Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2025, 02/24/2026 and 07/06/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 03/10/2025 is noted by the Examiner.
Title Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “ELECTRICAL CONNECTION APPARATUS USED FOR MEASURING CHARACTERISTICS OF AN INSPECTION OBJECT”.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Dependent Claims 2-8 recite the preamble “The electrical connection apparatus according to claim…” while Independent Claim 1 recites the preamble “An electrical connection apparatus used for measuring electrical characteristics of an inspection object…”. Please make sure that the preamble of the Dependent Claims matches the preamble of the Independent Claim .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “…each having a guide hole formed therein, are arranged apart from each other along a surface normal direction of a main surface of the first guide plate, and holding the probes in a state in which the probes penetrate through the guide hole of the first guide plate…” in lines 5-9 of Claim 1. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “plurality of probes” disclosed earlier in Claim 1 or if it refers to a different “probes”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the plurality of probes”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “…an offset direction in which the positions of the guide holes arranged in the offset manner are shifted intersects obliquely with an arrangement direction of the inspection pads.” in lines 13-14 of Claim 1. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “plurality of inspection pads” disclosed earlier in Claim 1 or if it refers to a different “inspection pads”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the plurality of inspection pads”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “…wherein the inspection pads are arranged in a matrix along a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction..” in lines 2-4 of Claim 4. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “plurality of inspection pads” disclosed earlier in Claim 1 or if it refers to a different “inspection pads”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the plurality of inspection pads”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “…wherein the probe head holds the probes curved in the offset direction in a hollow portion between the first guide plate and the second guide plate, and the covering materials are arranged at least in curved portions of the probes…” in lines 1-4 of Claim 6. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “plurality of probes” disclosed earlier in Claim 1 or if it refers to a different “probes”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the plurality of probes”.
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as they further limit Claim 1.
Please make the proper corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. US 2019/0227101 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Hsieh) in view of Kister US 2008/0265873 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Kister).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh teaches an electrical connection apparatus used for measuring electrical characteristics of an inspection object (Figs. 1, 2, 4), comprising:
a plurality of probes (Figs. 1, 2, 4; probes, 2) arranged in such a way that each tip end (Figs. 1, 2, 4; probes, 2) comes into contact with a plurality of inspection pads (Figs. 1, 2, 4; probes, 2) of the inspection object (Figs. 1, 2, 4; probes, 2); and
a probe head (Figs. 1, 2, 4; probe head, 1) having a configuration in which a first guide plate (Figs. 1, 2, 4; upper die, 11) and a second guide plate (Figs. 1, 2, 4; lower die, 12), each having a guide hole formed therein (Figs. 1, 2, 4; first thru-holes, 111; second thru-holes,121), are arranged apart from each other along a surface normal direction of a main surface (Figs. 1, 2, 4; first thru-holes, 111; second thru-holes,121) of the first guide plate (Figs. 1, 2, 4; upper die, 11), and holding the probes (Figs. 1, 2, 4; probes, 2) in a state in which the probes (Figs. 1, 2, 4; probes, 2) penetrate through the guide hole (Figs. 1, 2, 4; first thru-holes, 111; second thru-holes,121) of the first guide plate (Figs. 1, 2, 4; upper die, 11) and the guide hole of the second guide plate (Figs. 1, 2, 4; lower die, 12), wherein
positions of the guide hole (Figs. 4; first thru-holes, 111; second thu-holes,121) of the first guide plate (Figs. 4; upper die, 11) and the guide hole (Figs. 4; first thru-holes, 111; second thru-holes, 121) of the second guide plate (Figs. 1, 2, 4; lower die, 12) through which the same probe (Figs. 1, 2, 4; probes, 2) penetrates are arranged in an offset manner so as to be shifted parallel to the main surface of the first guide plate (Figs. 4; upper die, 11).
Hsieh does not specifically teach an offset direction in which the positions of the guide holes arranged in the offset manner are shifted intersects obliquely with an arrangement direction of the inspection pads.
However, Kister does teach an offset direction in which the positions of the guide holes arranged in the offset manner are shifted intersects obliquely with an arrangement direction of the inspection pads (Fig. 5b).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the probe card device of Hsieh by implementing the teachings of Kister regarding an offset direction in which the positions of the guide holes arranged in the offset manner are shifted intersects obliquely with an arrangement direction of the inspection pads; in order to “provide improved scrub performance in cases where the probe height is limited” (See Kister; Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hsieh and Kister teaches the electrical connection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Hsieh further teaches wherein liner sides perpendicular to the offset direction are included in a cross-sectional shape of the guide hole viewed from a surface normal direction of the main surface of the first guide plate (Figs. 1, 2, 4).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hsieh and Kister teaches the electrical connection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Hsieh further teaches wherein a longitudinal direction in a cross-sectional shape of the guide hole viewed from a surface normal direction of the main surface of the first guide plate is perpendicular to the offset direction (Figs. 1, 2, 4).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hsieh and Kister teaches the electrical connection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Kister further teaches wherein the inspection pads are arranged in a matrix along a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Fig. 5b), and the offset direction intersects obliquely with both the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 5b).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hsieh and Kister teaches the electrical connection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Hsieh further teaches wherein the probe has a plurality of insulating covering materials arranged on a surface of the probe such that the covering materials are arranged apart from each other along a central axis direction of the probe (Figs. 3C, 4).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hsieh and Kister teaches the electrical connection apparatus according to claim 5, wherein Hsieh further teaches wherein the probe head holds the probes curved in the offset direction in a hollow portion between the first guide plate and the second guide plate (Figs. 3C, 4), and the covering materials are arranged at least in curved portions of the probes (Figs. 3C, 4).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hsieh and Kister teaches the electrical connection apparatus according to claim 5, wherein Hsieh further teaches wherein a cross-section of the probe perpendicular to the central axis direction has a rectangular shape defined by an offset surface facing the offset direction of the probe (Figs. 1, 2, 5), an opposite surface opposite to the offset surface (Figs. 1, 2, 5), a first side surface and a second side surface which are connected to the offset surface and the opposite surface (Figs. 1, 2, 5), and the covering material is continuously arranged from the first side surface through the offset surface to the second side surface (Figs. 1, 2, 5).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hsieh and Kister teaches the electrical connection apparatus according to claim 5, wherein Hsieh further teaches wherein a sum of an outer diameter of the probe and a thickness of the covering material is set smaller than an inner diameter of the guide hole (Figs. 3C, 4, 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shuto US 2022/0074971 - An electrical connecting device includes an insulating probe (10) including a bottom-side plunger (11), a top-side plunger (12), and a barrel (13), and a probe head (30) including a combined guide plate (30A) having a conductive region (301) made of a conductive material and an insulating region (302) made of an insulating material arranged adjacent to each other in a planar view. The bottom-side plunger (11) and the top-side plunger (12) are electrically connected to each other inside the barrel (13), and the bottom-side plunger (11) and the top-side plunger (12) are electrically insulated from the barrel (13).
Ahn et al. US 2021/0239735 - Proposed are a probe head and a probe card having the same. According to the present disclosure, the probe head of the probe card includes: an upper guide plate having an upper guide hole; a lower guide plate having a lower guide hole; and an intermediate guide plate having an intermediate guide hole and provided between the upper guide plate and the lower guide plate, wherein each of a plurality of probes sequentially passes through the upper guide hole, the intermediate guide hole, and the lower guide hole, and the intermediate guide plate is made of an anodic oxide film.
Ahn et al. US 2021/0302471 - Proposed are a probe head and a probe card having the same. The probe head includes: an upper guide plate having an upper guide hole; a lower guide plate having a lower guide hole; an intermediate guide plate having an intermediate guide hole, and provided between the upper guide plate and the lower guide plate; and a guide member provided at a side of the intermediate guide plate, wherein the intermediate guide plate is limited in movement by the guide member.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858