DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Claim 7 requires an auxiliary power platform spaced from the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine. Therefore, the auxiliary power platform spaced from the two wind turbines must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: auxiliary power unit in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 6, 8, 10 and 13 recite unclear language such as “in particular …”. It is unclear if the limitations after “in particular” is limiting or not limiting.
Claims 9 and 11-12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Altenschulte (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2009/0134625).
As per claim 1, Altenschulte discloses a wind turbine park (1; figure 2) , comprising at least a first wind turbine (10) and a second wind turbine for generating a power product (four wind turbines 10 shown; figure 2), a main line (102) connecting the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine for transporting the power product (as shown; figure 2), an auxiliary power line (104) being connected to the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine (as shown; figure 2) , wherein the auxiliary power line is configured for transporting auxiliary power for a wind turbine maintenance or standby operation to at least one of the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine (low voltage cable 104 transports low voltage current and fed into the auxiliary electrical network which provides power to elevator, lights or other tools; paragraphs [0015], [0018]), an auxiliary power unit (18) for generating the auxiliary power to the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine (auxiliary transformer 18 providing the expected low voltage power; paragraph [0017]), wherein the auxiliary power unit (18) is connected to the auxiliary power line (104).
As per claim 2, Altenschulte discloses the wind turbine park according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the auxiliary power line is configured for transmitting less than less than 1MW, more particularly less than 500 kW, in particular less than 150 kW (claim language does not recite a minimum power, i.e., low voltage cable 104 having power rating of 600 VAC capable of transmitting power less than 150kW; paragraph [0017]).
As per claim 3, Altenschulte discloses the wind turbine park according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the power product is electrical power, wherein the main line is an electrical power line for transporting the generated electrical power (medium voltage wires 102 feeding medium voltage current (power product); paragraph [0017]).
As per claim 6, Altenschulte discloses the wind turbine park according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the auxiliary power unit (18) is mounted to the first wind turbine (auxiliary transformer 18 is located in the tower of wind turbine 10; paragraph [0017]), wherein in particular the second wind turbine is free of a further auxiliary power unit.
As per claim 15, Al;tenschulte discloses a method of operating a wind turbine park according to one of the claims 1, the method comprising generating a power product by at least one of the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine (via generator 14), transporting the power product by the main line (102), generating auxiliary power by the auxiliary power unit (18), transporting by the auxiliary power line (104) auxiliary power for a maintenance or standby operation to at least one of the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine (providing electrical power in the wind turbine 10 during maintenance works; paragraph [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altenschulte in view of Kinsella (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0404439).
As per claims 4-5, Altenschulte discloses the wind turbine park according to claim 1. Altenschute does not explicitly teach wherein the power product is a power fluid, in particular a liquid or a gas, wherein the main line is a fluid pipe for transporting the generated power fluid (claim 4) and wherein at least one of the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine comprises an electrolyzer unit for generating hydrogen and/or oxygen as power fluid (claim 5).
Kinsella (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0404439) is a related prior art in that it deals with a wind turbine generator. Kinsella teaches wherein the power product is a power fluid, in particular a liquid or a gas, wherein the main line is a fluid pipe for transporting the generated power fluid (plurality of units 100 (wind turbine) connected to manifold (fluid pipe) to allow transporting hydrogen gas; paragraph [0014]) and wherein at least one of the first wind turbine (100) and the second wind turbine (two wind turbines 100 shown; figure 4) comprises an electrolyzer unit for generating hydrogen and/or oxygen as power fluid (electrolysis unit 160; figure 3). Kinsella teaches this system allows to utilize wind power without the cost of high voltage switchgear/transformers and energy losses associated with electrical transmission through undersea cables (paragraph [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Altenschulte’s main power generation to incorporate Kinsella’s electrolysis unit to generate and transport hydrogen because as Kinsella teaches the electrolysis system allows to utilize wind power without the cost of high voltage switchgear/transformers and energy losses associated with electrical transmission through undersea cables (paragraph [0017]).
As per claim 7, Altenschulte discloses the wind turbine park according to claim 1. Altenschute does not explicitly teach wherein the auxiliary power unit is mounted to an auxiliary power platform being spaced apart from the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine (claim 7).
Kinsella teaches platforms spaced from the wind turbine to mount auxiliary devices (columns 116 (platform) to mount auxiliary devices; figure 3). Kinsella teaches the devices mounted on the columns permit replacement of the device in lieu of on-site maintenance (paragraph [0015]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Altenschulte’s auxiliary power unit to incorporate Kinsella’s containerized construction mounted on a column because as Kinsella teaches, this configuration allows to easily replace the device in lieu of on-site maintenance (paragraph [0015]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altenschulte in view of Abeyasekera (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0364546).
As per claim 8, Altenschulte discloses the wind turbine park according to claim 1. Altenschulte does not explicitly teach wherein the auxiliary power unit is a battery, wherein the battery is in particular chargeable by electrical power generated by at least one of the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine and/or, wherein the auxiliary power unit is a fuel cell being operated by the power product.
Abeyasekera is related prior art in that it deals with auxiliary power system for a wind turbine grid. Abeyasekera teaches wherein the auxiliary power unit is a battery, wherein the battery is in particular chargeable by electrical power generated by at least one of the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine and/or, wherein the auxiliary power unit is a fuel cell being operated by the power product (generate power using internal storage system having a battery energy storage system and/or fuel cell to provide power supply to the auxiliary system; paragraph [0127] and figure 14). Abeyasekera teaches the battery allows to enable black start which restores part or all of electrical grid following a partial or complete shutdown (paragraphs [0040], [0127]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Altenschulte’s auxiliary power unit to incorporate Abeyasekera’s battery as it allows to black start.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altenschulte in view of Bodewes (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0225369).
As per claim 14, Altenschulte discloses the wind turbine park according to claim 1. Altenschute does not explicitly teach wherein the wind turbine park is decoupled from a power grid.
Bodewes (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0225369) is related prior art in that it deals with a wind turbine generator system having an auxiliary power. Bodewes teaches a system having a main switch and a redundant secondary switch to allow electrical isolation from the grid as a protective measure by severing electrical connection in the grid (paragraph [0049]). Altenschulte is also concerned with danger of an electrical shock to a technician during maintenance (paragraph [0020]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Altenschulte’s wind turbine park to incorporate Bodewes’ main switch and secondary switch that decouples the wind turbine park from the grid as it severs the electrical connection in the grid thereby allowing electrical isolation from the grid as a protective measure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9 contains allowable subject matter an auxiliary power controller configured for controlling the auxiliary power provided to the first wind turbine and to the second wind turbine, wherein the auxiliary power controller is configured for determining a maintenance or standby operation of the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine.
In the closest prior art, Rosenvard (U.S. Patent No. 8,841,796) teaches a wind turbine farm having an auxiliary power controller (44; figure 3). However, Rosenvard’s auxiliary power controller does not control power to two turbines and is not configured for determining a maintenance or standby operation of the first wind turbine and the second wind turbine.
No relevant prior art of record sufficiently teaches the allowable subject matter in such a way that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior arts to create the claimed invention.
Claims 10-13 also contain allowable subject matter by virtue of their dependency on claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sorensen (EP 3,760,860 A1) teaches a wind turbine having a hydrogen producing device. However, in this prior art, Sorensen fails to teach a main line between two wind turbines for transporting the hydrogen.
Dincan (U.S. Patent No. 12,410,775) teaches an off-grid wind turbine having an electric generator and an electrolyzer.
Oohara (U.S. Patent No. 7,667,343) teaches a wind turbine having an electrolytic hydrogen producing system connected to a pipe line.
Sorensen (U.S. Patent No. 12,305,815) is a non-prior art that teaches a wind park connected a fluid pipeline as well as electrical power lines.
Sorensen (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0003336) is a non-prior art that teaches a cable having a fluid line as well as an electrical line.
Lund (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2025/0163593) is a non-prior art that teaches an auxiliary unit having a hydrogen production device.
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745