DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
2. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
3. Examiner notes that Applicants have used the phrase “and/or” in claim(s) 4, and 6. The Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) has held that use of the phrase “and/or” within a claim is not indefinite. According to the PTAB, “and/or” is not wrong, but it’s not preferred verbiage (see Ex Parte Gross, Appeal No. 2011-004811).
4. Nevertheless, during patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification (see MPEP § 2111; Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005)). Based upon this guidance from the MPEP and the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals, the Examiner interprets the phrase “and/or” under its broadest reasonable interpretation of “or” for purposes of examination of the instant Application.
Specification
5. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
6. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
7. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
8. The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
9. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is more than 150 words and the abstract does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
11. Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “for each of the successive recording time intervals a or at least one corresponding charging position” should read “for each of the successive recording time intervals or at least one corresponding charging position”.
12. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, and 10-13
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He et al. (US-20190187714-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, He discloses a method for operating an autonomous robot within an operating area (See at least Figs. 1-2, 5A-5C, and [0103 & 0168]: an automatic working system 100 provides energy required for its work and includes a self-moving device [i.e., an autonomous robot], and the self-moving device moves and works in a working area defined by a boundary 200 [i.e., an operating area]. The self-moving device is an automatic mower 1. A method of replenishing the automatic mower [i.e., a method for operating] with electric energy is described),
the robot comprising (i) an electrically driven tool, (ii) an electric motion drive for moving the robot, (iii) a photoelectric device for converting energy from illuminating light, into electric energy, and (iv) an energy storage for storing electric energy charged by the photoelectric device and for supplying the tool and the motion drive with electric energy (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0104-0105]: the automatic mower 1 [i.e., the robot] includes a housing 3, a moving module [i.e., (ii) an electric motion drive for moving the robot], a cutting module [i.e., (i) an electrically driven tool], an energy module, a control module, and the like. The energy module includes a charging apparatus. The charging apparatus includes a charging panel 9, disposes at top of the body of the automatic mower 1. The charging apparatus includes several photoelectric conversion units 11 [i.e., (iii) a photoelectric device for converting energy from illuminating light, into electric energy], disposed on the charging panel 9. The energy module further includes an energy storage unit [i.e., (iv) an energy storage for storing electric energy charged by the photoelectric device], storing the electric energy obtained by conversion by the photoelectric conversion unit 11. Specifically, the energy storage unit is a battery pack. The battery pack supplies power to the automatic mower 1 [i.e., for supplying the tool and the motion drive with electric energy]),
the method comprising the steps of
a) the robot working, in a working mode, within at least one working area within the operating area according to a working navigational routine (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0040 & 0103]: the working plan [i.e., a working navigational routine] comprises enabling the self-moving device to enter a working mode [i.e., in a working mode], and in the working mode, the control module controls the self-moving device to move and work. The self-moving device moves and works in a working area defined by a boundary 200 [i.e., within at least one working area within the operating area]),
b) monitoring the intensity of the illuminating light, while the robot is working in the working mode, during successive recording cycles, wherein each recording cycle comprises a number of successive recording time intervals (See at least [0184 & 0189]: before the automatic mower starts working, an illumination map of the working area is established. The control module receives positioning information at one or more locations of the automatic mower when the automatic mower moves in the working area, receives illumination intensity information [i.e., monitoring the intensity of the illuminating light] at one or more locations of the automatic mower when the automatic mower moves in the working area [i.e., while the robot is working in the working mode], and generates an illumination map of the working area based on the received positioning information and illumination intensity information. The illumination map is updated at intervals [i.e., during successive recording cycles, wherein each re-cording cycle comprises a number of successive recording time intervals], or the map is updated in real time in a process in which the automatic mower moves and works, to obtain a more accurate time-based illumination map),
c) recording, during each recording cycle, for each of the successive recording time intervals a or at least one corresponding charging position, where a maximum or high intensity of the illuminating light was monitored during this recording time interval, in at least one data storage or look-up table (See at least [0179 & 0186]: the illumination map is constructed to be a dynamic map that changes with time. In this way, when the automatic mower moves and works, the automatic mower first determines a time period to which a current moment belongs in one day, and then determines a relationship between a location in the working area and illumination intensity in the current time period, so that the automatic mower more accurately determines an illumination intensity level at a current location. This is also beneficial to quickly finding, by the automatic mower, a location at which illumination intensity is high in the working area [i.e., where a maximum or high intensity of the illuminating light was monitored during this recording time interval]. The automatic mower includes a storage unit [i.e., in at least one data storage or look-up table], configured to store a season model parameter, and the season model parameter includes illumination condition information of different regions and different time periods; and the control module receives a geographic location and date information, and obtains the season model parameter based on the received geographic location and date information, so as to determine illumination condition information of the working area in a current time period),
d) during the working mode, monitoring the charging status of the energy storage and checking whether, due to a low charging status, recharging of the energy storage is required (See at least [0169]: the voltage of the battery pack is used as a parameter for measuring an energy storage state of the battery pack [i.e., monitoring the charging status of the energy storage]. Measuring the energy storage state of the battery pack is used to determine whether the automatic mower needs to be charged [i.e., checking whether, due to a low charging status, recharging of the energy storage is required]),
e) if recharging is required, providing or retrieving the actual time of the day and retrieving a corresponding recording time interval of a previous recording cycle, which recording time interval comprises a time of the day, which corresponds to the actual time of the day, and retrieving from the storage or look-up table the charging position recorded in the corresponding recording time interval of the previous recording cycle (See at least [0173 & 0179 & 0186]: the illumination condition information of the working area further includes time period information in one day. The automatic mower includes a clock module, configured to output a current moment [i.e., providing or retrieving the actual time of the day]. The control module formulates or adjusts a working plan based on time period information of the current moment. The automatic mower is controlled to work in the nighttime, or a working plan of the automatic mower at midday is adjusted, and so on. The automatic mower includes a storage unit, configured to store a season model parameter, and the season model parameter includes illumination condition information of different regions and different time periods. The control module receives a geographic location and date information, and obtains the season model parameter [i.e., retrieving a corresponding recording time interval of a previous recording cycle and retrieving from the storage or look-up table] based on the received geographic location and date information [i.e., the charging position recorded in the corresponding recording time interval of the previous recording cycle], so as to determine illumination condition information of the working area in a current time period. When the automatic mower moves and works, the automatic mower first determines a time period to which a current moment belongs in one day, and then determines a relationship between a location in the working area and illumination intensity in the current time period, so that the automatic mower more accurately determines an illumination intensity level at a current location. This is also beneficial to quickly finding, by the automatic mower, a location at which illumination intensity is high in the working area. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the storage unit stores the season model parameter includes illumination condition information of different regions and different time periods. As such the store parameters include the charging position recorded in the corresponding recording time interval of the previous recording cycle),
f) the robot moving to this retrieved charging position for recharging in a charging mode (See at least [0187]: the automatic mower includes a charging mode [i.e., a charging mode], and when the automatic mower enters the charging mode, the control module controls the automatic mower to move, based on the illumination map, to a location [i.e., the robot moving to this retrieved charging position] at which illumination intensity satisfies a preset level to be replenished with electric energy [i.e., for recharging]).
In regard to claim 2
, He discloses the method according to claim 1,
a) wherein in each recording time interval a plurality of detection steps is performed at respective detection times and, in each detection step, the intensity of the illuminating light is detected at the respective detection time (See at least [0186-0189]: the illumination map includes a time dimension. Specifically, the control module records a time period in which the positioning information and the corresponding illumination intensity information are received, to generate a time-based illumination map. The illumination map is updated at intervals [i.e., wherein in each recording time interval], or the map is updated in real time in a process in which the automatic mower moves and works, to obtain a more accurate time-based illumination map [i.e., the intensity of the illuminating light is detected]. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the illumination map includes a time dimension. That is, the illumination map includes the respective detection time),
b) wherein the maximum intensity of the illuminating light of all of these detected intensities of illuminating light at all of these detection times within this recording time interval is determined and the position at which this maximum intensity of the illuminating light was detected is stored in the storage or look-up table as a charging position for this recording time interval (See at least [0044 & 0175 & 0186]: the self-moving device comprises a storage unit [i.e., the storage or look-up table], configured to store a season model parameter, and the season model parameter comprises illumination condition information of different regions and different time periods; and the control module receives a geographic location and date information, and obtains the season model parameter based on the received geographic location and date information, so as to determine illumination condition information of the working area in a current time period [i.e., detected intensities of illuminating light at all of these detection times within this recording time interval is determined]. The illumination intensity at 15:00 pm is necessarily greater than a specific value, for example, is greater than 5 (lux), and is greater than an illumination intensity threshold corresponding to a time period that is determined to be nighttime. The control module directly determines, based on a relationship between a time period to which a current moment belongs and a preset time period, a relationship between current illumination intensity and a preset illumination intensity threshold, to match a working plan of the automatic mower with illumination intensity. The illumination map includes a time dimension. Specifically, the control module records a time period in which the positioning information and the corresponding illumination intensity information are received, to generate a time-based illumination map. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the self-moving robot, detects the illumination intensity at different position and updates the map to store the intensity, the time and the position that the illumination intensity was detected. That includes the position where the illumination intensity is the maximum intensity of the illuminating light of all of these detected intensities of illuminating light at all of these detection times within this recording time interval. Accordingly, He discloses the maximum intensity of the illuminating light of all of these detected intensities of illuminating light at all of these detection times within this recording time interval is determined and the position at which this maximum intensity of the illuminating light was detected is stored in the storage or look-up table as a charging position for this recording time interval).
In regard to claim 4
, He discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the detection times follow each other at a constant or at least partially variable detection time interval (See at least [0189]: the illumination map is updated at intervals [i.e., a constant or at least partially variable detection time interval], or the map is updated in real time in a process in which the automatic mower moves and works, to obtain a more accurate time-based illumination map. Examiner notes, a time interval is the amount time that passes between two specific point in time. When the time intervals have the same time length, then the intervals are constant and otherwise the intervals are variable. Accordingly, He teaches the detection times follow each other at a constant or at least partially variable detection time interval) and/or
wherein the number of detection times or detection steps within one recording time interval is above 10, and in particular below 5000 and/or wherein the duration of a detection time interval is typically between 1 ms and 10 s.
In regard to claim 6
, He discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the times or hours of the day are determined according to the 24 hour UTC time standard and/or using a clock signal (See at least [0037 & 0148]: the self-moving device comprises a clock module, configured to output a current moment. The control module determines whether it is daytime [i.e., the times or hours of the day] or whether it is in the sunshine duration range currently by using a clock module [i.e., using a clock signal])
or
wherein the output of the photoelectric device is used to determine the time of day by comparing the illumination intensity derived from the output with expected illumination intensities and/or by considering the course of illumination intensity at least at sunrise and sunset and determining the calendar date and the time of day.
In regard to claim 7
, He discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein monitoring or detecting the intensity of the illuminating light is performed by monitoring the output value of the photoelectric device or of a light sensor of the robot over time (See at least [0184]: the illumination intensity information [i.e., monitoring or detecting the intensity of the illuminating light] is obtained selectively by an illumination sensor, by estimating an output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit/solar panel [i.e., by monitoring the output value of the photoelectric device or of a light sensor of the robot over time]).
In regard to claim 8
, He discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the position or position coordinates of the robot is or are determined by means of the positioning information or data obtained by a positioning system (See at least [0142]: the automatic mower includes a positioning apparatus. The positioning apparatus includes a satellite signal receiving unit and determines a location thereof according to the satellite signal [i.e., the position or position coordinates of the robot is or are determined by means of the positioning information or data obtained by a positioning system]. Specifically, the positioning apparatus is a GPS module, a DGPS module, a BeiDou positioning module, or a Galileo positioning module).
In regard to claim 10
, He teaches/discloses the method according to claim 1,
wherein when a new maximum illumination or maximum photoelectric value is detected that is larger than the previous maximum value, then the previous maximum value is overwritten or replaced in the storage or look-up table (See at least [0155 & 0189]: information of the location at which an illumination condition is good stored in the storage module [i.e., storage] is continuously updated as the automatic mower moves. The illumination map is updated at intervals [i.e., the previous maximum value is overwritten or replaced in the storage or look-up table], or the map is updated in real time in a process in which the automatic mower moves and works, to obtain a more accurate time-based illumination map. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the illumination map is continuously updated. As such, He discloses when a new maximum illumination or maximum photoelectric value is detected that is larger than the previous maximum value, then the previous maximum value is overwritten or replaced in the storage or look-up table, especially when the current value in the storage unit is updated and replaced by a larger value of illumination intensity).
In regard to claim 11
, He discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a comparison is made of a position (xi, yi) having maximum illumination at a time ti on one day with a position at the same time on the next day and the position with the higher illumination is kept at least for a certain period of time (See at least [0044 & 0175]: the self-moving device comprises a storage unit, configured to store a season model parameter, and the season model parameter comprises illumination condition information of different regions [i.e., a position (xi, yi)] and different time periods [i.e., at a time ti on one day]. The control module receives a geographic location and date information, and obtains the season model parameter based on the received geographic location and date information, so as to determine illumination condition information of the working area in a current time period. The control module formulates or adjusts a working plan of the automatic mower according to a relationship between illumination intensity corresponding to illumination condition information and a preset illumination intensity threshold. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, a season model is used to determine the illumination condition information for a geographic location. The data of the model is collected over time. That is, the data is kept at least for a certain period of time. Furthermore, the self-moving robot has a preset illumination intensity threshold. That is, the self-moving robot stores the position with the higher illumination).
In regard to claim 12
, He discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein as long as the recording time interval has not elapsed, the robot continues to operate in the working mode and to record maximum illumination or maximum photoelectric value(s) and wherein, if the recording time interval has elapsed, then the position(s) or position coordinates, where the maximum illumination or photoelectric value was detected or occurred, typically the most recent temporarily stored maximal output value, is now permanently stored together with the day time at the end or lapse time of this recording time interval in the data storage or look-up table (See at least Fig. 12, and [0102 & 0189 & 0198]: Fig. 12 is a flowchart of construction of an illumination map and charging. The illumination map is updated at intervals, or the map is updated in real time in a process in which the automatic mower moves and works [i.e., wherein as long as the recording time interval has not elapsed, the robot continues to operate in the working mode and to record maximum illumination or maximum photoelectric value(s)], to obtain a more accurate time-based illumination map. When the control module determines that it is currently a time period in which illumination intensity is relatively high, when the control module detects that the voltage of the battery pack is less than or equal to 18.5 V, the automatic mower is controlled to move to a location at which an illumination condition is relatively good [i.e., if the recording time interval has elapsed, then the position(s) or position coordinates, where the maximum illumination or photoelectric value was detected or occurred, typically the most recent temporarily stored maximal output value, is now permanently stored together with the day time at the end or lapse time of this recording time interval in the data storage or look-up table]. Examiner notes, as portrayed by Fig. 12 (reproduced below for Applicant’s convenience), when the device is in working mode, it updates the illumination map and continues its work. The self-moving robot enters the charring mode when the control module determines that it is currently a time period in which illumination intensity is relatively high).
Figure 1 - Fig. 12 of He
In regard to claim 13
, He discloses an autonomous robot system (See at least Figs. 1-2, 5A-5C, and [0103]: an automatic working system 100 [i.e., an autonomous robot system] provides energy required for its work and includes a self-moving device) comprising
a) an autonomous robot within an operating area (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0103]: an automatic working system 100 provides energy required for its work and includes a self-moving device [i.e., an autonomous robot], and the self-moving device moves and works in a working area defined by a boundary 200 [i.e., an operating area]. The self-moving device is an automatic mower 1), the robot comprising
a1) at least one electric tool (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0104]: the automatic mower 1 includes a housing 3, a moving module, a cutting module [i.e., at least one electric tool, an energy module, a control module, and the like),
a2) at least one electric motion drive for moving the robot (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0104]: the automatic mower 1 includes a housing 3, a moving module [i.e., at least one electric motion drive for moving the robot], a cutting module, an energy module, a control module, and the like. The moving module includes a wheel set 5, driven by a driving motor to actuate the automatic mower 1 to move [i.e., for moving the robot]),
a3) at least one photoelectric device for converting energy from illuminating light, in particular sunlight, into electric energy and (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0104-0105]: the automatic mower 1 includes a housing 3, a moving module, a cutting module, an energy module, a control module, and the like. The energy module includes a charging apparatus. The charging apparatus includes a charging panel 9, disposes at top of the body of the automatic mower 1. The charging apparatus includes several photoelectric conversion units 11 [i.e., at least one photoelectric device for converting energy from illuminating light, in particular sunlight, into electric energy], disposed on the charging panel 9)
a4) at least one energy storage for storing electric energy charged by the photoelectric device and for supplying the tool and the motion drive with electric energy (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0104-0105]: the automatic mower 1 includes a housing 3, a moving module, a cutting module, an energy module, a control module, and the like. The energy module includes a charging apparatus. The charging apparatus includes a charging panel 9, disposes at top of the body of the automatic mower 1. The charging apparatus includes several photoelectric conversion units 11, disposed on the charging panel 9. The energy module further includes an energy storage unit [i.e., at least one energy storage for storing electric energy charged by the photoelectric device], storing the electric energy obtained by conversion by the photoelectric conversion unit 11. Specifically, the energy storage unit is a battery pack. The battery pack supplies power to the automatic mower 1 [i.e., for supplying the tool and the motion drive with electric energy]);
b) the system with the robot being configured to carry out a method according to claim 1 (See at least Figs. 1-2, 5A-5C, and [0103 & 0168]: an automatic working system 100 provides energy required for its work and includes a self-moving device [i.e., an autonomous robot], and the self-moving device moves and works in a working area defined by a boundary 200 [i.e., an operating area]. The self-moving device is an automatic mower 1. A method of replenishing the automatic mower [i.e., a method for operating] with electric energy is described. Examiner notes, the automatic working system 100 operates based on the method described by claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claim(s) 3, and 5
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US-20190187714-A1) in view of Shimamura et al. (US-20200347581-A1).
In regard to claim 3
, He discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the maximum intensity of light is determined as the highest intensity value of all of the detected intensity values within the respective recording time interval, by (See at least [0013-0023 & 0127 & 0179 & 0187-0189]: the photoelectric conversion unit has a maximum power point voltage, and the maximum power point voltage is an output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit when a conversion power of the photoelectric conversion unit reaches a maximum [i.e., the maximum intensity of light is determined as the highest intensity value of all of the detected intensity values within the respective recording time interval]. The control module receives positioning information at one or more locations of the self-moving device when the self-moving device moves in the working area, receives illumination intensity information at one or more locations of the self-moving device when the self-moving device moves in the working area, and generates an illumination map of the working area based on the received positioning information and illumination intensity information. The illumination intensity information received by the control module is obtained by estimating an output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit. The control module controls the self-moving device to move, based on the illumination map, to a location at which illumination intensity satisfies a preset level to be replenished with electric energy [i.e., storing the corresponding position at this higher intensity value]. The location at which illumination intensity satisfies a preset level is referred to as a charging point, and several charging points are recorded in the illumination map [i.e., until the last detection step has been performed and the position of the at the end highest intensity value as the maximum intensity of the light is stored as a charging position for this recording time interval]. When the voltage of the battery pack reaches the second threshold voltage, the control module determines that the automatic mower can enter a working state. The second threshold voltage is enabled to be close to the maximum power point voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit. The automatic mower includes a storage unit [i.e., the storage or look-up table], configured to store a season model parameter, and the season model parameter includes illumination condition information of different regions and different time periods and the control module receives a geographic location and date information, and obtains the season model parameter based on the received geographic location and date information, so as to determine illumination condition information of the working area in a current time period. The illumination map is updated at intervals, or the map is updated in real time [i.e., ] in a process in which the automatic mower moves and works, to obtain a more accurate time-based illumination map. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the illumination intensity information is obtained by estimating an output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit. That means, when the output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit reaches its maximum value, increasing the illumination intensity does not increase the maximum output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit. As such, any intensity that causes the output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit reaches its maximum value is the maximum illumination or maximum photoelectric value of the photoelectric device. As described above, the locations at which illumination intensity satisfies a preset level, are recorded in the map. The second threshold is chosen to be close to the maximum power point voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit which means the power consumed by the robot is equal to the charging power or the maximum photoelectric value of the photoelectric device. Furthermore, as described above, the illumination map is updated in intervals or real-time. Updating the map is replacing the predecessor intensity value with the current detected value).
He is silent on comparing the last detected intensity value with the previously detected and typically stored predecessor intensity value and keeping the higher of these two values and storing the corresponding position at this higher intensity value.
However, Shimamura teaches the comparison information obtaining section 630 obtains, as comparison information, the information indicating the illuminance of one or more points located on the trajectory of the lawn mower 210 (See at least [0153]). Accordingly, Shimamura teaches comparing the information indicating the illuminance of one or more points. Comparing the illuminance is used for determining the highest detected illuminance of one or more points.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of He, by incorporating the teachings of Shimamura, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor –autonomous lawn mowers, such that the comparison information obtaining section of Shimamura is added to the self-moving robot of He to compare the illuminance information. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design to only store the highest illuminance intensity value for a position, since Applicant(s) has/have not disclosed that storing the highest value solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with keeping the highest value or keeping all the chronological values of illuminance intensity.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Shimamura, the work intensity increases as the illuminance becomes larger or the sunshine condition becomes better (See at least [0142]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized keeping the robot fully charged by using the illumination map makes the robot to work more intensely and at the same time allows the robot to finish its work without running out of charge.
In regard to claim 5
, He discloses the method according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
While He discloses the illumination map is updated at intervals, or the map is updated in real time (See at least [0189]), He does not explicitly disclose having at least one of the following features:
(i) wherein each of the successive recording time intervals lies between two pre-determined time instants which correspond to different times of a day
(ii) wherein the recording time intervals are between 1 min and 2 h long,
(iii) wherein the recording time intervals are constant or of equal length
(iv) wherein each recording time interval starts at a predefined day time,
(v) wherein each recording cycle is composed of a full day or part of a day, and
(vi) wherein the previous recording cycle is the directly preceding recording cycle.
However, Shimamura teaches a work machine 150 which has a control apparatus 180 including, an illuminance information obtaining section 182 and the control section 184. The illuminance information obtaining section 182 obtains the measurement data output from at least one of the illuminance sensor 162 and the illuminance sensor 164. The comparison information obtaining section 630 obtains, as comparison information, the information indicating the illuminance of one or more points located on the trajectory of the lawn mower 210. The comparison information obtaining section 630 obtains, as comparison information, the information indicating the illuminance measured during a particular period among the illuminance of one or more points located on the trajectory of the lawn mower 210.The particular period is the last predetermined period or is a period from any first time to any second time. The last predetermined period is the last 30 seconds, is the last one minute, is the last five minutes, is the last 10 minutes, is the last 15 minutes, or is the last 30 minutes [i.e., wherein the recording time intervals are between 1 min and 2 h long] (See at least Fig. 1, and [0019 & 0034 & 0153-0154]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of He, by incorporating the teachings of Shimamura, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – autonomous robots, such that the illuminance information obtaining section of Shimamura is added to the self-moving device of He, and utilized to obtain the information indicating the illuminance of one or more points and updates the map every 30 minutes.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Shimamura, the work intensity increases as the illuminance becomes larger or the sunshine condition becomes better (See at least [0142]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized keeping the robot fully charged by using the illumination map makes the robot to work more intensely and at the same time allows the robot to finish its work without running out of charge.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Shimamura in regard to claim 3.
17. Claim(s) 9
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US-20190187714-A1) in view of Douillard et al. (US-20180364717-A1).
In regard to claim 9
, He discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the data storage or look-up table contains a set of N, value pairs times of the day identifying or defining the recording time intervals and, a corresponding maximum illumination position with the positional coordinates xi and yi, wherein at each position (xi, yi) the maximum illumination or maximum photoelectric value of the photoelectric device was recorded during the respective recording time interval wherein the recorded times of day are sorted starting with the earliest day time and ending with the latest day time (See at least [0013-0023 & 0127 & 0179 & 0187]: the photoelectric conversion unit has a maximum power point voltage, and the maximum power point voltage is an output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit when a conversion power of the photoelectric conversion unit reaches a maximum [i.e., the maximum illumination or maximum photoelectric value of the photoelectric device]. The control module receives positioning information at one or more locations of the self-moving device when the self-moving device moves in the working area, receives illumination intensity information at one or more locations of the self-moving device when the self-moving device moves in the working area, and generates an illumination map of the working area based on the received positioning information and illumination intensity information. The illumination intensity information received by the control module is obtained by estimating an output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit. The control module controls the self-moving device to move, based on the illumination map, to a location at which illumination intensity satisfies a preset level to be replenished with electric energy. The location at which illumination intensity satisfies a preset level is referred to as a charging point, and several charging points are recorded in the illumination map. When the voltage of the battery pack reaches the second threshold voltage, the control module determines that the automatic mower can enter a working state. The second threshold voltage is enabled to be close to the maximum power point voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit. The automatic mower includes a storage unit [i.e., the data storage or look-up table], configured to store a season model parameter, and the season model parameter includes illumination condition information [i.e., at each position (xi, yi) the maximum illumination or maximum photoelectric value of the photoelectric device was recorded during the respective recording time interval] of different regions [i.e., a corresponding maximum illumination position with the positional coordinates xi and yi] and different time periods [i.e., times of the day identifying or defining the recording time intervals] and the control module receives a geographic location and date information, and obtains the season model parameter based on the received geographic location and date information, so as to determine illumination condition information of the working area in a current time period. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the illumination intensity information is obtained by estimating an output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit. That means, when the output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit reaches its maximum value, increasing the illumination intensity does not increase the maximum output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit. As such, any intensity that causes the output voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit reaches its maximum value is the maximum illumination or maximum photoelectric value of the photoelectric device. As described above, the locations at which illumination intensity satisfies a preset level, are recorded in the map. The second threshold is chosen to be close to the maximum power point voltage of the photoelectric conversion unit which means the power consumed by the robot is equal to the charging power or the maximum photoelectric value of the photoelectric device. Furthermore, the model receives geographic location and date information and then determines the illumination condition information. That is, the model contains a set of N value pairs).
He is silent on wherein the recorded times of day are sorted starting with the earliest day time and ending with the latest day time.
However, Douillard teaches data includes time as a dimension, so as to sort data associated with different times of capture (See at least [0086]). Accordingly, Douillard teaches sorting data based on data capture time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of He, by incorporating the teachings of Douillard, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – household robot, such that the self-moving robot of He sorts the captured data, or the illumination condition information, based on the data capture time in an ascending order from the earliest day time to the latest day time.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Douillard, to efficiently filter data (See at least [0086]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the robot to quickly access the data for a specific time without the need to search through every available record.
Conclusion
18. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jakobsen et al. (US-10978989-B1) teaches a semi-autonomous mobile solar collecting device for collecting and discharging solar energy.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661