DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of information disclosure statement(s) filed 12 March 2025 and 4 December 2025 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al; (Publication number: US 2016/0178835 A1), hereafter Kim.
Regarding claim 10:
Kim discloses a data transmission method (Kim Figure 2; ABSTRACT; [0044 – 0048) performed by a controller (Kim Figure 2 110, 120), wherein the controller and a plurality of source drivers are comprises in a driver system (Kim Figure 1 driver circuit board 100 includes controllers 110, 120; source driver chip 300 includes plurality of source drive chips 310_1 to 310_k), a first data transmission channel (Kim Figure 2 – transmission channel illustrated as R’G’B’-output of controller 110) and a second data transmission channel are provided between the controller and each of the source drivers (Kim Figure 2 – second transmission channel illustrated as DS-output of 120), and the method comprises:
obtaining, by the controller, image data corresponding to each of the source drivers and local dimming data corresponding to each of the source drivers (Kim Figure 2 see input RGB to controller 110; dimming controller 120 obtains DS based on B-CS derived from RGB and CS); and
transmitting, by the controller, image data corresponding to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission data channel and the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the second data transmission channel (Kim Figure 2 – output R’G’B’ output to source drivers 310 and DS output to 310).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wolf et al; (Patent number: US 6, 914, 637 B1), hereafter Wolf.
Regarding claim 1:
Kim discloses a data transmission method (Kim Figure 2; ABSTRACT; [0044 – 0048), performed by a controller (Kim Figure 2 110, 120), wherein the controller and a plurality of source drivers are comprised in a drive system (Kim Figure 1 driver circuit board 100 includes controllers 110, 120; source driver chip 300 includes plurality of source drive chips 310_1 to 310_k), a first data transmission channel is provided between the controller and each of the source drivers (Kim Figure 2 – transmission channel illustrated as R’G’B’-output of controller 110), and the method comprises: obtaining, by the controller, image data corresponding to each of the source drivers and local dimming data corresponding to each of the source drivers (Kim Figure 2 see input RGB to controller 110; dimming controller 120 obtains DS based on B-CS derived from RGB and CS).
Kim does not disclose transmitting, by the controller, the image data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel and the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel.
However, Wolf discloses a method and system for video and auxiliary data transmission over a serial link. More particularly, Wolf discloses “in preferred embodiments in which video data are transmitted over video channels of a TMDS link (during active video periods), a pixel clock is transmitted over the clock channel of the TMDS link, and packets containing audio (or other auxiliary data) are transmitted over the video channels in intervals between active video periods”. Further, Wolf discloses auxiliary data includes brightness information (Wolf Col 8 lines 44 – 49; Col 5 line 63 to Col 6 line 8).
It would have been obvious to modify Kim to include transmitting, by the controller, the image data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel and the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate reducing the number of transmission channels required in the display device.
Regarding claim 2:
Kim (in view of Wolf) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the transmitting, by the controller, the image data to each of the source drivers via the first transmission data channel and the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel, comprising: transmitting, by the controller, a mixed data packet to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel; wherein the mixed data packet comprises the image data and the local dimming data (disclosed in combination by Kim Figure 2 – R’G’B’ and DS; and Wolf Figure 5 TDMS channels showing auxiliary and video packets).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wolf et al; (Patent number: US 6, 914, 637 B1), hereafter Wolf, in view of Su et al; (Publication number: US 2013/0050298 A1), hereafter Su.
Regarding claim 9:
Kim (in view of Wolf) does not disclose The method according to claims 2, wherein before the transmitting, by the controller, the mixed data packet to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel, the method further comprises: transmitting second clock training data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel; receiving, via the second data transmission channel, a second answer signal sent by each of the source drivers after each of the source drivers performs a clock recovery operation based on the second clock training data; and accordingly, the transmitting, by the controller, the mixed data packet to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel comprises: transmitting the mixed data packet to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel when each second answer signal indicates a successful clock recovery operation.
However, Su discloses a display and operating method thereof. More particularly, Su discloses transmitting training packets to the source drivers (Su Figure 7 S710) and outputting a lock signal to the timing controller with source drivers lock (Su Figure 7 S720) and transmitting the color data packets and at least one latch signal to each of the source drivers (Su Figure 7 S730 and S740).
It would have been obvious to further modify Kim (in view of Wolf) wherein before the transmitting, by the controller, the mixed data packet to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel, the method further comprises: transmitting second clock training data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel; receiving, via the second data transmission channel, a second answer signal sent by each of the source drivers after each of the source drivers performs a clock recovery operation based on the second clock training data; and accordingly, the transmitting, by the controller, the mixed data packet to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel comprises: transmitting the mixed data packet to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel when each second answer signal indicates a successful clock recovery operation, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate reducing a hardware cost of the timing controller and the source driver (Su [0006]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Taewook (Publication number: US 2011/0148748 A1), hereafter Lee, in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 20:
Lee discloses a controller (Lee Figure 1 timing controller 101), comprising:
a processor (Lee Figure 2 111), and a memory communicatively connected to the processor (Lee Figure 2 112); wherein the memory is configured to store computer execution instruction (Lee [0024]).
Lee does not disclose the processor configured to execute the computer execution stored in the memory to implement the method of claim 10.
However, Kim discloses a display device. More particularly, Kim discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection above regarding claim 10).
As such, it would have been obvious to modify Lee such that the processor configured to execute the computer execution stored in the memory to implement the method of claim 10, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate a display device with reduced heat generation (Kim [0006]).
Claim(s) 14 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim in view of Wolf et al; (Patent number: US 6, 914, 637 B1).
Regarding claim 14:
Lee discloses a controller (Lee Figure 1 timing controller 101), comprising: a processor (Lee Figure 2 111), and a memory communicatively connected to the processor (Lee Figure 2 112); wherein the memory is configured to store computer execution instructions (Lee [0024]).
Lee does not disclose the processor configured to execute the computer instructions stored in memory to implement the method according to claim 1.
However, Kim (in view of Wolf) discloses a display device. More particularly Kim discloses the method of claim 1.
As such, it would have been obvious to modify Lee such that the processor configured to execute the computer execution stored in the memory to implement the method of claim 10, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate a display device with reduced heat generation (Kim [0006]).
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 2.
Claim(s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wolf et al; (Patent number: US 6, 914, 637 B1), hereafter Wolf, in view of CHOE, Weon-Jun (Publication number: US 2009/0284509 A1), hereafter CHOE.
Regarding claim 3:
Kim (in view of Wolf) discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the mixed data packet comprises a plurality of sub-data packets (Wolf Figure 5 – packets illustrated in Figure), each of the sub-data packets comprising a plurality of first data packets and second data packet; wherein the first data packet comprises the image data (Wolf Figure 5 red image packets), and the second data packet comprises the image and the local dimming data (Wolf Figure 5 green image packets and CTL3 packets related to auxiliary brightness data; Col 14 lines 19 - 35).
Kim (in view of Wolf) does not disclose: a plurality of dimming regions controlled by the image data comprises in each of the sub-data packets is referred to as a display region, a region in which the backlight source is located is referred to as a backlight region, and the backlight source is controlled by the local dimming data comprised in each of the sub-data packets; wherein a projection of the display region on the backlight region coincides with the backlight region.
However, CHOE discloses a display device and clock embedding method. More particularly, CHOE discloses a plurality of dimming regions controlled by the image data comprises in each of the sub-data packets is referred to as a display region, a region in which the backlight source is located is referred to as a backlight region (inherent to local dimming process), and the backlight source is controlled by the local dimming data comprised in each of the sub-data packets (CHOE [0036]); wherein a projection of the display region on the backlight region coincides with the backlight region (inherent to local dimming process).
It would have been obvious to further modify Kim (in view of Wolf) a plurality of dimming regions controlled by the image data comprises in each of the sub-data packets is referred to as a display region, a region in which the backlight source is located is referred to as a backlight region, and the backlight source is controlled by the local dimming data comprised in each of the sub-data packets; wherein a projection of the display region on the backlight region coincides with the backlight region, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to transmit wider bandwidth image data signals plus control signals from the signal controller to each of the data driving chips in a more efficient and stable manner (CHOE [0007]).
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 8, 11 – 13, 17 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4 (and similarly claim 17), the prior art does not disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein each second data packet comprises a second packet header, a second packet body and the local dimming data; and in the second data packet, the local dimming data is inserted in the second data packet header, and a length of the second packet header after insertion of the local dimming data is the same as a length of insertion of the second data pack before insertion of the local dimming data.
As an example of the related art, Leong et al; (Publication number: US 2023/0154421 A1), hereafter Leong, discloses backlight control device. More particularly, Leong discloses a transmission packet for local dimming which includes a packet header and body (Leong Figure 3A and [0025]) but does not disclose a length of the second packet header after insertion of the local dimming data is the same as a length of insertion of the second data pack before insertion of the local dimming data, as claimed.
Claims 4 – 6 and 18 – 19 depend on one of claims 4 and 17, accordingly and are similarly objected.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein a second data transmission channel is provided between the controller and each of the source drivers, and after transmitting, by the controller, the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel, the method further comprises: traversing the source drivers and performing the following steps sequentially for each for each of the source drivers: at step a, sensing a first feedback request to a current source driver via the second data transmission channel and receiving a first feedback request to a current source driver via the second data transmission channel; and at step b, determining whether a next source driver exists when no abnormality is detected, and in response to that the next source driver exists, generating a first feedback request to the next source driver and jumping to the step a.
As an example of the related art, OH et al; (Publication number: US 2016/0125840 A1), hereafter OH, discloses a display device. More particularly, OH discloses clock training is performed at a point in time in which the clock signal is determined to be abnormal (OH [0036]), but does not disclose wherein a second data transmission channel is provided between the controller and each of the source drivers, and after transmitting, by the controller, the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel, the method further comprises: traversing the source drivers and performing the following steps sequentially for each for each of the source drivers: at step a, sensing a first feedback request to a current source driver via the second data transmission channel and receiving a first feedback request to a current source driver via the second data transmission channel; and at step b, determining whether a next source driver exists when no abnormality is detected, and in response to that the next source driver exists, generating a first feedback request to the next source driver and jumping to the step a.
Claim 8 depends of claim 7 and is therefore similarly objected.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not disclose the method according to claim 10 wherein before the transmitting, by the controller, the image data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel and the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the second data transmission channel, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the controller, third clock training data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel; broadcasting, by the controller, first dimming control data to each of the source drivers via the second data transmission channel; receiving, by the controller, via the second data transmission channel, a third answer signal sent by each of the source drivers after each of the source drivers performs a clock recovery operation based on the third clock training data; and accordingly, the transmitting, by the controller, the image data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel and the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the second data transmission channel comprises: when each third answer signal indicates a successful clock recovery operation and the first dimming control data is received, transmitting, by the controller, the image data to each of the source drivers via the first data transmission channel and the local dimming data to each of the source drivers sequentially via the second data transmission channel.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art does not disclose The method according to claim 10, wherein after the transmitting, by the controller, the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the second data transmission channel, the method further comprises:traversing the source drivers and performing following steps sequentially for each of the source drivers:at step c, sending a second feedback request to a current source driver via the second data transmission channel and receiving a second feedback response from the current source driver via the second data transmission channel; and at step d, determining whether a next source driver exists when no abnormality is detected, and in response to that the next source driver exists, generating a second feedback request to the next source driver and jumping to the step c.
As an example of the related art, OH et al; (Publication number: US 2016/0125840 A1), hereafter OH, discloses a display device. More particularly, OH discloses clock training is performed at a point in time in which the clock signal is determined to be abnormal (OH [0036]), but does not disclose wherein after the transmitting, by the controller, the local dimming data to each of the source drivers via the second data transmission channel, the method further comprises: traversing the source drivers and performing following steps sequentially for each of the source drivers: at step c, sending a second feedback request to a current source driver via the second data transmission channel and receiving a second feedback response from the current source driver via the second data transmission channel; and at step d, determining whether a next source driver exists when no abnormality is detected, and in response to that the next source driver exists, generating a second feedback request to the next source driver and jumping to the step c.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 depend on claim 12 and is therefore similarly objected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
OH et al; (Publication number: US 2016/0125840 A1).
Leong et al; (Publication number: US 2023/0154421 A1).
Conclusion
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 21 March 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622