Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 14, 17, 19, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (CN110014643, English translation provided), further in view of Yao et al. (CN205086362, English translation provided), Leavitt et al. (US 2023/0028236), and Singov (US 2019/0329503).
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 3, 4, thermoplastic material granule-based three-dimensional printing equipment comprising a three-dimensional printer (1) executing control software (page 1, lines 14-15 (i.e., 3D printing) and lines 56-59) and comprising a granule extruder head (2) (page 2, lines 92-101), which is supported on a carriage (8) (e.g., item 23, Fig. 1 (page 2, lines 92-93)) configured to move the extruder head (2) and controlled by the control software, wherein the extruder head (2) comprises:
an extruder screw (3) (item 25, Fig. 4 (page 2, line 93)) connected to a first motor (4) (item 21, Fig. 1 (page 2, line 92)) controlled by the control software, and configured to convey the granules from a granule filling reservoir (5) (item 26, Fig. 1 (page 2, line 93)) to an outlet nozzle (6) (item 29, Fig. 1 (page 2, lines 100-101));
characterized in that it further comprises an automatic granule dispenser (9) (item 1, Fig. 1 (page 2, lines 80-90)) for the feeding of the filling reservoir (5), which in turn comprises:
two or more containers (10) (items 17, 113, Fig. 1 (page 2, lines 81, 89)), each for containing a type of granule (page 2, lines 80-90);
a supporting base (11) (item 11, Fig. 2 (page 2, line 103)) for the containers (10) comprising an engagement area (12) for each of them having a first hole (13) for the outflow of the granules from the corresponding container (10) (as shown in Fig. 2);
a supplying device for each container (10) for supplying granules from said containers (10) to the filling reservoir (5) of the extruder head (2) (as shown in Fig. 2), each supplying device comprising a granule conveyor screw (14) (items 14, 110m Fig. 3 (page 3, lines 122-123)) connected to a second motor (16) (items 12, 18, Fig. 2 (page 2, lines 80, 81, 82)) controlled by the control software, and configured to convey the granules from the first hole (13) to a second outlet hole (15) located at a lower height to that of the first hole (13) and eccentric relative thereto, each second hole (15) being at a height greater than the height of the filling reservoir (5) of the extruder head (2) (as shown in Fig. 2).
However, Wei does not disclose a sensor for positioning.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Yao discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, the receiving mechanism includes a receiving cylinder 6 and a level sensor 7, and the receiving mechanism is fixed with the screw extrusion head 8 of the 3d printer (page 2, lines 66-67). Yao discloses that, the level sensor 7 detects the level of the material in the receiving cylinder 6 (page 3, line 175). Thus, at least the level sensor in the teachings of Yao discloses that, an sensor (7) in communication with the control software and attached to the extruder head (2) in a first position adjacent to the nozzle (6) and at a first height equal to or greater than the height at which the nozzle (6) is located (as shown in Fig. 2).
However, Yao does not explicitly disclose the level sensor is an inductive sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Leavitt discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 17-19, the calibration chamber 17 houses one or more sensors for sensing a location of a nozzle 25 of the print head 24, for example, an inductive sensor such as eddy current sensor ([0035], lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Wei to have the thermoplastic material granule-based three-dimensional printing equipment as Yao and Leavitt teaches that it is known to have the inductive sensor in communication with the control software and attached to the extruder head in a first position adjacent to the nozzle and at a first height equal to or greater than the height at which the nozzle is located. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
However, Wei does not explicitly disclose a number of movable attachment means on each one of the containers.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Singov discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1.3, the 3D printer 8 is made up primarily of a pan 4, a set of pourers 10.1-10.4, each which is associated with a dicking station 30.1-30.4, where the pour 10 can be refilled by an associated refill tank 11. Also a rigid frame 3 supports the docking stations 30.1-30.4 and a pourer movement assembly 116 (Fig. 10A) ([0041], lines 2-7).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Wei to have the thermoplastic material granule-based three-dimensional printing equipment as Singov teaches that it is known to have a number of movable attachment means on each one of the containers. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claims 6, 7, Wei does not disclose an inductive sensor for positioning a vertical movement of the sensor.
Yao discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, after the printing of the current layer is finished, the printing platform 10 of the 3D printer is lowered by a layer thickness, and the level sensor 7 detects the level of the material in the receiving cylinder 6 (page 3, lines 174-175). Yao discloses that, the driving module 5 in this embodiment can perform linear reciprocating motion for the cylinder driving (page 3, lines 138-139). Thus, Yao discloses that, at least the sensor 7 is capable of moving (related to the printing/extrusion head 8) vertically by a linear actuator for providing a second height greater than the first height.
Singov discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1.3, the 3D printer 8 is made up primarily of a pan 4, a set of pourers 10.1-10.4, each which is associated with a dicking station 30.1-30.4, where the pour 10 can be refilled by an associated refill tank 11. Also, a rigid frame 3 supports the docking stations 30.1-30.4 and a pourer movement assembly 116 (Fig. 10A) ([0041], lines 2-7).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Wei to have the thermoplastic material granule-based three-dimensional printing equipment as Yao and Singov teaches that it is known to have the inductive sensor is capable of moving (related to the printing/extrusion head) vertically by a linear actuator for providing a second height greater than the first height. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 9, Wei discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1-2, the filling reservoir (5) (item 26, Fig. 1 or 2 (page 2, line 93)) is connected to the extruder head (2) by means of a connection means arranged in the coupling areas therebetween, formed by the outlet mouth (5.1) of the filling reservoir (5) and the inlet mouth (3.1) to the extruder screw (3) (page 2, lines 92-101).
However, Wei does not disclose a number of movable connection means arranged in the coupling areas.
Singov discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1.3, the 3D printer 8 is made up primarily of a pan 4, a set of pourers 10.1-10.4, each which is associated with a dicking station 30.1-30.4, where the pour 10 can be refilled by an associated refill tank 11. Also a rigid frame 3 supports the docking stations 30.1-30.4 and a pourer movement assembly 116 (Fig. 10A) ([0041], lines 2-7). As illustrated in Figs. 1.3, 2.1. 2.2, 2.3, Assembly 116 includes a fork assembly 5 that attaches to a selected pourer 10, removes pourer 10 from a docking station 30, and moves pourer 10 through a pattern as fork assembly 5 actuates pourer 10, to selectively dispense powder. When present on assembly 5, pourer 10 rests on fork 6 ([0041], lines 3-10 from bottom). Thus, Singov discloses a number of movable connection means comprising the fork assembly 5 with each of the movable portion of the pourer 10.1 to 10.4.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Wei to have the thermoplastic material granule-based three-dimensional printing equipment as Singov teaches that it is known to have a number of movable connection means arranged in the coupling areas. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 14, Wei does not disclose a sensor for positioning of granule.
Yao discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, the receiving mechanism includes a receiving cylinder 6 and a level sensor 7, and the receiving mechanism is fixed with the screw extrusion head 8 of the 3d printer (page 2, lines 66-67). Yao discloses that, the level sensor 7 detects the level of the material in the receiving cylinder 6 (page 3, line 175). Thus, at least the level sensor in the teachings of Yao discloses that, an sensor (7) in communication with the control software and attached to the extruder head (2) in a first position adjacent to the nozzle (6) and at a first height equal to or greater than the height at which the nozzle (6) is located (as shown in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Wei to have the thermoplastic material granule-based three-dimensional printing equipment as Yao teaches that it is known to have the level sensor for positioning of granule. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 17, Wei discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1 or 2, a collection and routing device (e.g., including items 16, 113, 26 in Fig. 1 or 2 ()) for the outflow of the granules from at least one container (10), from the outlet of the passage (27) (e.g., the outlet of the items 15 and 111) to a location situated on an area different from the printing surface (28) (as shown in Fig. 1 or 2).
Regarding claims 19, 20, Wei does not disclose a number of movable attachment means of the extrusion head to the movable carriage and the movable attachment means may have at least two pull latches or two lever locks.
Singov discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 12B, a pourer movement assembly 116 to move the fork assembly 5, holding a pourer 10 (i.e., one of 10.1, 10.2, 10.3 and 10.4) ([0052]). Here, the fork assembly 5 is considered as the movable attachment means.
Singov discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 11B, 12B, similar to the case of printer 8, when pourer 10 is on fork assembly 105, it is rests on fork 106 (another embodiment) ([0064], lines 1-3 from bottom). Here, the two forks 106 is considered to play at least a function of two lever locks.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Wei to have the thermoplastic material granule-based three-dimensional printing equipment as Singov teaches that it is known to have a number of movable attachment means of the extrusion head to the movable carriage and the movable attachment means may have at least two pull latches or two lever locks. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 21, Wei discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, a number of identifications means of granule containers (10) (e.g., items 17 and 113 in Fig. 1 or 2 (page 2, lines 80-90)) connected to the control software.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wei et al. (CN110014643, English translation provided), Yao et al. (CN205086362, English translation provided), Leavitt et al. (US 2023/0028236), and Singov (US 2019/0329503) as applied to claim 14 above, further in view of Hellestam (US 11,925,981).
Regarding claim 15, the combination does not explicitly disclose the level sensor is an infrared sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Hellestam discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, in some embodiments, the sensing device 150 may include an imaging device, such as a camera or the like (col. 10, lines 3-4). For example, the sensing device 16=50 may be configured to obtain information in the infrared (IR) spectrum (col. 10, lines 15-19).
It would have been obvious to use the method of the combination to have the thermoplastic material granule-based three-dimensional printing equipment including the level sensor as Hellestam teaches that it is known to have the level sensor is an infrared sensor. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wei et al. (CN110014643, English translation provided), Yao et al. (CN205086362, English translation provided), Leavitt et al. (US 2023/0028236), and Singov (US 2019/0329503) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kim et al. (KR101769144, English translation provided).
Regarding claim 18, Yao in the combination discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1 or 3, the driving module 5 in this embodiment can be directly driven by a motor, or the motor can be indirectly driven by a belt (i.e., a number of pulleys may be included) (page 4, lines 204-205).
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose that, a gap exists between the axis of the first motor and the extruder screw which are in parallel.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Kim discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 6, the gear 471 mounted on the shaft 261 and the gear 273 mounted on the screw driving unit 470 (e.g., a motor) are engaged with each other. Thus, Kim discloses that, the gap between the axis of the first motor and the extruder screw is used to apply the transmission gear(s).
It would have been obvious to use the method of the combination to have the thermoplastic material granule-based three-dimensional printing equipment including the driven belt comprising a number of pulleys as Kim teaches that it is known to have the gap between the axis of the first motor and the extruder screw is used to apply the transmission unit. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8, 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
For claim 2, the base reference Wei does not disclose that, the movable attachment means on each container (10) comprise a connection part (17) to the corresponding engagement area (12) on the supporting base (11), having a first coupling area (18) to the container (10) with a hollow frustoconical shape with a cross-section that increases with height, having an upper opening (18.1) which has connection means to the lower end of the container (10) and a lower opening (18.2) whose diameter is equal to or greater than that of the first hole (13) and,a second area (19) liable to being assembled in the engagement area (12) of the supporting base (11), which is connected with the first coupling area (18) such that, in an assembled position, the lower opening (18.1) thereof is located in register and centered relative to the first outlet hole (13) of the supporting base (11).
The other references recited fail to disclose these features as well.
Claims 3-4 depending on claim 2 are allowable as well.
For claim 5, the base reference Wei does not disclose that, the conveyor screw (14) comprises a double-helix thread and is fitted in a passage (27) between the first hole (13) and the second hole (15), its length being such that the thread of both helixes is aligned with the inlet opening to the passage (27).
The other references recited fail to disclose these features as well.
For claim 8, the base reference Wei does not disclose that, the movement means of the inductive sensor (7) are formed by a rotating device with an axis such that it allows for the tilting of the inductive sensor (7) therearound.
The other references recited fail to disclose these features as well.
For claims 10, 11, 12, 13, the base reference Wei does not disclose that, the movable connection means between the filling reservoir (5) and the extruder head (2) are formed by one or more magnets and, by a sheet material with magnetic properties, respectively arranged in one of the coupling areas therebetween; the movable connection means between the filling reservoir (5) and the extruder head (2) are formed by one or more pull springs arranged between the coupling areas therebetween; the movable connection means comprise a tilting axis (30) of the filling reservoir (5); and the movable connection means comprise a number of sliding guides of the filling reservoir (5), liable to allowing for the relative movement of the filling reservoir (5) with respect to the extruder head (2).
The other references recited fail to disclose these features as well.
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741