Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 16 is objected to as allowable once 112 rejection is addressed and subsequently incorporated into independent claim 1 and claim 15 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 8, and 20 recite “an application session security key”, and then later recites” the application session key”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for” the application session key”, and it is unclear whether it is the same key or a different key. Claims 2, 6 and 9 repeat the same term.
Claim 2 recites “the processor”, while claim one recites “at least one processor”; there is insufficient antecedent basis. For examination, both terms are interpreted as referring to the earlier recited elements.
Claim 15 and its independent claims of are rejected under 35 U.S.C 112 (b). Claim 15 on the last line recites” acknowledgment of the request”. It is unclear whether” the request” refers to” a first request” or some other. For examining purposes it is interpreted as the first request.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). It recites that the LI security context “further includes the AKMA. “The AKMA” lacks antecedent basis, AKMA space is a procedure for service rather than the data item that can be stored in the context, so the scope of the claim is unclear. Appropriate correction is needed.
“Application session security key” isn’t defined in the claims. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it means a key used to secure application communication for a UE, which covers KAKMA (para 48) and KAF (para.8). Claims 6, 13, and 18 narrow it to a key for UE – AF communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Gupta (US 2022/0210636 A1).
As per claims 1and 20 Gupta disclosed wireless communication apparatus and method comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (FIG. 2C) {hAAnF server 200 B1 storing instructions executed by processor to 20 B1} and configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a first network entity in a first network, a first request and an application session security key, wherein the apparatus is in the first network {FIG. 4, step 2; AUSF 200 A (first network entity, Home network) selects the AAnF and registers SUPI, KAKMA, and A-KID in HAAnF 200B1 (the apparatus, also in the home network). This registration is a request carrying the key}; transmit, to a second network entity in a second network, a second request and the application session key {FIG. 4, step 4;HAAnF sends vAAnF 200B2 (in the visitor network) a message containing KAKMA, A-KID, and SUPI whenever a new KAKMA is generated}; receive, from the second network entity, an acknowledgment of the second request (FIG4) {vAAnF provides re-direction information to the hAAnF in response to the message}.
As per claim 2 the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: detect that the second network supports authentication and key management for applications (AKMA); and transmit, in response to detecting that the second network supports AKMA, the second request and the application session key to a visited authentication and key management for applications anchor function (VAAnF),that is wherein the second network entity comprises the VAAnF (FIG. 4) {the AUSF and hAAnF decide whether to propagate keys to the VPLMN depending on the AKMA support in the VPML (“AKMA indication 2,” FIG.4 step 2) and then send them to thevAAnF}.
As per claim 4 Gupta disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the second network entity, an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key identifier (A-KID), an application function identity (AFID), a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), an AKMA application key (KAF), or a KAF expiration time (FIG.4) {the AUSF and hAAnF decide whether to propagate keys to the VPLMN depending on the AKMA support in the VPML (“AKMA indication 2,” FIG.4 step 2) and then send them to thevAAnF. Step 4, the message includes A-KID and SUPL}.
As per claim 7 Gupta disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus implements a home authentication and key management for applications anchor function (HAAnF) (Figure.4) {The apparatus is hAAnF}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US 2022/0210636 A1) in view of 3GPP TR 33.737, V0.2.2, 8 July 2022, XP052183691 (referred to as 3GPP-TR 33.737).
As per claim 5 Gupta disclosed the apparatus of claim 1 (FIG.4, Steps 2 and 4). However, Gupta did not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the first network entity, an acknowledgment of the first request. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP-TR 33.737 disclosed wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the first network entity, an acknowledgment of the first request (Page.13, Solution #5) {In the AKAM anchor key registration flow after primary authentication, the AAnF responds to the AUSF once key registration is compete (NaanF_AkAMA_AnchorKey_Register Response}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the first network entity, an acknowledgment of the first request as disclosed by 3GPP-TR 33.737 in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 6 Gupta disclosed the apparatus of claim 1. However Gup did not explicitly disclose wherein to transmit the second request and the application session key, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the second request and the application session key in response to detecting that a user equipment (UE) is roaming in the second network, wherein the application session security key having has been established for secure communication between the UE and the first network entity. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP-TR 33.737 disclosed wherein to transmit the second request and the application session key, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the second request and the application session key in response to detecting that a user equipment (UE) is roaming in the second network (Pages.15-16, Solution #6) {The HAAnf detects from the SN name that the UE is roaming and, if the VEPLMN has AKMA LI enhancements, provides KAF, KAF expiration time, and SUPI to the VAAnF in the VPLMN for storing AKAMA LI context. The SN name is provided to the HAAnF so it can determine whether the UE is roaming and selects a VAAnf}, wherein the application session security key having has been established for secure communication between the UE and the first network entity (Pages.15-16, Solution #6) {The AKMA key material is established after primary authentication, with KAKMA derive from the KAUSF shared by the UE and the AUSF}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein to transmit the second request and the application session key, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the second request and the application session key in response to detecting that a user equipment (UE) is roaming in the second network, wherein the application session security key having has been established for secure communication between the UE and the first network entity as disclosed by 3GPP-TR 33.737 in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US 2022/0210636 A1) and 3GPP TR 33.737, V0.2.2, 8 July 2022, XP052183691 (referred to as 3GPP-TR 33.737) and further in view of Xiaomi (S3-221554) (referred to as Xiaomi).
As per claim 8 Gupta disclosed an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (FIG. 2C) {hAAnF server 200 B1 storing instructions executed by processor to 20 B1}. However, did not explicitly disclose to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a first network entity in a first network, a first request and an application session security key, wherein the apparatus is in a second network. In the same field of endeavor TR 33.737 disclosed receive, from a first network entity in a first network, a first request and an application session security key, wherein the apparatus is in a second network (Page 15-16, Solution #6) {The HAAnF (Home network) sends Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_ProvisioningRequest ( that includes A-KID, AF, ID, SUPI, KAF, KAF expiration time) towards the VPLMN}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated receive, from a first network entity in a first network, a first request and an application session security key, wherein the apparatus is in a second network as disclosed by 3GPP-TR 33.737 in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
Both Gupta and TR 33.737 did not explicitly disclose, transmit, to a second network entity in the second network, a second request and the application session key; receive, from the second network entity, an acknowledgment of the second request. In the same field of endeavor Xiaomi disclosed transmit, to a second network entity in the second network, a second request and the application session key (page.3, FIG.6.Y.2-Y) {The NEF in the visited network selects an AAnFProxy instance and sends it the AKMA request; when the NEF itself serves as the proxy, it sends the request directly to the AAnF}; receive, from the second network entity, an acknowledgment of the second request (Page.4, Step 7b) {The AAnf sends the Naanf_AKMA_ ApplicaticnKey_Get response to NEF in the visited network}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated transmit, to a second network entity in the second network, a second request and the application session key; receive, from the second network entity, an acknowledgment of the second request as disclosed by Xiaomi in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and 3GPP-TR 33.737 in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
9. As per claim 9 Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737-Xiaomi disclosed the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: select one of multiple network functions (NFs) in the second network; and transmit the second request and the application session key to the selected one of the multiple NFs, wherein the selected one of the multiple NFs comprises the second network entity (Xiaomi, Page.4, Step 3) {NEF performs AAnFProxy selection allocate an AAnFProxy instance that handles the AKMA request. The NEF shall utilize the visited network to discover the AAnFProxy instance(s) unless AAnF information is available by other means. e.g. locally configured on the NEF}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: select one of multiple network functions (NFs) in the second network; and transmit the second request and the application session key to the selected one of the multiple NFs, wherein the selected one of the multiple NFs comprises the second network entity as disclosed by Xiaomi in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and 3GPP-TR 33.737 in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 10 Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737-Xiaomi disclosed the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the second network entity, an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key identifier (A-KID), an application function identity (AFID), a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), an AKMA application key (KAF), or a KAF expiration time (Xiaomi, Page.4, Step 4) {The NEF’s AKMA Application Kay request to the AAnFProxy includes A-KID and AF_ID}, (Step 5b) {The NEF sends A-KID and AF_ID directly to the AAnF}. Also see TR 33.737 (Page 15-16, Solution #6).
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated transmit, to the second network entity, an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key identifier (A-KID), an application function identity (AFID), a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), an AKMA application key (KAF), or a KAF expiration time as disclosed by Xiaomi in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and 3GPP-TR 33.737 in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 11 Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737-Xiaomi disclosed the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second network entity is-comprises one of a unified data management (UDM) function, a unified data repository (UDR), an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a policy control function (PCF), an authentication server function (AUSF), or an authentication and key management for applications anchor function (AAnF) (Xiaomi, Page.4, Step 5b) {When the NEF is emplayed to serve as the AAnFProxy, the NEF sends A-KID and AF_ID directlky to the AAnF via the Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get Request service operation}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated network entity is-comprises one of a unified data management (UDM) function, a unified data repository (UDR), an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a policy control function (PCF), an authentication server function (AUSF), or an authentication and key management for applications anchor function (AAnF) as disclosed by Xiaomi in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and 3GPP-TR 33.737 in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 12 Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737-Xiaomi disclosed the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the first network entity, an acknowledgment of the first request (Xiaomi, page 4, Steps 7b thru Step.9) { After receiving the response from the AAnFProxy/AAnf, the NEF return the Nnef_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get Response to the entity that sent that originally sent it the request}. Also see Gupta Figure 4.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated transmit, to the first network entity, an acknowledgment of the first request as disclosed by Xiaomi in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and 3GPP-TR 33.737 in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 13 Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737-Xiaomi disclosed the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the application session security key comprises a security key for secure communication between a user equipment (UE) that is roaming in the second network and an application function in the first network (TR 33.737, Page.15-16, Solution #6) {Solution #6 discloses where the UE is in the VPLMN and accesses the HPLMN AF. The roaming UE builds a secure tunnel to an AF in the HPLMN using credentials based on 3GPP-derived keys. KAF is the AKMA application key derived by the ME and AAnF for the specific AF}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the application session security key comprises a security key for secure communication between a user equipment (UE) that is roaming in the second network and an application function in the first network as disclosed by 3GPP-TR 33.737 in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and Xiaomi in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 14 Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737-Xiaomi disclosed the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the apparatus implements a network exposure function (NEF) (Xiaomi, Page.3, Figure 6.Y.2-Y) {The NEF in the visited network receives the AKMA request, performs selection, forwards the request, receives the response and subsequently passes it along}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the apparatus implements a network exposure function (NEF) as disclosed by 3GPP-TR 33.737 in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and Xiaomi in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 6 Gupta disclosed an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Fig.2D) {VAAnF hardware}, (FIG. 2C) {hAAnF server 200 B1 storing instructions executed by processor to 20 B1} . transmit, to the first network entity, an acknowledgment of the second request (FIG4) {vAAnF provides re-direction information to the hAAnF in response to the message}. However Gupta did not explicitly disclose configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a first network entity in a first network, a first request and an application session security key, wherein the apparatus is in the first network. In the same field of endeavor Xiaomi disclosed configure to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a first network entity in a first network, a first request and an application session security key, wherein the apparatus is in the first network (Xiaomi, Figure.6.Y.2-Y) {The visited network NEF forwards AKMA request to the AKMA and function in the same visited network.}.
It would have been obvious to one the ordinary skill in the art to configure to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a first network entity in a first network, a first request and an application session security key, wherein the apparatus is in the first network as disclosed by Xiaomi in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737 in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
Both Gupta and Xiaomi did not explicitly disclose store a legal interception (LI) security context that includes the application session security key (3GPP-TR 33.737, Page 15-16, Solution #6) {the KAF expiration time and SUPI are provided to the VaanF in the VPLMN for storing the AKMA LI context}. In the same field of endeavor TR 33.737 disclosed store a legal interception (LI) security context that includes the application session security key (TR 33.737, Page 15-16, Solution #6) {the KAF expiration time and SUPI are provided to the VaanF in the VPLMN for storing the AKMA LI context}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated store a legal interception (LI) security context that includes the application session security key as disclosed by 3GPP-TR 33.737 in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and Xiaomi in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 17 Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737-Xiaomi disclosed the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the apparatus implements a second network entity that is one of a unified data management (UDM) function, a unified data repository (UDR), an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a policy control function (PCF), an authentication server function (AUSF), and or an authentication and key management for applications anchor function (AAnF) (Xiaomi, Page.4, Step 5b) {When the NEF is emplayed to serve as the AAnFProxy, the NEF sends A-KID and AF_ID directlky to the AAnF via the Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get Request service operation}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the apparatus implements a second network entity that is one of a unified data management (UDM) function, a unified data repository (UDR), an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a policy control function (PCF), an authentication server function (AUSF), and or an authentication and key management for applications anchor function (AAnF) as disclosed by Xiaomi in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and 3GPP-TR 33.737 in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 18 Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737-Xiaomi disclosed the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the application session security key is a security key for secure communication between a user equipment (UE) that is roaming in the first network and an application function in a second network (TR 33.737, Page.15-16, Solution #6) {Solution #6 discloses where the UE is in the VPLMN and accesses the HPLMN AF. The roaming UE builds a secure tunnel to an AF in the HPLMN using credentials based on 3GPP-derived keys. KAF is the AKMA application key derived by the ME and AAnF for the specific AF}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the application session security key is a security key for secure communication between a user equipment (UE) that is roaming in the first network and an application function in a second network as disclosed by 3GPP-TR 33.737 in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and Xiaomi in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes.
As per claim 19 Gupta-3GPP-TR 33.737-Xiaomi disclosed the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first network entity comprises a network exposure function (NEF) (Xiaomi, Page.3, Figure 6.Y.2-Y) {The NEF in the visited network receives the AKMA request, performs selection, forwards the request, receives the response and subsequently passes it along}.
It would have obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the first network entity comprises a network exposure function (NEF) as disclosed by 3GPP-TR 33.737 in the in the apparatus disclosed by Gupta and Xiaomi in order to make the apparatus more robust and produce more accurate outcomes..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is indicated in PTO form 892.
Applicant's future amendments need to comply with the requirements of MPEP §
714.02, MPEP § 2163.04 and MPEP § 2163.06.
"with respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims." See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 ("Applicant should * * * specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure."); and MPEP § 2163.04 ("If applicant amends the claims and points out where and/or how the originally filed disclosure supports the amendment(s), and the examiner finds that the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of the amendment at the time of the filing of the application, the examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims."). See In re Smith, 458 F.2d 1389, 1395, 173 USPQ 679, 683 (CCPA 1972) In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 262,191 USPQ at 96 (emphasis added).
"The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted.
New claims and amendments to the claims already in the application should be scrutinized not only for new matter but also for new terminology. While an applicant is not limited to the nomenclature used in the application as filed, he or she should make appropriate amendment of the specification whenever this nomenclature is departed from by amendment of the claims so as to have clear support or antecedent basis in the specification for the new terms appearing in the claims. This is necessary in order to insure certainty in construing the claims in the light of the specification." Ex parte Kotler, 1901 C.D. 62, 95 O.G. 2684
(Comm'r Pat. 1901). See 37 CFR 1.75, MPEP § 608.01 (i) and § 1302.01.
Note that examiners should ensure that the terms and phrases used in claims presented late in prosecution of the application (including claims amended via an examiner's amendment) find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description, see 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1 ). If the examiner determines that the claims presented late in prosecution do not comply with 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1), applicant will be required to make appropriate amendment to the description to provide clear support or antecedent basis for the terms appearing in the claims provided no new matter is introduced."
"USPTO personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure." In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023,1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). MPEP § 2106. "
The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the examiner.
/ASGHAR H BILGRAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647