Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 3/10/2025 has been fully considered and there are no issues with the submission.
Status of the Claims
The following office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed 3/10/2025. Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis -Step 1 Claim 1 is directed to a method for an aircraft, claim 8 is directed to a navigation device for an aircraft, claim 9 is directed to a navigation system, and claim 12 is directed to a computer program. Therefore, claims 1, 8, 9, and 12 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong 1
Regarding prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claims 1, 8, 9, and 12 include limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below). The claims include identical limitations in the form of method, device, system, and computer program so claim 1 will be used as a representation for the rejection.
Claim 1 recites:
A navigation method for an aircraft, wherein a first navigation module determines first navigation data of said aircraft, said method comprising:
during a landing phase of said aircraft, a step of determining said first navigation data based on data from an inertial measurement unit and from images captured by said aircraft; and
during a taxiing phase following the landing of said aircraft, a step of determining said first navigation data based on data from the inertial measurement unit and from at least one odometer,
said first navigation data determined during the taxiing phase being function of said first navigation data determined during the landing phase
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers the performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “determining said first navigation data…”, “determining said first navigation data…”, and “said first navigation data determined during…” in the context of these claims encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, there are no additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underline portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claim 1:
A navigation method for an aircraft, wherein a first navigation module determines first navigation data of said aircraft, said method comprising:
during a landing phase of said aircraft, a step of determining said first navigation data based on data from an inertial measurement unit and from images captured by said aircraft; and
during a taxiing phase following the landing of said aircraft, a step of determining said first navigation data based on data from the inertial measurement unit and from at least one odometer,
said first navigation data determined during the taxiing phase being function of said first navigation data determined during the landing phase
For the following reasons, the examiner submits that the lack of additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitations as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitations add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above noted-judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05). Accordingly, the lack of additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above during the claim 1 analysis, with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of determining said first navigation data based on data from an inertial measurement unit and from images captured by said aircraft, determining said first navigation data based on data from the inertial measurement unit and from at least one odometer, and said first navigation data being determined during the taxiing phase being function of said first navigation data determined during the landing phase amount to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional there are no additional limitations.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is an insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. However, in this case there are no additional limitations. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-7, 10-11, and 13 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and well-understood, routine, and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-7, 10-11, and 13 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 1, 8, 9, and 12.
Therefore, claims 1-13 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C 101.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to software per se and there is no structure recited in the claim.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Specifically, the claim recites “an information medium”. While the claim recites a storage medium in the product, it is noted that storage medium can also take the form of transitory medium such as carrier waves, i.e., electromagnetic waves that can be modulated, as in frequency, amplitude, or phase to transmit information signals. Additionally, propagation medium can take the form of acoustic or light waves, such as those generated during radio wave and infrared data communications. Therefore claim 13 is not limited to a statutory subject matter and is therefore non-statutory.
The examiner suggests that the applicant replace the term information medium with the term “non-transitory” computer storage medium in order to properly render the claims in statutory form in view of their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102c as being anticipated by US 20140136091 A1 hereinafter Perrie.
Regarding claim 1, Pierre teaches a navigation method for an aircraft, wherein a first navigation module determines first navigation data of said aircraft, said method comprising:
during a landing phase of said aircraft, a step of determining said first navigation data based on data from an inertial measurement unit and from images captured by said aircraft; and (We can define a cycle of the aircraft comprising all successive steps: gate, takeoff, flight, landing, and docking at the gate. Depending on the initial state of the aircraft (continuous cycle or turned off aircraft, starting for the first time and initiating a cycle), said auxiliary hybridization requires an initial condition, in order to increment and to know at every moment an accurate position, with integrity, of the aircraft. Paragraph [0123] Furthermore, to increase this zone of integrity of the airport, said unit 28 of device 1 can comprise, in addition, as shown in FIG. 5: at least one auxiliary element 34, described below, for determining an auxiliary position of the aircraft; means 35 which are connected through the intermediary of connections 36 and 37 respectively to said means 30 and 34 and which are formed so as to determine at least one auxiliary hybrid position by means of inertial data received from said means 30 and said auxiliary position. Paragraphs [0115-0117] A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known. Paragraph [0130])
during taxiing phase following the landing of said aircraft, a step of determining said first navigation data based on data from the inertial measurement unit and from at least one odometer, (The device 1 according to an embodiment of the invention helps ensure the integrity of a hybrid position of an aircraft moving on the ground in an airport, if the aircraft is within the runway zone ZP, as defined above, which represents in this case a zone of integrity, in other words a zone where integrity is high and sufficient to allow for the use of the aircraft position. Furthermore, to increase this zone of integrity of the airport, said unit 28 of device 1 can comprise, in addition, as shown in FIG. 5: at least one auxiliary element 34, described below, for determining an auxiliary position of the aircraft; means 35 which are connected through the intermediary of connections 36 and 37 respectively to said means 30 and 34 and which are formed so as to determine at least one auxiliary hybrid position by means of inertial data received from said means 30 and said auxiliary position. Paragraphs [0114-117] Preferably, said auxiliary member 34 generating the position comprises at least one of the following on-board means: a mechanical or electrical odometer: which is arranged on the front wheel of the aircraft. This odometer measures the exact number or revolutions of the wheel in order to know, starting from an initial condition of position, the exact position of the aircraft on runway 11 at any time. Complemented by orientation measurements of the nose of the aircraft and orientations of the wheel, of transverse IRS displacements for the slips and rotations of the front gear, we obtain in the usual manner a position that is accurate and with integrity. This measurement allows, upon hybridization with IRS data, for correction of the IRS bias and for providing an integrity position independent of the GPS signals in the multipath zone. These measurements may be distorted due to changes in the circumference of the tire (wear in particular). Also, preferably, a verification of the rotation and/or automatic control relative to the speed (ground speed supplied by the IR data, for instance) is foreseen to detect any problem related to tire circumference change; Paragraphs [0128-0129])
said first navigation data determined during the taxiing phase being function of said first navigation data determined during the landing phase. (We can define a cycle of the aircraft comprising all successive steps: gate, takeoff, flight, landing, and docking at the gate. Depending on the initial state of the aircraft (continuous cycle or turned off aircraft, starting for the first time and initiating a cycle), said auxiliary hybridization requires an initial condition, in order to increment and to know at every moment an accurate position, with integrity, of the aircraft. In this way: in the case of take-off, when necessary at the beginning of a cycle, the initial condition is provided: either by a third party system (for instance, a flight management system), namely the position of the gate, which is always known in the case of the take-off phase. Preferably, this position can be known through data included in a database; or by a computer having stored the last previously known reference position, and when the aircraft is not turned off, it is possible to reuse the integrity position known since stopping the aircraft at the gate, and starting from this accurate position, with integrity, initializing the position for the next cycle. Paragraphs [0123-0127] Time intervals may exist, for which the two hybrid calculation means are available. In this case, to switch from one source of confidence position to another: during the takeoff phase, the condition of validity of the previously described runway zone ZP must be used and confirmed within a predetermined time; during the landing phase, several solutions are possible, and switching from one to the other source of calculation is possible in function of the availability of equipment and/or algorithms: either we let the flight position issued from the GPIRS flight algorithm continue to be calculated for a predetermined time after touchdown (the touchdown information is provided by the processor of the landing gear which informs of the compressed state of the landing gear) and a switch is made to the ground hybridization means; or we await a validity criterion (change from calculation data status to operational status) of the hybridization calculation with the ground means, confirmed during a predetermined time. or the geometric calculation of the above described zone ZP is available. Paragraphs [0134-0139])
Regarding claim 2, Pierre teaches the method according to claim 1. Pierre also teaches wherein a second navigation module determines a second navigation data, said method comprising:
during a flight phase of said aircraft preceding said landing phase, a step of determining said second navigation data based on data from the inertial measurement unit and from a satellite positioning module. (If this is the case, a unit 28 of device 1 can use position information from a GPS receiver 29 which is then accurate, because not subject to multipath signals. This position information of receiver 29 can be used either individually or, as shown in FIG. 5, for calculating a hybrid GPIRS position which then has high integrity. In this last case, this unit 20 includes, in addition to said GPS receiver 29: conventional means 30, in particular IRS type inertial reference systems for generating inertial information, and means 31 which are connected through the intermediary of connections 32 and 33 respectively to said means 29 and 30 and which are formed so as to generate, in the usual manner, a GPIRS type hybrid position. Paragraphs [0096-0097])
Regarding claim 4, Pierre teaches the method according to claim 2. Pierre also teaches wherein a control module provides to a guiding module of said aircraft:
during said flight phase of said aircraft, second navigation data determined by the second navigation module; and (If this is the case, a unit 28 of device 1 can use position information from a GPS receiver 29 which is then accurate, because not subject to multipath signals. This position information of receiver 29 can be used either individually or, as shown in FIG. 5, for calculating a hybrid GPIRS position which then has high integrity. In this last case, this unit 20 includes, in addition to said GPS receiver 29: conventional means 30, in particular IRS type inertial reference systems for generating inertial information, and means 31 which are connected through the intermediary of connections 32 and 33 respectively to said means 29 and 30 and which are formed so as to generate, in the usual manner, a GPIRS type hybrid position. Paragraphs [0096-0097])
during said phases following said flight phase, said first navigation data determined by the first navigation module. (We can define a cycle of the aircraft comprising all successive steps: gate, takeoff, flight, landing, and docking at the gate. Depending on the initial state of the aircraft (continuous cycle or turned off aircraft, starting for the first time and initiating a cycle), said auxiliary hybridization requires an initial condition, in order to increment and to know at every moment an accurate position, with integrity, of the aircraft. In this way: in the case of take-off, when necessary at the beginning of a cycle, the initial condition is provided: either by a third party system (for instance, a flight management system), namely the position of the gate, which is always known in the case of the take-off phase. Preferably, this position can be known through data included in a database; or by a computer having stored the last previously known reference position, and when the aircraft is not turned off, it is possible to reuse the integrity position known since stopping the aircraft at the gate, and starting from this accurate position, with integrity, initializing the position for the next cycle. Paragraphs [0123-0127] Time intervals may exist, for which the two hybrid calculation means are available. In this case, to switch from one source of confidence position to another: during the takeoff phase, the condition of validity of the previously described runway zone ZP must be used and confirmed within a predetermined time; during the landing phase, several solutions are possible, and switching from one to the other source of calculation is possible in function of the availability of equipment and/or algorithms: either we let the flight position issued from the GPIRS flight algorithm continue to be calculated for a predetermined time after touchdown (the touchdown information is provided by the processor of the landing gear which informs of the compressed state of the landing gear) and a switch is made to the ground hybridization means; or we await a validity criterion (change from calculation data status to operational status) of the hybridization calculation with the ground means, confirmed during a predetermined time. or the geometric calculation of the above described zone ZP is available. Paragraphs [0134-0139])
Regarding claim 5, Pierre teaches the method according to claim 1. Pierre also teaches the method comprising:
during a first pair of said landing phase, a step of determining said first navigation data based on an observed position and on a known position of a single terrestrial reference point detected in said captured images; and (Preferably, said auxiliary member 34 generating the position comprises at least one of the following on-board means: a mechanical or electrical odometer: which is arranged on the front wheel of the aircraft. This odometer measures the exact number or revolutions of the wheel in order to know, starting from an initial condition of position, the exact position of the aircraft on runway 11 at any time. Complemented by orientation measurements of the nose of the aircraft and orientations of the wheel, of transverse IRS displacements for the slips and rotations of the front gear, we obtain in the usual manner a position that is accurate and with integrity. This measurement allows, upon hybridization with IRS data, for correction of the IRS bias and for providing an integrity position independent of the GPS signals in the multipath zone. These measurements may be distorted due to changes in the circumference of the tire (wear in particular). Also, preferably, a verification of the rotation and/or automatic control relative to the speed (ground speed supplied by the IR data, for instance) is foreseen to detect any problem related to tire circumference change; a video system based on the analysis of the airport AE surface. A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known; a magnetic sensor system, which is arranged under the main gear of the aircraft and is used to measure a known position of one or more points of the runway 11 or of the access ramps, and a passive antenna, which is excited by an electromagnetic field (antenna placed in the tarmac itself) of which the position is known accurately and with integrity. Paragraphs [0128-0132])
during a second part of said landing phase, a step of determining said first navigation data based on observed positions and on known positions of several terrestrial reference points detected in said captured images. (Preferably, said auxiliary member 34 generating the position comprises at least one of the following on-board means: a mechanical or electrical odometer: which is arranged on the front wheel of the aircraft. This odometer measures the exact number or revolutions of the wheel in order to know, starting from an initial condition of position, the exact position of the aircraft on runway 11 at any time. Complemented by orientation measurements of the nose of the aircraft and orientations of the wheel, of transverse IRS displacements for the slips and rotations of the front gear, we obtain in the usual manner a position that is accurate and with integrity. This measurement allows, upon hybridization with IRS data, for correction of the IRS bias and for providing an integrity position independent of the GPS signals in the multipath zone. These measurements may be distorted due to changes in the circumference of the tire (wear in particular). Also, preferably, a verification of the rotation and/or automatic control relative to the speed (ground speed supplied by the IR data, for instance) is foreseen to detect any problem related to tire circumference change; a video system based on the analysis of the airport AE surface. A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known; a magnetic sensor system, which is arranged under the main gear of the aircraft and is used to measure a known position of one or more points of the runway 11 or of the access ramps, and a passive antenna, which is excited by an electromagnetic field (antenna placed in the tarmac itself) of which the position is known accurately and with integrity. Paragraphs [0128-0132])
Regarding claim 6, Pierre teaches the method according to claim 1. Pierre also teaches the method further comprising:
a step of detecting at least one terrestrial reference point in said captured images; (A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known; a magnetic sensor system, which is arranged under the main gear of the aircraft and is used to measure a known position of one or more points of the runway 11 or of the access ramps, and a passive antenna, which is excited by an electromagnetic field (antenna placed in the tarmac itself) of which the position is known accurately and with integrity. Paragraphs [0130-0132])
a step of determining an observed relative position of said at least one terrestrial reference point detected with respect to said aircraft based on said captured images; and (A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known; a magnetic sensor system, which is arranged under the main gear of the aircraft and is used to measure a known position of one or more points of the runway 11 or of the access ramps, and a passive antenna, which is excited by an electromagnetic field (antenna placed in the tarmac itself) of which the position is known accurately and with integrity. Paragraphs [0130-0132])
a step of determining an estimated relative position of said at least one terrestrial reference point detected with respect to said aircraft based on a position of said aircraft determined by the first navigation module and no known position of said at least one terrestrial point; (Preferably, said auxiliary member 34 generating the position comprises at least one of the following on-board means: a mechanical or electrical odometer: which is arranged on the front wheel of the aircraft. This odometer measures the exact number or revolutions of the wheel in order to know, starting from an initial condition of position, the exact position of the aircraft on runway 11 at any time. Complemented by orientation measurements of the nose of the aircraft and orientations of the wheel, of transverse IRS displacements for the slips and rotations of the front gear, we obtain in the usual manner a position that is accurate and with integrity. This measurement allows, upon hybridization with IRS data, for correction of the IRS bias and for providing an integrity position independent of the GPS signals in the multipath zone. These measurements may be distorted due to changes in the circumference of the tire (wear in particular). Also, preferably, a verification of the rotation and/or automatic control relative to the speed (ground speed supplied by the IR data, for instance) is foreseen to detect any problem related to tire circumference change; a video system based on the analysis of the airport AE surface. A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known; a magnetic sensor system, which is arranged under the main gear of the aircraft and is used to measure a known position of one or more points of the runway 11 or of the access ramps, and a passive antenna, which is excited by an electromagnetic field (antenna placed in the tarmac itself) of which the position is known accurately and with integrity. Paragraphs [0128-0132])
said first navigation data being determined by the first navigation module based on the difference between said first observed and estimated relative positions of said at least one terrestrial reference point with respect to said aircraft. (Preferably, said auxiliary member 34 generating the position comprises at least one of the following on-board means: a mechanical or electrical odometer: which is arranged on the front wheel of the aircraft. This odometer measures the exact number or revolutions of the wheel in order to know, starting from an initial condition of position, the exact position of the aircraft on runway 11 at any time. Complemented by orientation measurements of the nose of the aircraft and orientations of the wheel, of transverse IRS displacements for the slips and rotations of the front gear, we obtain in the usual manner a position that is accurate and with integrity. This measurement allows, upon hybridization with IRS data, for correction of the IRS bias and for providing an integrity position independent of the GPS signals in the multipath zone. These measurements may be distorted due to changes in the circumference of the tire (wear in particular). Also, preferably, a verification of the rotation and/or automatic control relative to the speed (ground speed supplied by the IR data, for instance) is foreseen to detect any problem related to tire circumference change; a video system based on the analysis of the airport AE surface. A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known; a magnetic sensor system, which is arranged under the main gear of the aircraft and is used to measure a known position of one or more points of the runway 11 or of the access ramps, and a passive antenna, which is excited by an electromagnetic field (antenna placed in the tarmac itself) of which the position is known accurately and with integrity. Paragraphs [0128-0132])
Regarding claim 7, Pierre teaches the method according to claim 1. Pierre also teaches wherein at least one said navigation module comprises an inertial system and a Kalman filter to determine said navigation data. (Therefore, the receiver integrates these various errors, using corrections and measurements of various satellites or beacons, followed by integration techniques such as filtering with Kalman filters to obtain the most probable point and its estimated accuracy, speed and universal time. Paragraph [0008] Today, position calculation means are used based on hybridizations between GPS data and aircraft inertial data. The hybridization consists in cushioning or stabilizing divergent errors of an inertial navigation station thanks to a position measurement resulting from GPS data. In the Kalman filter, the GPS data is used to estimate the positioning error of IRS type inertial systems ("Inertial Reference System" in English) and to estimate the position in more accurate manner. Paragraph [0010])
Regarding claim 8, Pierre teaches a navigation device for an aircraft, said device comprising a first navigation module configured to determine first navigation data of said aircraft based on data from an inertial measurement unit, from at least one odometer and from images captured by said aircraft, the first navigation module being configured to:
during a landing phase of said aircraft, determine said first navigation data based on data from the inertial measurement unit and from the captured images; and (We can define a cycle of the aircraft comprising all successive steps: gate, takeoff, flight, landing, and docking at the gate. Depending on the initial state of the aircraft (continuous cycle or turned off aircraft, starting for the first time and initiating a cycle), said auxiliary hybridization requires an initial condition, in order to increment and to know at every moment an accurate position, with integrity, of the aircraft. Paragraph [0123] Furthermore, to increase this zone of integrity of the airport, said unit 28 of device 1 can comprise, in addition, as shown in FIG. 5: at least one auxiliary element 34, described below, for determining an auxiliary position of the aircraft; means 35 which are connected through the intermediary of connections 36 and 37 respectively to said means 30 and 34 and which are formed so as to determine at least one auxiliary hybrid position by means of inertial data received from said means 30 and said auxiliary position. Paragraphs [0115-0117] A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known. Paragraph [0130])
during a taxiing phase following the landing of said aircraft determine said first navigation data based on data from the inertial measurement unit and from said at least one odometer, (The device 1 according to an embodiment of the invention helps ensure the integrity of a hybrid position of an aircraft moving on the ground in an airport, if the aircraft is within the runway zone ZP, as defined above, which represents in this case a zone of integrity, in other words a zone where integrity is high and sufficient to allow for the use of the aircraft position. Furthermore, to increase this zone of integrity of the airport, said unit 28 of device 1 can comprise, in addition, as shown in FIG. 5: at least one auxiliary element 34, described below, for determining an auxiliary position of the aircraft; means 35 which are connected through the intermediary of connections 36 and 37 respectively to said means 30 and 34 and which are formed so as to determine at least one auxiliary hybrid position by means of inertial data received from said means 30 and said auxiliary position. Paragraphs [0114-117] Preferably, said auxiliary member 34 generating the position comprises at least one of the following on-board means: a mechanical or electrical odometer: which is arranged on the front wheel of the aircraft. This odometer measures the exact number or revolutions of the wheel in order to know, starting from an initial condition of position, the exact position of the aircraft on runway 11 at any time. Complemented by orientation measurements of the nose of the aircraft and orientations of the wheel, of transverse IRS displacements for the slips and rotations of the front gear, we obtain in the usual manner a position that is accurate and with integrity. This measurement allows, upon hybridization with IRS data, for correction of the IRS bias and for providing an integrity position independent of the GPS signals in the multipath zone. These measurements may be distorted due to changes in the circumference of the tire (wear in particular). Also, preferably, a verification of the rotation and/or automatic control relative to the speed (ground speed supplied by the IR data, for instance) is foreseen to detect any problem related to tire circumference change; Paragraphs [0128-0129])
said first navigation data determined during the taxiing phase being a function of said first navigation data determined during the landing phase. (We can define a cycle of the aircraft comprising all successive steps: gate, takeoff, flight, landing, and docking at the gate. Depending on the initial state of the aircraft (continuous cycle or turned off aircraft, starting for the first time and initiating a cycle), said auxiliary hybridization requires an initial condition, in order to increment and to know at every moment an accurate position, with integrity, of the aircraft. In this way: in the case of take-off, when necessary at the beginning of a cycle, the initial condition is provided: either by a third party system (for instance, a flight management system), namely the position of the gate, which is always known in the case of the take-off phase. Preferably, this position can be known through data included in a database; or by a computer having stored the last previously known reference position, and when the aircraft is not turned off, it is possible to reuse the integrity position known since stopping the aircraft at the gate, and starting from this accurate position, with integrity, initializing the position for the next cycle. Paragraphs [0123-0127] Time intervals may exist, for which the two hybrid calculation means are available. In this case, to switch from one source of confidence position to another: during the takeoff phase, the condition of validity of the previously described runway zone ZP must be used and confirmed within a predetermined time; during the landing phase, several solutions are possible, and switching from one to the other source of calculation is possible in function of the availability of equipment and/or algorithms: either we let the flight position issued from the GPIRS flight algorithm continue to be calculated for a predetermined time after touchdown (the touchdown information is provided by the processor of the landing gear which informs of the compressed state of the landing gear) and a switch is made to the ground hybridization means; or we await a validity criterion (change from calculation data status to operational status) of the hybridization calculation with the ground means, confirmed during a predetermined time. or the geometric calculation of the above described zone ZP is available. Paragraphs [0134-0139])
Regarding claim 9 Pierre teaches a navigation system for an aircraft, said system comprising:
a navigation device according to claim 8;
an inertial measurement unit; (The device 1 according to an embodiment of the invention helps ensure the integrity of a hybrid position of an aircraft moving on the ground in an airport, if the aircraft is within the runway zone ZP, as defined above, which represents in this case a zone of integrity, in other words a zone where integrity is high and sufficient to allow for the use of the aircraft position. Furthermore, to increase this zone of integrity of the airport, said unit 28 of device 1 can comprise, in addition, as shown in FIG. 5: at least one auxiliary element 34, described below, for determining an auxiliary position of the aircraft; means 35 which are connected through the intermediary of connections 36 and 37 respectively to said means 30 and 34 and which are formed so as to determine at least one auxiliary hybrid position by means of inertial data received from said means 30 and said auxiliary position. Paragraphs [0114-117])
an image capture device; and (A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known. Paragraph [0130])
at least one odometer. (The device 1 according to an embodiment of the invention helps ensure the integrity of a hybrid position of an aircraft moving on the ground in an airport, if the aircraft is within the runway zone ZP, as defined above, which represents in this case a zone of integrity, in other words a zone where integrity is high and sufficient to allow for the use of the aircraft position. Furthermore, to increase this zone of integrity of the airport, said unit 28 of device 1 can comprise, in addition, as shown in FIG. 5: at least one auxiliary element 34, described below, for determining an auxiliary position of the aircraft; means 35 which are connected through the intermediary of connections 36 and 37 respectively to said means 30 and 34 and which are formed so as to determine at least one auxiliary hybrid position by means of inertial data received from said means 30 and said auxiliary position. Paragraphs [0114-117] Preferably, said auxiliary member 34 generating the position comprises at least one of the following on-board means: a mechanical or electrical odometer: which is arranged on the front wheel of the aircraft. This odometer measures the exact number or revolutions of the wheel in order to know, starting from an initial condition of position, the exact position of the aircraft on runway 11 at any time. Complemented by orientation measurements of the nose of the aircraft and orientations of the wheel, of transverse IRS displacements for the slips and rotations of the front gear, we obtain in the usual manner a position that is accurate and with integrity. This measurement allows, upon hybridization with IRS data, for correction of the IRS bias and for providing an integrity position independent of the GPS signals in the multipath zone. These measurements may be distorted due to changes in the circumference of the tire (wear in particular). Also, preferably, a verification of the rotation and/or automatic control relative to the speed (ground speed supplied by the IR data, for instance) is foreseen to detect any problem related to tire circumference change; Paragraphs [0128-0129])
Regarding claim 10, Pierre teaches a navigation system according to claim 9. Pierre also teaches the system further comprising a guiding module configured to guide said aircraft based on navigation data determined by said navigation device. (We can define a cycle of the aircraft comprising all successive steps: gate, takeoff, flight, landing, and docking at the gate. Depending on the initial state of the aircraft (continuous cycle or turned off aircraft, starting for the first time and initiating a cycle), said auxiliary hybridization requires an initial condition, in order to increment and to know at every moment an accurate position, with integrity, of the aircraft. In this way: in the case of take-off, when necessary at the beginning of a cycle, the initial condition is provided: either by a third party system (for instance, a flight management system), namely the position of the gate, which is always known in the case of the take-off phase. Preferably, this position can be known through data included in a database; or by a computer having stored the last previously known reference position, and when the aircraft is not turned off, it is possible to reuse the integrity position known since stopping the aircraft at the gate, and starting from this accurate position, with integrity, initializing the position for the next cycle. Preferably, said auxiliary member 34 generating the position comprises at least one of the following on-board means: a mechanical or electrical odometer: which is arranged on the front wheel of the aircraft. This odometer measures the exact number or revolutions of the wheel in order to know, starting from an initial condition of position, the exact position of the aircraft on runway 11 at any time. Complemented by orientation measurements of the nose of the aircraft and orientations of the wheel, of transverse IRS displacements for the slips and rotations of the front gear, we obtain in the usual manner a position that is accurate and with integrity. This measurement allows, upon hybridization with IRS data, for correction of the IRS bias and for providing an integrity position independent of the GPS signals in the multipath zone. These measurements may be distorted due to changes in the circumference of the tire (wear in particular). Also, preferably, a verification of the rotation and/or automatic control relative to the speed (ground speed supplied by the IR data, for instance) is foreseen to detect any problem related to tire circumference change; a video system based on the analysis of the airport AE surface. A camera located under the belly of the aircraft can, in this case, retrieve information from the surface, in particular lines drawn on the ground or reference points, of which the precise GPS reference is known; a magnetic sensor system, which is arranged under the main gear of the aircraft and is used to measure a known position of one or more points of the runway 11 or of the access ramps, and a passive antenna, which is excited by an electromagnetic field (antenna placed in the tarmac itself) of which the position is known accurately and with integrity. Paragraphs [0123-0132])
Regarding claim 11, Pierre teaches an aircraft comprising a navigation system according to claim 9. (For applications requiring absolute safety of the point (landing without visibility, anti-collision, . . . ), the navigation signals are supplemented by a so-called "integrity" signal that eliminates any measurement coming from a transmitter that is temporarily or long term out of order. The integrity is a measure of the confidence that the user has in the quality of the system outputs. Paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 12, Pierre teaches a computer program comprising instructions for implementing the steps of a method according to claim 1, wherein said computer program is executed by at least one processor. (Said processing unit 2. Paragraph [0072])
Regarding claim 13, Pierre teaches an information medium readable by a computer comprising a computer program according to claim 12. (Said processing unit 2. Paragraph [0072] Examiner notes that a processing system inherently teaches a computer program.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierre in view of US 10459085 B1 hereinafter Bell.
Regarding claim 3, Pierre teaches the method according to claim 2. Pierre also teaches the method further comprising during a phase of descent of said aircraft following said flight phase and preceding said landing phase, a step of determining said first navigation data based on data from the inertial measurement unit and
Pierre does not teach the use of an altimeter.
However, Bell teaches the use of an altimeter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Pierre to include the use of an altimeter of Bell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because it would enable the navigation method to accurately account for terrain or surface features directly underneath the aircraft as suggested by Bell in paragraph (15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150253150 A1 discloses a device for determining navigation parameters of an aircraft during a landing phase.
/JOSHUA JEFFREY PENKO/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
6/25/26