DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 filed on 10 MAR 2025 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
The pending application 19/110,292, filed on 10 MAR 2025, is a national stage application filed under 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT/EP2023/074573, filed on 7 SEP 2023, and claims priority from foreign application SE2251059-8, filed on 13 SEP 2022 in the Kingdom of Sweden.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 MAR 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 211, 212. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 4, “at least one radar transceiver arrangement” should be “the at least one radar transceiver arrangement”
In claim 4, line 5, “ego frequency ramps” should be “the ego frequency ramps”
In claim 6, line 4, “at least one radar transceiver arrangement” should be “the at least one radar transceiver arrangement”
In claim 14, line 3, “at least one radar transceiver arrangement” should be “the at least one radar transceiver arrangement”
In claim 14, line 4, “ego frequency ramps” should be “the ego frequency ramps”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control unit… wherein the control unit is adapted to receive synchronization information...and to base at least the ego cycle start time, the ego duration time and the ego delay time on the synchronization information” in claim 1: structure found in ¶ [0112] of the specification; algorithm described in ¶ [0072]-[0084], [0107]-[0109] of the specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCloskey et al. (US 2020/0326407 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 10 MAR 2025).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
A vehicle radar system (McCloskey et al. radar 230, Fig. 2) comprising:
a control unit (McCloskey et al. computer system 210, Fig. 2; processor 308, Fig. 3) and at least one radar transceiver arrangement (McCloskey et al. radar 230, Fig. 2) arranged to generate and transmit a Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave (FMCW) signal (McCloskey et al. modulation pattern 800, Fig. 8; modulation patterns 910a-910e, Figs. 9A-9E) in a radar frequency band (McCloskey et al. “an electromagnetic wave frequency range of 76-77 Giga-Hertz (GHz)” - ¶ [0005]) and to receive reflected signals that have been reflected by one or more target objects (McCloskey et al. “The RADAR 230 unit may be any sensor configured to sense objects in the environment in which the vehicle 200 is located using radio signals.” - ¶ [0050]),
where each FMCW signal comprises a corresponding plurality of ego frequency ramps that are generated in radar cycles having a certain ego cycle time and ego cycle start time (McCloskey et al. “Modifying the modulation pattern, for example, may include applying a time offset to the modulation pattern, applying a frequency offset to the modulation pattern, adjusting a frequency bandwidth of the modulation pattern, and/or adjusting a shape of the modulation pattern among other possibilities.” - ¶ [0092]; “The scenarios 900a-900e present various adjustments of the corresponding modulation patterns to reduce interference…” - ¶ [0118]),
where each one of the ego frequency ramps has a certain ego duration time, an ego delay time between adjacent ego frequency ramps (McCloskey et al. “the EM radiation of the first sensor (e.g., the modulation pattern 910e) may be stopped by the first vehicle and the modulation pattern 912e of the second sensor may be started after a time offset…” - ¶ [0123]; Fig. 9E), and an ego frequency gradient (McCloskey et al. “the modulation pattern 910c and/or 912c may alternatively be adjusted to have a different shape. For example, Fig. 9C shows the modulation pattern 910c (e.g., of the first sensor) to have a different slope than the modulated pattern 912c (e.g., of the second sensor).” - ¶ [0121])
wherein the control unit is adapted to synchronization information from at least one external unit (McCloskey et al. external computing device 304, Fig. 3), and to base at least the ego cycle start time, the ego duration time and the ego delay time on the synchronization information (McCloskey et al. “For example, the computing device 304 may receive location information from the vehicles 302a-302d as well as sensor configurations (e.g., direction, modulation pattern, etc.), and may responsively provide requests to proximate vehicles to adjust the corresponding sensor configurations to reduce interference between the corresponding sensors.- ¶ [0075]; “Modifying the modulation pattern, for example, may include applying a time offset to the modulation pattern, applying a frequency offset to the modulation pattern, adjusting a frequency bandwidth of the modulation pattern, and/or adjusting a shape of the modulation pattern among other possibilities.” - ¶ [0092]).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The vehicle radar system according to claim 1, wherein the ego frequency gradient (McCloskey et al. “the modulation pattern 910c and/or 912c may alternatively be adjusted to have a different shape. For example, Fig. 9C shows the modulation pattern 910c (e.g., of the first sensor) to have a different slope than the modulated pattern 912c(e.g., of the second sensor).” - ¶ [0121]) is based on the synchronization information (McCloskey et al. “For example, the computing device 304 may receive location information from the vehicles 302a-302d as well as sensor configurations (e.g., direction, modulation pattern, etc.), and may responsively provide requests to proximate vehicles to adjust the corresponding sensor configurations to reduce interference between the corresponding sensors.- ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The vehicle radar system according to claim 1, wherein the synchronization information comprises time reference data, where the control unit is adapted to control the ego cycle start time in dependence of the time reference data (McCloskey et al. “In scenario 900a of FIG. 9A, the modulated pattern 912a of the second sensor may be offset by a time offset 924 to distinguish the modulated pattern 910a from the modulated pattern 912a.” - ¶ [0119]).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The vehicle radar system according to claim 1, wherein the synchronization information comprises a frequency reference, where the control unit is adapted to control at least one radar transceiver arrangement to generate ego frequency ramps in dependence the frequency reference (McCloskey et al. “In scenario 900b of FIG. 9B, waveforms 910b and 912b may be alternatively distinguished by applying a frequency offset between the frequencies 920b and 922b.” - ¶ [0120]).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The vehicle radar system according to claim 1, wherein the synchronization information comprises information regarding at which times neighboring radar transceivers are transmitting neighboring frequency ramps (McCloskey et al. “For example, the EM radiation of the first sensor (e.g., the modulation pattern 910e) may be stopped by the first vehicle and the modulation pattern 912e of the second sensor may be started after a time offset illustrated in FIG. 9E as the time offset between times 920e and 922e.” - ¶ [0123]) and with which neighboring frequency gradient, where the control unit is adapted to control the ego frequency gradient to correspond to the synchronization information to schedule the ego frequency ramps in free timeslots between the neighboring frequency ramps.
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The vehicle radar system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit (208) is adapted to:
- control at least one radar transceiver arrangement to monitor a certain part of the radar frequency band during an observation period (McCloskey et al. “Receive, by a vehicle that includes a sensor, data from an external computing device indicative of at least one other vehicle in an environment of the vehicle that includes at least one sensor” – 402, Fig. 4);
- analyze possible interference signals (McCloskey et al. “Determine, based on the data, a likelihood of interference between the at least one sensor of the at least one other vehicle and the sensor of the vehicle” – 404, Fig. 4); and to
- identify a certain start time to start sending a cycle of one or more ego frequency ramps in dependence of said analysis, such that interference from said interference signals is reduced (McCloskey et al. “In a third example implementation, the method 400 may also include modifying a modulation pattern of the EM radiation to reduce the interference. Modifying the modulation pattern, for example, may include applying a time offset to the modulation pattern, applying a frequency offset to the modulation pattern, adjusting a frequency bandwidth of the modulation pattern, and/or adjusting a shape of the modulation pattern among other possibilities.” - ¶ [0092]).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The vehicle radar system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is adapted to receive information from neighboring control units regarding neighboring timeslots and to determine an ego timeslot structure with corresponding ego timeslots (McCloskey et al. “Therefore, in one example, the vehicle may adjust the modulation pattern by applying an offset among the other possibilities described above to distinguish the modulation pattern of the sensor from the modulation pattern of the at least one sensor of the at least one other vehicle. In this example, the offset may be a frequency offset or a time offset.” - ¶ [0094]).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
A method for a vehicle radar system (McCloskey et al. radar 230, Fig. 2), the method comprising:
generating and transmitting an FMCW, Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave, signal (McCloskey et al. modulation pattern 800, Fig. 8; modulation patterns 910a-910e, Figs. 9A-9E) in a radar frequency band (McCloskey et al. “an electromagnetic wave frequency range of 76-77 Giga-Hertz (GHz)” - ¶ [0005]) using at least one radar transceiver arrangement (McCloskey et al. radar 230, Fig. 2); and
receiving reflected signals that have been reflected by one or more target objects (McCloskey et al. “The RADAR 230 unit may be any sensor configured to sense objects in the environment in which the vehicle 200 is located using radio signals.” - ¶ [0050]);
where each FMCW signal comprises a corresponding plurality of ego frequency ramps that are generated in radar cycles having a certain ego cycle time and ego cycle start time (McCloskey et al. “Modifying the modulation pattern, for example, may include applying a time offset to the modulation pattern, applying a frequency offset to the modulation pattern, adjusting a frequency bandwidth of the modulation pattern, and/or adjusting a shape of the modulation pattern among other possibilities.” - ¶ [0092]; “The scenarios 900a-900e present various adjustments of the corresponding modulation patterns to reduce interference…” - ¶ [0118]), where each one of the ego frequency ramps has a certain ego duration time, an ego delay time between adjacent ego frequency ramps (McCloskey et al. “the EM radiation of the first sensor (e.g., the modulation pattern 910e) may be stopped by the first vehicle and the modulation pattern 912e of the second sensor may be started after a time offset…” - ¶ [0123]; Fig. 9E) and an ego frequency gradient (McCloskey et al. “the modulation pattern 910c and/or 912c may alternatively be adjusted to have a different shape. For example, Fig. 9C shows the modulation pattern 910c (e.g., of the first sensor) to have a different slope than the modulated pattern 912c (e.g., of the second sensor).” - ¶ [0121]),
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving synchronization information from at least one external unit (McCloskey et al. external computing device 304, Fig. 3), and
basing at least the ego cycle start time, the ego duration time and the ego delay time on the synchronization information (McCloskey et al. “For example, the computing device 304 may receive location information from the vehicles 302a-302d as well as sensor configurations (e.g., direction, modulation pattern, etc.), and may responsively provide requests to proximate vehicles to adjust the corresponding sensor configurations to reduce interference between the corresponding sensors.- ¶ [0075]; “Modifying the modulation pattern, for example, may include applying a time offset to the modulation pattern, applying a frequency offset to the modulation pattern, adjusting a frequency bandwidth of the modulation pattern, and/or adjusting a shape of the modulation pattern among other possibilities.” - ¶ [0092]).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The method according to claim 11, wherein the method comprises basing the ego frequency gradient (McCloskey et al. “the modulation pattern 910c and/or 912c may alternatively be adjusted to have a different shape. For example, Fig. 9C shows the modulation pattern 910c (e.g., of the first sensor) to have a different slope than the modulated pattern 912c(e.g., of the second sensor).” - ¶ [0121]) on the synchronization information (McCloskey et al. “For example, the computing device 304 may receive location information from the vehicles 302a-302d as well as sensor configurations (e.g., direction, modulation pattern, etc.), and may responsively provide requests to proximate vehicles to adjust the corresponding sensor configurations to reduce interference between the corresponding sensors.” - ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The method according to claim 11, where the synchronization information comprises time reference data, where the method comprises controlling the ego cycle start time in dependence of the time reference data (McCloskey et al. “In scenario 900a of FIG. 9A, the modulated pattern 912a of the second sensor may be offset by a time offset 924 to distinguish the modulated pattern 910a from the modulated pattern 912a.” - ¶ [0119]).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The method according to claim 11, wherein the synchronization information comprises a frequency reference, where the method comprises controlling at least one radar transceiver arrangement to generate ego frequency ramps in dependence of the frequency reference (McCloskey et al. “In scenario 900b of FIG. 9B, waveforms 910b and 912b may be alternatively distinguished by applying a frequency offset between the frequencies 920b and 922b.” - ¶ [0120]).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
A vehicle (McCloskey et al. vehicle 100, Fig. 1) comprising the vehicle radar system (McCloskey et al. radar 230, Fig. 2) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCloskey et al. (US 2020/0326407 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 10 MAR 2025) in view of Koichi (JP 2013-160585 A, cited by applicant in IDS dated 10 MAR 2025).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by McCloskey et al. has been struck-through]
The vehicle radar system according to claim 1,
Koichi discloses:
wherein each radar transceiver arrangement is associated with a main pointing direction (Koichi “To avoid interference, the direction in which the radar equipment is facing is used as a method for determining the priority of radar equipment whose frequency is changed.” - ¶ [0012]) and a pre-defined set of timeslots 0..N (Koichi “the time direction (horizontal axis) within each measurement cycle is divided into multiple usage time bands” - ¶ [0058]), where each timeslot corresponds to a sequence of ego frequency ramps within a frame and the timeslot number corresponds to a time offset (Koichi each time slot, n and n+1, has a sequency of frequency ramps, where each timeslot is offset in time, Fig. 12), where the control unit is adapted to:
- define heading intervals which divide a full turn interval 0°-360° into sections (Koichi “the priority condition area is divided into two areas that define the priority within the omnidirectional area, and then each divided area is further divided into two areas that define the priority within that divided area” - ¶ [0053]; the full turn interval associated with a compass is divided into sections that are assigned a priority level, Fig. 8),
- assign a corresponding timeslot to each heading interval (Koichi each section of the full turn interval is assigned a priority level, ¶ [0050]-[0053])
- determine a present vehicle heading interval (Koichi “To avoid interference, the direction in which the radar equipment is facing is used as a method for determining the priority of radar equipment…” - ¶ [0012]), and to
- assign a corresponding timeslot to each one of the radar transceivers in dependence of the heading interval that comprises the present heading (Koichi “priority is determined based on the direction the radar device is facing” - ¶ [0020]; “each measurement cycle is divided into usage time bands, and the usage time bands are changed according to priority.” - ¶ [0058]).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Koichi into the invention of McCloskey et al. to yield the invention of claim 8 above. Both McCloskey et al. and Koichi are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose vehicle radar systems. McCloskey et al. discloses the invention of claim 1. However, McCloskey et al. fails to explicitly disclose a main pointing direction and a pre-defined set of timeslots 0.N, where each timeslot corresponds to a sequence of ego frequency ramps within a frame and the timeslot number corresponds to a time offset, where the control unit is adapted to: define heading intervals which divide a full turn interval 0°-360° into sections, assign a corresponding timeslot to each heading interval, determine a present vehicle heading, and to assign a corresponding timeslot to each one of the radar transceivers in dependence of the heading interval that comprises the present vehicle heading. This feature is disclosed by Koichi where “priority is determined based on the direction the radar device is facing” and “each measurement cycle is divided into usage time bands, and the usage time bands are changed according to priority.” (Koichi ¶ [0020], [0058]). The combination of McCloskey et al. and Koichi would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to perform interference avoidance according to priority conditions (Koichi ¶ [0009]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCloskey et al. (US 2020/0326407 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 10 MAR 2025) in view of Kritzner et al. (EP 3,324,201 A1).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended),
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by McCloskey et al. has been struck-through]
The vehicle radar system according to claim 1, wherein the radar transceiver arrangements are adapted to transmit a (McCloskey et al. “the EM radiation of the first sensor (e.g., the modulation pattern 910e) may be stopped by the first vehicle and the modulation pattern 912e of the second sensor may be started after a time offset…” - ¶ [0123]; Fig. 9E).
Kritzner et al. discloses:
wherein the radar transceiver arrangements are adapted to transmit a stepped FMCW waveform (Kritzner et al. “The vehicle radar system is arranged to generate SFCW (Stepped Frequency Continuous Wave) ramps, where each SFCW ramp has a plurality of FCW frequency steps.” - ¶ [0011]; SFCW ramp 34, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Kritzner et al. into the invention of McCloskey et al. to yield the invention of claim 9 above. Both McCloskey et al. and Kritzner et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose vehicle radar systems. McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the radar transceiver arrangements are adapted to transmit a FMCW waveform whereby the radar transceiver arrangements are synchronised such that the corresponding ego frequency ramps are aligned to occupy one timeslot each. However, McCloskey et al. fails to explicitly disclose a stepped FMCW waveform. This feature is disclosed by Kritzner et al. where “The vehicle radar system is arranged to generate SFCW (Stepped Frequency Continuous Wave) ramps, where each SFCW ramp has a plurality of FCW frequency steps.” (Kritzner et al. ¶ [0011]; SFCW ramp 34, Fig. 3). The combination of McCloskey et al. and Kritzner et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to achieve “the benefits of a wideband OFDM signal… the ability of MIMO and insensibility to interference caused by other radar sensors, by using only narrowband OFDM symbols inducing reduced hardware cost compared to a wideband OFDM radar.” (Kritzner et al. ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), McCloskey et al. discloses:
The vehicle radar system according to claim 9, wherein the slope of the timeslots is positive in some stepped frequency radar cycles and negative in some stepped frequency radar cycles (McCloskey et al. Figs. 9A-9E).
Conclusion
NAOMI M. WOLFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/N.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3648
9 OCT 2026
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648