DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
On pages 13-14 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues that 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of the claim 1 has been amended to include features of allowable claim 5 as well as one of the alternative limitations of intervening claim 2. Applicant also notes that the limitations of claim 3 are not included, but nonetheless respectfully submits that the amended claims are patentable of over the cited references. Similarly, amended claims 10 and 11 recite features corresponding to amended claim 1 and are also patentable.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the amendments to claim 1 included the limitations of claim 5 and partially incorporated the limitations of claim 2, while not including the limitations of claim 3. The determination of patentability was made on the basis of the total combination of claims 1, 2, 3, and 5. As such, the amended subject matter changes the scope of the claims and thus necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US Pub. 2023/0044057) in view of Swerdlow et al. (US Pub. 2023/0308709) and in further view of Chen et al. (US Pub. 2014/0123006), herein referenced as Kang, Swerdlow, and Chen, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses “An interaction method, comprising: displaying a first control for first media content on a first page ([0056], Fig. 1, i.e., while the video content 120 is being played, a “like” button 122 through which the user may input positive feedback may be displayed on the display of the user terminal 110 together with the video content 120);
displaying first prompt information in response to a first trigger operation acting on the first control…the first prompt information being configured to prompt that a number of recommendations of media content of a first type is to be increased and the first type being a media content type of the first media content.” ([0056]-[0057], Fig. 1, i.e., in response to the user 100 inputting the “like” button 122 of the currently playing video content 120, the user terminal 110 may display on the display of the user terminal 110 the graphic object 124 that may play, starting from 3:11, the “IDOL GIRLS Palette” video that is determined to be the similar content (or, similar playback time) to the corresponding playback time. In embodiments, the graphic object 124 may include information and/or a preview image for the similar content. In other words, the graphic object 124 indicates to the user that one recommendation will be provided and the recommendations are increased from zero to one).
Kang teaches providing prompt information in response to a first trigger operation, however fails to explicitly disclose the first trigger operation being different from a like operation acting on the first control.
Swerdlow teaches the technique of providing the first trigger operation being different from a like operation acting on the first control ([0108], Fig. 5, i.e., a user input that is deemed to be a short press of like button 530 can add to the like count associated with the media content item and a user input that is deemed to be a long press of like button 530 (e.g., holding like button 530 for more than two seconds) can cause reaction panel interface 540 to be displayed to provide a reaction to a moment within the media content item). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing the first trigger operation being different from a like operation acting on the first control as taught by Swerdlow, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of providing a more simplified interface customization with multifunction buttons.
The combination still fails to disclose increasing a recommendation weight of the media content of the first type from a first weight value to a second weight value; and updating media content in a recommend media content stream based on the second weight value in response to a media content stream update operation acting the first page.
Chen teaches the technique of increasing a recommendation weight of the media content of the first type from a first weight value to a second weight value; and updating media content in a recommend media content stream based on the second weight value in response to a media content stream update operation acting the first page ([0007]-[0008], [0035], [0113], Fig. 11, i.e., if the user actuates like button 1110, radio server 104 can identify various characteristics of the currently playing track and increase the weight given to those characteristics, or otherwise adjust an algorithm for constructing playlists, such that tracks similar to the liked track become more likely to be selected. In other words, the user “likes” a currently playing track and the station playlist is updated to provide similar media content based on the genre or other characteristics of the liked track).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of increasing a recommendation weight of the media content of the first type from a first weight value to a second weight value; and updating media content in a recommend media content stream based on the second weight value in response to a media content stream update operation acting the first page as taught by Chen, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of allowing users to dynamically customize and tailor media content based on their preferences.
Regarding claim 8, Kang fails to disclose “wherein the first trigger operation comprises a touch-and-hold operation, and the like operation comprises a tap operation.”
Swerdlow teaches the technique of providing wherein the first trigger operation comprises a touch-and-hold operation, and the like operation comprises a tap operation ([0108], Fig. 5, i.e., a user input that is deemed to be a short press of like button 530 can add to the like count associated with the media content item and a user input that is deemed to be a long press of like button 530 (e.g., holding like button 530 for more than two seconds) can cause reaction panel interface 540 to be displayed to provide a reaction to a moment within the media content item). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the first trigger operation comprises a touch-and-hold operation, and the like operation comprises a tap operation as taught by Swerdlow, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of providing a more simplified interface customization with multifunction buttons.
Regarding claim 10, Kang discloses “An electronic device (Figs. 1, 3), comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor, wherein the memory stores a computer program executable by the at least one processor (Fig. 3), and when the computer program is executed by the at least one processor ([0066]-[0069]), the at least one processor is caused to:
display a first control for first media content on a first page ([0056], Fig. 1, i.e., while the video content 120 is being played, a “like” button 122 through which the user may input positive feedback may be displayed on the display of the user terminal 110 together with the video content 120); and
display first prompt information in response to a first trigger operation acting on the first control … the first prompt information being configured to prompt that a number of recommendations of media content of a first type is to be increased and the first type being a media content type of the first media content.” ([0056]-[0057], Fig. 1, i.e., in response to the user 100 inputting the “like” button 122 of the currently playing video content 120, the user terminal 110 may display on the display of the user terminal 110 the graphic object 124 that may play, starting from 3:11, the “IDOL GIRLS Palette” video that is determined to be the similar content (or, similar playback time) to the corresponding playback time. In embodiments, the graphic object 124 may include information and/or a preview image for the similar content. In other words, the graphic object 124 indicates to the user that one recommendation will be provided and the recommendations are increased from zero to one).
Kang teaches providing prompt information in response to a first trigger operation, however fails to explicitly disclose the first trigger operation being different from a like operation acting on the first control.
Swerdlow teaches the technique of providing the first trigger operation being different from a like operation acting on the first control ([0108], Fig. 5, i.e., a user input that is deemed to be a short press of like button 530 can add to the like count associated with the media content item and a user input that is deemed to be a long press of like button 530 (e.g., holding like button 530 for more than two seconds) can cause reaction panel interface 540 to be displayed to provide a reaction to a moment within the media content item). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing the first trigger operation being different from a like operation acting on the first control as taught by Swerdlow, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of providing a more simplified interface customization with multifunction buttons.
The combination still fails to disclose increasing a recommendation weight of the media content of the first type from a first weight value to a second weight value; and updating media content in a recommend media content stream based on the second weight value in response to a media content stream update operation acting the first page.
Chen teaches the technique of increasing a recommendation weight of the media content of the first type from a first weight value to a second weight value; and updating media content in a recommend media content stream based on the second weight value in response to a media content stream update operation acting the first page ([0007]-[0008], [0035], [0113], Fig. 11, i.e., if the user actuates like button 1110, radio server 104 can identify various characteristics of the currently playing track and increase the weight given to those characteristics, or otherwise adjust an algorithm for constructing playlists, such that tracks similar to the liked track become more likely to be selected. In other words, the user “likes” a currently playing track and the station playlist is updated to provide similar media content based on the genre or other characteristics of the liked track).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of increasing a recommendation weight of the media content of the first type from a first weight value to a second weight value; and updating media content in a recommend media content stream based on the second weight value in response to a media content stream update operation acting the first page as taught by Chen, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of allowing users to dynamically customize and tailor media content based on their preferences.
Regarding claim 11, Kang discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer instructions that, when executed by a processor ([0066]-[0069], Fig. 3), implement:
displaying a first control for first media content on a first page ([0056], Fig. 1, i.e., while the video content 120 is being played, a “like” button 122 through which the user may input positive feedback may be displayed on the display of the user terminal 110 together with the video content 120); and
displaying first prompt information in response to a first trigger operation acting on the first control … the first prompt information being configured to prompt that a number of recommendations of media content of a first type is to be increased and the first type being a media content type of the first media content.” ([0056]-[0057], Fig. 1, i.e., in response to the user 100 inputting the “like” button 122 of the currently playing video content 120, the user terminal 110 may display on the display of the user terminal 110 the graphic object 124 that may play, starting from 3:11, the “IDOL GIRLS Palette” video that is determined to be the similar content (or, similar playback time) to the corresponding playback time. In embodiments, the graphic object 124 may include information and/or a preview image for the similar content. In other words, the graphic object 124 indicates to the user that one recommendation will be provided and the recommendations are increased from zero to one).
Kang teaches providing prompt information in response to a first trigger operation, however fails to explicitly disclose the first trigger operation being different from a like operation acting on the first control.
Swerdlow teaches the technique of providing the first trigger operation being different from a like operation acting on the first control ([0108], Fig. 5, i.e., a user input that is deemed to be a short press of like button 530 can add to the like count associated with the media content item and a user input that is deemed to be a long press of like button 530 (e.g., holding like button 530 for more than two seconds) can cause reaction panel interface 540 to be displayed to provide a reaction to a moment within the media content item). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing the first trigger operation being different from a like operation acting on the first control as taught by Swerdlow, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of providing a more simplified interface customization with multifunction buttons.
The combination still fails to disclose increasing a recommendation weight of the media content of the first type from a first weight value to a second weight value; and updating media content in a recommend media content stream based on the second weight value in response to a media content stream update operation acting the first page.
Chen teaches the technique of increasing a recommendation weight of the media content of the first type from a first weight value to a second weight value; and updating media content in a recommend media content stream based on the second weight value in response to a media content stream update operation acting the first page ([0007]-[0008], [0035], [0113], Fig. 11, i.e., if the user actuates like button 1110, radio server 104 can identify various characteristics of the currently playing track and increase the weight given to those characteristics, or otherwise adjust an algorithm for constructing playlists, such that tracks similar to the liked track become more likely to be selected. In other words, the user “likes” a currently playing track and the station playlist is updated to provide similar media content based on the genre or other characteristics of the liked track).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of increasing a recommendation weight of the media content of the first type from a first weight value to a second weight value; and updating media content in a recommend media content stream based on the second weight value in response to a media content stream update operation acting the first page as taught by Chen, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of allowing users to dynamically customize and tailor media content based on their preferences.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 8.
Claims 2, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Swerdlow and in view of Chen, Mizuta et al. (US Pub. 2022/0021939) and in further view of Bagga et al. (US Pub. 2019/0215572), herein referenced as Mizuta and Bagga, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, the combination fails to explicitly disclose “displaying a dynamic effect, the dynamic effect comprising at least one of a first dynamic effect or a second dynamic effect, the first dynamic effect being a dynamic effect of the first control, and the second dynamic effect being a dynamic effect of a first visual element; displaying the first control in a first state; adding the first media content to a media content collection of a user, the media content collection comprising at least one of a liked media content collection or a first media content collection, and the first media content collection being a collection of at least part of media content on which the first trigger operation has been performed; or increasing a sorting priority of the media content of the first type in the recommended media content stream, the recommended media content stream comprising a media content stream of a recommendation page.”
Chen teaches the technique of increasing a sorting priority of the media content of the first type in the recommended media content stream, the recommended media content stream comprising a media content stream of a recommendation page ([0113], Fig. 11, i.e., if the user actuates like button 1110, radio server 104 can identify various characteristics of the currently playing track and increase the weight given to those characteristics, or otherwise adjust an algorithm for constructing playlists, such that tracks similar to the liked track become more likely to be selected).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of increasing a sorting priority of the media content of the first type in the recommended media content stream, the recommended media content stream comprising a media content stream of a recommendation page as taught by Chen, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of allowing users to dynamically customize and tailor media content based on their preferences.
Mizuta teaches the technique of displaying a first dynamic effect, the first dynamic effect comprising at least one of a first dynamic effect or a second dynamic effect, the first dynamic effect being a dynamic effect of the first control, and the second dynamic effect being a dynamic effect of a first visual element; displaying the first control in a first state ([0076], Fig. 8, i.e., when a “like” is inputted, a predetermined visual effect (such as an animation effect in which heart-shaped objects are displayed as flowing from the bottom to the top of the screen) is added in the video display areas 71 and 81).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of displaying a first dynamic effect, the first dynamic effect comprising at least one of a first dynamic effect or a second dynamic effect, the first dynamic effect being a dynamic effect of the first control, and the second dynamic effect being a dynamic effect of a first visual element; displaying the first control in a first state as taught by Mizuta, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of providing a more enjoyable viewing experience by displaying visual enhancements when they viewer interacts with the media content.
The combination still fails to disclose adding the first media content to a media content collection of a user, the media content collection comprising at least one of a liked media content collection or a first media content collection, and the first media content collection being a collection of at least part of media content on which the first trigger operation has been performed.
Bagga teaches the technique of adding the first media content to a media content collection of a user, the media content collection comprising at least one of a liked media content collection or a first media content collection, and the first media content collection being a collection of at least part of media content on which the first trigger operation has been performed ([0048], i.e., media content recommendations for a particular user, used either in populating a media asset list. For instance, identifying which media content that particular users like and dislike, whether the users like certain media content at the same times of day or week, whether the users prefer to watch certain types of media content on a certain device).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of adding the first media content to a media content collection of a user, the media content collection comprising at least one of a liked media content collection or a first media content collection, and the first media content collection being a collection of at least part of media content on which the first trigger operation has been performed as taught by Bagga, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of providing a more personalized viewing experience tailored to viewer preferences.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Claims 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Swerdlow, Chen, and in further view of Sherwin et al. (US Pub. 2023/0005080), herein referenced as Sherwin.
Regarding claim 6, the combination fails to disclose “wherein after displaying the first control for the first media content, the method further comprises at least one of the following: switching the first control from a non-liked state to a liked state in response to the like operation acting on the first control; or switching the first control from a first state or the liked state to the non-liked state in response to a cancel operation acting on the first control.”
Sherwin teaches the technique of providing wherein after displaying the first control for the first media content, the method further comprises at least one of the following: switching the first control from a non-liked state to a liked state in response to the like operation acting on the first control; or switching the first control from a first state or the liked state to the non-liked state in response to a cancel operation acting on the first control ([0078], Fig. 15, i.e., the user system can input an action (e.g., tapping the heart icon) to indicate a “like” for the post, where the number underneath shows the total number of likes this post has received. In an embodiment, the user system can tap the heart icon again to unlike).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein after displaying the first control for the first media content, the method further comprises at least one of the following: switching the first control from a non-liked state to a liked state in response to the like operation acting on the first control; or switching the first control from a first state or the liked state to the non-liked state in response to a cancel operation acting on the first control as taught by Sherwin, to improve the video recommendation system of Kang for the predictable result of providing an intuitive interface control while maximizing screen real-estate.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7, 13-14, 17, 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 July 30, 2026