Claim Objections
Claim 9, line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a plurality of the combustors according to claim 8” should be - -“a plurality of the combustor according to claim 8- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, lines 3 and 3-4 recites “a circumferential side wall” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if one of these is the same or different from “a circumferential side wall” recited in claim 1, lines 7. For purposes of examination, these are different from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCorso et al (US 4112676) in view of Bowker et al (US 5623819).
Annotated Figure 2 and 3 of Bowker
Regarding claim 1, DeCorso discloses a gas turbine combustion cylinder (The gas turbine combustion cylinder of Figure 1) comprising:
a combustion cylinder (Figure 1; 30);
a plurality of fuel nozzles (Any two instance of Figure 1; 54 such as circumferentially adjacent 54 or diametrically opposed instances of 54. For this rejection the plurality of fuel nozzles are diametrically opposed instances of 54 at the top and bottom of 50) disposed at an interval in a circumferential direction (The interval in a circumferential direction of Figure 1; 54) of the combustion cylinder on a side portion (The side portion of the combustion cylinder) of the combustion cylinder; and
a windbreak cover (The cover defining Figure 1; 50) disposed to enclose at least one of the plurality of fuel nozzles,
wherein the windbreak cover includes a top plate (The horizontal line forming Figure 1; 50) extending in the circumferential direction, the windbreak cover being formed by the top plate and having a suction opening portion (The right opening of Figure 1; 50) for taking in combustion air (The combustion air entering the right opening of Figure 1; 50), and
a dimension in a radial direction (The radial dimension of Figure 1; 50 with respect to the central axis of Figure 1; 30 of the suction opening) of the combustion cylinder in the suction opening portion is smaller than a dimension (The circumferential dimension of the section opening) in the circumferential direction in the suction opening portion in at least a partial region (The circumferential region where the suction opening is located) in the circumferential direction.
DeCorso does not disclose wherein the windbreak cover includes a circumferential side wall that connects an end portion of the top plate in the circumferential direction and the combustion cylinder, the windbreak cover being formed by the circumferential side wall.
However, Bowker teaches wherein a windbreak cover (The horizontal line of Figure 2; 53 and the divergent portion of 57) includes a circumferential side wall (The wall between adjacent Figure 2; 87 contacting Annotated Figure 2; labeled end portion) that connects an end portion (Annotated Figure 2; labeled end portion) of a top plate (The horizontal line of Figure 2; 53 and portion of the divergent portion of 57 which is to the right of 87) in a circumferential direction (The circumferential direction of the central axis of Figure 2; 57) and a combustion cylinder (Figure 2; 60, 57), the windbreak cover being formed by the top plate and the circumferential side wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of DeCorso wherein the windbreak cover includes a circumferential side wall that connects an end portion of the top plate in the circumferential direction and the combustion cylinder, the windbreak cover being formed by the circumferential side wall as taught by and suggested by Bowker in order to prevent backflow (Column 6, lines 8-11, The modification uses the outlets of Bowker in the combustors of DeCorso).
Regarding claim 2, DeCorso in view of Bowker teaches the invention as claimed.
DeCorso further discloses wherein the windbreak cover includes an upstream side wall (The left vertical wall forming Figure 1; 50) that connects an end portion (The left end portion of the top plate) of the top plate on an upstream side (The portion of Figure 1; 30 upstream of the right row of 41) of the combustion cylinder and the combustion cylinder.
Regarding claim 3, DeCorso in view of Bowker teaches the invention as claimed.
DeCorso further discloses wherein a dimension in an axial direction (The axial dimension of the top plate) of the combustion cylinder in the top plate is smaller than a dimension in the circumferential direction (The circumferential dimension of the top plate) in the top plate.
Regarding claim 5, DeCorso in view of Bowker teaches the invention as claimed.
DeCorso does not disclose wherein the windbreak cover is configured so that all of the plurality of fuel nozzles are located between a circumferential side wall on one side in the circumferential direction and a circumferential side wall on the other side in the circumferential direction.
However, Bowker teaches wherein the windbreak cover is configured so that all of a plurality of fuel nozzles (The two fuel nozzles indicated by Annotated Figure 2; labeled fuel nozzle) are located between a circumferential side wall (The top instance of Annotated Figure 2; labeled side wall) on one side (The top side in the circumferential direction) in the circumferential direction and a circumferential side wall (The bottom instance of Annotated Figure 2; labeled side wall) on the other side (The bottom side in the circumferential direction) in the circumferential direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of DeCorso wherein the windbreak cover is configured so that all of the plurality of fuel nozzles are located between a circumferential side wall on one side in the circumferential direction and a circumferential side wall on the other side in the circumferential direction as taught by and suggested by Bowker in order to prevent backflow (Column 6, lines 8-11, this is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, DeCorso in view of Bowker teaches the invention as claimed.
DeCorso does not disclose wherein the windbreak cover includes a bulkhead that connects the top plate and the combustion cylinder and that divides a space enclosed by the top plate, the circumferential side wall, and the combustion cylinder in the circumferential direction.
However, Bowker teaches wherein the windbreak cover includes a bulkhead (Figure 3; 69 on 57, but using Figure 2; 67, Column 5, lines 53-58) that connects the top plate and the combustion cylinder (Like Figure 2; 67, the 67 replacing Figure 3; 60 connects 53 and 57) and that divides a space (The space enclosed by the top plate, circumferential side wall, and combustion cylinder in the circumferential direction) enclosed by the top plate, the circumferential side wall, and the combustion cylinder in the circumferential direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of DeCorso wherein the windbreak cover includes a bulkhead that connects the top plate and the combustion cylinder and that divides a space enclosed by the top plate, the circumferential side wall, and the combustion cylinder in the circumferential direction as taught by and suggested by Bowker in order to aid in mixing the fuel and air (Column 5, lines 53-58, The modification adds swirler vanes to the windbreak cover).
Regarding claim 7, DeCorso in view of Bowker teaches the invention as claimed.
DeCorso does not disclose wherein in at least a partial region in the circumferential direction, the dimension in the radial direction of the combustion cylinder in the suction opening portion is smaller than a distance in the circumferential direction between two bulkheads adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction across at least one of the fuel nozzles or a distance in the circumferential direction between the circumferential side wall and the bulkhead which are adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction across the fuel nozzle.
However, Bowker teaches wherein in at least a partial region in the circumferential direction, a dimension in a radial direction (The radial dimension between Figure 3; 57, 53) of the combustion cylinder in a suction opening portion (The left portion of Figure 2; 53 for 18) is smaller than a distance in the circumferential direction between two bulkheads (The longer distance between Annotated Figure 3; labeled bulkheads) adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction across at least one of the fuel nozzles (One of the fuel nozzles along the longer distance between Annotated Figure 3; labeled bulkheads) or a distance in the circumferential direction between the circumferential side wall and the bulkhead which are adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction across the fuel nozzle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of DeCorso wherein in at least a partial region in the circumferential direction, the dimension in the radial direction of the combustion cylinder in the suction opening portion is smaller than a distance in the circumferential direction between two bulkheads adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction across at least one of the fuel nozzles or a distance in the circumferential direction between the circumferential side wall and the bulkhead which are adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction across the fuel nozzle as taught by and suggested by Bowker in order to aid in mixing the fuel and air (Column 5, lines 53-58, The modification adds swirler vanes to the windbreak cover).
Regarding claim 8, DeCorso in view of Bowker teaches the combustion cylinder according to Claim 1.
DeCorso further discloses a gas turbine combustor (The gas turbine combustor of Figure 1) comprising:
the combustion cylinder; and
a burner (Figure 1; 367, 40) provided on an upstream side (The upstream half of Figure 1; 30) of the combustion cylinder and used for combusting a fuel (The fuel from Figure 1; 37. Functional Language, the burner is used for combusting fuel).
Regarding claim 9, DeCorso in view of Bowker teaches the combustor according to Claim 8.
DeCorso further discloses a gas turbine (The gas turbine engine of Column 1, lines 7-10) comprising:
a rotor (Figure 1; 15, 27, 26); and
a plurality of the combustor (Column 3, lines 53-55. In the combined invention of DeCorso in view of Bowker, the combustors of DeCorso are according to claim 8), which are annularly disposed around the rotor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDWIN KANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741