DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 15-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 15-20, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsen at al. (US 10970843) in view of Abboa-Offei et al. (US 9854317).
Claim 1, Olsen teaches a method for triggering a multimedia component, comprising:
playing a target video in a video playing interface (fig. 4A-C);
in response to a trigger gesture (i.e. tap or indicate selection) for an identification triggering area (i.e. object mask) in the video playing interface, displaying a component identification (i.e. corresponding digital assets or other information) (col. 25-26, lines 61-65);
displaying hidden information (i.e. hidden scenes) in the video playing interface in response to the component identification (i.e. controlling character to move through a scene) moved to a target position (col. 32, lines 12-34, col. 34-35, lines 60-16).
Olsen is not entirely clear in teaching a method for triggering a multimedia component, comprising:
in response to a drag gesture for the component identification, moving the component identification.
Abboa-Offei teaches a method for triggering a multimedia component, comprising:
in response to a drag gesture for the component identification, moving the component identification (i.e. dragging object to hot space) (col. 7, lines 14-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided dragging objects to specific positions as taught by Abboa-Offei to the system of Olsen to provide additional information within a hot space (col. 7, lines 14-51).
Claim 2, Olsen teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the video playing interface comprises a video container (i.e. video played back) and a component container (i.e. masked layers) which are arranged in an overlapping manner, wherein the video container is used for displaying the target video, and the component container is used for displaying the component identification and the hidden information (i.e. masked assets contain digital assets) (col. 25-26, lines 61-65).
Claim 3, Olsen teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the component container corresponds to at least one of the identification triggering areas (i.e. masked active region) (col. 25-26, lines 61-65); and
the displaying the component identification in response to the trigger gesture for the identification triggering area (i.e. selected masked active region) in the video playing interface (col. 25-26, lines 61-65) comprises:
obtaining a first contact coordinate corresponding to the trigger gesture (i.e. according to masked region), and detecting the component container based on the first contact coordinate (i.e. corresponding digital assets), wherein the first contact coordinate represents a coordinate of a contact point of the trigger gesture at the video playing interface (i.e. interaction represents a selection of an active masked region) (col. 25-26, lines 61-65); and
if the first contact coordinate is located in the identification triggering area corresponding to the component container (i.e. masked active region), triggering a component identification event corresponding to the trigger gesture (i.e. access to corresponding digital assets), and displaying the component identification corresponding to the identification triggering area by responding to the component identification event through the component container (i.e. accessing digital assets based on active region) (col. 25-26, lines 61-65).
Claim 4, Olsen teaches The method according to claim 3, wherein the component container comprises a first hidden component (i.e. hidden scenes) ((col. 32, lines 12-34, col. 34-35, lines 60-16); and
the displaying the component identification corresponding to the identification triggering area by responding to the component identification event (i.e. selected masked active region) through the component container (col. 25-26, lines 61-65) comprises:
setting the component container as a first display level and the video container as a second display level (i.e. masked layers), the first display level being higher than or equal to the second display level (i.e. masked layers define regions of the video, therefore is a level lower than the video layer) (col. 25-26, lines 61-65); and
triggering the first hidden component in the component container to respond to the component identification event (i.e. hidden scenes when dragging a character object through the scene), and displaying the component identification in a same layer as the target video (i.e. displaying the hidden scene within the video) (col. 32, lines 12-34, col. 34-35, lines 60-16).
Claim 5, Olsen teaches The method of claim or claim 4, further comprising:
if the first contact coordinate is located outside the identification triggering area corresponding to the component container (i.e. selecting area outside of masked region), triggering a video control event corresponding to the trigger gesture (i.e. manipulating time line controls), and executing a corresponding video control function by responding to the video control event through the video container (fig. 19A-C; col. 70-71, lines 36-33).
Claim 6, Olsen is not entirely clear in teaching the method of claim 2, wherein the in response to a drag gesture for the component identification, moving the component identification and displaying hidden information in the video playing interface in response to the component identification moved to a target position comprises:
iteratively performing the following steps until a termination condition is met:
obtaining a second contact coordinate corresponding to the drag gesture, wherein the second contact coordinate represents a coordinate of a real-time contact point of the drag gesture at the video playing interface; and
updating a display position of the component identification in the component container according to the second contact coordinate,
wherein the termination condition is that the second contact coordinate is an end point coordinate corresponding to the target position.
Abboa-Offei teaches the specific features of:
iteratively performing the following steps until a termination condition is met (i.e. dragging and dropping and removing) (fig. 5):
obtaining a second contact coordinate corresponding to the drag wherein the second contact coordinate represents a coordinate of a real-time contact point of the drag gesture at the video playing interface gesture (i.e. hovering object while dragging is displayed until it is ‘dropped’) (col. 6-7, lines 49-59); and
updating a display position of the component identification in the component container according to the second contact coordinate (i.e. showing object card being dragged as it is being dragged in shadow form) (col. 6-7, lines 49-59),
wherein the termination condition is that the second contact coordinate is an end point coordinate corresponding to the target position (i.e. when object is dropped into hot space causes expansion of information within the container) (col. 6-7, lines 49-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided dragging objects to specific positions as taught by Abboa-Offei to the system of Olsen to provide additional information within a hot space (col. 7, lines 14-51).
Claim 15 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 1.
Claim 16 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 2.
Claim 17 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 3.
Claim 18 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 4.
Claim 19 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 5.
Claim 20 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 6.
Claim 24 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor” to perform the steps of claim 1. Olsen inherently teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor” to perform the steps of claim 1.
Claim(s) 7-9, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsen at al. (US 10970843) in view of Abboa-Offei et al. (US 9854317), and further in view of Saas et al. (US 2013/0275901).
Claim 7, Olsen is silent regarding the method according to claim 6, wherein after obtaining the second contact coordinate corresponding to the drag gesture, the method further comprises:
obtaining a drag gesture trajectory corresponding to the drag gesture according to the second contact coordinate; and
in response to that the drag gesture trajectory is the same as a predetermined target trajectory, determining the second contact coordinate as the end point coordinate corresponding to the target position.
Saas teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein after obtaining the second contact coordinate corresponding to the drag gesture, the method further comprises:
obtaining a drag gesture trajectory (i.e. drag trajectory) corresponding to the drag gesture according to the second contact coordinate (i.e. predictive end point) (p. 0063, 0084); and
in response to that the drag gesture trajectory is the same as a predetermined target trajectory (i.e. predicted end point), determining the second contact coordinate as the end point coordinate corresponding to the target position (i.e. end position) (p. 0063, 0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided trajectory tracking as taught by Saas to the system of Olsen to provide predictive techniques to determine object drag trajectory (p. 0084).
Claim 8, Olsen is silent regarding the method of claim 1, wherein before the component identification moves to the target position, the method further comprises:
updating, based on a moving trajectory of the component identification, the displaying of an identification attribute of the component identification, wherein the identification attribute is used to represent a distance and / or a direction between a current position of the component identification and the target position.
Saas teaches the method of claim 1, wherein before the component identification moves to the target position, the method further comprises:
updating, based on a moving trajectory of the component identification (i.e. predicted trajectory), the displaying of an identification attribute of the component identification (i.e. updated icon position), wherein the identification attribute is used to represent a distance and / or a direction between a current position of the component identification and the target position (i.e. displacement from target) (fig. 4A-G; 0052, 0084-0101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided trajectory tracking as taught by Saas to the system of Olsen to provide predictive techniques to determine object drag trajectory (p. 0084).
Claim 9, Olsen is silent regarding The method of claim 8, wherein the identification attribute comprises one of:
a color of the component identification, a size of the component identification, a shape of the component identification, and a transparency of the component identification.
Abboa-Offei teaches The method of claim 8, wherein the identification attribute comprises one of:
a color of the component identification (i.e. shadow effect), a size of the component identification, a shape of the component identification, and a transparency of the component identification (col. 6-7, lines 49-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided dragging objects to specific positions as taught by Abboa-Offei to the system of Olsen to provide additional information within a hot space (col. 7, lines 14-51).
Claim 21 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 7.
Claim 22 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 8.
Claim 23 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 9.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsen at al. (US 10970843) in view of Abboa-Offei et al. (US 9854317), and further in view of Cui et al. (US 2020/0321029).
Claim 10, Olsen is not entirely clear in teaching The method according to claim 1, wherein the trigger gesture is a long-press gesture, and the displaying the component identification comprises:
in response to the long-press gesture for the identification triggering area, displaying a guidance identification that varies over time; and
after detecting that the long-press gesture lasts for a first time duration, displaying the component identification corresponding to the identification triggering area.
Cui teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the trigger gesture is a long-press gesture, and the displaying the component identification comprises:
in response to the long-press gesture for the identification triggering area (i.e. press and hold on a play region), displaying a guidance identification that varies over time (i.e. pop up menu function) (p. 0052); and
after detecting that the long-press gesture lasts for a first time duration (i.e. hold time), displaying the component identification corresponding to the identification triggering area (i.e. pop up menu function) (p. 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided long press functions as taught by Du to the system of Olsen to provide additional functionality (p. 0052).
Conclusion
Claims 1-10, 15-24 are pending.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240129586 A1 Shen; Paul et al.
US 20180220203 A1 Markel; Steven Owen et al.
US 20160320937 A1 Zhou; Changzhan
US 20160202894 A1 Kim; Jong-hyuk et al.
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 7/15/2026