DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding to Claims 2-20, “A crankcase gas separator according to…” have been amended to recite as “The crankcase gas separator according to…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harvey (US2003/0034016 A1).
Regarding to Claim 1, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator comprising
a separator housing delimiting at least part of a separation space (Fig. 2, Part 20),
a rotor arranged in the separation space, wherein the rotor comprises a separation aid in the form of a stack of separation discs (Fig. 2, Part 24, Part 21a, Paragraph 18),
a gas outlet passage from the separation space (Fig. 2, Part 21b, Paragraph 19), and
a gas pressure regulating valve arranged in fluid communication with the gas outlet passage (Fig. 2, Part 31, Paragraphs 21-26), wherein
the gas pressure regulating valve comprises a valve seat and a membrane configured to seal against the valve seat and provides a flow direction for gas from the gas outlet passage through the gas pressure regulating valve (Fig. 2, a valve seat is located closed to Part 33, Part 32 as a membrane, Paragraphs 21-26 would reflect the limitations), and wherein
in relation to the flow direction, the membrane is arranged downstream of the valve seat (Fig. 2).
Regarding to Claim 2, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein seen perpendicularly to a plane including the valve seat (Fig. 2), a gas throughflow area within the valve seat, and an area of the membrane outside the valve seat has a ratio within a range of 1 : 1.25 to 1 : 5 (Fig. 2).
Regarding to Claim 3, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the gas outlet passage from the separation space is connected to an inlet passage of the gas pressure regulating valve, and wherein the inlet passage leads to the valve seat (Fig. 2).
Regarding to Claim 4, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the inlet passage of the gas pressure regulating valve extends substantially perpendicularly to a plane including the valve seat (Fig. 2).
Regarding to Claim 5, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein a valve closing motion of the membrane is in a direction opposite to a direction of gas flowing into the gas pressure regulating valve (Paragraphs 21-26).
Regarding to Claim 6, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the gas pressure regulating valve comprises a gas outlet conduit downstream of the membrane (Fig. 2, Part 34), and wherein the gas outlet conduit extends substantially in parallel with the membrane (Fig. 2).
Regarding to Claim 9, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein a plane including the valve seat and a plane of an abutment area of the membrane configured to abut against the valve seat are arranged at an angle to each other (Paragraphs 21-26, when Part 32 is in the second position. The examiner considered the angle degree can be zero).
Regarding to Claim 10, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the gas pressure regulating valve further comprises a biasing member arranged to bias the membrane in a direction away from the valve seat (Fig. 2, Part 33, Paragraphs 21-26).
Regarding to Claim 11, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the gas outlet passage from the separation space is connected to an inlet passage of the gas pressure regulating valve, and wherein the inlet passage leads to the valve seat (Fig. 2).
Regarding to Claim 12, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein a valve closing motion of the membrane is in a direction opposite to a direction of gas flowing into the gas pressure regulating valve (Paragraphs 21-26).
Regarding to Claim 13, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein a valve closing motion of the membrane is in a direction opposite to a direction of gas flowing into the gas pressure regulating valve (Paragraphs 21-26).
Regarding to Claim 14, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein a valve closing motion of the membrane is in a direction opposite to a direction of gas flowing into the gas pressure regulating valve (Paragraphs 21-26).
Regarding to Claim 15, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the gas pressure regulating valve comprises a gas outlet conduit downstream of the membrane (Fig. 2, Part 34), and wherein the gas outlet conduit extends substantially in parallel with the membrane (Fig. 2).
Regarding to Claim 16, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the gas pressure regulating valve comprises a gas outlet conduit downstream of the membrane (Fig. 2, Part 34), and wherein the gas outlet conduit extends substantially in parallel with the membrane (Fig. 2).
Regarding to Claim 17, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the gas pressure regulating valve comprises a gas outlet conduit downstream of the membrane (Fig. 2, Part 34), and wherein the gas outlet conduit extends substantially in parallel with the membrane (Fig. 2).
Regarding to Claim 18, Harvey teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the gas pressure regulating valve comprises a gas outlet conduit downstream of the membrane (Fig. 2, Part 34), and wherein the gas outlet conduit extends substantially in parallel with the membrane (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvey (US2003/0034016 A1) in view of Daiber (US2015/0275718 A1).
Regarding to Claim 7, Harvey fails to explicitly disclose, but Daiber teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein seen perpendicularly to a general plane of the membrane, a center of the membrane is offset from a center of the valve seat [Daiber teaches a valve comprises a membrane (Daiber, Fig. 2, Part 5) and the center of the membrane is offset from a center of a valve seat (Daiber, Figs. 2, 3, Paragraph 31) to install a sensor to detect the movement of the valve (Daiber, Paragraph 32).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harvey to incorporate the teachings of Daiber to design the membrane of a valve in a certain way in order to install a sensor to detect the movement of the valve (Daiber, Paragraph 32).
Regarding to Claim 8, Harvey fails to explicitly disclose, but Daiber teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein the center of the membrane is offset from the center of the valve seat towards the gas outlet conduit [Daiber teaches a valve comprises a membrane (Daiber, Fig. 2, Part 5) and the center of the membrane is offset from a center of a valve seat (Daiber, Figs. 2, 3, Paragraph 31) to install a sensor to detect the movement of the valve (Daiber, Paragraph 32).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harvey to incorporate the teachings of Daiber to design the membrane of a valve in a certain way in order to install a sensor to detect the movement of the valve (Daiber, Paragraph 32).
Regarding to Claim 19, Harvey fails to explicitly disclose, but Daiber teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein seen perpendicularly to a general plane of the membrane, a center of the membrane is offset from a center of the valve seat [Daiber teaches a valve comprises a membrane (Daiber, Fig. 2, Part 5) and the center of the membrane is offset from a center of a valve seat (Daiber, Figs. 2, 3, Paragraph 31) to install a sensor to detect the movement of the valve (Daiber, Paragraph 32).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harvey to incorporate the teachings of Daiber to design the membrane of a valve in a certain way in order to install a sensor to detect the movement of the valve (Daiber, Paragraph 32).
Regarding to Claim 20, Harvey fails to explicitly disclose, but Daiber teaches a crankcase gas separator, wherein seen perpendicularly to a general plane of the membrane, a center of the membrane is offset from a center of the valve seat [Daiber teaches a valve comprises a membrane (Daiber, Fig. 2, Part 5) and the center of the membrane is offset from a center of a valve seat (Daiber, Figs. 2, 3, Paragraph 31) to install a sensor to detect the movement of the valve (Daiber, Paragraph 32).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harvey to incorporate the teachings of Daiber to design the membrane of a valve in a certain way in order to install a sensor to detect the movement of the valve (Daiber, Paragraph 32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Szepessy (US7704300B2) teaches an air-oil separator.
/YI-KAI WANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747