DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11-15, 17, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “and,” at the end of line 7, which appears to be a misstating of --[[and,]] and--.
Claim 12 recites “and,” at the end of line 3, which appears to be a misstating of --[[and,]] and--.
Claim 13 recites “and,” at the end of line 4, which appears to be a misstating of --[[and,]] and--.
Claim 14 recites “and,” at the end of line 3, which appears to be a misstating of --[[and,]] and--.
Claim 15 recites “The device (101) according to claim 11” in line 1, which should be amended to instead recite --The device
Claim 15 recites “wherein the device is configured to: […] compare the actual RON value with an RON threshold value; and, depending on the comparison, to take into consideration or not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle” in lines 1-7, which appears to be a misstating of --compare the actual RON value with an RON threshold value; and, depending on the comparison, [[to]] take into consideration or not [[to]] take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle-- in lines 5-7.
Claim 17 recites “and,” at the end of line 17, which appears to be a misstating of --[[and,]] and--.
Claim 18 should be amended to recite --and-- at the end of line 4.
Claim 20 should be amended to remove the dash from the start of line 5.
Claim 20 recites “and,” at the end of line 7, which appears to be a misstating of --[[and,]] and--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “device” in claims 11-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 refers to “the one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions” in line 7. Claim 12 depends from claim 11; however, neither claim appears to previously introduce “one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions.” Claim 12 does, however, previously introduce “one or more standard boundary conditions” in lines 2-3, and it is unclear whether the “one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions” referred to in line 7 of claim 12 is/are intended to be the same as or different from the “one or more standard boundary conditions” previously introduced in lines 2-3 of the claim. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites “the one or more standard boundary conditions comprises: a standard temperature of the fuel; a standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine; a standard temperature of coolant for cooling the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard temperature of the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard lambda value” in lines 4-11; however, it is unclear what exactly is meant by inclusion of “and/or” in each of line 9 and line 10, as it is unclear whether “the one or more standard boundary conditions comprises: a standard temperature of the fuel; a standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine; a standard temperature of coolant for cooling the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard temperature of the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard lambda value” is intended to define the “one or more standard boundary conditions” as being any possible combination of one or more of the five listed elements, or whether “the one or more standard boundary conditions comprises: a standard temperature of the fuel; a standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine; a standard temperature of coolant for cooling the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard temperature of the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard lambda value” is differently intended to define the “one or more standard boundary conditions” as being any of three alternatives: (1) “a standard temperature of the fuel; a standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine; a standard temperature of coolant for cooling the internal combustion engine; [and] a standard temperature of the internal combustion engine”; (2) “a standard temperature of the internal combustion engine”; and (3) “a standard lambda value,” or whether “the one or more standard boundary conditions comprises: a standard temperature of the fuel; a standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine; a standard temperature of coolant for cooling the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard temperature of the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard lambda value” is intended to have another different meaning.
Claim 17 recites “the ignition angle characteristic data were determined with the goal of providing a standard ignition angle, which is at the knock limit of the internal combustion engine if the one or more standard boundary conditions are present, for each of a plurality of possible operating points of the internal combustion engine” in lines 14-17; however, it is entirely unclear what exactly is meant by “the ignition angle characteristic data were determined with the goal of providing a standard ignition angle” in further defining the scope of the claimed “device,” as “the ignition angle characteristic data were determined with the goal of providing a standard ignition angle” merely states a design intention without establishing a requirement for the “goal” to be met by the structure and function of the claimed “device,” and it is unclear how a person having ordinary skill in the art would be able to reliably determine whether infringement occurs between the “device” of claim 17 and another structurally same invention with respect to said “goal.”
Claim 17 twice introduces “a standard ignition angle” in each of line 15 and line 20. Claim 17 is dependent from claim 11, and claim 11 previously introduces “a standard ignition angle” in line 3. First, it is unclear whether the “standard ignition angle” introduced in line 15 of claim 17 is intended to be the same as or different from the “standard ignition angle” previously introduced in line 3 of claim 11. Next, it is unclear whether the “standard ignition angle” introduced in line 20 of claim 17 is intended to be the same as or different from the “standard ignition angle” previously introduced in line 3 of claim 11 and/or the “standard ignition angle” previously introduced in line 15 of claim 17. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
Claim 17 further recites “the standard RON value is sufficiently high that due to one or more physical limiting values of the internal combustion engine, the ignition angle characteristic data specify a standard ignition angle for at least a part of the plurality of possible operating points, which has an ignition angle delta from the knock limit of the internal combustion engine if the one or more standard boundary conditions are present” in the last five lines of the claim; however, this recitation appears to be nonsensical both individually and in the context of the claim, and it is unclear how exactly “the standard RON value is sufficiently high that due to one or more physical limiting values of the internal combustion engine, the ignition angle characteristic data specify a standard ignition angle for at least a part of the plurality of possible operating points, which has an ignition angle delta from the knock limit of the internal combustion engine if the one or more standard boundary conditions are present” is intended to further limit the claimed “device.” Also, the term “sufficiently high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sufficiently high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 18 refers to “the one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions” in line 4 (also in line 8). Claim 18 depends from claim 11; however, neither claim appears to previously introduce “one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions.” Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites “determine the knock limit distance of the standard ignition angle from the knock limit of the internal combustion engine as a function of the one or more actual boundary conditions, including a deviation of the one or more actual boundary conditions from the one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions” in lines 5-8; however, it is unclear what exactly is meant by “including a deviation of the one or more actual boundary conditions from the one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions” in the context of this recitation, as “including a deviation of the one or more actual boundary conditions from the one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions” does not appear to further define any part of “determine the knock limit distance of the standard ignition angle from the knock limit of the internal combustion engine as a function of the one or more actual boundary conditions,” nor is it clear how exactly “including a deviation of the one or more actual boundary conditions from the one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions” would be intended to further define “determine the knock limit distance of the standard ignition angle from the knock limit of the internal combustion engine as a function of the one or more actual boundary conditions.”
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 recites “wherein the device is configured to: […] compare the actual RON value with an RON threshold value; and, depending on the comparison, to take into consideration or not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle” in lines 1-7. Claim 15 is dependent from claim 11, and claim 11 recites “A device […] configured to: […] determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance” in lines 1-10. Specifically, it is unclear how the “device” would be configured to “determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine […] on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance” (in the alternative to one of “determine […] an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance” and “determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine [and] an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance”) in a case where the “device” is further configured to “not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle” (in the alternative to “to take into consideration […] the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle”), as a “device” that is configured to “not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle” would not be configured to “determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine […] on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance.” Furthermore, it is unclear how the “device” that is configured to “not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle” would avoid consideration of the “knock limit distance” when determining the “operating ignition angle” given that “not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle” is dependent upon “compare the actual RON value with an RON threshold value” and given that the “actual RON value” is determined “on the basis of the knock limit distance.” Therefore, claim 15 is of improper dependent form for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the device is configured to take the knock limit distance into consideration in the determination of the operating ignition angle, only if the actual RON value is equal to or greater than the RON threshold value” in lines 1-3. Claim 16 is dependent from claim 11 via claim 15, and claim 11 recites “A device […] configured to: […] determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance” in lines 1-10. Specifically, it is unclear how the “device” would be configured to “determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine […] on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance” (in the alternative to one of “determine […] an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance” and “determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine [and] an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance”) in a case where the “device” is further configured to “not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle” (in the alternative to “to take into consideration […] the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle”), as would be the case if “the actual RON value is equal to or greater than the RON threshold value” in claim 16 is not met, as a “device” that is configured to “not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle” would not be configured to “determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine […] on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance.” Therefore, claim 16 is of improper dependent form for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Independent claim 11 is directed to a “device” (e.g., an apparatus). Independent claim 20 is directed to a method. Claims 12-19 depend from claim 11. Therefore, claims 11-20 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claims 11 and 20 each include limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized in bold below).
Claim 11 recites:
A device for operating an internal combustion engine using a fuel, the device configured to:
determine a standard ignition angle on the basis of ignition angle characteristic data for an actual operating point of the internal combustion engine;
determine a knock limit distance of the standard ignition angle from a knock limit of the internal combustion engine on the basis of knock limit distance characteristic data for the actual operating point of the internal combustion engine; and,
determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance.
Claim 20 recites:
A method for operating an internal combustion engine using a fuel, wherein the method comprises:
determining, on the basis of ignition angle characteristic data, a standard ignition angle for an actual operating point of the internal combustion engine;
-determining on the basis of knock limit distance characteristic data and for the actual operating point of the internal combustion engine, a knock limit distance of the standard ignition angle from a knock limit of the internal combustion engine; and,
determining an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, each of “determine…” (or “determining…”) in the context of these claims encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming simple judgments. Accordingly, each of claims 11 and 20 recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are the underlined portions provided above while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea.” However, with respect to claims 11 and 20, the examiner submits, for the following reasons, that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Each instance of the recitation of “for operating an internal combustion engine using a fuel” in claims 11 and 20 amounts to nothing more than a recitation of intended use or purpose that is not germane to patentability of the claims. More specifically, “for operating an internal combustion engine using a fuel” in claim 11 merely amounts to a statement in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed “device” that does not result in a structural between the claimed “device” and the prior art, and where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.02_II), and “for operating an internal combustion engine using a fuel” in claim 20 merely amounts to a statement in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed method that does not result in a manipulative difference between the claimed method and the prior art, and where a patentee defines a complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.02_II).
Recitation of the “device” in claim 11 amounts to nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity that merely defines use of a computer (e.g., see at least ¶ 0050 of Applicant’s specification, which sets forth implementation of a “computer” to execute functions of a disclosed method 300 for operating an internal combustion engine 102 using a fuel), recited at a high level of generality, to support performing of an associated process (e.g., see: MPEP 2106).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, independent claims 11 and 20 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. As discussed in detail above, the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in the art. Hence, the claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 12-19, which depend from claim 11, do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Thus, claims 12-19 are also ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0240775 to Kunze (hereinafter: “Kunze”).
With respect to claim 11, Kunze teaches a device (e.g., 30) (apparent from at least Fig. 3 in view of at least ¶ 0002, 0008 & 0037-0039) for operating an internal combustion engine using a fuel [“for operating an internal combustion engine using a fuel” merely amounts to a statement in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed “device” that does not result in a structural between the claimed “device” and the prior art, and where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.02_II); even so, it is apparent from at least Figs. 1-3 in view of at least ¶ 0002-0004 & 0037 that an intended use of the engine control unit 30 is operating an internal combustion engine (not shown) using a fuel], the device configured to: determine a standard ignition angle on the basis of ignition angle characteristic data for an actual operating point of the internal combustion engine [for example, as depicted by at least Fig. 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0015-0016 & 0037, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to calculate (e.g., “determine”) a basic ignition angle 41 (e.g., “standard ignition angle”) in a first program block 31 as a function of an operating parameter of the internal combustion engine based on “corresponding characteristic curves, characteristic diagrams and programs” (e.g., “ignition angle characteristic data”) stored in the engine control unit 30 for a present operating point (e.g., “actual operating point”) of the internal combustion engine, such that the engine control unit 30 includes structure and function that is the same as (or equivalent to) the claimed “device”]; determine a knock limit distance of the standard ignition angle from a knock limit of the internal combustion engine on the basis of knock limit distance characteristic data for the actual operating point of the internal combustion engine [for example, as depicted by at least Fig. 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0039, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to calculate (e.g., “determine”) a difference (e.g., “knock limit distance”) between the basic ignition angle 41 and an output of a comparison block 35 at a second adder element 36, where the output of the comparison block 35 is a virtual knocking limit 1 (e.g., “knock limit”) of the internal combustion engine determined by an adder element 33 based on an ignition angle difference value 42 (e.g., “knock limit distance characteristic data”) for the present operating point of the internal combustion engine, where the virtual knocking limit 1 has a negative value, such that the engine control unit 30 includes structure and function that is the same as (or equivalent to) the claimed “device”]; and, determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance [for example, as depicted by at least Fig. 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0039, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to obtain (e.g., “determine”) a resulting ignition angle 46 (e.g., “operating ignition angle”) based on the calculated difference between the basic ignition angle 41 and the output of the comparison block 35 for igniting a following combustion of the internal combustion engine (and therefore also based on the basic ignition angle 41), such that the engine control unit 30 includes structure and function that is the same as (or equivalent to) the claimed “device”; because determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and determine an actual RON value of the fuel are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 12, Kunze teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein the ignition angle characteristic data are based on one or more standard boundary conditions for the operation of the internal combustion engine [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0039, the characteristic curves of the characteristic diagram for the present operating point of the internal combustion engine is based on a rotational speed and/or a load of a first operating point (e.g., “one or more standard boundary conditions”) of the internal combustion engine when the present operating point of the internal combustion engine is the first operating point]; and, wherein the device is configured to: determine one or more actual boundary conditions for the operation of the internal combustion engine, wherein the one or more actual boundary conditions deviate at least partially from the one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0039, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to determine a rotational speed and/or a load of a second operating point (e.g., “one or more actual boundary conditions”) of the internal combustion engine, when the present operating point of the internal combustion engine is the second operating point, which at least partially deviates from the rotational speed and/or the load of the first operating point of the internal combustion engine]; determine an offset value, on the basis of a correction unit, which is model-based, and on the basis of the one or more actual boundary conditions [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0039, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to obtain (e.g., “determine”) a knocking limit offset 44 (e.g., “offset value”) based on a third program block 34 (e.g., “correction unit”) and based on the present operating point of the internal combustion engine being the second operating point (and therefore based on the rotational speed and/or the load of the second operating point of the internal combustion engine), where the third program block 34 is includes a characteristic curve (e.g., “model-based”)]; and determine the operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or the actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the offset value [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0039, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to obtain (e.g., “determine”) the resulting ignition angle 46 based on the knocking limit offset 44; because determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and determine an actual RON value of the fuel are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 13, Kunze teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein the device is configured to: determine an adaptation ignition angle delta of the standard ignition angle from the knock limit of the internal combustion engine on the basis of a knock adaptation, if one or more actual boundary conditions are present [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0029 & 0037-0039, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to obtain (e.g., “determine”) a knocking limit offset 44 (e.g., “adaptation ignition angle delta”) of the basic ignition angle 41 from the virtual knocking limit 1, at times when a detected (or measured) octane number of the fuel is within an octane number range corresponding to the characteristic curves of the characteristic diagram for the present operating point of the internal combustion engine (e.g., “if one or more actual boundary conditions are present”)]; and, determine the operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or the actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the adaptation ignition angle delta [for example, as depicted by at least Fig. 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0039, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to obtain (e.g., “determine”) the resulting ignition angle 46 based on the knocking limit offset 44; because determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and determine an actual RON value of the fuel are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 14, Kunze teaches the device according to claim 13, wherein: the ignition angle characteristic data are based on an operation of the internal combustion engine using fuel which has a standard RON value (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2); and, the device is configured to reduce the standard RON value by a first delta RON value dependent on the adaptation ignition angle delta and to increase a second delta RON value dependent on the knock limit distance in order to determine the actual RON value of the fuel, with which the internal combustion engine is operated [claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and because claim 14, which is dependent from claim 11 via claim 13, incorporates each of “the device configured to: […] determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance” of claim 11 and “the device is configured to: […] determine the operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or the actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the adaptation ignition angle delta” of claim 13, no part of “wherein: […] the device is configured to reduce the standard RON value by a first delta RON value dependent on the adaptation ignition angle delta and to increase a second delta RON value dependent on the knock limit distance in order to determine the actual RON value of the fuel, with which the internal combustion engine is operated” necessarily further limits structure of the claimed “device” by virtue of none of claims 11, 13, and 14 necessarily requiring the “device” to perform a determination of the actual RON value of the fuel, such that “wherein: […] the device is configured to reduce the standard RON value by a first delta RON value dependent on the adaptation ignition angle delta and to increase a second delta RON value dependent on the knock limit distance in order to determine the actual RON value of the fuel, with which the internal combustion engine is operated” is merely further defines alternative limitations set forth by claims 11 and 13, and no part of “wherein: […] the device is configured to reduce the standard RON value by a first delta RON value dependent on the adaptation ignition angle delta and to increase a second delta RON value dependent on the knock limit distance in order to determine the actual RON value of the fuel, with which the internal combustion engine is operated” necessarily further modifies the claimed “device” in a case where each of “the device configured to: […] determine an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance” of claim 11 and “the device is configured to: […] determine the operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or the actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the adaptation ignition angle delta” of claim 13 is directed to determination of the “operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine” in the alternative to determination of the “actual RON value of the fuel”].
With respect to claim 15, Kunze teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein the device is configured to: determine the actual RON value of the fuel, with which the internal combustion engine is operated [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0021-0022, 0025 & 0028-0029, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to detect (or measure) (e.g., “determine”) an octane number (e.g., “actual RON value”) of the fuel]; compare the actual RON value with an RON threshold value [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0029, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to compare the detected (or measured) octane number of the fuel with a minimum octane number (e.g., “RON threshold value”) for the characteristic curves of the characteristic diagram for the present operating point of the internal combustion engine]; and, depending on the comparison, to take into consideration or not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0021-0027, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to obtain the resulting ignition angle 46 based on the calculated difference between the basic ignition angle 41 and the output of the comparison block 35 taking into consideration the virtual knocking limit 1 as the output of the comparison block 35, at times including when the detected (or measured) octane number of the fuel is equal to or greater than the minimum octane number for the characteristic curves of the characteristic diagram for the present operating point of the internal combustion engine; because to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle and not to take into consideration the knock limit distance in the determination of the operating ignition angle are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 16, Kunze teaches the device according to claim 15, wherein the device is configured to take the knock limit distance into consideration in the determination of the operating ignition angle, only if the actual RON value is equal to or greater than the RON threshold value [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0021-0027, the engine control unit 30 is not structured to perform functions to take into consideration the detected (or measured) octane number of the fuel being less than the minimum octane number for the characteristic curves of the characteristic diagram for the present operating point of the internal combustion engine; because only if the actual RON value is equal to the RON threshold value and only if the actual RON value is greater than the RON threshold value are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 18, Kunze teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein the device is configured to: determine one or more actual boundary conditions for the operation of the internal combustion engine, wherein the one or more actual boundary conditions deviate at least partially from the one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0039, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to determine a rotational speed and/or a load of a second operating point (e.g., “one or more actual boundary conditions”) of the internal combustion engine, when the present operating point of the internal combustion engine is the second operating point, which at least partially deviates from a rotational speed and/or a load of a first operating point (e.g., “one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions”) of the internal combustion engine]; determine the knock limit distance of the standard ignition angle from the knock limit of the internal combustion engine as a function of the one or more actual boundary conditions, including a deviation of the one or more actual boundary conditions from the one or more corresponding standard boundary conditions [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0039, the engine control unit 30 is structured to perform functions to calculate the difference between the basic ignition angle 41 and the output of the comparison block 35 at the second adder element 36 as a function of the rotational speed and/or the load of the second operating point of the internal combustion engine, when the present operating point of the internal combustion engine is the second operating point, which at least partially deviates from the rotational speed and/or the load of the first operating point of the internal combustion engine].
With respect to claim 19, Kunze teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data have been determined experimentally and/or on the basis of simulations in the preparation for the operation of the internal combustion engine [claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and no part of “wherein the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data have been determined experimentally and/or on the basis of simulations in the preparation for the operation of the internal combustion engine” necessarily further limits structure of the claimed “device,” as “wherein the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data have been determined experimentally and/or on the basis of simulations in the preparation for the operation of the internal combustion engine” merely expresses a source of “the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data” and/or a broad technique for previously obtaining “the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data” (which not necessarily executed by the “device”), and no part of “have been determined experimentally and/or on the basis of simulations in the preparation for the operation of the internal combustion engine” necessarily further modifies “the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data” in the context of the claimed “device”; additionally, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (e.g., see: MPEP 2113_I), and “wherein the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data have been determined experimentally and/or on the basis of simulations in the preparation for the operation of the internal combustion engine” only necessarily further defines the manner in which the “ignition angle characteristic data” and/or the “knock limit distance” intended for use by the claimed “device” is/are intended to be produced; even so, for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0015-0016 & 0022-0037, the characteristic curves are disclosed to be optionally obtained (or determined) based on experimentation on an engine test bench at any number of operating points of the internal combustion engine; because the ignition angle characteristic data has been determined experimentally, the ignition angle characteristic data has been determined on the basis of simulations, the knock limit distance characteristic data has been determined experimentally, and the knock limit distance characteristic data has been determined on the basis of simulations are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 20, Kunze teaches a method for operating an internal combustion engine using a fuel [“for operating an internal combustion engine using a fuel” merely amounts to a statement in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed method that does not result in a manipulative difference between the claimed method and the prior art, and where a patentee defines a complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.02_II); even so, it is apparent from at least Figs. 1-3 in view of at least ¶ 0002-0004 & 0037 that an intended use of the method is operating an internal combustion engine (not shown) using a fuel], wherein the method comprises: determining, on the basis of ignition angle characteristic data, a standard ignition angle for an actual operating point of the internal combustion engine [for example, as depicted by at least Fig. 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0015-0016 & 0037, a basic ignition angle 41 (e.g., “standard ignition angle”) is calculated (e.g., “determining”) in a first program block 31 of an engine control unit 30 as a function of an operating parameter of the internal combustion engine based on “corresponding characteristic curves, characteristic diagrams and programs” (e.g., “ignition angle characteristic data”) stored in the engine control unit 30 for a present operating point (e.g., “actual operating point”) of the internal combustion engine]; -determining on the basis of knock limit distance characteristic data and for the actual operating point of the internal combustion engine, a knock limit distance of the standard ignition angle from a knock limit of the internal combustion engine [for example, as depicted by at least Fig. 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0039, a difference (e.g., “knock limit distance”) between the basic ignition angle 41 and an output of a comparison block 35 is calculated (e.g., “determining”) at a second adder element 36, where the output of the comparison block 35 is a virtual knocking limit 1 (e.g., “knock limit”) of the internal combustion engine determined by an adder element 33 based on a knocking limit offset 44 (e.g., “knock limit distance characteristic data”) for the present operating point of the internal combustion engine and an ignition angle difference value 42 (e.g., “knock limit distance characteristic data”) for the present operating point of the internal combustion engine, where the virtual knocking limit 1 has a negative value]; and, determining an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and/or an actual RON value of the fuel on the basis of the standard ignition angle and on the basis of the knock limit distance [for example, as depicted by at least Fig. 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0039, a resulting ignition angle 46 (e.g., “operating ignition angle”) is obtained (e.g., “determining”) based on the calculated difference between the basic ignition angle 41 and the output of the comparison block 35 for igniting a following combustion of the internal combustion engine (and therefore also based on the basic ignition angle 41); because determining an operating ignition angle for the operation of the internal combustion engine and determining an actual RON value of the fuel are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunze in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0320642 to Nakatani et al. (hereinafter: “Nakatani”).
With respect to claim 17, Kunze teaches the device according to claim 11; wherein the ignition angle characteristic data are based on one or more standard boundary conditions for the operation of the internal combustion engine [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0039, the characteristic curves of the characteristic diagram for the present operating point of the internal combustion engine is based on a rotational speed and/or a load of a first operating point (e.g., “one or more standard boundary conditions”) of the internal combustion engine when the present operating point of the internal combustion engine is the first operating point]; the ignition angle characteristic data are based on an operation of the internal combustion engine using fuel which has a standard RON value [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0022-0039, the characteristic curves of the characteristic diagram for the first operating point of the internal combustion engine are based, in part, on use of fuel having a definable first octane number (e.g., “standard RON value”)]; the ignition angle characteristic data were determined with the goal of providing a standard ignition angle, which is at the knock limit of the internal combustion engine if the one or more standard boundary conditions are present, for each of a plurality of possible operating points of the internal combustion engine [claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (e.g., see: MPEP 2114_II), and no part of “the ignition angle characteristic data were determined with the goal of providing a standard ignition angle, which is at the knock limit of the internal combustion engine if the one or more standard boundary conditions are present, for each of a plurality of possible operating points of the internal combustion engine” necessarily further limits structure of the claimed “device,” as “the ignition angle characteristic data were determined with the goal of providing a standard ignition angle, which is at the knock limit of the internal combustion engine if the one or more standard boundary conditions are present, for each of a plurality of possible operating points of the internal combustion engine” merely expresses a source of “the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data” and/or a broad technique for previously obtaining “the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data” (which not necessarily executed by the “device”), and no part of “have been determined experimentally and/or on the basis of simulations in the preparation for the operation of the internal combustion engine” necessarily further modifies “the ignition angle characteristic data and/or the knock limit distance characteristic data” in the context of the claimed “device”; additionally, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (e.g., see: MPEP 2113_I), and “the ignition angle characteristic data were determined with the goal of providing a standard ignition angle, which is at the knock limit of the internal combustion engine if the one or more standard boundary conditions are present, for each of a plurality of possible operating points of the internal combustion engine” only necessarily further defines the manner in which the “ignition angle characteristic data” intended for use by the claimed “device” is intended to be produced; even so, apparent from at least Figs. 1-3 in view of at least ¶ 0003, 0024 & 0037-0039]; and, the standard RON value is sufficiently high that due to one or more physical limiting values of the internal combustion engine, the ignition angle characteristic data specify a standard ignition angle for at least a part of the plurality of possible operating points, which has an ignition angle delta from the knock limit of the internal combustion engine if the one or more standard boundary conditions are present (apparent from at least Figs. 1-3 in view of at least ¶ 0003, 0015-0016, 0024 & 0037-0039); however, Kunze appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the one or more standard boundary conditions comprises: a standard temperature of the fuel; a standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine; a standard temperature of coolant for cooling the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard temperature of the internal combustion engine; and/or a standard lambda value (because a standard temperature of the fuel, a standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine, a standard temperature of coolant for cooling the internal combustion engine, a standard temperature of the internal combustion engine, and a standard lambda value are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives).
Nakatani teaches an analogous device configured to determine a standard ignition angle on the basis of ignition angle characteristic data for an actual operating point of the internal combustion engine, wherein the ignition angle characteristic data are based on standard boundary conditions for the operation of the internal combustion engine, the standard boundary conditions comprising an engine rotational speed, an engine load, and a standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine (apparent from at least Fig. 3 in view of at least ¶ 0034-0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Kunze with the teachings of Nakatani, if even necessary, such that the one or more standard boundary conditions for the operation of the internal combustion engine further include a standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine to beneficially further correct the determined standard ignition angle on the basis of the standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine, as the standard ignition angle changes depending upon whether the standard temperature of the air aspirated by the internal combustion engine is relatively high or relatively low.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form.
/JOHN M ZALESKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747