DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a nonfinal rejection in response to preliminary amendments filed on 03/12/2025. Claims 1-8 are pending and are examined herein.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the present office action, along with a certificate of availability of the certified patent document numbered JP 2021-016803 with an earliest date of availability of February 5, 2021. Therefore, the claims have the earliest effective filing date of Feb 05, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture, or Composition of Matter
The independent claim 1 is treated as the representative claims for the 2-step analysis. The dependent claims will be reanalyzed after the initial 2-step analysis on the independent claims. The representative claims are directed to:
Claim 1-8: An application for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure, wherein the application is installed on a device and executes a method for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure,
The claims above are directed to at least one of the potentially eligible subject matter categories, “process, machine, or manufacture” and are therefore to be further analyzed under step 2.
Step 2a Prong 1: Is the claim reciting a Judicial Exception(A Law of Nature, a Natural Phenomenon (Product of Nature), or An Abstract Idea?)
Claim 1, recites the following, wherein the abstract idea has been bolded and the additional elements are italicized:
An application for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure, wherein the application is installed on a device and executes a method for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure, and the device is signal-connected to a server, wherein the method comprises steps of:
displaying a user interface to receive input of carbon disclosure data, initiating a recycling program on the server, and generating one or more corresponding labels along with an access node for each label;
reading each of the label with barcode recognition or image recognition and obtaining access permissions for the access nodes corresponding to the labels from the server;
receiving or obtaining audio-visual or inspection data, transmitting the data to the server, and recording the data in the corresponding access node; and
displaying the data, retrieving the access node from the server, and obtaining at least material comparison results, raw material production history, grading compensation, real-time carbon data, or carbon certificates through the user interface.
When evaluating the bolded limitations of the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, it is clear that representative claim 1 recites at least one abstract idea category under “certain methods of organizing human activity.” This abstract idea grouping found in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) includes concepts related to “fundamental economic principles or practices,” “commercial or legal interactions,” and “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.” The present invention falls under “commercial or legal interactions” which include agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. The claims at hand recite abstract steps for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure, with the steps of receiving input of carbon disclosure data, initiating a recycling program, generating one or more corresponding labels, reading each of the labels and obtaining access permissions, receiving or obtaining audio-visual or inspection data, recording the data, displaying the data, and obtaining at least material comparison results, raw material production history, grading compensation, real-time carbon data, or carbon certificates. When viewing the limitations above in their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) in view of the specification, it is clear that the scope of the claims merely encompasses a business relation. In this case, the business relation is merely the recordation and collection of recordation data, similar to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(B)’s example,
“An example of a claim reciting business relations is found in Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 123 USPQ2d 1100 (Fed. Cir. 2017). The business relation at issue in Credit Acceptance is the relationship between a customer and dealer when processing a credit application to purchase a vehicle. The patentee claimed a "system for maintaining a database of information about the items in a dealer’s inventory, obtaining financial information about a customer from a user, combining these two sources of information to create a financing package for each of the inventoried items, and presenting the financing packages to the user." 859 F.3d at 1054, 123 USPQ2d at 1108. The Federal Circuit described the claims as directed to the abstract idea of "processing an application for financing a loan" and found "no meaningful distinction between this type of financial industry practice" and the concept of intermediated settlement in Alice or the hedging concept in Bilski. 859 F.3d at 1054, 123 USPQ2d at 1108.”
In the case of the present claims, the system merely maintains a database of information for the items being recycled through “labels.” However, the scope of these terms given their BRI in view of the specification includes any sort of label that identifies an object. Therefore, reading such labels, obtaining access permissions, and retrieving inputted data is merely an abstract idea of “recording carbon disclosure data associated with a label.” The steps are recited at such a high level of generality, for example, “reading each of the label with barcode recognition or image recognition and obtaining access permissions,” such that they merely encompass a business interaction. The scope of “barcode recognition” or “image recognition” is broad such that it includes any method of recognizing a code or image. In this case, this limitation is no more than mere steps or instructions to an individual to carry out the business relations, because an individually can manually recognize a barcode (as a set of numbers) or an image and provide access. Therefore, the claims recite at least one abstract idea under “certain methods of organizing human activity” and are to be further evaluated under Step 2.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
- An application installed on a device
- the device is signal-connected to a server,
- displaying a user interface
- an access node for each label;
The additional elements are no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a generic computing device. MPEP 2106.05(f) states, “For claim limitations that do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners should explain why they do not meaningfully limit the claim in an eligibility rejection. For example, an examiner could explain that implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or add significantly more in Step 2B, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.”
In this case, the abstract idea of recording carbon disclosure data associated with a label are merely instructed to be performed on generic computers or generic computing components including a device, a server, a user interface, access nodes. Furthermore, the preamble which indicates “an application for...” wherein the application executes a method, is no more than an example of merely invoking the use of computers to perform an existing process, or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea. The examiner notes that an “access node” is broadly interpreted to encompass any source of data storage, which also has access permissions. This is evident in [0036] of the present specification, “making the server 10 to open or generate the access node (or database) corresponding to the label.” Therefore, it is clear that the access nodes are merely the use of a server in its ordinary capacity to (receive, store, or transmit data). The generality in which the access node is recited and claimed does not provide meaningful limitations that integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The functions performed along with the access node are recited at such a high level of generality that they are no more than instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. For example, the steps of generating labels along with an access node, obtaining access permissions for an access node, recording and retrieving data from an access nodes hold such wide scope that they encompass any possible access to the access nodes. MPEP 2106.05(f) states, “The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".”
Furthermore, it is clear that even when considered individually or considered as a combination, nothing in the claims integrates the abstract idea into a practically application. Even when considering, the entire computing infrastructure of the claimed invention as a whole, it still fails to recite any improvements to computer functionality to be deemed more than a generic computer. The MPEP 2106.05(f) consideration overlaps with MPEP 2106.05(a) for determining whether a claim improves technology, in that it considers “the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome.” Since the claims fail to provide any improvements to any technology or technical field, the claims fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. MPEP 2106.05(a)(II) states, “To show that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology, the claims must recite the details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology.”
Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
- An application installed on a device
- the device is signal-connected to a server,
- displaying a user interface
- an access node for each label;
These additional elements have not been found to include significantly more for the same reasons set forth in the Prong 2 rejection, specifically because the additional elements are generic computing devices being used to carry out the abstract idea, as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f). More specifically, the use of “a device, a server, a user interface, access nodes” in their ordinary capacity to perform an economic task associated with the abstract idea of “recording carbon disclosure data” does not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent). Furthermore, no improvements to these computing devices have been purported since they are generic computing components instructed to perform the abstract idea or are generic devices operating in their ordinary capacity. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing meaningfully limits the claims such that they provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Dependent Claims 2-8 have been analyzed, both individually and in combination with the claims they depend on, under the full 2-step eligibility analysis.
Claim 2 adds the additional elements of “wherein the device comprises a mobile phone, a tablet device, a computer, or a smartwatch.” Even when substituting any of the devices into the claims, the claims still recite the abstract idea of “recording carbon disclosure data.” Furthermore, the additional elements of a mobile phone, tablet device, computer, or smart watch are still generic computing components merely being instructed to perform the abstract idea. Whether viewing the additional elements individually, or as an ordered combination, the additional elements still fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the devices are merely used in their ordinary capacity to perform data collection, transmission and output. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing meaningfully limits the claims such that they provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 3 and 4 add the additional limitations of wherein the devices is “wired/wirelessly connected” to a physical or chemical parameter detection device and an audio-visual acquisition devices to obtain carbon disclosure-related parameters. However, the steps are still abstract data collection steps. Merely indicating that the data collection is to be performed on the physical or chemical parameter detection device and an audio-visual acquisition device is merely using a device in its ordinary capacity to perform data collection, since the scope of the elements are so broad that they cover any device capable of performing the collection of such data. Whether these devices are wired/wirelessly connected to a device still does not provide an improvement, whether viewed alone or in combination with the entire computing infrastructure as claimed. In other words, the computing infrastructure is still no more than a generic computer without any improvements to computer functionality, technology or any technical field. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing meaningfully limits the claims such that they provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 5, 6, 7, and 8 recite the steps of identity recognition, and generating access permissions and required input information. This is more of the abstract idea of “commercial or legal interactions” because they merely recite a business interaction of recognizing the identity of the individual and providing the corresponding permissions and requirements. Furthermore, there are no further additional elements to consider, and even when considering the previous additional elements (access node), the steps are still merely “apply it” or mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing meaningfully limits the claims such that they provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jesse Klinkhamer (US 20200143336 A1) hereinafter Klinkhamer, in view of Gogerty et al. (US 20230162204 A1) hereinafter Gogerty.
Regarding Claim 1:
Klinkhamer discloses systems for a circular waste economy platform, where the platform utilizes artificial intelligence to facilitate the transactions, and record the transactions on a distributed ledger. Klinkhamer teaches:
- An application for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure, (Klinkhamer [0010] In yet another embodiment, the invention relates to a system for a circular waste recycling economy platform, comprising: a server communicatively configured to operate a closed network accessible only to entities that have been granted access to the closed network by the server; a seller decentralized application (DApp) operated by a waste seller, the seller DApp communicatively coupled to the server; [0022] As used herein, the term “waste” can refer to... aluminum cans, scrap metal, and the like.)
- wherein the application is installed on a device and executes a method for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure, and(Klinkhamer [0035] In an alternative embodiment, the server 104 can be downloaded or installed locally on the computing device 103, such as in the form of a software application. The server 104 can include a communication transceiver, communication protocol software, application layers, a central processing unit 106 (CPU), a memory 108, and an internal database 110.)
- the device is signal-connected to a server, wherein the method comprises steps of: (Klinkhamer [0010] a buyer DApp operated by a waste buyer, the buyer DApp communicatively coupled to the server; a distributed ledger communicatively coupled to the server; and a central processing unit (CPU) coupled to the server,)
- displaying a user interface to receive input of carbon disclosure data, (Klinkhamer [0145] FIG. 6 is an exemplary diagram of a DApp interface that allows a seller to input a waste lot, according to an embodiment of the present invention. The seller 100 can launch the DApp 600 on their computing device 103. The DApp allows the seller 100 to input data related to the waste lot, such as details, descriptions, and the like, of the waste lot using the computing device 103.) The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “carbon disclosure” in view of [0036] of the present disclosure, in which “carbon disclosure” is explicitly defined to include data referring to “quantity of recyclable waste, manufacturer, address, material type, personnel, transportation vehicles.” Therefore, Klinkhamer’s interface, which allows the user to input details relating to the waste lot such as descriptions, satisfies the limitation.
- initiating a recycling program on the server, and (Klinkhamer [0037] The software can further be used to facilitate various waste management and recycling supply chain functions by the CPU 106, which are described in more detail herein. [0039] In yet another embodiment, the server 104 can initiate a direct peer-to-peer communication between the seller 100 and buyer 102, where the participants communicate and exchange data using their respective computing devices 103, 105. The direct peer-to-peer communication can be encrypted and include security protocols.)
- reading each of the label with barcode recognition or image recognition (Klinkhamer [0078] In another embodiment, the computing device 103 may include a radio-frequency identification (“RFID”) reader, barcode scanner, or other optical reading means capable of sensing and decoding an RFID tag or machine-readable code, such as a barcode, quick response (QR) code, or dot matrix code. If any waste items include a RFID tag or machine-readable code, the computing device 103 is capable of reading/interrogating the waste items to obtain their description. The description may include the waste item name, quantity, volume, weight, dimensions, serial number, and any other identifying information, such as a hazardous material designation or special handling instructions. This information may be encoded with the captured waste lot image and transmitted to the server 104 as metadata. [0083] In another embodiment, the server 104 may employ optical character recognition (“OCR”) technologies to read labels on the waste items, such as on cellular phones, gasoline tanks, prescription bottles, batteries, etc., to not only identify waste items, but also to determine if the waste items may be hazardous materials, prohibited items, illegal items, or items that require a surcharge for removal and/or disposal. )
- receiving or obtaining audio-visual or inspection data, (Klinkhamer [0031] In operation, the seller 100 can capture an image of a waste lot with the computing device 103. The image is not limited to a still image, and can include video data, audio data, three-dimensional coordinates, and spatial data. The waste lot image can include, partially or in its entirety, an item of waste, or a waste lot consisting of multiple items of waste (collectively, a “waste lot”) which the seller 100 desires to sell, recycle, reuse, repurposes, and/or have removed from its location.])
- transmitting the data to the server, and (Klinkhamer [0074] In yet another embodiment, multiple computing devices located at various locations containing waste items part of an aggregate waste lot can capture data, and transmit the captured waste lot image to a centralized computing device for merging or combining prior to being transmitted to the server 104. In yet another embodiment, such multiple computing devices can each transmit captured waste lot images to the server 104, where the server 104 merges or combines the received data into a single file or batch for analysis. )
- recording the data; and (Klinkhamer [0078] This information may be encoded with the captured waste lot image and transmitted to the server 104 as metadata.) The data is not recorded in a “corresponding access node” however, Klinkhamer is not relied upon for the corresponding access node. In Klinkhamer, the image data is stored in the metadata.
- displaying the data, (Klinkhamer [0095] At step 306, the server 104 transmits a list of identified waste items from the captured waste lot image to the computing device 103. In an embodiment, the list can be a text list which specifies the quantity and description of each identified waste item, such as for example, “2 computer screens, 3 cellphones”, and the like. In another embodiment, the list can be depicted by highlighting, circling, outlining, or otherwise indicating the identified waste items in an image that is transmitted to, and displayed on, the computing device 103. In another embodiment, the list can include graphical representations or icons depicting each waste item, or can include an actual thumbnail or cropped version of the waste item from the captured waste lot image.)
- and obtaining at least material comparison results, raw material production history, grading compensation, real-time carbon data, or carbon certificates through the user interface. (Klinkhamer [0078] The description may include the waste item name, quantity, volume, weight, dimensions, serial number, and any other identifying information, such as a hazardous material designation or special handling instructions. This information may be encoded with the captured waste lot image and transmitted to the server 104 as metadata. [0076] In an embodiment, terrain mapping sensors may be included in the computing device 103, and can capture and transmit various information related to the geometry, contour, slope, grade, and the like of the environment where the waste lot is located. [0082] Other item recognition techniques that can be employed to identify waste items in the captured waste lot image include, for example, edge detection and appearance-based methods that recognize changes in lighting, color, viewing direction, size, and shape, such as edge matching, divide-and-conquer searching, grayscale matching, gradient matching, histograms, and using large model bases. In addition, feature-based methods may also be employed, including, but not limited to, comparison to known items,) Since the list only requires one out of the list, and Klinkhamer teaches “material comparison results” in [0082] in the form of edge matching, and comparison to known items, then the limitation has been satisfied.
However, Klinkhamer fails to teach:
- generating one or more corresponding labels along with an access node for each label;
- and obtaining access permissions for the access nodes corresponding to the labels from the server;
-that the data is recorded in the corresponding access node;
- retrieving the access node from the server.
Alternatively, Gogerty discloses a system for trusted gathering, accounting, recording, tracking and displaying of carbon data for the life cycle of a product or service from cradle to gate. Gogerty teaches:
- generating one or more corresponding labels along with an access node for each label; (Gogerty [0178] In an implementation, a machine-readable QR code can be associated with each Defined Unit so that a static URL address refers a request to the relevant data object. [0183] The GHG Report 218 can include the full attributes of a product or service including all of the attributes assigned and associated over the full production life of the product. The Product/Service GHG Report 218 can also be represented in a shorter form indicating a unique data set such as a URL, QR code, or SKU, which can be used to retrieve or confirm the entire data associated with the report. [0187] A QR code and unique data/elements can be dynamically generated for the Product/Service GHG Report certificate 218 by the Report Manager 216. The output may be physical or digital. [0199] For example, at block 455, the system can be configured to generate a QR-code that links to the verification certificate for the end CO2e for a product down to the nano-credit. [0282] In an embodiment, each permissioned node of the network has a replicated copy of the ledger, and within the network, all events on the ledger are synched across all nodes forming the network and are immutable, resulting in full transparency and data record integrity for all node members. [0288] Nodes can download a distributed immutable ledger application that provides a gateway to decentralized applications on a network blockchain. ) The BRI of a “corresponding label” is a QR code or RFID that corresponds to an object, in view of [0019] of the present specification. Gogerty’s “permissioned node” is mapped to “access node” because both provide a gateway to the database of the label. Since the QR code provides access to the database of carbon information for the product(see Gogerty [0199]), then the limitation is satisfied.
- and obtaining access permissions for the access nodes corresponding to the labels from the server; (Gogerty [0103] In an implementation, the system 200 comprises permission management 204 (roles/controls). This allows for the management of data access to specific parties with assigned permissions and privileges. [0187] A QR code and unique data/elements can be dynamically generated for the Product/Service GHG Report certificate 218 by the Report Manager 216. The output may be physical or digital. The digital output may be HTML, XML, JSON, or any machine-readable output. A status of the object and time stamp is shown (e.g.: active/transferred/pending etc.).) [0260] As such, the <CarML> schema container can integrate this carbon information for carbon enhanced barcodes employing the GS1 product barcode. This barcode information can then be accessed or pushed downstream to manufacturers, distributors, customs, and retailers. As such a simple or detailed carbon report or certificate can be embedded with a barcode or unique identifier such as a fixed URL for tracking through the life cycle of the product as described herein.)
-that the data is recorded in the corresponding access node; (Gogerty [0247] FIG. 29 shows an exemplary carbon message record structure interface. As described with respect to FIGS. 1 and 6, in an implementation, the system comprises a Public Life Cycle Inventory Library 212 including a database 212 of LCI objects, including verified or accepted LCA standards, GHG measurements and mitigations. The system can also comprise a Public GHG report certificate interface 213 can include a searchable report certificate database, in which the collection of GHG certificate reports and ownership transfers can be public. The types of public transfers, those GHG related declarations, measurements and mitigation accepted by downstream parties are accepted as commercially or regulatory widely accepted. Using the interface record structure shown in FIG. 29, at block 710 a user can use the Public GHG report certificate interface 213 to access the database to confirm normative practices when working with GHG declarations. At block 711, the system accesses the GHG database including the exemplary GHG mitigation standards database of accepted GHG mitigation standards for credits, shown in more detail at in FIG. 30. At block 712, the system comprises a query engine configured to allow a user to query the GHG certificate database to check, inter alia, GHG records, including compliance and mitigation against quality standards. The database can be expressed using <CarML>, described herein and below.) The GHG database is part of the “corresponding access node.” This is based on the BRI of “access node” in view of [0036], which states “making the server 10 to open or generate the access node (or database) corresponding to the label.”
- retrieving the access node from the server (Gogerty [0260] As such a simple or detailed carbon report or certificate can be embedded with a barcode or unique identifier such as a fixed URL for tracking through the life cycle of the product as described herein. Thus, as detailed herein, Embodied CO2e of a product or service can be tracked and displayed at the product level. [0261] As will be appreciated, a GS1 product barcode and database is an example of a <CarML> integration for a <CarML> environmental product declaration message type. FIG. 37A shows an exemplary <CarML> declaration schema which lays out the taxonomic structure for <CarML> key, value pairs and object metadata...As for what is declared, key value tags can be set for the product and service and the CO2e/kg amounts. Key and value pairs can also be set for how much of product the declaration is for (quantity/amount), when the declaration was made, when it expires, the origin location of the product or service and their termination points. FIG. 37B and Table 28, show an exemplary <CarML> Root Schema, Taxonomy, and Key Value tagging for declaration data objects. [0500] an application programming interface (API) gateway server between a logical layer and a representational layer, the API gateway server being configured with an extensible Carbon Reporting Markup Language (<CarML>) configured to interface software with the logical layer, the <CarML> comprising a core set of common data schema and message types including interface objects for extensible carbon objects, and third party external systems, the API gateway configured to allow the user to generate an extensible carbon object representing a carbon instrument.) The API gateway server provides the database for the corresponding barcodes (see <CarML> and Key value tags.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Klinkhamer by adding the teachings of Gogerty, particularly related to the connections between the barcode, the access to database, and the servers storing the carbon disclosure related data. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform this combination as it would yield the predictable outcome of integrating Klinkhamer’s system (which is also a distributed ledger) into Gogerty’s QR code and recording system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by Gogerty’s improvements to providing consistency between how carbon credits are recorded for individual products. (Gogerty [0014] Many goods and services are consumed in smaller increments such as a cup of coffee. Being able to assign and track environmental traits in small increments can be useful in creating new products, interfaces, tracking mechanisms, and services. [0015] Further, there are numerous measurements, policies, mandates, systems, formats, and tools designed to measure carbon emissions; however, there is no consistency between them. As noted above, carbon tracking and focus today is mainly at the industrial and company, not the individual product level. Carbon embodied in making products remains hidden across supply chains. Nor is there any consistent method to determine how carbon is calculated, verified, and tracked at each exchange.)
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Klinkhamer and Gogerty teach or suggest The application for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure according to claim 1:
Furthermore, Klinkhamer teaches:
-wherein the device comprises a mobile phone, a tablet device, a computer, or a smartwatch.(Klinkhamer [0024] As used herein, the term “computing device” can refer to, for example, mobile phones, still and video cameras, portable media players, desktop computers, laptop computers, netbooks, smartphones, tablet computers, wearable devices, “smart” watches, “smart” bracelets, “smart” necklaces, enhanced vision devices and systems, augmented vision headsets/glasses, internet-connected streaming media devices, security and surveillance devices, and the like.)
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Klinkhamer and Gogerty teach or suggest The application for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure according to claim 2:
Furthermore, Klinkhamer teaches:
-wherein the device is wired to a physical or chemical parameter detection device(Klinkhamer [0067] In yet another embodiment, the computing device 103 can include a radiation detector in order to detect for hazardous radioactive materials in the waste lot. In another embodiment, the computing device 103 can include an acoustic water detection sensor to detect the presence of liquids which may be contained within items in the waste. [0089] In another embodiment, the computing device 103 may be communicatively coupled with a scale, such as via a short-range wireless connection (i.e., Bluetooth, infrared, Zigbee, etc.), or via a hard wire connection (i.e., USB, Firewire, Ethernet, LAN, etc.).) Klinkhamer teaches hardwiring to the device from the physical/chemical parameter detection device.
-and an audio-visual acquisition device to obtain carbon disclosure-related parameters.(Klinkhamer [0024] As used herein, the term “computing device” can refer to, for example, mobile phones, still and video cameras, [0084] In addition to item recognition, the server 104 may employ depth estimation technologies to determine the size, dimensions, volume, and weight of items in the waste. The computing device 103 may include laser ranging, a stereo camera, a coded aperture, or other devices capable of generating a range image that has pixels corresponding to the relative distance in the waste. Other techniques that may be utilized by the computing device 103 and/or the server 104 for depth estimation include, but are not limited to, using a three-dimensional scanner, height-mapping, light-field cameras, photogrammetry, time-of-flight cameras, intensified CCD cameras, and optical flow methods. [0085] In embodiment, the focal length of a camera lens or aperture on the computing device 103 is used in conjunction with a known distance to an item in the waste lot, in order to determine the dimensions of specific waste items.)
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Klinkhamer and Gogerty teach or suggest The application for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure according to claim 2:
Furthermore, Klinkhamer teaches:
-wherein the device is wirelessly connected to a physical or chemical parameter detection device[0067] In yet another embodiment, the computing device 103 can include a radiation detector in order to detect for hazardous radioactive materials in the waste lot. In another embodiment, the computing device 103 can include an acoustic water detection sensor to detect the presence of liquids which may be contained within items in the waste. [0089] In another embodiment, the computing device 103 may be communicatively coupled with a scale, such as via a short-range wireless connection (i.e., Bluetooth, infrared, Zigbee, etc.), or via a hard wire connection (i.e., USB, Firewire, Ethernet, LAN, etc.).)
-and an audio-visual acquisition device to obtain carbon disclosure-related parameters. (Klinkhamer [0024] As used herein, the term “computing device” can refer to, for example, mobile phones, still and video cameras, [0084] In addition to item recognition, the server 104 may employ depth estimation technologies to determine the size, dimensions, volume, and weight of items in the waste. The computing device 103 may include laser ranging, a stereo camera, a coded aperture, or other devices capable of generating a range image that has pixels corresponding to the relative distance in the waste. Other techniques that may be utilized by the computing device 103 and/or the server 104 for depth estimation include, but are not limited to, using a three-dimensional scanner, height-mapping, light-field cameras, photogrammetry, time-of-flight cameras, intensified CCD cameras, and optical flow methods. [0085] In embodiment, the focal length of a camera lens or aperture on the computing device 103 is used in conjunction with a known distance to an item in the waste lot, in order to determine the dimensions of specific waste items.)
Regarding Claims 5, 6, 7, 8:
The combination of Klinkhamer and Gogerty teach or suggest The application for metal recycling and regeneration production traceability with carbon disclosure according to claim 1/2/3/4:
However, Klinkhamer fails to teach: -wherein after identity recognition, access permissions and required input information items corresponding to the access node are generated.
However, Gogerty teaches:
-wherein after identity recognition, (Gogerty [0257] FIG. 34 shows an exemplary architecture interface for a <CarML> encoded messaging bus 214 for a carbon system platform. As shown in FIG. 33, <CarML> codes can be configured to interface with internal or external organizational systems, ledgers and distributed immutable ledgers, IOT systems, MRP systems, supply chain integrations including logistical and enterprise resource planning systems, organizational identity and credentialing systems, and library and document archives including legal verification documentation. The <CarML> encoded messaging bus interface can also be integrated with a carbon platform configured to provide identity verification and libraries for carbon information as described herein.)
- access permissions and required input information items corresponding to the access node are generated.(Gogerty [0103] In an implementation, the system 200 comprises permission management 204 (roles/controls). This allows for the management of data access to specific parties with assigned permissions and privileges. In an implementation, specific bounds can be defined for various data and action parameters for an organization and user manager 205 and organization and user object libraries 206 allowed by the system 200, such as the transfer of a carbon data object, a declaration of product/service attributes, and a report and the assigned ownership of environmental attributes and claims to another organization within the system 200. [0105] Data owned by or pertaining to a specific organization or user can be created, managed, and permissioned to the organization through this layer. Organizational administrators can create and suspend user accounts through this module. [0117] In an implementation, search can be by organization, process type, keyword, input, output, etc. The system 200 can be configured with a filter to allow the user to filter search of inputs. The search can be limited to showing only those described by the process' input objects. If there are no defined objects or reference inputs that match the process' inputs, then system 200 is configured to alert or flag to the user that they cannot continue. [0118] In an implementation, at block 229, the system 200 interface can comprise an operation to archive a process template 207t in the process library 207. The archive reference input operation removes the process template 207t from future use. In an implementation, the system 200 can be configured to allow the archived process to be visible for review only or view only. ) Gogerty satisfies the limitation because based on the identity/role of the user, the user is given specific access permissions, and are given certain input filters that they are allowed access to when searching this system. This falls within the BRI of the limitation in view of the specification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Klinkhamer by adding the teachings of Gogerty, particularly the permission features. The combination would yield the predictable outcome of managing the identity, access permissions, and relevant inputs for the particular individuals for Klinkhamer’s system. One would have been motivated by the benefit of providing security through identity verification. (Gogerty [0277] In one example, these resources can comprise application software licenses. Security provides identity verification for cloud consumers and tasks, as well as protection for data and other resources.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Moran et al. (US 20140122347 A1) discloses a system for life-cycle tracking of recycle commodities, providing users with real-time tracking and accounting data.
- Chen et al. (US 11763270 B2) discloses a system of facilitating generation of a carbon offset based on processing of a recyclable item.
/NICO L PADUA/Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/SANGEETA BAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626