STATUS OF CLAIMS
This action is in response to papers filed on March 10, 2025. Pursuant to preliminary amendment claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 1-8 have been amended and claims 9-11 have been added by applicants’ amendment filed on 3/10/2025.
Therefore, claims 1-11 are under examination to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable. Claims 1, 8 and 11 are independent claims.
Priority
The instant application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application PCT/JP2023/030929 filed on August 28, 2023. The International Application claims priority to Japanese Application 2022-144313, filed September 12, 2022.
Therefore, the earliest effective filing date for the instant application is September 12, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2, 3, 4 and by dependency claims 5, 9, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Claim 2 provides for a method of using the anti-tumor immune response enhancer for growth suppression of a tumor in a subject. Claim 3 provides for a method of using the anti-tumor immune response enhancer for inducing an immature dendritic cell to be a mature dendritic cell. Claim 4 provides for a method of using the anti-tumor immune response enhancer for inducing an immature dendritic cell to be CDI lb+ CDI 1c+ viable cells. Since the claims do not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2, 3-5 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 3, 4 and by dependency claims 5, 9, 10, 11 are indefinite since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass.
Regarding claim 3, the terms “mature” and “immature” are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the terms “mature” and “immature” are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the term “immature” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the term “immature” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the term “immature” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Written Description
Claims 1- rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
M.P.E.P. § 2163 recites, "The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A), above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B), above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C), above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406." Further, the written description inquiry is limited to that which is contained within the four corners of the specification, not the extent to which the skilled artisan, given his or her knowledge of the art, would have considered it to expand with only routine experimentation. See Ariad Pharms. Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en bane); see also id. At 1352 ("[I]t is the specification itself that must demonstrate possession. A description that merely renders the invention obvious does not satisfy the requirement.").
Claim 1 is drawn to an anti-tumor immune response enhancer comprising phosphatidylcholine, phosphatidylethanolamine, and phosphatidylserine, without limiting their concentrations or relative proportions with the intended use preparing mature dendritic cells (claim 8 and 11) . There is not structure/function correlation for the claimed genus of claimed enhancers comprising phosphatidylcholine, phosphatidylethanolamine, and phosphatidylserine in suppressing the tumor in a subject.
The disclosure fails to teach any species within the genus, nor does it define any structural or functional characteristics that distinguish anti-tumor immune response enhancers comprising phosphatidylcholine (PC), phosphatidylethanolamine (PE), and phosphatidylserine (PS) from other compositions. Moreover, there is only one working example of a percentage composition of these components, wherein the mass ratio of PC:PE:PS is 14:3:3, which translates to 70% PC, 15% PE and 15% PS (para 0037). Therefore, the specification does not provide representative working examples demonstrating anti-tumor immune response enhancement across this broader range of compositions.
The prior art demonstrates that different phospholipids within compositions can influence immune responses. Chen et al. (Published: 2004. Journal of immunology (Baltimore, Md. : 1950), 173(5), 2985–2994.) studies the impact phosphatidylcholine and phosphatidylserine has on dendritic cell maturation (pp. 2985, Abstract). Moreover, Chen teaches that inhibition of dendritic cell maturation was dose-dependent for PS liposomes (pp. 2987, right col para 1 and Figure 1B). Therefore, the prior art establishes that varying concentrations of phosphatidylserine concentrations can elicit different immunological effects, such as dendritic cell maturation.
The specification as filed provides one example where PC, PE and PS were dissolved in ethanol in a mass ratio of PC:PE:PS=14:3:3. Specifically, 0.84 mg of PC, 0.18 mg of PE, and 0.18 mg of PS were dissolved in 1 mL of ethanol to prepare 1.2 mg/mL of lipid composition cPLs adjuvant (para 0037). The specification also reveals that at this concentration, the cPL adjuvant was administered to MO4-implanted mice in a dose of 12mg/kg, and tumor volumes decreased by nearly half the size of the untreated control tumors (para 0043).
Although the disclosure provides one example of the specific proportions of PC, PE and PS, claim 1 broadly encompasses compositions comprising these phospholipids in any amount. As such, the limited disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventors were in possession of the full scope of the anti-tumor immune response enhancer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dobbie et al. (Published: 2012. European Patent: EP1267924B1. ref. of record. Cited in IDS filed 10/01/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Dobbie teaches cancer therapy (para 0002) comprising phosphatidylcholine, phosphatidylethanolamine, and phosphatidylserine (Dobbie; para 0012, para 0013, claim 1, claim 2).
Regarding claim 2, The limitation “used for growth suppression of a tumor in a subject” is intended use. If the prior art composition taught by primary reference is capable of performing the recited intended use, this limitation is met. See e.g. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477; 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “used for inducing an immature dendritic cell to be a mature dendritic cell” is intended use. If the prior art composition taught by primary reference is capable of performing the recited intended use, this limitation is met. See e.g. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477; 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 4 and 5, the limitation “used for inducing an immature dendritic cell to be CD11b+ CD11c+ viable cells” (instant claim 4) and “wherein the immature dendritic cell is an immature conventional dendritic cell or a tumor-associated dendritic cell” (instant claim 5) is intended use. If the prior art composition taught by primary reference is capable of performing the recited intended use, this limitation is met. See e.g. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477; 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP 2114.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Dobbie teaches that the dendritic cells are cultured and combined with the phospholipid vesicles to yield modified dendritic cells (para 0041).
Therefore, by teaching all the limitations of the claims as written, Dobbie anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 , and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobbie et al. (Published: 2012. European Patent: EP1267924B1. Cited in IDS filed 10/01/2026).
Regarding claim 1 and 2, Dobbie teaches a cancer therapy (para 0002) comprising phosphatidylcholine, phosphatidylethanolamine, and phosphatidylserine (Dobbie; para 0012, para 0013, claim 1, claim 2). Dobbie also teaches that the dendritic cells are cultured and combined with the phospholipid vesicles to yield modified dendritic cells (para 0041).
Moreover, Dobbie teaches the anti-tumor immune response agent to comprise 54% phosphatidylcholine, 8% phosphatidylethanolamine, and the composition of phosphatidylserine can range from 2-6%, but preferably 4% (para 0012; para 0013). Dobbie also teaches that the phospholipid vesicles are constructed using specific phospholipids in proportions similar to lamellar bodies found in normal tissues (para 0044), and show light variation based on the cell of origin (para 0045).
However, Dobbie does not explicitly teach a composition an embodiment of phosphatidylserine within the claimed range of 5-25%, as required by claims 6 and 9.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to optimize aspects of the phospholipid vesicle to comprise a percentage composition of phosphatidylserine within the claimed range, as Dobbie establishes that the proportions could be modified to reflect the composition of lamellar bodies found in tissue. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the composition to more accurately represent its biological counterpart.
A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success as controlling the concentration of PC, PE and PS to reflect the composition of lamellar bodies was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The Court has stated that generally such differences amount to mere optimization and will not support patentability unless there is evidence indicating the claimed feature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421.
MPEP § 2144 sets forth Applicant' s burden for rebuttal of a prima facie case of obviousness based upon routine optimization. Applicant must provide either a showing that the particular amount or range recited within the claims is critical; and/or a showing that the prior art reference teaches away from the claimed amount.
***
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobbie et al. (Published: 2012. European Patent: EP1267924B1. ref. of record. Cited in IDS filed 10/01/2026) in view of Thanou et al. (Published: 2018. US Patent App. US 20180177728 A1).
With regard to claim 1 and 2, the teachings of Dobbie render obvious the claimed methodology, as iterated above in the 103 rejection the content of which is incorporated herein, in its entirety. Dobbie teaches a cancer therapy (para 0002) comprising phosphatidylcholine, phosphatidylethanolamine, and phosphatidylserine (Dobbie; para 0012, para 0013, claim 1, claim 2).
However, Dobbie does not teach that the anti-tumor immune response enhancer further comprises one or more anticancer agents, as required by claims 7 and 10.
Thanou teaches a lipid nanoparticle comprising at least one phospholipid (abstract), wherein the phospholipid can be phosphatidylcholine, phosphatidylethanolamine, and phosphatidylserine (para 0091). Thanou teaches that the lipid nanoparticle can comprise an active pharmaceutical ingredient (para 0017), wherein the ingredient can be an anticancer agent (para 0285). Thanou also teaches that these agents are capable of inducing cancer cell or tumor cell toxicity (para 0285).
Therefore, a person would have been motivated to modify the anti-tumor immune response enhancer of Dobbie to further comprise an anticancer agent, as taught in Thanou, for inducing cancer cells and tumor cell cytotoxicity. There would have been reasonable expectations of success in combining these teachings as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize to combine known elements in the art to give predictable results.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/KATRIEL BARCELLANO KASAYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/MARIA G LEAVITT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1634