DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of group I and species I with traverse in the reply filed on 8/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal between groups is on the ground(s) that there would be no undue burden in searching each of the identified groups in a single search.
This is not found persuasive because a search of additional mutually exclusive features in patentably distinct inventions constitutes a burdensome search and examination. To establish burden of search, there are three criterions: The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). In the instant case, the mutually exclusive characteristics in group II, requires a plurality of fluid supply paths, which, requires a different field of search which require different search strategies or search queries. Additionally, the mutually exclusive characteristics in species I-IV, requires different structural features, a bellows, a biasing member, a plurality of shafts, and a diaphragm, which, requires a different field of search which require different search strategies or search queries Claims 7-9 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/28/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/2025 was filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/12/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mizohata et al. (US 20060137419).
Regarding claim 1, Mizohata et al. disclose, a fluid supply mechanism 1 that repeats supply and stop of a fluid to a chamber (the chamber within 2631, see Fig. 17), the fluid supply mechanism comprising: a fluid supply path (the path from 12 to 11 to 112 to 113 to 114 to 22 and to 24, para.0070, 0125, see Fig. 1,17) communicating with the chamber; a tank (131) provided in the fluid supply path and into which the fluid is introduced; and a downstream-side valve 241 provided at a downstream side of the tank in the fluid supply path, wherein an internal volume of the tank changes due to deformation of the tank, as shown in Figures 2-3.
Regarding claim 2, Mizohata et al. disclose, the tank is deformed between a first form in which the internal volume is a first volume and a second form in which the internal volume is a second volume smaller than the first volume, the fluid is introduced into the tank in a state where the downstream-side valve is closed and the tank is in the first form, and the fluid is supplied from the tank to the chamber in a state where the downstream- side valve is opened and the tank is in the second form (para.0045).
Regarding claim 3, Mizohata et al. disclose, an upstream-side valve (112) provided at an upstream side of the tank in the fluid supply path, wherein the fluid is introduced into the tank in the first form in a state where the upstream- side valve is opened, and the tank is deformed from the first form to the second form in a state where the upstream-side valve is closed (para.0045).
Regarding claim 4, Mizohata et al. disclose, the deformation of the tank from one of the first form and the second form to another one and deformation from the other one to the one are repeated at a predetermined deformation timing, and opening and closing of the downstream-side valve are repeated at a predetermined opening and closing timing (para.0068,para.0074, Steps “are repeated”).
Regarding method claim 10, the device shown by Mizohata et al. will perform the methods as recited in claim 10, during normal operational use of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizohata et al. (US 20060137419) in view of Im et al. (US 20050081787).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Mizohata et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that a pressure sensor that detects a pressure in the tank; and a valve control unit that closes the upstream-side valve when a detection value of the pressure sensor reaches a threshold, and further comprising: a pressure sensor that detects a pressure of the tank; and a valve control unit that controls an opening degree of the downstream-side valve based on a detection value of the pressure sensor.
Im et al. teach the use of a pressure sensor (132) that detects a pressure in the tank (130); and a valve control unit (131) that closes the upstream-side valve (121) when a detection value of the pressure sensor reaches a threshold, further comprising: a pressure sensor (132) that detects a pressure of the tank (130); and a valve control unit (131) that controls an opening degree of the downstream-side valve (141) based on a detection value of the pressure sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a pressure sensor with valves operated by a controller, as taught by Im et al. into the device of Mizohata et al. to have a pressure sensor that detects a pressure in the tank; and a valve control unit that closes the upstream-side valve when a detection value of the pressure sensor reaches a threshold, and further comprising: a pressure sensor that detects a pressure of the tank; and a valve control unit that controls an opening degree of the downstream-side valve based on a detection value of the pressure sensor, to automatically control the amount of gaseous source supplied to the reactor (Im et al., para.0056).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753