DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the rotational position adjuster section" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the longitudinal distance adjuster" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the control unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the control unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Humpert et al (DE 102021101412).
Regarding claim 1, Humpert discloses a sorting machine (see Fig. 1; elements 1 and 4) for adjusting a light and camera to create a proper image of industrial parts, comprising: a dynamic vision system comprising a lightbox (see Fig. 2), wherein the lightbox is configured to provide dynamic lighting (element 27) and imaging (elements 19 and 20) and perform an accurate industrial part sorting (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Humpert discloses the lightbox comprises an imaging unit (elements 19 and 20) and a lighting unit (elements 27).
Regarding claim 4, Humpert discloses the imaging unit comprises a camera (elements 19 and 20, a camera movement unit (elements 12), and a dynamic camera stand (element 18).
Regarding claim 5, Humpert discloses the dynamic camera stand is configured to enable the camera to change an angle and movement in a longitudinal, transverse, and vertical directions (elements 12).
Regarding claim 6, Humpert discloses the dynamic camera stand comprises a rotational position adjuster section, an angle adjuster section, and a longitudinal distance adjuster section (elements 12 adjust position and distance and paragraph 0019 discloses angle ranges for the cameras).
Regarding claim 7, Humpert discloses the lighting unit comprises an optical section, a linear motion adjuster section, and a light angle adjuster section (elements 12; where the position of elements may be adjusted to a desired positioned to produce the best lighting)
Regarding claim 8, Humpert discloses a sorting machine (see Fig. 1; elements 1 and 4) for adjusting a light and camera to create a proper image of industrial parts, comprising: a dynamic lightbox system (element 18) comprising a lighting unit (element 27) and an imaging unit (elements 19 and 20), wherein the lighting unit comprises an optical section (elements 27), a linear motion adjuster section (elements 12), and a light angle adjuster section (elements 12), and the imaging unit comprises a camera (elements 19 and 20), a camera movement unit (elements 12), and a dynamic camera stand (element 18).
Regarding claim 10, Humpert discloses an application wherein the application is configured to report industrial parts information, manage product production, and manage industrial parts sorting (paragraph 0052 parameters of sorting have relevance to bulk materials that correspond to important feedback to the producers).
Regarding claim 11, Humpert discloses the dynamic camera stand comprises a rotational position adjuster section, an angle adjuster section, and a longitudinal distance adjuster section (elements 12 adjust position and distance and paragraph 0019 discloses angle ranges for the cameras).
Regarding claim 12, Humpert discloses the optical section comprises one or more flat optical plates, the flat optical plates are configured to create a uniform lighting (see Fig. 2; elements 27).
Regarding claim 13, Humpert discloses the linear motion adjuster section is configured to adjust the distance changes in the longitudinal and transverse directions (see Fig. 2; elements 12 change position in relation to elements 18 and 15).
Regarding claim 14, Humpert discloses the light angle adjuster section is configured to adjust a rotation angle of the optical section (see Fig. 2; elements 12).
Regarding claim 15, Humpert discloses the camera movement unit comprises at least one electric motor (paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 16, Humpert discloses the rotational position adjuster section comprises a rotating plate, the rotating plate is configured to perform a 360- degree horizontal imaging utilizing the camera movement unit (element 15).
Regarding claim 19, Humpert discloses the lightbox and the control unit comprise an independent frame base to reduce vibrations (see Fig. 1; elements 4 and 5 are independent of each other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Humpert in view of Design Choice.
Regarding claim 17, Humpert discloses the light angle adjuster section comprises a camera arm (see Fig. 2; attachment between elements 18 and 12), the camera arm is configured to enable the camera to perform an angle of 25 to 160 degrees of vertical rotation utilizing the camera movement unit (paragraph 0019). Humpert does not explicitly disclose 180 degrees of vertical rotation utilizing the camera movement unit. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to adjusting the camera angle because Applicant has not disclosed that a specific angle provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Humpert, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either angle adjustment because both angle adjustment would perform the same function of adjusting the camera for the purpose of adjusting the camera angle to obtain a complete image of an item.
Regarding claim 18, Humpert does not explicitly disclose the longitudinal distance adjuster section comprises at least five steps, the steps are configured to enable the camera to be positioned in different places of the dynamic camera stand to create an optimal image. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have multiple positions of adjustment because Applicant has not disclosed that the number of camera positions provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Humpert, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either number of camera positions because both camera angle adjustments would perform the same function of adjusting the camera for the purpose of adjusting the camera angle to obtain a complete image of an item.
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Humpert in view of Otsuka (USP 8,733,553 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Humpert discloses a first unit configured to prepare industrial parts for processing (element 2); a control unit configured to control a sorting machine's performance and perform an analysis on industrial materials (element 5); a second unit configured to transfer industrial parts in the sorting machine (element 15), but Humpert does not disclose a third unit configured to print information on industrial parts. Otsuka teaches a third unit configured to print information on industrial parts (col. 5, lines 41-48, 64+ and col. 5, lines 1-2) for the purpose of labeling a sorted package for shipping. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Humpert, as taught by Otsuka, for the purpose of labeling a sorted package for shipping.
Regarding claim 9, Humpert discloses a washing box, wherein the washing box is configured to prepare industrial parts for processing (paragraph 0029); a control unit configured to control a sorting machine's performance and perform an analysis on industrial materials (element 5); a transferring unit configured to transfer industrial parts in the sorting machine (element 15), but Humpert does not disclose a printing unit comprising a printer and a sensor unit. Otsuka teaches a printing unit comprising a printer and a sensor unit (col. 5, lines 41-48, 64+ and col. 5, lines 1-2) for the purpose of labeling a sorted package for shipping. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Humpert, as taught by Otsuka, for the purpose of labeling a sorted package for shipping.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Humpert in view of Qureshi et al (US Pub 2018/0246549 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Humpert does not disclose the claim limitations. Qureshi teaches a cooling unit is installed next to the control unit to prevent an excess heat production (paragraphs 0016) for the purpose of maintaining a desired thermal level of operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Humpert, as taught by Qureshi, for the purpose of maintaining a desired thermal level of operation.
Conclusion
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653