DETAILED ACTION
Status
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for Application No. 19110870 on March 12, 2025. Please note claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11, 13, 14, 19-21, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32-34, 39 and 44 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 6 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20210011325 A1) in view of You et al. (CN 109426387 A, for claim mapping machine translation is used).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh discloses: A touch and display driver integration chip (see Fig. 1, [0017], integrated circuit chip 108), having a first output region (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, top region of the integrated circuit chip 108 in which traces TC1 are output to the display region DR), the first output region comprising a first connection region, a second connection region and a third connection region arranged in sequence along a first direction and in a direction from a right end to a left end of the chip, the first direction being parallel to a length direction of the chip (see Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 2 below, first connection region L1, second connection region L2 and third connection region L3 are arranged in a direction from a right end to a left end of the chip in a direction parallel to a length direction of the chip as illustrated in figure);
the chip comprising a plurality of first connection blocks, arranged in the first output region, wherein the plurality of first connection blocks are arranged in multiple columns, with a column direction intersecting the first direction, an included angle formed by the column direction and the first direction (see annotated Fig. 2 below, connection blocks 7A, 7B and 7C arranged in multiple columns, and column direction intersecting the first direction with and angle),
wherein
the plurality of first connection blocks (see annotated Fig. 2 below, 7A-7C) comprise:
a plurality of first touch connection blocks, divided into two groups that are respectively arranged in the first connection region and the third connection region, wherein the first touch connection blocks are configured to output first touch signals (see annotated Fig. 2 below, [0029], touch signal pads 1102 arranged in first connection region L1 and third connection region L3 used for transmitting a plurality of touch signals to the touch electrodes in the display region DR); and
a plurality of data connection blocks, arranged in the second connection region, wherein the data connection blocks are configured to output data signals required for displaying an image (see Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 2 below, [0029], [0033], discloses plurality of display signal pads 1101 arranged in second connection region L2 for transmitting the a display signal).
While Yeh teaches the an angle formed between the column direction multiple blocks and the first direction (see annotated Fig. 2 below), Yeh does not explicitly teach claimed an included angle formed by the column direction and the first direction being greater than or equal to 600 and less than or equal to 900.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bonding pad arrangement structure in the touch panel display device, You teaches an included angle formed by the column direction and the first direction being greater than or equal to 600 and less than or equal to 900 (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0049], discloses the first pair of sides of the pad is perpendicular to the direction of the straight line extension, and the absolute value of the angle α between the second pair of sides of the pad and the direction of the straight line extension ranges from [00 to 300]. That means angle formed by the pad direction and first direction (Y-axis) is ranges from [600 to 900] as illustrated in annotated fig. 3 of You below).
Therefore, in view of teachings of Yeh and You, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pad arrangement of the touch display device as taught by Yeh with You’s teachings of an included angle formed by the column direction and the first direction being greater than or equal to 600 and less than or equal to 900 as known alternative arrangement of the pads in the touch display device thereby reduce the bottom bezel size of the touch panel and increase the screen-to-body ratio of the
touch display screen (You, [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh in view of You teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yeh further teaches wherein the plurality of first connection blocks are arranged in N rows along the column direction, N ≥ 3 (see annotated Fig. 2 above connection blocks 7A-7C in which connection blocks are arranged in 3 rows along the column direction).
Regarding claim 3, Yeh in view of You teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yeh further teaches wherein the first output region further comprises a fourth connection region and a fifth connection region; and along the first direction, the fourth connection region and the fifth connection region are respectively located at both sides of the second connection region (see annotated Fig. 2 above, fourth connection region L4 and fifth connection region L5); and
the plurality of first connection blocks (see annotated Fig. 2 above, 7A-7C) further comprise:
a plurality of second touch connection blocks, divided into two groups that are respectively arranged in the fourth connection region and the fifth connection region, wherein the second touch connection blocks are configured to output second touch signals (see annotated Fig. 2 above, [0029], touch signal pads 1102 arranged in fourth connection region L4 and fifth connection region L5 used for transmitting a plurality of touch signals to the touch electrodes in the display region DR).
Regarding claim 6, Yeh in view of You teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yeh further teaches wherein the chip further comprises two second output regions respectively located at the left end and the right end of the chip (see annotated Fig. 2 below, second output regions in left and right side of the chip);
the chip further comprises a plurality of second connection blocks, wherein the plurality of second connection blocks are divided into two groups that are respectively arranged in the two second output regions, and the second connection blocks are configured to output second touch signals, or configured to output no touch signal (see annotated Fig. 2 below, [0029]-[0032], dummy pads 1222, second pads 112 and pad 1102 in second output regions);
in a case where the chip comprises the plurality of second connection blocks and further comprises a plurality of second touch connection blocks, at least one of a second touch connection block and a second connection block is configured to output a second touch signal (see annotated Fig. 2 below, [0029], touch signal pads 1102 can be used for transmitting a plurality of touch signals to the touch electrodes in the display region DR).
Regarding claim 19, Yeh discloses: A display panel (see Fig. 1, [0016], display panel 10), wherein a display surface of the display panel comprises: a display region (see Fig. 1, display region DR), a first frame region (see Fig. 1, [0016], non-display region PR on the left side of the display region DR) and a second frame region respectively located at two opposite sides of the display region in a first direction (see Fig. 1, [0016], non-display region PR on the right side of the display region DR in a direction D1), a third frame region and a fourth frame region respectively located at two opposite sides of the display region in a second direction (see Fig. 1, [0016]-[0017], non-display region on the upper/top and lower/bottom side of the display region DR respectively in a direction D2 read as third frame region and fourth frame region), and a first bonding region located at a non-display surface of the display panel opposite to the display surface (see Fig. 1, bonding region DS2), the first bonding region and the fourth frame region being arranged on a same side of the display panel (see Fig. 1, bonding region DS2 and fourth frame region are being on the same side of the display as illustrated in figure 1); the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (see Fig. 1, direction D1 and direction D2 are perpendicular); and the first bonding region comprises a first pin region, a second pin region and a third pin region arranged in sequence along the first direction and in a direction from the first frame region to the second frame region (see Fig. 1, annotated fig. 2 above, first connection region L1, second connection region L2 and third connection region L3 arranged in sequence along the first direction and in a direction from the first frame region to the second frame region as illustrated in figures 1 and 2);
the display panel (see Fig. 1, display panel 10) comprises:
a touch structure, arranged in the display region (see Fig. 1, [0019], discloses touch electrodes in the display region DR);
a plurality of first touch leads, connected to the touch structure (see Fig. 1, [0029], plurality of traces TC1 connected to touch electrodes),
a plurality of first pins, arranged in the first bonding region, wherein the plurality of first pins are arranged in multiple columns, with a column direction intersecting the first direction, an included angle formed by the column direction and the first direction (see annotated Fig. 2 above, connection blocks 7A, 7B and 7C arranged in multiple columns in the bonding region. Column direction intersecting the first direction with and angle as illustrated in figure), wherein
the plurality of first pins (see annotated Fig. 2 above, pins/pads in region 7A-7C) comprise:
a plurality of first touch pins, divided into two groups that are respectively arranged in the first pin region and the third pin region, and are respectively connected to the two groups of first touch leads, wherein the first touch pins are configured to receive first touch signals and transmit the first touch signals to touch electrodes of the touch structure through the first touch leads (see Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 2 above, [0029], touch signal pads 1102 arranged in first connection region L1 and third connection region L3 used for trans-receiving a plurality of touch signals to the touch electrodes in the display region DR); and
a plurality of data pins, arranged in the second pin region, wherein the data pins are configured to receive data signals required for displaying an image and transmit the data signals to pixels of the display panel (see Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 2 below, [0029], [0033], discloses plurality of display signal pads 1101 arranged in second connection region L2 for transmitting the a display signal in the display region DR).
While Yeh teaches the an angle formed between the column direction multiple blocks and the first direction (see annotated Fig. 2 above), Yeh does not explicitly teach claimed an included angle formed by the column direction and the first direction being greater than or equal to 600 and less than or equal to 900, and wherein the plurality of first touch leads are divided into two groups respectively leading from the first frame region and the second frame region, and respectively extending to the first pin region and the third pin region.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bonding pad arrangement structure in the touch panel display device, You teaches an included angle formed by the column direction and the first direction being greater than or equal to 600 and less than or equal to 900 (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0049], discloses the first pair of sides of the pad is perpendicular to the direction of the straight line extension, and the absolute value of the angle α between the second pair of sides of the pad and the direction of the straight line extension ranges from [0°, 30°]. That means angle formed by the pad direction and first direction (Y-axis) is ranges from [600 to 900] as illustrated in annotated Fig. 3 above); and wherein the plurality of first touch leads are divided into two groups respectively leading from the first frame region and the second frame region, and respectively extending to the first pin region and the third pin region (see Fig. 3, touch routing wires connected to touch electrodes in left side frame region and right side frame region from touch pads region to the touch electrodes in touch display device).
Therefore, in view of teachings of Yeh and You, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pad and touch lead wires arrangement of the touch display device as taught by Yeh with You’s teachings of an included angle formed by the column direction and the first direction being greater than or equal to 600 and less than or equal to 900 and wherein the plurality of first touch leads are divided into two groups respectively leading from the first frame region and the second frame region, and respectively extending to the first pin region and the third pin region as known alternative arrangement of the pads and routing wires in the touch display device and reduce the bottom bezel size of the touch panel and increase the screen-to-body ratio of the touch display screen (You, [0007]).
Regarding claim 20, Yeh in view of You teaches the limitations of parent claim 19. Yeh further teaches wherein the plurality of first pins are arranged in N rows along the column direction, N≥ 3 (see annotated Fig. 2 above connection blocks 7A-7C in which connection blocks are arranged in 3 rows along the column direction).
Regarding claim 21, Yeh in view of You teaches the limitations of parent claim 19. Yeh further teaches wherein the first bonding region further comprises a fourth pin region and a fifth pin region; and along the first direction, the fourth pin region and the fifth pin region are respectively located at both sides of the second pin region (see annotated Fig. 2 above, fourth connection region L4 and fifth connection region L5 located both side of second connection region L2);
the display panel (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2) further comprises:
a plurality of second touch leads, connected to the touch structure, wherein the plurality of second touch leads lead from the fourth frame region, and are divided into two groups respectively extending to the fourth pin region and the fifth pin region (see Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 2 above, [0029], touch signal pads 1102 arranged in fourth connection region L4 and fifth connection region L5 used for transmitting a plurality of touch signals to the touch electrodes in the display region DR); and
the plurality of first pins (see annotated Fig. 2 above, pins/pads in region 7A-7C) further comprise:
a plurality of second touch pins, divided into two groups that are respectively arranged in the fourth pin region and the fifth pin region, and are respectively connected to the two groups of second touch leads, wherein the second touch pins are configured to receive second touch signals and transmit the second touch signals to touch electrodes of the touch structure through the second touch leads (see Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 2, pad/pins arranged in fourth connection region L4 and fifth connection region L5 and their respective wiring lines connection for trans-receiving the touch signals).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 9, 11, 13, 14, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32-34, 39 and 44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shi et al. (US 12307042 B2) discloses general teachings of touch and display pads are arranged in matrix form in the peripheral region of the touch display device (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4, Figs. 5).
Yang et al. (US 20210271143 A1) discloses similar disclosure of the touch pads arrangement in bonding region of the touch display device (see Figs. 2-5).
Jian et al. (US 20200355972 A1) discloses similar disclosure of pads arrangement in bonding region of the touch display device (see Figs.3-5).
/KRISHNA P NEUPANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629