DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/11/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: please amend “the electrodes” to – the plurality of electrodes--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (WO2012018777A1), and in view of Ebejer et al. (US20190336976A1) and Rynel (US20210363032A1) . Lei is provided in IDS filed on 3/11/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Lei teaches an electrochemical sensing device for quantifying an analyte in a liquid sample (a non-enzymatic glucose sensor for quantifying glucose in an aqueous test sample [e.g., blood or plasma] [claim 1, Figs. 6 and 14; Ln 11-30 on pg. 12]), the device comprising:
a substrate (the test strip comprises a support material including paper, nylon, plastic or filter [Ln 23-27 on pg. 12]);
a plurality of electrodes disposed on the substrate (the test strip comprises a counter electrode, a reference electrode and a working electrode [Ln 15-22 on pg. 12]), one of the plurality of electrodes being functionalized with a catalyst, the catalyst comprising an inorganic compound (the working electrode having a coating comprising a metal oxide nanomaterial [Ln 15-18 on pg. 12]; the metal oxide nanomaterial/nanofiber comprises Co3O4, NiO, CuO or a mixture thereof [claims 1-2]); and
a hydrophilic channel disposed on the substrate configured to receive the liquid sample and direct the liquid sample to the electrodes (the test strip comprises a support material which is capable of conveying an aqueous test sample from a first point on the material [a sample application point] to the non-enzymatic glucose sensor at a second point on the material. The supporting materials include paper, wicking membranes such as cellulose membranes, nitrocellulose membrane [Ln 23-30 on pg. 12]).
Lei further teaches as the oxidation (anodic) peak current at ca. +0.59 V increases significantly with the increase of glucose concentration, an applied potential of +0.59 V (peak potential of peak III) was applied to conduct non-enzymatic amperometric detection of glucose in 0.1 M NaOH solution. As shown in Fig. 5B, the non-enzymatic glucose sensor exhibited a rapid (reaching 95% of steady-state current in less than 7 s) and sensitive response to the addition of glucose. The indicated concentration in Fig. 5B has considered the dilution effect. The slight baseline drift was observed after multiple injections of glucose, which may be attributed to small variation of local pH, the faster glucose consumption than its diffusion, or the adsorption of intermediates on the active sites [Ln 7-15 on pg. 17].
Lei is silent to: a pH control system disposed adjacent the plurality of electrodes configured to control an acidity or basicity of at least a region around the functionalized electrode; the pH control system comprising a pH sensing electrode and an active pH control electrode; an alkaline source stored on the device; and wherein the active pH control electrode is configured to function as a controlled release valve for the alkaline source stored on the device.
Ebejer teaches a pH control device for analyte detection, wherein the device comprises a substrate, on which is defined a flow path adapted to receive a liquid, and a set of electrodes, which includes a pH sensing electrode (pH sensing electrodes 523 and 524 in Fig.5 [para. 0046-0047 and abstract]) and pH generation electrodes (pH generation WE 521 and CE 522 in Fig.5 [para. 0046-0047 and abstract]) arranged along the flow path adjacent the detection electrode 525 and the reference electrode 526 in order to ensure the liquid analyte is subjection to the desired pH change prior to detection. This can allow accurate analyzation of the liquid analyte and a specific pH or pH range [para. 0047, 0058, Fig.5]. The detection electrode 525 is connected to the controller 541, such that the controller 541 receives signals obtained via the detection electrode 525 and the reference electrode 526, so as to detect chemical species. This way, a sensor is achieved, which is, by design, not restricted by the availability of (bio-)chemical agents, and may advantageously be used for sensing outcomes of pH-dependent chemical reactions, in an autonomous device [para. 0059].
Given the teachings of Lei regarding baseline drift attributed to small variation of local pH, and the teachings of Ebejer regarding a pH control system disposed adjacent the plurality of electrodes configured to control an acidity or basicity of at least a region around the functionalized electrode (corresponding to the detection electrode in Ebejer) in order to ensure the liquid analyte is subjection to the desired pH change prior to detection, wherein the pH control system comprising a pH sensing electrode and an active pH control electrode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in Lei to provide a pH control system disposed adjacent the plurality of electrodes configured to control an acidity or basicity of at least a region around the functionalized electrode, wherein the pH control system comprising a pH sensing electrode and an active pH control electrode, as taught by Ebejer and motivated by Lei, since it would ensure the liquid analyte is subjection to the desired pH change prior to detection and allow accurate analyzation of the liquid analyte at the desired pH [para. 0047 in Ebejer].
Ebejer further teaches wherein the active pH control electrode is configured to modify the pH based on a set-point and a pH value reported by the first pH sensing electrode 523 and/or second pH sensing electrode 524 based on chemical reactions [para. 0050-0055].
Modified Lei is silent to an alkaline source stored on the device, wherein the active pH control electrode is configured to function as a controlled release valve for the alkaline source stored on the device.
Rynel teaches a pH control system for controlling pH in an electrolyzer 104 comprising a metal hydroxide 116 (e.g., sodium hydroxide (NaOH)) fed through a flow control valve 118 to control the pH in the fluid mixture in the electrolyzer 104 at a specified value. The desired set-point value for pH may be, for instance, user-input (e.g., via a control system) to the pH indicator controller (pHIC) 120. The pHIC 120 may indicate the pH as measured by a pH sensing element 122. The sensing element 122 may be, for example, a pH probe extending into the fluid mixture. Based on the measured pH value, the pH IC 120 may direct the flow control valve 118 to adjust valve position (e.g., percent open) to maintain the pH in the electrolyzer 104 at set point [para. 0024-0025]. Thus, Rynel teaches an alkaline source (metal hydroxide 116) stored on the device, wherein the active pH control electrode is configured to function as a controlled release valve for the alkaline source stored on the device to adjust the valve position based on the measure pH value in order to control pH of the fluid mixture in the electrolyzer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pH control system in modified Lei to provide an alkaline source stored on the device, and further modify the active pH control electrode configured to function as a controlled release valve for the alkaline source stored on the device to adjust the valve position based on the measured pH value from the pH sensing electrode to control pH value, as taught by Rynel, since Rynel teaches another suitable alternative way to control pH [para. 0024-0025].
Regarding claim 2, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 1, and Lei teaches wherein the inorganic compound comprises a metal oxide including one or more of copper oxide, cobalt oxide, nickel oxide, or zinc oxide (wherein the metal oxide nanofibers comprise C03O4, NiO, CuO, or a mixture thereof [claim 2]; wherein the metal oxide nanofibers comprise two or more metal oxides selected from the group consisting of Co304; NiO, CuO, ZnO, Sn02, Ce02, Mn02, Ru02, and CdO [claim 3]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 1, and Lei teaches wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises at least a working electrode, a counter electrode and a reference electrode (the test strip comprises a counter electrode, a reference electrode and a working electrode [Ln 15-22 on pg. 12]), and Ebejer teaches wherein the pH control system is disposed adjacent the working electrode (Fig.5 shows the active pH control electrode and pH sensing electrode of the pH control system is disposed adjacent the detection electrode 525 which corresponds to the working electrode in Lei).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 1, and Ebejer teaches wherein the pH sensing electrode comprises an ion selective sensing device arranged to enable an electronic reading of a pH value to be measured (the two pH sensing electrodes 523 and 524 are able to sense a pH that is relevant to the location at which detection occurs. The signals obtained from the two pH sensing electrodes 523, 524 may be used for verification or correction purposes at the controller. The two pH values obtained via the sensing electrodes 523, 524 may also be used to extrapolate the pH profile of the liquid along the flow path 528. In variants, the two pH sensing electrodes 523, 524 may be sensitive to different pH ranges [para. 0060-0061 in Ebejer]. Thus the disclosed pH sensing electrode comprises an ion selective sensing device arranged to enable an electronic reading of a pH value to be measured).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 1, and Ebejer teaches wherein the pH control system is configured to communicate with and controlled by an electronic reader (controller 541 [para. 0062]) implementing a predetermined pH calibration algorithm (The signals obtained from the two pH sensing electrodes 523, 524 may be used for verification or correction purposes at the controller. The two pH values obtained via the sensing electrodes 523, 524 may also be used to extrapolate the pH profile of the liquid along the flow path 528 [para. 0060-0061 in Ebejer]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 1, and Lei further teaches the non-enzymatic glucose sensor can be incorporated into a glucose detection apparatus (e.g. glucose meter, potentiostat) [Ln 3-5 pm Pg. 12]. Thus, the plurality of electrodes must be connected with an electronic reader such as glucose meter or potentiostat in order to perform the electrochemical measurements.
Lei does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of electrodes extends into an electrical connection pad configured to interface with an electronic reader.
Ebejer teaches all electrodes including the pH sensing electrode(s), active pH control electrode, and working/detection and reference electrodes extend into an electrical connection pad configured to interface with an electronic reader (controller 541), as shown in Fig.5. Fig.1 also shows an electrical connection pad (electrical connectors 14 located at an edge of the device and the electrical connectors 14 can be configured as flat contact pads. Contact pads can be standardized for better electrical interfacing with standardized peripheral equipment [para. 0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device such that each of the plurality of electrodes extending into an electrical connection pad configured to interface with the electronic reader, as taught by Ebejer, since it would provide better electrical interfacing with peripheral equipment (corresponding to the electronic reader) [para. 0032 in Ebejer].
Regarding claim 7, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 1, and Lei teaches wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises at least a working electrode, a counter electrode and a reference electrode (the test strip comprises a counter electrode, a reference electrode and a working electrode [Ln 15-22 on pg. 12]), wherein the plurality of electrodes is arranged such that, upon applying an electrical potential between the working electrode and the reference electrode, a current is measured via the counter electrode (All experiments were conducted using a three-electrode electrochemical cell with a working electrode, an Ag/ AgCl reference electrode, and a platinum disc counter electrode. For amperometric detection, all measurements were performed by applying an appropriate potential to the working electrode and allowing the transient background current to decay to a steady-state value, before the addition of the analyte [Ln 11-16 on Pg. 21]. Thus, the three-electrode electrochemical cell is configured to perform the claimed function).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 7, and Lei teaches wherein the functionalized electrode is the working electrode and the catalyst is deposited thereon ( a working electrode having a coating, wherein the coating comprises a metal oxide nanomaterial [Ln 16-17 on Pg. 12; claims 1-3]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 8, and Lei teaches wherein the hydrophilic channel is formed of paper (the test strip comprises a support material which is capable of conveying an aqueous test sample from a first point on the material [a sample application point] to the non-enzymatic glucose sensor at a second point on the material. The supporting materials include paper [Ln 23-30 on pg. 12]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, Ebejer and Rynel, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Whitesides et al. (US20140234881A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 8, and is silent to wherein the hydrophilic channel is formed of dry film photoresist.
Whitesides teaches lateral flow and flow-through bioassay devices includes a porous, hydrophilic medium; a fluid impervious barrier comprising polymerized photoresist, the barrier substantially permeating the thickness of the porous, hydrophilic medium and defining a boundary of an assay region within the porous, hydrophilic medium (abstract). The porous, hydrophilic medium comprises one of nitrocellulose acetate, cellulose acetate, cellulosic paper, filter paper, tissue paper, writing paper, paper towel, cloth, and porous polymer film [para. 0011, 0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydrophilic channel in modified Lei to be formed of dry film photoresist, as taught by Whitesides, since it would define a boundary of an assay region within the porous, hydrophilic medium [para. 0008 in Whitesides ] such that the channel would convey the aqueous test sample from the sample application point to the second point of the non-enzymatic glucose sensor (Ln 23-30 on Pg. 12 in Lei).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, Ebejer and Rynel, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US20180125400A1). Yang is provided in IDS filed on 3/11/2025.
Regarding claim 11, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 8, and is silent to wherein the hydrophilic channel is formed with a surface micropattern configured to facilitate diffusion of the liquid sample.
Yang teaches a glucose measuring device including a substrate, a cover plate, an electrode assembly, and a reactive unit. The substrate has a first and second surfaces opposite to each other, and a flow channel located at the first surface (abstract). To increase flow distance and flow time of the sample in the flow channel 101 to increase the heating time of the sample, separator 116 may be disposed on the sidewalls of the flow channel 101 as shown in FIG. 3. The separator 116 may be formed integrally with the flow channel 101, or additionally disposed on the sidewalls of the flow channel 101 [para. 0047]. The separators 116 shown in Fig.3 are deemed as a surface pattern configured to facilitate diffusion of the liquid sample since it increases flow distance and flow time of the sample in the flow channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydrophilic channel in modified Lei to provide a surface micropattern in the channel, as taught by Yang, since it would increase flow distance and flow time of the sample in the channel prior to reach the measuring region [para. 0038, 0047 in Yang]. Since the surface micropattern increases flow distance and flow time of the sample in the flow channel prior to reach the measuring region, it is configured to facilitate diffusion of the liquid sample.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, Ebejer and Rynel, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sankhala et al. (US20220160265A1). Sankhala is provided in IDS filed on 3/11/2025.
Regarding claim 12, modified Lei teaches the device of claim 1, and is silent to wherein the substrate comprises a printed circuit board.
Sankhala teaches an affinity-based sensor configured to bind to a particular biomarker within a body fluid sample and generate the electrical signal based on binding to the particular biomarker (abstract). Fig.16 shows the sensor device comprising a substrate 110, a plurality of electrodes including a working electrode (WE) 120, a reference electrode (RE) 130, and a counter electrode (CE) 140 disposed on the substrate 110. The substrate may include material such as printed circuit boards (PCB). In some embodiments, the substrate may comprise test strips for aiding lateral transport of a sample fluid to electrodes on the sensing device. [para. 0152-0155].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate in modified Lei to a substrate comprising a PCB, as taught by Sankhala, since Sankhala teaches a substrate comprising PCB as a suitable alternative substrate for a biosensor to support the plurality of electrodes [para. 0152-0155].
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Timmons et al. (US20230064737A1) teaches a pH control system configured to adjust pH bleeding valve 128 to produce the target pH of the aqueous solution based on the pH value measured by pH sensor 126 [para. 0022, 0024]. Shin et al. (US20220018806A1) teaches closed-loop pH control with different sensor. Johnson et al. (US20200363371A1) teaches electronic control of the pH of a solution close to an electrode surface. Ham et al. (US20240280535A1) teaches local sensing and control of pH. Strakosas et al. (US20200400605A1) teaches a non-enzymatic sensor includes a substrate; a sensor contact disposed on the substrate; and a pH modifying contact disposed on the substrate proximate the sensor contact.
/SHIZHI QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795