Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The article beginning each lettered clause (a,b and c in claim 1; a in claim 9) should not be capitalized
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
“referencing means” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The way all the method claims 9-14 are written makes it unclear as to whether or not they are method claims or apparatus claims.
claims 9-14 are directed to a method, yet each step recited is phrased as a description of what a component of the apparatus of claim 1 automatically does, rather than as the positive recitation of an affirmative step performed by a user practicing the method. This mixing of apparatus and method language renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether infringement occurs. MPEP 2173.05(p).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (US 3590258 A) in view of Mueller (US20050089210A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shibata teaches a device for checking the flatness of a metal sheet or strip moving in a direction X (Abstract, col.1, lines 49-56), comprising: a) A light source (12) illuminating a field of observation of the sheet or strip substantially homogeneously (fig. 2, col.1, lines 49-56), b), camera (14), which is disposed so as to record, in the field of observation, at least one photograph of a deformed image of the light source formed by the sheet or strip (col.1, lines 49-56, lines 65-66), but fails to disclose the camera is a 2D digital camera, a computing device for comparing at least one photograph of the deformed image of the light source with a photograph of a reference image of the light source and for continuously computing at least one coefficient correlated with the flatness of the sheet or strip.
However, Mueller, which is related to a device for checking the flatness of a metal sheet or strip, thus from the same field of endeavor as Shibata, teaches a camera which is a 2D digital camera ([0033]), a computing device for comparing at least one photograph of the deformed image of the light source with a photograph of a reference image of the light source and for continuously computing at least one coefficient correlated with the flatness of the sheet or strip ([0018], [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata by incorporating a camera which is a 2D digital camera, a computing device for comparing at least one photograph of the deformed image of the light source with a photograph of a reference image of the light source and for continuously computing at least one coefficient correlated with the flatness of the sheet or strip to make possible a rapid determination of the actual height differences of the strip surface and in this way permits measurement of continuous lengths of strip in real time ([0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches the flatness-checking device according to claim 1, wherein the light source is substantially linear and straight in form, optionally substantially perpendicular to the direction of the movement X (Shibata: (fig. 2, col.1, lines 49-56)
Regarding claim 5, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches the flatness-checking device according to claim 1, wherein the camera is substantially centered with respect to the field of observation (Shibata: fig. 1, col. 1, lines 52-54, lines 65-66 ).
Regarding claim 6, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches the flatness-checking device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the images of the ends of the light source in the perpendicular direction are not in the field of observation, and optionally in that the images of the ends of the light source in the perpendicular direction are not visible to the camera.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata and Muller by arranging for the images of the ends of the light source in the perpendicular direction to not be in the field of observation, and optionally in that the images of the ends of the light source in the perpendicular direction are not visible to the camera so light source’s ends do no fall within, and therefore do not corrupt the imaged inspection region.
Regarding claim 7, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches the device for checking flatness of a strip according to claim 1, wherein the device comprises referencing means (17 and 18) that optionally are spaced apart by at least the width of the sheet or strip (Shibata: col. 2, lines 37-40).
Regarding claim 8, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches a sheet or strip production machine comprising the device according to claim 1 (Shibata: Abstract, col. 2, lines 37-38).
Regarding claim 9, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches a method for checking flatness with the device according to claim 1, comprising the following successive steps: a) The camera transmits a photograph of the deformed image of the light source to the computing device (Muller: [0033]), b) a predetermined model implemented in the computing device determines the photograph of the reference image of the light source (Muller: [0033]), c) the predetermined model compares the photograph of the deformed image of the light source with the photograph of the reference image of the light source (Muller: [0033]), d) the predetermined model computes at least one coefficient correlated with the flatness of the sheet or strip (Muller: [0018]).
Regarding claim 11, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches the continuous flatness-checking method according to claim 9, wherein the camera transmits a photograph of the deformed image of the light source to the computing device according to a predetermined period (Shibata: col. 2, lines 3-5; Muller: [0018]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (US 3590258 A) in view of Mueller (US20050089210A1), and further in view of Valerio (EP1327852).
Regarding claim 3, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches the flatness-checking device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the light source is in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the sheet or strip.
However, Valerio, which is related to a device for checking the flatness of a metal sheet or strip, thus from the same field of endeavor as Shibata, teaches the light source is in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the sheet or strip ([0014]-[0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata and Muller by incorporating the light source is in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the sheet or strip for improved measurement.
Regarding claim 4, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches the device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the light source consists of light-emitting diodes (LEDs).
However, Valerio teaches the light source consists of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) ([0014]-[0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata and Muller by incorporating wherein the light source consists of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) for improved measurement.
11. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (US 3590258 A) in view of Mueller (US20050089210A1), and further in view of Isei (US20140007634A1).
Regarding claim 12, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches the continuous checking method according to claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein at least one coefficient correlated with the flatness of the sheet or strip is a mean on a predetermined plurality of sliding photographs.
However, Isei, which is related to a device for checking the flatness of a metal sheet or strip, thus from the same field of endeavor as Shibata, teaches wherein at least one coefficient correlated with the flatness of the sheet or strip is a mean on a predetermined plurality of sliding photographs ([0051], [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata and muller by incorporating wherein at least one coefficient correlated with the flatness of the sheet or strip is a mean on a predetermined plurality of sliding photographs in order to reduce noise measurement.
12. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (US 3590258 A) in view of Mueller (US20050089210A1), and further in view Scheid (US 20130114878 A1)
Regarding claim 13, Shibata, when modified by Muller, teaches the method according to claim 11, but fails to disclose further including the step e) the predetermined model compares the photograph of the deformed image of the light source with respect to the photographs of the deformed images of the light sources that were previously transmitted by the camera.
However, Scheid, which relates to defect detection, thus from the same field of endeavor as Shibata, teaches compares the photograph of the deformed image of the light source with respect to the photographs of the deformed images of the light sources that were previously transmitted by the camera ([0015]-[0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata and Muller by incorporating further including the step e) the predetermined model compares the photograph of the deformed image of the light source with respect to the photographs of the deformed images of the light sources that were previously transmitted by the camera for a more robust diagnostic (Scheid [0030]).
13. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (US 3590258 A) in view of Mueller (US20050089210A1), further in view of Isei (US20140007634A1), and further in view of Keiji (JP,2015-094666,A).
Regarding claim 14, Shibata, when modified by Muller and Isei, teaches the method according to claim 12, but fails to disclose wherein the predetermined model identifies the repetitive flatness defects.
However, Keiji, which is related to a device for checking the flatness of a metal sheet or strip, thus from the same field of endeavor as Shibata, teaches the predetermined model identifies the repetitive flatness defects ([0059]-[0061])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata, Isei and Muller by incorporating wherein the predetermined model identifies the repetitive flatness defects for improvement in accuracy of detection (Keiji [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the 112 (b) rejection is overcome.
The prior art of record, whether considered individually or in combination, do not render obvious the claim subject matter: “wherein steps b to d comprise the following successive steps :i) the predetermined model analyzes the photograph of the deformed image of the light source as a deformed line ii) a reference line is preferentially estimated by the linear regression of a deformed line, iii) a distance to the reference line is obtained by calculating the mean of the Euclidean distance of each point on the deformed line to the reference line, and/or the following successive steps iv) the predetermined model analyzes the photograph of the deformed image of the light source as a deformed line, v) the deformed line is segmented into a plurality of elements, vi) a segmented reference line is calculated by the linear regression of each segment of the deformed line, vii)for at least one element of the segmented deformed line, a distance to the segmented reference line is obtained by calculating the mean of the Euclidean distance of each point of the element of the deformed line to the segmented reference line.”
None of the cited references teach using linear regression to derive the reference line from the deformed line itself, or measuring flatness by calculating the mean Euclidean distance between the deformed line and that regression-derived reference line.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Blanchard(US 6995838 B2).
/MOHAMED DOUMBIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877