DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
In FIG. 6, reference character “1311” has been used to designate two features: a first drive shaft, and a bevel gear set (see Applicant’s specification, TABLE 1: “REFERENCE NUMERALS”)
In FIG. 20 and 21, each figure has the “actuation transmission assembly” connected to a different drive component. Specifically, FIG. 20 shows the “second drive component” (22) being connected to a portion (1311) of the “actuation transmission assembly”, while FIG. 21 shows the “third drive component” being connected to the “actuation transmission assembly”.
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “two power transmission paths” from claims 3 and 18 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “circumferential limiting pair” from claim 13 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 1, the limitations “flexible surgical instrument” and “flexible instrument” raise a clarity concern. Examiner notes that Applicant’s use of the term flexible in reference to flexible surgical instrument” and “flexible instrument” appears to differ from the plain meaning of the term--to bend easily without breaking. As best understood the term flexible in reference to “flexible surgical instrument” and “flexible instrument” does not appear to impose a specific material property on the “surgical instrument” and “instrument” but rather require that the “surgical instrument” and “instrument” be able to hold/actuate/rotate a flexible member (see Applicant’s specification; abstract). For examination purposes the limitations “flexible surgical instrument” and “flexible instrument” will be interpreted accordingly. Examiner notes that the term “flexible body” will be interpreted according to the plain meaning of the term flexible, that is, a body that can bend easily without breaking as evidenced by Applicant’s specification [0081, 0082].
Examiner notes that dependent claims 2-20 inherit the same deficiencies.
In re claim 3, the limitation “two power transmission paths” raises a clarity concern when viewed in combination with Applicant’s specification. As indicated in the drawing objection, the drawings do not illustrate “two power transmission paths”. As best understood, the drawings potentially illustrate a single power transmission path which is created by the sequence of mechanical components 261, 263, and 262 (see Applicant’s specification FIG. 16, [0137-0138]). Examiner asserts that it is unclear how a single power transmission path would support both rotational and axial movement. Therefore, for examination purposes, the limitation “two power transmission paths are provided between the output end of the first drive component and the output shaft, and are configured for driving the output shaft to rotate and move axially, respectively, to drive the flexible instrument to perform a conveying operation through the drive base plate” will be interpreted as requiring the instrument drive device to comprise mechanical components capable of transferring mechanical energy from an actuator to rotational energy, that drives the flexible instrument to perform a conveying operation through the base plate.
Examiner notes that dependent claims 4-7 and 20 inherit the same deficiencies.
In re claim 10,
The limitation “wherein the touch screen device comprises a wireless handle…”, raises a clarity concern. Specifically, it is unclear how a touch screen device would comprise a wireless handle, given that the handle being wireless would imply that it is separate from the touchscreen device. Examiner believes Applicant is trying to require that the human-machine interaction system comprise a wireless handle configured to be connected to the touch screen device and will be interpreted as such for examination purposes.
The limitation “wherein a touch screen comprises a wireless handle and a mechanical button that are arranged at the top of the machine body” , raises a clarity concern. Specifically, it is unclear if applicant intends to a) require that the “wireless handle” and “mechanical button” be located on the touch screen or b) require that the “wireless handle” and “mechanical button” be arranged at the top of the machine body. For examination purposes, based on Applicant’s specification FIG. 26, claim 10 will be examined according to interpretation b).
Examiner notes that dependent claims 11-17 inherit the same deficiencies.
In re claim 12,
The coexistence of the limitations “a lifting drive component” and “a motor” raises a clarity concern, specifically it is unclear based on the claim whether or not the “motor” is a part of the lifting device. Examiner believes Applicant is trying to further require that the “lifting drive component” be “a motor”. For examination purposes, based on Applicant’s specification [0161]), Examiner will interpret “a motor” as being “the lifting drive component”.
The limitation “a motor is arranged below the load-bearing base disc and is drivingly connected to the lifting leadscrew”, promotes a clarity concern when viewed in combination with Applicant’s specification (FIG. 31, [0160, 0161]). As discussed in [0161], the “lifting drive component” ([0161]: “the lifting drive component (a drive motor)) is arranged below the “motor fixing disc” not below the “load bearing base disc”. For examination purposes claim 12 will be interpreted as requiring the lifting drive component (see above clarity concern (i)) to be arranged below the “motor fixing disc”.
In re claim 18, see above (In re claim 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328U), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A).
In re claim 1, Gruionu discloses a flexible surgical instrument (FIGS. 1-2; abstract: “systems…for guidance of medical catheter”; regarding limitation “flexible surgical instrument” see above section Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 112 (In re claim 1)), comprising
a flexible instrument (1, shown in greater detail in FIG. 3; regarding the limitation “flexible instrument” see above section Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 112 (In re claim 1)); and
an instrument drive device (17, 16) that is configured to output a driving force to the flexible instrument [0027],
wherein the flexible instrument comprises (FIG. 3)
an instrument conveying unit (9, 10, 18, 23),
an actuator unit (2, 25, FIG. 1: 26; [0023]) and
a transmission unit (22, 15, 14, 11, 12),
wherein
the instrument conveying unit comprises a housing (10, 18) and an instrument storage component (9),
the housing has an internal accommodating space (space occupied by 9, see FIG. 4; [0036]),
an instrument outlet (triangular portion of 10, shown in greater detail in FIG. 4: 30) is provided on a side wall of the housing (FIG. 4),
an outer peripheral surface of the instrument storage component is provided with a spiral accommodating groove ([0037]: “spiral channel”) configured for accommodating a flexible body (2, 25) of the actuator unit in a wound manner [0036, 0037], and
at least part of the instrument storage component is arranged inside the housing (FIG. 4) and is rotatable [0037] relative to the housing;
the actuator unit comprises an actuator (26) and the flexible body [0023],
the flexible body comprises a drive wire (25) and a sleeve tube (2) in which the drive wire is inserted [0023], and
the actuator is arranged at a distal end (FIG. 1: end of 2 closest to patients head) of the drive wire;
the transmission unit comprises a transmission base plate (22) that is drivingly connected to the instrument drive device (see component that extends off left side of 22), and
the transmission base plate is connected to the instrument storage component of the instrument conveying unit (FIG. 5) to drive the instrument storage component to rotate [0037] relative to the housing; and
the transmission unit further comprises
an actuation transmission assembly (15, 14) arranged on the transmission base plate and
a rotation transmission assembly (11, 12)
wherein
the actuation transmission assembly is configured to be driven by the instrument drive device to extend or retract the drive wire [0029], and
the rotation transmission assembly is configured to be driven by the instrument drive device to rotate the drive wire [0032].
Gruionu does not disclose
the instrument storage component is…rotatable and axially moveable relative to the housing;
…to drive the instrument storage component to rotate and move axially relative to the housing;
the transmission unit comprises an actuation transmission assembly and a rotation transmission assembly that are arranged on the transmission base plate.
Liang, like Gruionu, discloses a system (Figs. 1-4) for guiding a flexible member (4; []). The flexible member is stored in a storage component (3) with a grooved outer surface (6). As shown in FIG. 3, the storage component also includes a positioning piece (5) used to drive the storage component to axially translate during rotation [0014]. As disclosed by Liang, the addition of the positioning piece improves stability [0004], reduces blocking feeling [0014], and reduces abrasion of the flexible member [0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument storage component of Gruionu to include a positioning member, as taught by Liang. One would have been motivated to make this modification to improve stability of the instrument storage component and/or reduce abrasion experienced by the flexible member. Accordingly, such a modification would yield the instrument storage component being rotatable “and axially moveable” relative to the housing and the instrument storage component being driven to rotate “and move axially relative to the housing”.
Regarding the rotation transmission assembly being “arranged on 5the transmission base plate”, Wang, like Gruionu, discloses a guidewire control device (FIG. 1, FIG. 3) that includes an actuation transmission assembly (6-12; [n0056]) and a rotation transmission assembly (3, 4; [n0056]). As shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, the rotation transmission assembly and the actuation transmission assembly both connect to a shared support plate (212).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotation transmission assembly of Gruionu to be arranged on the transmission base plate, as taught by Wang. Examiner asserts that because the rotation transmission assembly arrangement of Gruino and Wang both enable guidewire actuation and rotation, one of ordinary skill in the art would have the ability to select a rotation transmission assembly arrangement that would best meet their needs. Furthermore, the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). Accordingly, such a modification would yield an actuation transmission assembly “and a rotation transmission assembly that are arranged on the transmission base plate.”
In re claim 3, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Gruionu) wherein
the instrument drive device comprises a first drive component (17), an output shaft (portion extending through middle of 17, see FIG. 3) and a drive base plate (base of 13);
the drive base plate mates with the transmission base plate of the transmission unit (see FIG. 5 which shows base of 13 indirectly mating with 23),
the first drive component comprises an output end (end of 17 with shaft extending out) for outputting a rotational driving force [0032]: “The rotational motion is obtained using the motor (17)…”),
the output shaft is drivingly connected to the output end of the first drive component (see FIG. 3), and
the drive base plate is connected to the output shaft (FIG. 3, additionally see connected view shown in FIG. 5); and
*two power transmission paths are provided between the output end of the first drive component and the output shaft (apparent as 17 generates [0032]: “rotation”), and are configured for driving the output shaft to rotate [0032] and *move axially, respectively, to drive the flexible instrument to perform a conveying operation through the drive base plate (see FIG. 3; [0032]).
*Regarding the limitations “two power transmission paths” and “move axially”, see above section Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 112 (In re claim 3).
In re claim 6, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Gruionu unless indicated otherwise), wherein
an engagement member (13, 20) is provided on the drive base plate (FIG. 3),
an engagement groove (portion of 22 that mates with 13, 20) is provided on the transmission base plate (FIG. 3), and
the engagement member is placed in the engagement groove to form a circumferential rotation limiting pair (see FIG. 5 for view of “engagement member” mated with “engagement groove”) to transmit the rotational driving force to the instrument through the engagement member and the engagement groove mating with each other [0027; 0032].
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328U), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A), in view of Sharon et al. (US 2024/0197415), in view of Kirschenman et al. (US 2013/0172713).
In re claim 2, the proposed combination does not yield further comprising:
a docking unit for connecting with an external device
wherein
the docking unit comprises an electrical connection port, a water connection port and a guide tube,
the electrical connection port and the water connection port are arranged at a top of the housing of the instrument conveying unit, and
the guide tube is fixed in the housing, to allow a cable and a water pipe to be introduced to the actuator unit through the electrical connection port, the water connection port and the guide tube.
Sharon, like the proposed combination, discloses a flexible instrument (FIGS. 2A-2C) for driving movement of a flexible member (205, 207). As shown in FIGS. 2A-2C, the flexible surgical instrument includes a port unit (219, 221) for facilitating connection with at least one external device. Sharon discloses the port unit including both a first port (219) and a second port (221), each with an inner connector, which can be used to supply water to a distal end of the flexible member [0129].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible surgical instrument of the proposed combination to include a docking unit for connecting with an external device, wherein the docking unit comprises two water connection ports and a guide tube, the guide tube is fixed in the housing to allow a water pipe to be introduced to the actuator unit, as taught by Sharon. One would have been motivated to make this modification to have the ability to inject fluid into and optionally through a lumen of the flexible member (Sharron, [0087]).
Regarding the limitation “electrical connection port” , Kirschenman discloses a flexible instrument (FIG. 2) for driving movement of a flexible member (44; [0063]) with an electrical connection port [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify one of the water connection ports of the proposed combination to be an electrical connection port, as taught by Kirschenman. One would have been motivated to make this modification to have the ability to provide power to the actuator of flexible surgical instrument (Kirschenman, [0063]).
Regarding the electrical connection port and the water connection port being “arranged at a top of the housing of the instrument conveying unit”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrical connection port and the water connection port be arranged at a top of the housing of the instrument conveying unit, as evidenced by Sharon (see position of port 219). One would have been motivated to make this modification because ports located at a top of a housing structure are known in the art (see position of port 221 in Sharron), and because one of ordinary skill in the art would have the ability to select a position on the instrument storage component for the water and electrical connection port that would best meet their needs. Moreover, Examiner notes that the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only routine skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
In re claim 18, see above (In re claim 3).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A) [in view of Nakashima (US 2020/0100857)].
In re claim 8, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Gruionu), a surgical robotic system (FIG. 1; abstract), comprising:
a machine body (8)
the flexible surgical instrument according to claim 1 (see above In re claim 1)
wherein the flexible surgical instrument is arranged on the machine body (FIG. 1; [0026]).
As indicated above under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the proposed combination yields a machine body to which the flexible surgical instrument is arranged. However, in the interest of advancing prosecution, claim 8 is alternatively rejected (to more closely reflect applicants claimed invention) under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Gruionu, in view of Liang, in view of Wang, and in view of Nakashima as follows:
Nakashima discloses a surgical robotic system (FIG. 1; abstract) that includes a single moveable body (20, shown in greater detail in FIG. 3) on which a surgical instrument (40), a display device (22), and a handle (30) are arranged (see FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical robotic system of the proposed combination to both include a machine body and arrange the flexible surgical instrument on the machine body, as taught by Nakashima. One would have been motivated to make this modification both because consolidation of surgical equipment onto a single moveable body is known in the art (as evidenced by Nakashima), and because doing so would make it easier to maneuver/transport the robotic surgical system.
In re claim 20, see above (In re claim 8).
The proposed combination also yields,
the flexible surgical instrument according to claim 3 (see above In re claim 3).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A), in view of Nakashima (US 2020/0100857), in view of Blacker et al. (US 2021/0093406), in view of Cannata et al. (US 2020/0164231).
In re claim 9, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Gruionu unless indicated otherwise) further comprising:
a human-machine interaction system (5 and [0040]: “input devices”) and
an electrical system (4),
wherein the human-machine interaction system comprises, a mechanical handle ([0040]: “input devices, such as…joysticks; [0063]) and a display device (display of 5).
The proposed combination does not yield, wherein
the human-machine interaction system comprises a touch screen device,
the touch screen device and the mechanical handle are arranged at a top of the machine body,
an inclination angle of a display component of the touch screen device is adjustable, and
the display device is connected to the machine body through a multi-section arm support.
Blacker, like the proposed combination, discloses a surgical system (FIG. 1) for navigating a guidewire (abstract). As shown in FIG. 1, the surgical system includes a main control body (14) equipped with a touch screen system (18 an associated components 29, 23, 25, 33 and 31) and two display monitors (26, 28). The touch screen system includes several joysticks (29, 23, 25) and buttons (31, 33) that can be used to control the guidewire [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the human-machine interaction system of the proposed combination to include the touch screen system of Blacker. One would have been motivated to make this modification given that use of touch screens in guidewire navigation systems is known in the art, as evidenced by Blacker. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add the touch screen system of Blacker to the human-machine interaction system of the proposed combination to provide additional ways in which an operator can interact with/control the flexible surgical instrument (Blacker, [0058]).
Regarding “an inclination angle of a display component of the touch screen device is adjustable”,
Cannata discloses a single movable body (FIG. 1A) used in medical procedures (abstract) that holds a surgical instrument (102) and a touchscreen (106; [0089]). Cannata further discloses having the ability to adjust the touchscreen orientation and viewing angle [0089].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touchscreen of the proposed combination to have an adjustable inclination angle, as taught by Cannata. One would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so would ensure that the touchscreen display can be properly viewed regardless of whether an operator is sitting or standing (Cannata, [0089]).
Regarding the “mechanical handle” being “arranged at a top of the machine body” and “the display device is connected to the machine body through a multi-section arm support”.
As discussed above (see above rejection (In re claim 8)), in addition to comprising the flexible surgical instrument Nakashima discloses the single movable body also including the handle and the display device (FIG. 1, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the machine body of the proposed combination to also include the mechanical handle and the display device, as taught by Nakashima. One would have been motivated to make this modification both because having a single movable body with said components is known in the art, and because doing so would improve the maneuverability of the entire surgical system. Accordingly, such a modification would yield “the mechanical handle” being “arranged at a top of the machine body” and the display device being “connected to the machine body through a multi-section arm support”, as evidenced by Nakashima (see FIG. 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A), in view of Nakashima (US 2020/0100857), in view of Blacker et al. (US 2021/0093406), in view of Cannata et al. (US 2020/0164231), in view of Jardine et al. (US 2020/0205910).
In re claim 10, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Blacker unless indicated otherwise), wherein
the touch screen further comprises a wireless handle (any one of 29, 23, 25; [0023]) and a mechanical button (either 31 or 33) that are arranged at the top of the machine body (see proposed modification above (In re claim 9), and
the wireless handle comprises a manipulation handle (graspable portion of any one of 29, 23 or 25).
The proposed combination does not yield, the wireless handle comprising a charging base.
Jardine discloses a robotic surgical system that includes a plurality of handles (abstract). In one embodiment, Jardine discloses having each handle include its own battery source [0038] that can be recharged via electrical contact or wirelessly [0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle of the proposed combination to comprise a charging base, as taught by Jardine. One would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so would reduce the number of contacts at the handle interface and enable an improved design for sterility (Jardine, [0038]).
Claims 11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A), in view of Nakashima (US 2020/0100857), in view of Blacker et al. (US 2021/0093406), in view of Cannata et al. (US 2020/0164231), in view of Jardine et al. (US 2020/0205910), in view of Rotem (US 2023/0090944).
In re claim 11, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Nakashima unless indicated otherwise),
wherein the machine body comprises a housing device (housing of 21), and a caster moving device (FIG. 3: wheels located on bottom of 21)
wherein
the housing device comprises
an upper housing (elongated rectangular portion that holds 30, 38, 22) located at a top of the housing device (FIG. 3) and
a lower housing (portion of housing that contains 35) located at a bottom of the housing device (FIG. 3)
The proposed combination does not yield, the machine body comprising a lifting device and thus lacks wherein:
the lifting device is arranged in the lower housing,
the lifting device comprises a lifting disc that is movable upward and downward, and
the upper housing is arranged on the lifting disc of the lifting device.
Rotem discloses a machine body (FIG. 4A; [0142]), that is used during a similar type of procedure as the proposed combination (abstract). The machine body includes a housing (110, darker black portion of 120, 130), a caster moving device (412 and associated breaks [0144]), as well as a lifting device (416; [0146]). As shown in Fig. 4A, the lifting device, located in a lower housing (110), is responsible for moving a disc (portion of 120 that contacts 130, shown in greater detail in FIG. 4B) upwards and downwards. This upward/downward movement results in an upper housing (130) having an adjustable height [0146].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine body of the proposed combination to include a lifting device that comprises a lifting disc that is moveable upward and downward and have the upper housing be arranged on the lifting disc of the lifting device, as taught by Rotem. One would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so would make it possible for the operator to easily adjust the height of the surgical instrument during surgery (Rotem, [0005, 0024]).
Regarding the lifting device being “arranged in a lower housing”, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lifting device be located in the lower housing, as taught by Rotem. One would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so would provide weight at the base of the machine body, lowering the center of gravity of the machine body and increasing its overall stability/balance (Rotem, [0146]).
In re claim 15, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Nakashima), wherein
the caster moving device comprises a caster (see wheels of 21 shown in FIG. 3)
a bottom plate of the lower housing is provided with an opening corresponding to the caster and part of a wheel body of the caster is located inside the lower housing (FIG. 3).
The proposed combination is silent over the caster moving device comprising a caster lock arranged on the caster.
Rotem further discloses the caster moving device comprising one or more casters (412, 412) with breaks [0144] configured to prevent continuous movement of the machine body [0144].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the caster to include a caster lock arranged on the caster, as taught by Rotem. One would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent continuous movement of the machine body (Rotem, [0144]).
In re claim 16, the proposed combination does not yield,
the caster is provided with a self-locking electrical feedback interface configured for outputting a caster state signal to a control device of the electrical system, and
the control device is configured to prevent a starting command from being output to the instrument drive device in a case that the caster state signal indicates that the caster is in an unlocked state.
Rotem further discloses the machine body including a controller capable of preventing unintentional movement of the caster [0145; 0151; 0153]. In some instances, the controller can require a user to engage specific elements to enable movement of relevant cart components or even cut power to the specific elements if deemed necessary [0153].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the caster of the proposed combination to be provided with a self-locking electrical feedback interface configured for outputting a caster state signal to a control device of the electrical system, and the control device is configured to prevent a starting command from being output to the instrument drive device in a case that the caster state signal indicates that the caster is in an unlocked state, as taught by Rotem. One would have been motivated to make this modification both because electrical control of wheel breaks is known in the art (as evidenced by Rotem) and because doing so would prevent unintentional movement of the machine body (Rotem, [0153]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A), in view of Nakashima (US 2020/0100857), in view of Blacker et al. (US 2021/0093406), in view of Cannata et al. (US 2020/0164231), in view of Jardine et al. (US 2020/0205910), in view of Rotem (US 2023/0090944), in view of Clayton (US 2020/0197249).
In re claim 12, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Rotem unless indicated otherwise),
wherein the lifting device comprises
a lifting drive component (416)
a lifting mechanism (light gray portion of 120 that extends between 110 and 130)
a motor fixing disc (portion of 416 that connects 416 to top of its housing (see black square that surrounds 416))
a load-bearing base (bottom portion of housing of 416 (see black square that surrounds 416 in FIG. 4A)),
wherein
the lifting mechanism is arranged between the lifting disc and the motor fixing disc (FIG. 4A)
the load bearing-base is fixed below the motor fixing disc (FIG. 4A)
a motor (416; [0146]) is arranged below the load-bearing base (see above section Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. 112 (In re claim 12); FIG. 4A) and is drivingly connect to the lifting section (FIG. 4A; [0146]).
The proposed combination does not yield, the lifting device comprising:
a lifting leadscrew and
a load-bearing base disc
and thus lacks:
the lifting leadscrew arranged between the lifting disc and a motor is arranged below the load-bearing base disc.
Clayton discloses a surgical instrument (FIG. 1) that, like the proposed combination, includes a lifting mechanism ([0048, 0049]: “actuator”) for varying a height of an upper portion (10) of the surgical instrument [0048]. As disclosed by Clayton, the lifting mechanism includes a telescopic leadscrew or a ballscrew/leadscrew combination [0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lifting mechanism of the proposed combination to be a leadscrew, as taught by Clayton. One would have been motivated to make this modification because both the lifting mechanism of the proposed combination and lifting leadscrew of Clayton are functionally equivalent. Examiner asserts that because both mechanical components can be used to enable upward/downward movement, one of ordinary skill in the art would have the ability to select the mechanical component that would best meet their needs.
Regarding the limitations “load bearing base disc”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load bearing base of the proposed combination to be disc shaped, since the courts have held that a change in shape alone without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04-IV-B.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A), in view of Nakashima (US 2020/0100857), in view of Blacker et al. (US 2021/0093406), in view of Cannata et al. (US 2020/0164231), in view of Jardine et al. (US 2020/0205910), in view of Rotem (US 2023/0090944), in view of Clark et al. (US 6,493,220).
In re claim 13, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Rotem unless indicated otherwise)
wherein the housing device further comprises an intermediate housing (darker black portion of 120) located between the upper housing and the lower housing (FIG. 4A),
wherein
the upper housing is inserted in the intermediate housing (FIG. 4A), and is in a transition fit (see connection between 139 and 120 in FIG. 4A) with the intermediate housing, and
the upper housing is rotatable around a central axis (imaginary line drawn through center of 120) relative to the intermediate housing (see FIGS. 7A, 7B which illustrate movement of 130 around a fixed center by a specific angle; [0169; 0170]) ; and
a circumferential limiting pair (portion of 110 that extends up onto and serves as an attachment point for 120) is provided between a lower portion of the intermediate housing and an upper portion of the lower housing (see FIG. 4A).
The proposed combination does not yield wherein,
the lower housing is provided with a heat dissipation hole.
Clark discloses a machine body (FIGS. 9A-9D: 210), that like the proposed combination, includes a lifting device (226, col. 14, lines 53-64). Clark further discloses the machine body having a series of heat dissipation holes to assist in venting away heat generated by a power converter (col. 18, lines 38-41; col. 21, lines 42-46; col. 22, lines 13-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine body of the proposed combination to include a heat dissipation hole, as taught by Clark. One would have been motivated to make this modification to permit sufficient ventilation of heat from any heat generating components of the machine body. (Clark, col. 21, lines 42-46).
Examiner asserts that it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the heat dissipation hole be on the lower housing, since the lower housing includes a component that generates heat during operation (see above (In re claim 11) and Rotem; [0146]: “height adjusting actuator 416…in the form of e.g. an electric motor…”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A), in view of Nakashima (US 2020/0100857), in view of Blacker et al. (US 2021/0093406), in view of Cannata et al. (US 2020/0164231), in view of Jardine et al. (US 2020/0205910), in view of Rotem (US 2023/0090944), in view of Clark et al. (US 6,493,220), in view of Bennet et al. (US 2020/0214439).
In re claim 14, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Rotem unless indicated otherwise), wherein
the lower portion of the intermediate housing is provided with a first portion that extends axially (FIG. 4A: portion of “intermediate housing” that attaches to “lower housing”; Examiner notes that the term “portion” is broad and essentially refers to any part of a whole),
the upper portion of the lower housing is provided with a second portion that extends axially (FIG. 4A: portion of “lower housing” that attaches to “intermediate housing”, and
the first portion and the second portion mate with each other to form the circumferential limiting pair (FIG. 4A; see mapping above (In re claim 13)).
The proposed combination does not yield,
the first portion being a tooth portion and
the second portion being a groove portion
and thus lacks:
wherein, the tooth portion and the groove portion mate…
Bennet discloses a machine body (abstract: “table”) that also includes a lifting device (abstract). Bennett further discloses using teeth and groove portions to connect various components of the machine body [0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second portion to be a tooth and groove portion, given that such connection means are known to be used in height adjusting mechanisms, as evidenced by Bennet. One would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent detachment between the intermediate and lower housing (Bennet, [0035]). Accordingly, such a modification would yield, “wherein the tooth portion and the groove portion mate…”.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruionu et al. (US 2019/0388164), in view of Liang et al. (CN 216360328U), in view of Wang et al. (CN 114522327A), in view of Sharon et al. (US 2024/0197415), in view of Sharon et al. (US 2024/0197415), in view of Kirschenman et al. (US 2013/0172713) [in view of Nakashima (US 2020/0100857)].
In re claim 19, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Gruionu), a surgical robotic system (FIG. 1; abstract), comprising:
a machine body (8)
the flexible surgical instrument according to claim 2 (see above In re claim 2)
wherein the flexible surgical instrument is arranged on the machine body (FIG. 1; [0026]).
As indicated above under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the proposed combination yields a machine body to which the flexible surgical instrument is arranged. However, in the interest of advancing prosecution, claim 19 is alternatively rejected (to more closely reflect applicants claimed invention) under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Gruionu, in view of Liang, in view of Wang, in view of Sharon, in view of Kirschenman, and in view of Nakashima as follows:
Nakashima discloses a surgical robotic system (FIG. 1; abstract) that includes a single moveable body (20, shown in greater detail in FIG. 3) on which a surgical instrument (40), a display device (22), and a handle (30) are arranged (see FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical robotic system of the proposed combination to both include a machine body and arrange the flexible surgical instrument on the machine body, as taught by Nakashima. One would have been motivated to make this modification both because consolidation of surgical equipment onto a single moveable body is known in the art (as evidenced by Nakashima), and because doing so would make it easier to maneuver/transport the robotic surgical system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims – subject to additional search and/or consideration. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter regarding the objected claims listed above.
In re claim 4, as indicated above (see section Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. § 103 (In re claim 3)), the proposed combination yields, the limitations of claim 3. The proposed combination does not yield an instrument drive device that includes three separate driving components and thus lacks “a third drive component” and corresponding structure connected to the “third driving component”. Examiner asserts that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination to include a third driving component. Specifically, Examiner can think of no reason one would be motivated to make such a modification other than hindsight.
In re claim 5, Examiner notes that claim 5 depends from claim 4 and is therefore similarly includes allowable subject matter.
In re claim 7, Examiner notes that claim 7 depends from claim 6 and therefore similarly includes allowable subject matter.
In re claim 17, as indicated above (see section Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. § 103), the proposed combination yields the limitations of claim 11. The proposed combination does not yield “a fixing device” that comprises “a plurality of fixing claws and a rotatable claw that is located on a side of the fixing device and the rotatable claw is rotatably connected to the fixing claws through a rotation shaft”. Examiner believes it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible instrument to include such a feature as it seems specifically designed for Applicant’s instant invention.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Choi et al. (US 2018/0056044) discloses a guidewire manipulation system (abstract; FIG. 3) that includes an instrument storage component (FIGS. 4A-4C) with a spiral groove (232).
Bencteux et al. (US 2015/0327938) discloses a robotic module for driving a catheter system (abstract). 1
Contact
/OLIVIA WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/DAVID HAMAOUI/SPE, Art Unit 3796