DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oesterling et al. (See US Pub No. 2022/0222475).
Regarding claim 1, Oesterling teaches a method of conveying proximity information to an operator of a motorcycle, comprising: determining a plurality of proximity zones of the motorcycle, each of the plurality of proximity zones corresponding to a spatial area in a vicinity of the motorcycle; displaying a graphical representation of each of the plurality of proximity zones on a display screen of the motorcycle, the graphical representation indicating a location of each of the plurality of proximity zones relative to the motorcycle; determining that an object is within one of the plurality of proximity zones of the motorcycle; and changing a visual characteristic of the graphical representation of the proximity zone having the object, thereby indicating that the object is in the proximity zone (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Oesterling teaches determining the plurality of proximity zones includes
receiving sensor data of one or more sensors of the motorcycle at a processor, and defining
the plurality of proximity zones based on the sensor data of the one or more sensors (See [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Oesterling teaches one of the plurality of proximity zones is forward of
the motorcycle and one of the plurality of proximity zones is rearward of the motorcycle (See Fig. 3, abstract, and [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Oesterling teaches displaying a graphical representation of each of the plurality of proximity zones on a display screen of the motorcycle includes displaying a graphical representation of the proximity zone that is forward of the motorcycle at a top portion of display screen, and displaying a graphical representation of the proximity zone that is rearward of the motorcycle at a bottom portion of the display screen (See Fig. 3, abstract, and [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, Oesterling teaches changing a visual characteristic of the graphical representation of the proximity zone having the object includes changing a color of the graphical representation of the proximity zone having the object (See Fig. 3, abstract, and [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Oesterling teaches detecting and displaying information relating to traffic control (See abstract and [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oesterling and Quigley et al. (US Pub No. 2008/0198042).
Regarding claim 20, Oesterling teaches a method of conveying proximity information to an operator of a motorcycle, comprising: displaying a graphical representation of a status of the motorcycle on a display screen; determining a proximity zone of the motorcycle, the proximity zone including a spatial area in a vicinity of the motorcycle; displaying a graphical representation of the proximity zone on the display screen of the motorcycle, the graphical representation indicating a location of the proximity zone relative to the motorcycle, and displayed in a same display window as the graphical representation of the status of the motorcycle on the display screen as an overlay; determining that an object is in the proximity zone of the motorcycle; and changing a visual characteristic of the graphical representation of the proximity zone, thereby indicating that the object is in the proximity zone (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]).
Oesterling does not teach that the display screen is an overlay.
Quigley teaches the display is an overlay (See [0009]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Oesterling’s method to include Quigley’s teachings to reduce operational burden on the driver resulting in a safer vehicle ([0015]). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 22, Oesterling teaches displaying a graphical representation of the proximity zone on the display screen of the motorcycle includes displaying only one graphical representation of the proximity zone on the display screen of the motorcycle (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]).
Regarding claim 23, Oesterling does not teach displayed graphical representation is transparent.
Quigley teaches displayed graphical representation is transparent (See [0009]).
Claims 3, 4, 8, 10-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oesterling, Quigley, and Horn (US Pub No. 2021/0188270).
Regarding claim 3, Oesterling does not teach determining the plurality of proximity zones includes determining a first proximity zone corresponding to a first operator-assistance system, and determining a second proximity zone corresponding to a second operator-assistance system.
Horn teaches determining a first proximity zone corresponding to a first operator-assistance system, and determining a second proximity zone corresponding to a second operator-assistance system (See [0108] and [0186]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Oesterling to include Horn’s teachings in order to better “assist in providing awareness to the rider of the external vehicles and vice-versa” (Horn, [0011]). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 4, Oesterling does not teach the first operator-assistance system is an adaptive cruise control system, and the second operator-assistance system is a forward collision warning system.
Horn teaches the first operator-assistance system is an adaptive cruise control system, and the second operator-assistance system is a forward collision warning system (See [108] and [0186]).
Regarding claim 8, Oesterling does not teach changing a visual characteristic of the graphical
representation of the proximity zone having the object includes adding a graphical icon over the displayed proximity zone having the object.
Horn teaches changing a visual characteristic of the graphical representation of the proximity zone having the object includes adding a graphical icon over the display (See [0116]).
Regarding claim 10, Oesterling teaches a method of conveying proximity information to an operator of a motorcycle, comprising:
defining a first proximity zone of the motorcycle, the first proximity zone including a first spatial area in a vicinity of the motorcycle (See [0034]);
defining a second proximity zone of the motorcycle, the second proximity zone including a second spatial area in a vicinity of the motorcycle (See [0034]);
displaying a first graphical representation of the first proximity zone on a display screen of the motorcycle, the first graphical representation indicating a first location of the first proximity zone relative to the motorcycle and indicating information relating to a first operation of the motorcycle (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]);
displaying a second graphical representation of the second proximity zone on the display screen of the motorcycle, the second graphical representation indicating a second location of the second proximity zone relative to the motorcycle (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]);
determining that an object is in the second proximity zone (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]); and
changing a visual characteristic of the second graphical representation of the second proximity zone, thereby indicating that the object is within the second proximity zone (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]).
Oesterling does not teach determining the plurality of proximity zones includes determining a first proximity zone corresponding to a first operator-assistance system, and determining a second proximity zone corresponding to a second operator-assistance system.
Horn teaches determining a first proximity zone corresponding to a first operator-assistance system, and determining a second proximity zone corresponding to a second operator-assistance system (See [0108] and [0186]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Oesterling to include Horn’s teachings in order to better “assist in providing awareness to the rider of the external vehicles and vice-versa” (Horn, [0011]). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 11, Oesterling does not teach the first operator-assistance system is selected from the group consisting of a blind-spot detection (BSD) system, automatic or emergency brake assist system (ABS), adaptive cruise control (ACC), forward collision warning (FCW) system, road-sign detection system, wildlife detection system, group-ride-aid system, lane keeping or changing assistance system and wherein the second operator-assistance system is selected from the group consisting of a blind-spot detection (BSD) system, automatic or emergency brake assist system (ABS), adaptive cruise control (ACC), forward collision warning (FCW) system, road-sign detection system, wildlife detection system, group-ride-aid system, lane keeping or changing assistance system, the first operator-assistance system being different from the second operator-assistance system.
Horn teaches the first operator-assistance system is selected from the group consisting of a blind-spot detection (BSD) system, automatic or emergency brake assist system (ABS), adaptive cruise control (ACC), forward collision warning (FCW) system, road-sign detection system, wildlife detection system, group-ride-aid system, lane keeping or changing assistance system and wherein the second operator-assistance system is selected from the group consisting of a blind-spot detection (BSD) system, automatic or emergency brake assist system (ABS), adaptive cruise control (ACC), forward collision warning (FCW) system, road-sign detection system, wildlife detection system, group-ride-aid system, lane keeping or changing assistance system, the first operator-assistance system being different from the second operator-assistance system (See [108] and [0186]).
Regarding claim 12, Oesterling does not teach the first operator-assistance system is an adaptive cruise control system, and the second operator-assistance system is a forward collision warning system.
Horn teaches the first operator-assistance system is an adaptive cruise control system, and the second operator-assistance system is a forward collision warning system (See [108] and [0186]).
Regarding claim 13, Oesterling teaches determining the first and second proximity zones includes receiving sensor data of one or more sensors of the motorcycle at a processor, and defining the first and second proximity zones based on the sensor data of the one or more sensors (See abstract and [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Oesterling teaches the first proximity zone is forward of
the motorcycle and second proximity zone is rearward of the motorcycle (See Fig. 3, abstract, and [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Oesterling teaches displaying a first graphical representation of the first proximity zone on a display screen of the motorcycle includes displaying a first graphical representation of the proximity zone that is forward of the motorcycle at a top portion of display screen, and displaying a second graphical representation of the second proximity zone on a display screen of the motorcycle includes displaying a second graphical representation of the proximity zone that is rearward of the motorcycle at a bottom portion of the display screen (See Fig. 3, abstract, and [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Oesterling teaches changing a visual characteristic of the second graphical representation of the second proximity zone having the object includes changing a color of the second graphical representation of the proximity zone having the object (See Fig. 3, abstract, and [0044]).
Regarding claim 17, Oesterling does not teach changing a visual characteristic of the second graphical representation of the second proximity zone having the object includes adding a graphical icon over the displayed second graphical representation of the second proximity zone having the object.
Horn teaches changing a visual characteristic of the graphical representation of the proximity zone having the object includes adding a graphical icon over the display (See [0116]).
Regarding claim 18, Oesterling teaches detecting and displaying information relating to traffic control (See abstract and [0066]).
Regarding claim 19, Oesterling does not explicitly teach information relating to the first operation of the motorcycle includes one or more of a motorcycle speed, fuel level, engine temperature, tire pressure, suspension setting, outside air temperature, and audio system setting.
Horn teaches information relating to the first operation of the motorcycle includes one or more of a motorcycle speed, fuel level, engine temperature, tire pressure, suspension setting, outside air temperature, and audio system setting (See abstract and [0187]).
Regarding claim 21, Oesterling does not explicitly teach the status of the motorcycle includes one or more of a motorcycle speed, fuel level, engine temperature, tire pressure, suspension setting, outside air temperature, and audio system setting.
Horn teaches the status of the motorcycle includes one or more of a motorcycle speed, fuel level, engine temperature, tire pressure, suspension setting, outside air temperature, and audio system setting (See abstract and [0187]).
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oesterling and Horn.
Regarding claim 24, Oesterling teaches a system for determining and conveying proximity information to an operator of a motorcycle (See abstract), comprising:
a sensor coupled to the motorcycle and configured to sense an object in a vicinity of the motorcycle (See [0034]);
a display device including a display screen (See [0035]); and
a processor in communication with the sensor and the display device (See abstract and [0037]), the processor configured to:
receive data from the sensor (See [0034]-[0035]),
determine a first proximity zone of the motorcycle, the first proximity zone including a first spatial area in a vicinity of the motorcycle and determine a second proximity zone of the motorcycle, the second proximity zone including a second spatial area in the vicinity of the motorcycle (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]);
cause a first graphical representation of the first proximity zone on to be displayed on the display screen of the display device, the first graphical representation indicating a first location of the first proximity zone relative to the motorcycle and indicating information relating to a first operation of the motorcycle (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]);
cause a second graphical representation of the second proximity zone to be displayed on the display screen of the motorcycle, the second graphical representation indicating a second location of the second proximity zone relative to the motorcycle (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]);
determine, based on the received data from the sensor, that an object is in the first or the second proximity zone (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]);
cause a visual characteristic of the graphical representation of the first or the second proximity zone to change, thereby indicating that the object is within the first or the second proximity zone (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]).
Oesterling does not teach determining the plurality of proximity zones includes determining a first proximity zone corresponding to a first operator-assistance system, and determining a second proximity zone corresponding to a second operator-assistance system.
Horn teaches determining a first proximity zone corresponding to a first operator-assistance system, and determining a second proximity zone corresponding to a second operator-assistance system (See [0108] and [0186]).
Regarding claim 25, Oesterling teaches the sensor is a camera, a RADAR sensor, a LIDAR sensor, a wheel-speed sensor, a brake sensor or a gyroscope (See abstract and [0034]).
Regarding claim 26, Oesterling does not teach a touch screen display.
Horn teaches a touch screen display (See [0058]).
Regarding claim 27, Oesterling teaches a motorcycle proximity user-interface device for conveying proximity information to an operator of a motorcycle (See abstract), comprising:
a display device including a display screen to display a proximity graphical user interface displaying the proximity information (See [0035]);
a processor (See abstract and [0037]) configured to:
receive data from a sensor of the motorcycle (See abstract and [0034]),
determine a proximity zone of the motorcycle, the proximity zone including a first spatial area in a vicinity of the motorcycle and corresponding to an operator-assistance system;
cause the proximity graphical user interface to be displayed on the display screen of the display device, the proximity graphical user interface indicating a first location of the fist proximity zone relative to the motorcycle and indicating information relating to operation of the motorcycle; and cause a visual characteristic of the proximity graphical user interface, thereby indicating that an object is within the proximity zone (See abstract, Fig. 3, and [0044]).
Oesterling does not teach the display device configured to receive input from the operator of the motorcycle.
Horn teaches display device configured to receive input from the operator of the motorcycle (See [0058]).
Conclusion
/THOMAS S MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686