DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on March 11, 2025. In view of this communication, claims 1-14 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 12-14is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAN (JP 2017103848 A) in view of KANAZAWA (JP 2020127334 A).
In regards to claim 1, MAN teaches:
A rotary electric machine [abstract] comprising:
a motor (Fig 3; 30)including a rotary shaft[0002]; and
a control unit (Fig 3; 40) configured to control the motor(Fig 3; 30)[0013],
wherein the control unit (Fig 3; 40)includes:
a substrate unit (Fig 3; 42)that includes a first circuit substrate(Fig 3; 44), a second circuit substrate(Fig 3; 46), and a holding member (Fig 3; 45)that is disposed between the first circuit substrate (Fig 3; 44)and the second circuit substrate (Fig 3; 46)and holds the first circuit substrate and the second circuit substrate[0029-0030];
a heat sink (Fig 3; 41) that is disposed between the motor (Fig 3; 30)and the substrate unit(Fig 3; 42) and faces the first circuit substrate (Fig 3; 44)in an axial direction of the rotary shaft(Fig 3; 32); and
the holding member (Fig 3; 45) includes:
a base portion(Fig 3; 45’ plate part);
a first locking portion (Fig 15; screw)that is connected to the base portion (Fig 3; 45’)and locks the first circuit substrate(Fig 3; 44) from a second surface of the first circuit substrate (Fig 3; 44)on a side opposite to a first surface of the first circuit substrate facing the base portion(Fig 3; 45’) (screws are used to connect the first circuit to the base portion[0029]); and
a second locking portion (Fig 15; screw)that is connected to the base portion (Fig 3; 45’)and locks the second circuit substrate (Fig 3; 46)from a fourth surface of the second circuit substrate (Fig 3; 46)on a side opposite to a third surface of the second circuit substrate facing the base portion(Fig 3; 45’) (screws are used to connect the second circuit to the base portion[0030]).
MAN does not teach:
a fastening member that fixes the substrate unit to the heat sink, and
the fastening member penetrates the substrate unit in the axial direction and is fastened to the heat sink.
KANAZAWA teaches:
a fastening member (Fig 3; 25) that fixes the substrate unit (Fig 3; 9)to the heat sink(Fig 3; 15B), and
the fastening member(Fig 3; 25)penetrates the substrate unit (Fig 3; 9)in the axial direction and is fastened to the heat sink(Fig 3; 15B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MAN by adding the fastening member and spacer taught by KANAZAWA, to the holding member of MAN in order to increase mounting area [KANAZAWA 0023].
In regards to claim 2, MAN in view of KANAZAWA, teaches the rotary electric machine according to Claim 1:
wherein the holding member(Fig 3; 45)
the base portion(Fig 3; 45’).
MAN does not teach:
a spacer that is connected, extends in the axial direction, and abuts on the first circuit substrate and the second circuit substrate, and
the fastening member is inserted through the spacer.
KANAZAWA teaches:
a spacer(Fig 3; 24)that is connected, extends in the axial direction, and abuts on the first circuit substrate (Fig 3; 17)and the second circuit substrate(Fig 3; 18), and
the fastening member (Fig 3; 25)is inserted through the spacer(Fig 3; 24).
In regards to claim 3, MAN in view of KANAZAWA, teaches the rotary electric machine according to Claim 1:
wherein the holding member (Fig 3; 45)includes:
a first positioning protrusion(Fig 16; 55)that is connected to the base portion(Fig 3; 45’), penetrates the first circuit substrate(Fig 3; 44) in the axial direction, and is inserted into the heat sink(Fig 16; 41); and
a second positioning protrusion (Fig 16; 50b)that is connected to the base portion(Fig 3; 45’) and penetrates the second circuit substrate (Fig 16; 46) in the axial direction.
In regards to claim 4, MAN in view of KANAZAWA, teaches the rotary electric machine according to Claim 1:
wherein an electronic component(Fig 15; 48) is mounted on the first circuit substrate(Fig 15; 44),
the heat sink (Fig 15; 41)and the electronic component(Fig 15; 55), and the holding member(Fig 15; 45) further includes a load transmission portion (Fig 15; 48)that is disposed at a position as viewed in the axial direction and abuts on the first circuit substrate (Fig 15; 44)and the second circuit substrate(Fig 15; 46).
MAN does not teach:
a thermal grease
KANAZAWA teaches:
a thermal grease [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MAN by adding the thermal grease taught by KANAZAWA, to have good heat transfer properties between the power supply circuit board [KANAZAWA 0062].
In regards to claim 5, MAN in view of KANAZAWA, teaches the rotary electric machine according to Claim 1:
wherein the motor(Fig 3; 30) includes a rotor that is fixed to the rotary shaft[0014], a stator that is disposed on an outer peripheral side of the rotor[0014], an armature winding that is wound around the stator[0014], and a wiring terminal(Fig 3; 51) that is electrically connected to the armature winding and is connected to the first circuit substrate(Fig 3; 44),
the first circuit substrate(Fig 14; 44) includes a motor connection portion (Fig 14; 48)to which the wiring terminal (Fig 14; 51)is connected, and
the second circuit substrate (Fig 15; 46)includes a cutout portion (Fig 15; 49)that exposes the motor connection portion (Fig 15; 48)when the substrate unit(Fig 3; 42) is viewed in the axial direction from a side of the second circuit substrate(Fig 15; 46).
In regards to claim 6, MAN in view of KANAZAWA, teaches the rotary electric machine according to Claim 2.
MAN does not teach:
wherein an outer shape of a head portion of the fastening member is substantially the same as an outer shape of the spacer as viewed in the axial direction.
KANAZAWA teaches:
wherein an outer shape of a head portion of the fastening member (Fig 3; 25)is substantially the same as an outer shape of the spacer(Fig 3; 24) as viewed in the axial direction(both are cylindrical according to Fig 3).
In regards to claim 12, MAN in view of KANAZAWA, teaches the rotary electric machine according to Claim 1:
wherein the substrate unit(Fig 3; 42)
Combination MAN/ KANAZAWA discloses the claimed invention except for a third substrate and second holding member . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate these parts , since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
In regards to claim 13, MAN in view of KANAZAWA, teaches the rotary electric machine according to Claim 1:
wherein the substrate unit further(Fig 3; 42) includes an inter-substrate connector(Fig 15; 48) that electrically connects the first circuit substrate (Fig 15; 44)and the second circuit substrate(Fig 15; 46).
In regards to claim 14, MAN teaches:
A method for manufacturing a rotary electric machine, the method comprising:
a substrate unit (Fig 3; 42)assembling step of assembling a substrate unit (Fig 13; 42)by holding a first circuit substrate (Fig 13; 44)and a second circuit substrate (Fig 13; 46)by a holding member(Fig 13; 45); and
a substrate unit (Fig 13; 42)fixing step of fixing the substrate unit to a heat sink (Fig 13; 41).
MAN does not teach:
a fastening member to penetrate the substrate unit in an axial direction of a rotary shaft of a motor and fastening the fastening member to the heat sink.
KANAZAWA teaches:
a fastening member (Fig 3; 25)to penetrate the substrate unit in an axial direction of a rotary shaft of a motor and fastening the fastening member (Fig 3; 25) to the heat sink(Fig 3; 15B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MAN by adding the fastening member and spacer taught by KANAZAWA, to the holding member of MAN in order to increase mounting area [KANAZAWA 0023].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art teaches:
wherein the control unit further includes a connector assembly including a first press-fit terminal that is connected to the first circuit substrate.
However, the prior art does not teach:
the first circuit substrate includes a first connector connection portion that is provided at one end portion of the first circuit substrate in a first direction orthogonal to the axial direction and to which the first press-fit terminal is connected, and
a length of the second circuit substrate in the first direction is shorter than a length of the first circuit substrate in the first direction such that the one end portion of the first circuit substrate in the first direction is exposed from the second circuit substrate when the substrate unit is viewed in the axial direction from a side of the second circuit substrate.
Claim 7 is objected to, and not rejected, because the limitation of BOTH a first connector connection portion that is provided at one end portion of the first circuit substrate in a first direction orthogonal to the axial direction and to which the first press-fit terminal is connected AND a length of the second circuit substrate in the first direction is shorter than a length of the first circuit substrate in the first direction such that the one end portion of the first circuit substrate in the first direction is exposed from the second circuit substrate when the substrate unit is viewed in the axial direction from a side of the second circuit substrate is too specific which makes it novel.
Claims 8-11 are objected to, and not rejected, because they depend from a claim that contains allowable subject matter.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Citation of Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. Prior Art:
CHABILLANT (US 20230178911 A1) contains three substrates and two holders
KAMOGL (US 20140028161 A1) contains figures of the windings connecting to the substrates, as well as the rotor stator structure
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834