant under Rule 20.4(i) shall be considered to have been received within that time limit.
4.18 Statement of Incorporation by Reference
Where the international application, on the date on which one or more elements referred to in Article 11(1)(iii) were first received by the receiving Office, claims the priority of an earlier application, the request may contain a statement that, where an element of the international application referred to in Article 11(1)(iii)(d) or (e) , or a part of the description, claims or drawings referred to in Rule 20.5(a) , or an element or part of the description, claims or drawings referred to in Rule 20.5bis(a) is not otherwise contained in the international application but is completely contained in the earlier application, that element or part is, subject to confirmation under Rule 20.6 , incorporated by reference in the international application for the purposes of Rule 20.6 . Such a statement, if not contained in the request on that date, may be added to the request if, and only if, it was otherwise contained in, or submitted with, the international application on that date.
The instant application is a 371 application which has an International filing date of 14 September 2023. The incorporation by reference statement is being added by way of a Preliminary Amendment filed 10 March 2025, which is after the instant application's International filing date of 14 September 2023. Therefore, the “incorporation by reference” statement being added to the instant specification by way of the Preliminary Amendment is deemed new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the term “PROTAC” is an abbreviation which is not defined in the specification or the claims which renders the claims indefinite. As PROTAC is an abbreviation for proteolysis targeting chimaeras, it is suggested that PROTAC be replaced by “proteolysis targeting chimaeras,” if desired, the term “PROTAC” can be retained in parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2005055985.
WO2005055985 discloses spray-dried formulations using the Bucchi spray dryer comprising a hydrophobic drug (e.g. beclomethasone) and PVA wherein the feed suspension was pumped through a spray atomization nozzle. See example 1, pages 14-23, especially tables 2 and 3. The PVA used is PVA80% hydrolysed having MW of 8,000-10,000 or PVA 40% hydrolysed having a MW of 8,000-10,000. The viscosity of these two PVAs is considered to be implicitly falling into the scope of claims 2, 3, 10, and 11. In regards to claims 1, 2, 14, and 20, these claims are product by process claims. MPEP 2113 provides that product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product may be made by a different process.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 14, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2022090296.
WO2022090296 discloses examples 1-4 on pages 15-20 which are a process of enhancing the solubility of an active pharmaceutical ingredient in aqueous media using a pharmaceutical composition comprising an amorphous solid dispersion of at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient in a polymer matrix, wherein the polymer is polyvinyl alcohol having a hydrolysis degree of 72% to 85% and a viscosity of a 4% solution at 20 degreees Celsius of 2mPAs to 4mPa.s. Amorphous solid dispersion of at least one active pharmaceutical active ingredient in a polymer maxtrix wherein the polymer is polyvinyl alcohol having a hydrolysis degree of 72% to 85% and a viscosity of a 4% solution at 20 degrees Celsius of 2mPAs to 4mPa.s is found on page 12, with PVA 3-82 also disclosed on page 12. The pharmaceutical active ingredient as poorly soluble is found on page 13. While the process to form the amorphous solid dispersion is performed by hot melt extrusion, see examples 1 and 3, compared to the instant product by process of spray-drying, as per MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product may be made by a different process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 9, 11-12, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2005055985 in view of WO2022090296 and/or in view of Singh et al..
WO2005055985 discloses spray-dried formulations using the Bucchi spray dryer comprising a hydrophobic drug (e.g. beclomethasone) and PVA wherein the feed suspension was pumped through a spray atomization nozzle. See example 1, pages 14-23, especially tables 2 and 3. The PVA used is PVA80% hydrolysed having MW of 8,000-10,000 or PVA 40% hydrolysed having a MW of 8,000-10,000. In regards to claims 3-5, 7 and 15 these claims are product by process claims. MPEP 2113 provides that product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product may be made by a different process.
WO2022090296 discloses specific hydrolysed PVAs as seen in instant claims 3-5, 11, 12, 17, and 18, see example 1 on page 15 of the ‘296 WO. Examples 1-4 on pages 15-20 are a process of enhancing the solubility of an active pharmaceutical ingredient in aqueous media using a pharmaceutical composition comprising an amorphous solid dispersion of at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient in a polymer matrix, wherein the polymer is polyvinyl alcohol having a hydrolysis degree of 72% to 85% and a viscosity of a 4% solution at 20 degrees Celsius of 2mPAs to 4mPa.s. Amorphous solid dispersion of at least one active pharmaceutical active ingredient in a polymer maxtrix wherein the polymer is polyvinyl alcohol having a hydrolysis degree of 72% to 85% and a viscosity of a 4% solution at 20 degrees Celsius of 2mPAs to 4mPa.s is found on page 12, with PVA 3-82 also disclosed on page 12. The pharmaceutical active ingredient as poorly soluble is found on page 13.
The difference between the instant claims 3-5, 11, 12, 17, and 18 and the prior art of the ‘985 WO is that the specific PVAs in the instant claims are not utilized in the ‘985 WO. However, as seen in the ‘296 WO, there are many well known hydrolysed PVAs useful in amorphous solid dispersions. In the absence of any unexpected effect linked to the use of these specific PVA, the skilled person would replace the PVA 80% hydrolysed having a MW of 8.000-10,000 or the PVA 40% hydrolysed having a MW of 8,000-10,000 with any other similar hydrolysed PVA such as the PVA of claims 3-5, 11, 12, 17, and 18.
Singh et al. provides that spray drying is a well-established manufacturing technique which can be used to formulate amorphous solid dispersions, which is an effective strategy to deliver poorly water soluble drugs, page 27. Singh et al. provides types of atomization devices for the preparation of amorphous solid dispersions listing 3-fluid nozzle on page 36.
The difference between the instant claims 7 and 9 and the prior art of the ‘985 WO is that the ‘985 WO utilizes the Bucchi 191 mini spray dryer instead of a three-fluid nozzle spray-drying system. However, utilizing a three-fluid nozzle spray-drying system would be obvious minus a showing of unexpected effect linked to the use of a three-fluid nozzle spray-drying system. A spray-drying process, including a three-fluid nozzle spray-drying process, is a well known process for preparing an amorphous solid dispersion as seen in Singh et al.
Claims 6, 13,15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2005055985 in view of WO2022090296 further in view of Pöstges et al.
WO2005055985 discloses spray-dried formulations using the Bucchi spray dryer comprising a hydrophobic drug (e.g. beclomethasone) and PVA wherein the feed suspension was pumped through a spray atomization nozzle. See example 1, pages 14-23, especially tables 2 and 3. The PVA used is PVA80% hydrolysed having MW of 8,000-10,000 or PVA 40% hydrolysed having a MW of 8,000-10,000. In regards to claims 6 and 15 these claims are product by process claims. MPEP 2113 provides that product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product may be made by a different process.
WO2022090296 discloses specific hydrolysed PVAs as seen in instant claims 3-5, 11, 12, 17, and 18, see example 1 on page 15 of the ‘296 WO. Examples 1-4 on pages 15-20 are a process of enhancing the solubility of an active pharmaceutical ingredient in aqueous media using a pharmaceutical composition comprising an amorphous solid dispersion of at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient in a polymer matrix, wherein the polymer is polyvinyl alcohol having a hydrolysis degree of 72% to 85% and a viscosity of a 4% solution at 20 degrees Celsius of 2mPAs to 4mPa.s. Amorphous solid dispersion of at least one active pharmaceutical active ingredient in a polymer maxtrix wherein the polymer is polyvinyl alcohol having a hydrolysis degree of 72% to 85% and a viscosity of a 4% solution at 20 degrees Celsius of 2mPAs to 4mPa.s is found on page 12, with PVA 3-82 also disclosed on page 12. The pharmaceutical active ingredient as poorly soluble is found on page 13.
Pöstges et al. provides that a PROTAC is a well known hydrophobic drug and solid dispersions comprising a PROTAC are well known (See abstract).
While the ‘985 WO and the ‘296 WO do not utilize PROTAC, the skilled person would have used a PROTAC as a hydrophobic drug in the solid dispersions of the “985 and ‘296 WO as a PROTAC is a well known hydrophobic drug and solid dispersions comprising a PROTAC are well known.
Additionally, please note for claims 6, 13, 15, and 19, that a PROTAC is not disclosed in the priority document, EP 22196015.6.
Conclusion
/REBECCA L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626 ____________________ 5 November 2026
Rebecca Anderson
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1626, Group 1620
Technology Center 1600