DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation " at least three of the legs,” there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 17 only recites “a leg”
Claim 19 recites “rotationally symmetric positions” but the specification does not define this term, thus Examiner has applied the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-19 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4403556 (“Van Gompel”).
Regarding Claim 17-19 and 23-24,Van Gompel discloses Claim 17-a pallet (10) comprising: a base board (11); and a leg (42) configured to provide a predetermined clearance from an installation surface on a bottom surface side of the base board (11), wherein the base board (11) has a three-leaf pattern in a top view; Claim 18-wherein the base board (11) has a collective shape of three circles (12) of substantially equal diameters, the circles (12) being substantially tangential to each other in a top view; Claim 19-, wherein at least three of the legs (42) are provided at rotationally symmetrical positions on the bottom surface side of the base board (11); Claim 23- a fixing lid (13) configured to secure a mounted object to be mounted on the pallet (10); and a rod (28), wherein the rod (28) is configured to tighten the fixing lid and the base board (11); Claim 24-wherein the rod (28) is allowed to pass through a through-hole provided at a center of the fixing lid (13, as seen in Figs. 1-6) and a center of the base board (11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Gompel as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view WO 2004083047 (“SHAPIR et al.”)
Van Gompel demonstrates a transportable pallet made of recycle material but does not expressly disclose the leg separable with an inserted leg component and receiving leg component.
Regarding Claims 20-21, SHAPIR et al. discloses a similar invention having a transportable pallet (52) with a plurality of adjustable legs (10, 50) comprising Claim 20- wherein: the base board is made of a recyclable material; and the leg (10, 50) is separable from the base board and reusable; claim 21-, wherein the leg (10, 50) includes a combined leg component composed of an inserted leg component (12) and a receiving leg component (20); and the leg is composed of the inserted leg component (12) and the receiving leg component (20) that are stacked by inserting a top part of the inserted leg component (12) to a bottom opening of the receiving leg component (20);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have installed adjustable legs on the pallet taught Van Gompel providing adjustable support legs that can be easily attached and detached to pallets of different thickness, making it easy for a different size forklifts to pass below the pallet.
Regarding Claim 22, the combination discloses (as modified Van Gompel) in the collective shape of three circles (12), the leg is disposed at a position outside a center of any one of the circles (12) along a line passing through the center and a center of gravity of a triangle formed by connecting the centers of the three circles (12).[ the legs are capable of being position according to a position as set forth in claim 22, as it would be an obvious choice to having skill in the art.
Claims 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Gompel as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view US 20070065269 (“Aoki et al.”).
Van Gompel discloses the claimed invention but does not expressly disclose a container storing the drums mounted and wherein the drums mounted on the pallet are loaded into a container and a vehicle.
Regarding Claims 25-28, Aoki et al. discloses a similar pallet (P1) comprising Claim 25 a container (A, best seen in Figs. 10-11) storing a plurality of drums mounted on the pallet according to claim 17 (in the same manner as the pallets shown in Figs.1-15) ; Claim 26- comprising storing a plurality of drums in a container (A) with the pallet according to claim 17.; CLAIM 27- wherein the drums mounted on the pallet are stored in the container (A) in a state where one of the drums is closely placed in a recess defined by other adjacent two of the drums; CLAIM 28- wherein the drums mounted on the pallet are loaded into a vehicle (T).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have stacked and arranged the pallets in a container and/or on a truck, to efficiently store, load and transport the pallets as taught by Aoki et al.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637