DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 09/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/30/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informality: “the faces” in line 3 should read “the interior face or the exterior face”.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“one the” in line 2 should read “one of the”.
“paint, a glue,” in line 2 should read “paint, glue,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "at least one of the two longitudinal edges" in lines 1-2. There is ambiguous antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the limitation is referring to the “at least one of said longitudinal edges” mentioned in lines 5 of claim 1 or to totally new longitudinal edge(s). For examination purposes, the examiner is interpreting the limitation as if it instead reads “the at least one of said longitudinal edges”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Odenthal (CA 2191779 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Odenthal discloses a device (5 in Figures 8g and 8h; or 5 in Figures 8k and 8l) for packaging a compact batch (the three boxes 3 in Figure 2, collectively) of at least two containers (the three boxes 3 in Figure 2) grouped together (Page 5 lines 1-5 and 25-29), said device (5 in Figures 8g and 8h; or 5 in Figures 8k and 8l) comprising: a tape (5 in Figures 8g and 8h; or 5 in Figures 8k and 8l), said tape having an interior face (the surface labeled “interior face 1” in an annotated version of Figure 8h of Odenthal, hereinafter Figure 8x, below; or the surface labeled “interior face 2” in an annotated version of Figure 8l of Odenthal, hereinafter Figure 8y, below), an exterior face (the surface labeled “exterior face 1” in Figure 8x below; or the surface labeled “exterior face 2” in Figure 8y below) and two longitudinal edges (the two free ends of tape 5 shown in Figure 8h; or the two free ends of tape 5 shown in Figure 8l), wherein the device (5 in Figures 8g and 8h; or 5 in Figures 8k and 8l) forms a handle (6 in Figure 2) for manipulating said batch (the three boxes 3 in Figure 2, collectively) (Page 5 lines 1-5), wherein at least one of said longitudinal edges (the two free ends of tape 5 shown in Figure 8h; or the two free ends of tape 5 shown in Figure 8l) is folded against the interior face (“interior face 1” in Figure 8x below; or “interior face 2” in Figure 8y below) to form at least one fold (the two bent-over portions 10 in Figure 8h; or the two bent-over portions 10 in Figure 8l) (clear from Figure 8x and Page 5 lines 25-26; or clear from Figure 8y and Page 5 lines 28-29).
Figure 8x: an annotated version of Figure 8h of Odenthal
Figure 8y: an annotated version of Figure 8l of Odenthal
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Thus, the recitation “for packaging a compact batch of at least two containers grouped together, said containers being bottles or brick packs of rounded section” of claim 1 does not differentiate the claimed device from the device (5) of Odenthal which satisfies the claimed structural limitations and is suitable for the intended use. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 2, Odenthal discloses that at least one of the two longitudinal edges (the two free ends of tape 5 shown in Figure 8h) is folded against the interior face (“interior face 1” in Figure 8x above) (clear from Figure 8x and Page 5 lines 25-26) and wherein the at least one fold (the two bent-over portions 10 in Figure 8h) covers the interior face (“interior face 1” in Figure 8x above) of the tape (5 in Figures 8g and 8h) only partly (clear from Figure 8x and Page 5 lines 25-26).
Regarding claim 3, Odenthal discloses that each of the two longitudinal edges (the two free ends of tape 5 shown in Figure 8h) is folded against the interior face (“interior face 1” in Figure 8x above) forming at least two folds (the two bent-over portions 10 in Figure 8h) (clear from Figure 8x and Page 5 lines 25-26) and wherein the at least two folds (the two bent-over portions 10 in Figure 8h) together cover the interior face (“interior face 1” in Figure 8x above) of the tape (5 in Figures 8g and 8h) only partly (clear from Figure 8x and Page 5 lines 25-26).
Regarding claim 4, Odenthal discloses the two longitudinal edges (the two free ends of tape 5 shown in Figure 8l) are folded such that each forms a respective fold (one of the two bent-over portions 10 in Figure 8l) (clear from Figure 8l and Page 5 lines 28-29) and wherein together the respective folds (the two bent-over portions 10 in Figure 8l) cover one (“interior face 2” in Figure 8y above) of the faces of the tape (5 in Figures 8k and 8l) completely (clear from Figure 8y and Page 5 lines 28-29).
Regarding claim 5, Odenthal discloses that the at least two folds (the two bent-over portions 10 in Figure 8h) formed by the two longitudinal edges (the two free ends of tape 5 shown in Figure 8h) are symmetrical (apparent from Figure 8h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odenthal in view of Cadmus (US 2,575,580).
Regarding claim 6, Odenthal discloses all the limitations of the claim as stated above but does not expressly disclose: the tape has a coating on at least one the interior face and the exterior face, and the coating is paint, a glue, lacquer, or treatment.
Cadmus teaches that it was known to provide a tape (“handle” 50 in Figures 8-10) with a coating (the “plastic” coating of “handle” 50 described in Col. 6 lines 27-36) on at least one of an interior face and an exterior face of the tape (because Col. 6 lines 27-36 states that “handle” 50 is “plastic coated” on “both sides”), wherein the coating (the “plastic” coating of “handle” 50) is treatment (Col. 6 lines 35-40), in order to make the tape (“handle” 50) water-proof, give the tape a very smooth and hard surface which materially increases both the dry and wet strengths of the tape, allow articles attached to the tape to be refrigerated without disintegration of the tape, and allow the tape to be strongly joined to a surface almost instantly upon application of heat (Col. 6 lines 33-55).
It would have been obvious to one have provided the tape of Odenthal with a coating on at least one of the interior face and the exterior face, wherein the coating is treatment, as taught by Cadmus, because doing so would make the tape water-proof, give the tape a very smooth and hard surface which materially increases both the dry and wet strengths of the tape, allow articles attached to the tape to be refrigerated without disintegration of the tape, and allow the tape to be strongly joined to a surface almost instantly upon application of heat.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Odenthal (DE 19537829 A1) also teaches folding longitudinal edges (the two free ends of band 5 shown in Figure 3) of a tape (5 in Figure 3) against an interior face of the tape (5) to form at least one fold (the two sections 7 in Figure 3) (clear from Figure 3).
/TANZIM IMAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731