DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 17, the limitation “wherein the at least one compartment between two third trap doors is blind” is confusing since it is unclear what the phrase “at least one compartment between two third trap doors is blind” intends to implied. Therefore, it is not understood what is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Norris (US 2015/0189855).
For claim 1, Norris teaches a device for extracting food from a tank of an animal feeder where it is designed to be fastened, the device comprising an opening, which in turn comprises:
- a frame (250), formed by a U-shaped sheet that has a hole (251) located in each wing of the U-shape, and
- a food extracting mechanism that is fastened to the frame with the ability to rotate, wherein, the food extracting mechanism comprises a trap door (230) joined to a tube to house a shaft that is fastened to the frame through the holes (234) and wherein the food extracting mechanism comprises a first trap door (230 on one end near (227)) and a second trap door (230 on one end near (226)), firmly joined to the first trap door by means of the tube, forming an angle (see Figures 6-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norris (US 2015/0189855).
For claim 13, as described above, Norris discloses most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the first trap door comprises apertures so that the smell of the food reaches the outside. However, an Official Notice is taken that providing orifices/apertures in animal feeder is a well known technique used throughout the art of animal husbandry in order to attract animals thereof. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included apertures onto the trap door, in light of the Official Notice taken, in order to attract animals thereof.
For claim 18, Norris as modified further teach wherein the food extracting mechanism is located at the base of the tank (201).
Claims 16, 17, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norris (US 2015/0189855) in view of Mezhinsky (US 5230300).
For claim 16, as described above, Norris discloses most of the claimed invention except for mentioning a plurality of third trap doors evenly distributed around the tube that form compartments, configuring a mill.
Mezhinsky teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide an animal feeder having a plurality of third trap doors evenly distributed around the tube that form compartments, configuring a mill (48,49,50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the animal feeder of Norris so as to include a plurality of third trap doors configuring a mill, in a similar manner as taught in Mezhinsky, so that the feeding can be distributed evenly.
For claim 17 (as best understood), Norris as modified by Mezhinsky (emphasis on Mezhinsky) further teach wherein the at least one compartment between two third trap doors (48,49,50) is blind (see Figure 3).
For claim 21, Norris as modified Mezhinsky (emphasis on Norris) further teach further teach wherein the food extracting mechanism is located at the base of the tank (201).
For claim 22, Norris as modified Mezhinsky (emphasis on Norris) further teach further teach wherein the food extracting mechanism is located at the base of the tank (201).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 14, 15, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Note, although the examiner recites certain excerpts for the prior art, MPEP 2141.02 VI states “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS”.
The prior arts Bogart (US 9700014) and Quiring et al. (US 2012/0085289) teach an animal feeder having a tank for storing feed and a dispenser.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Collins can be reached on 571-272-6886. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRINH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644