DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-9, 11, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kaji (JP 2021-001281).
Kaji is directed to a corrosion-preventive adhesive tape comprising a substrate and an adhesive layer (paragraph 0009).
In the embodiment of Example 10, the substrate is a polyethylene terephthalate film having a thickness of 50 mm and the adhesive layer is 600 mm thick and formed of an acrylic adhesive having a storage modulus of 250,000 Pa at 23 oC that contains zinc and graphite particles (Table 1). The adhesive tape is adhered to a steel plate (paragraph 0049).
While Kaji does not report the difference in tensile load at 2.5% and 0.5% elongation or the tear strength of their substrate, paragraphs 0011 and 0012 on pages 5-7 of the applicant's specification states that the difference in tensile load and tear strength of the base material is a function of the material used and its thickness. Polyethylene terephthalate is cited as a preferred material (e.g., see paragraph 0013 on page 7) and the range of 40 to 140 mm is cited as a preferred thickness (e.g., see paragraph 0018 on page 9). Since the substrate in Example 10 is a polyethylene terephthalate film having a thickness of 50 mm, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect it to inherently possess a difference in tensile load at 2.5% and 0.5% elongation and a tear strength that satisfies the limitations of claim 1, particularly since Example 8 of the specification also employs a polyethylene terephthalate film having a thickness of 50 mm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaji (JP 2021-001281).
Kaji teaches all the limitations of claim 10, as outlined above, except for an embodiment employing carbon nanotubes.
The adhesive in the embodiment of Example 10 contains graphite powder as a carbon-based material (paragraph 0053). Kaji teaches the functional equivalence of graphite and carbon nanotubes as conductive material other than the sacrificial corrosion-protective metal (i.e., zinc particles in Example 10) added to the adhesive layer (paragraph 0031).
Since Kaji teaches that graphite and carbon nanotubes are functionally equivalent structure conductive materials, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute carbon nanotubes for graphite.
Kaji teaches all the limitation of claim 18, as outlined above, except for specifying the size of the attachment area.
While there is no explicit teaching to attach the tape to a metal surface of 2000 cm2 or more, Kaji does teach that the corrosion-preventive tape is capable of easily repairing damaged areas of steel structures, such as bridges, towers, viaducts, tanks, plants, and bridge piers (paragraph 0044). Since one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that structures such as bridges, towers, viaducts, tanks, plants, and bridge piers routinely have surface areas well in excess of 2000 cm2, it would have been obvious to attach the corrosion-preventive tape to an area of at least 2000 cm2 to provide corrosion protection to such structures.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaji (JP 2021-001281) in view of Fagerburg et al. (US 5,480,926).
Kaji teaches all the limitations of claim 3, as outlined above, except for specifying the gloss retention of the tape after the accelerated weather resistance test recited in the claim. However, according to paragraph 0016 on page 8 of the specification, the gloss retention after subjected to the recited accelerated weather resistance test is a function of the resin constituting the base material and may be enhanced by blending an ultraviolet absorber into the base material.
According to Fagerburg, it is well known in the art that polyesters are generally not very stable to the effects of UV radiation, resulting in hazing, property loss, and yellowing when exposed to sunlight (column 1, lines 13-20). Fagerburg further teaches that it is well known in the art to retard the loss of properties by the addition of a UV absorbing compound, allowing for the retention of properties for a longer time (column 1, lines 21-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add an amount of UV absorbing compound sufficient to retard the loss of properties to the polyethylene terephthalate substrate of Kaji employed in Example 10, since the resulting corrosion-preventive adhesive tape is designed to be used on outdoor objects, such as bridges, towers, and bridge piers (paragraph 0044).
Table 1 on page 37 of the specification shows that a polyethylene terephthalate film having a thickness of 50 mm exhibits a gloss reduction of 70%. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the subsequent addition of enough UV absorbing compound to retard the onset of property loss to result in a gloss reduction that would satisfy the limitations of claim 3.
Claims 5, 6, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaji (JP 2021-001281) in view of Hasegawa (JP H09-242982A).
Kaji teaches all the limitations of claims 5, 12, and 13, as outlined above, except for the presence of a zinc layer between the substrate and the adhesive layer.
Hasegawa is directed to corrosion-preventive member comprising, in order: a zinc plate between an adhesive layer containing zinc powder and a resin film (paragraph 0007). The zinc plate creates a passivation zone in a similar but more reliable manner to the adhesive layer (paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a zinc layer between the adhesive and substrate of Kaji to improve the reliability of the corrosion-preventive adhesive tape.
Regarding claim 5 (and 6 which depends from 5), the combination of the polyethylene terephthalate substrate and zinc layer reads on a resin film (i.e., the polyethylene terephthalate) having a coating (i.e., the zinc) on its surface.
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaji (JP 2021-001281) in view of Wang (CN 205291777).
Kaji teaches all the limitations of claims 16 and 19, as outlined above, except for the presence of a detachable surface protection film on the substrate opposite the adhesive layer.
Wang is directed to a composite board providing good corrosion and rust resistance (paragraphs 0008-0013). Release paper protective films are applied to both surfaces to prevent the plate from being scratched during transportation (paragraph 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a removable protective film to the surface of the substrate opposite the adhesive layer in the tape of Kaji to prevent the surface from being scratched prior to its application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-14, 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-12, and 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/280,326 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the limitations of dependent claims, such as claims 4 and 7, with the independent claim to yield an adhesive tape exhibiting the benefits conveyed by the limitations of the dependent claims.
Additionally, regarding claim 17, since the adhesive tape recited in the claims of copending Application No. 18/280,326 is an anticorrosive tape, it would have been obvious to attach the tape to a metal surface to provide the metal surface with corrosion resistance since metals are known to be susceptible to corrosion.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 4, 6, 15, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-12, and 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/280,326 in view of Kaji (JP 2021-001281).
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-12, and 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/280,326 recite all the limitations of claims 4, 6, 15, and 18, as outlined above, except for: the material and thickness of the base layer, the storage elastic modulus of the adhesive layer, and the attachment area.
Kaji is directed to a corrosion-preventive adhesive tape comprising a substrate and an adhesive layer (paragraph 0009). In the embodiment of Example 10, the substrate is a polyethylene terephthalate film having a thickness of 50 mm and the adhesive layer is 600 mm thick and formed of an acrylic adhesive having a storage modulus of 250,000 Pa at 23 oC (Table 1). Kaji further teaches that corrosion-preventive tape may be used to repair damaged areas of steel structures, such as bridges, towers, viaducts, tanks, plants, and bridge piers (paragraph 0044).
Regarding claims 4, 6, and 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a polyethylene terephthalate film having a thickness of 50 mm as the base film and an adhesive having a storage modulus of 250,000 Pa at 23 oC since the courts have held the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to use the anticorrosive tape recited in the claims of copending Application No. 18/280,326 to repair damaged areas of steel structures, such as bridges, towers, viaducts, tanks, plants, and bridge piers since Kaji teaches this as a suitable use for corrosion-preventive tapes. Since one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that structures such as bridges, towers, viaducts, tanks, plants, and bridge piers routinely have surface areas well in excess of 2000 cm2, it would have been obvious to attach the corrosion-preventive tape to an area of at least 2000 cm2 to provide corrosion protection to such structures.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 7, 8, 10-12, and 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/280,326 in view of Wang (CN 205291777).
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-12, and 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/280,326 recite all the limitations of claims 16 and 19, as outlined above, except for the presence of a detachable surface protection film on the substrate opposite the adhesive layer.
Wang is directed to a composite board providing good corrosion and rust resistance (paragraphs 0008-0013). Release paper protective films are applied to both surfaces to prevent the plate from being scratched during transportation (paragraph 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a removable protective film to the surface of the substrate opposite the adhesive layer in the tape recited in the claims of copending Application No. 18/280,326 to prevent the surface from being scratched prior to its application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/RAMSEY ZACHARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787