DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeine et al. (US 2021/0408833; “Zeine”).
Regarding claim 1, Zeine teaches an apparatus (figure 4) comprising:
at least two antennas (490A-490N);
a signal combiner component (455) that includes at least two combiner inputs (from antennas 490A-490N), each combiner input being electrically coupled to a respective antenna of the at least two antennas (490A-490N); and
a rectifier component (450) that includes a rectifier input electrically coupled to a combiner output of the signal combiner component (455).
As for claim 2, Zeine teaches a rechargeable battery (420) that includes a battery input that is electrically coupled to a rectifier output of the rectifier component (450).
As for claim 3, Zeine teaches wherein the signal combiner component (455) is configured to:
receive, from each antenna of the at least two antennas (490A-490N), a respective signal from the antenna based at least in part on electrically coupling the antenna to a respective combiner input of the at least two combiner inputs (See configuration of figure 4 and para. [0053]);
combine each respective signal together to generate a combined signal (para. [0053]); and
output the combined signal based at least in part on using the combiner output (para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Zeine teaches wherein the signal combiner component (455) is configured to:
receive, from each antenna of the at least two antennas (490A-490N), a respective signal from the antenna based at least in part on electrically coupling the antenna to a respective combiner input of the at least two combiner inputs (See configuration of figure 4);
generate, for each respective signal, a respective modified signal (See control line from control logic 410 to combiner 455);
combine the respective modified signal with one or more other modified signals to generate a combined signal (output of 455); and
output the combined signal based at least in part on using the combiner output (para. [0053]).
As for claim 5, Zeine teaches an energy meter (440/410) that includes:
an energy meter input (input of 440) that is electrically coupled to a rectifier output of the rectifier component (450); and
an energy meter output (output of 410 to combiner 455) that is electrically coupled to one combiner input of the at least two combiner inputs,
wherein the signal combiner component (455) is configured to generate the respective modified signal based at least in part on the energy meter output (from control logic 410).
Regarding claim 6, Zeine teaches wherein the signal combiner component, to generate the respective modified signal, is further configured to: select a respective modification for the respective signal based at least in part on optimizing a power level of the combined signal (Zeine teaches controlling elements of the wireless power receiver 400 base on various inputs including measurements from the power meter 440, the battery 420, and motion sensor 495. Para. [0053]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Zeine teaches an energy meter (440/410) that includes:
an energy meter input (input of 440) that is electrically coupled to a rectifier output of the rectifier component (450); and
an energy meter output (output of 410 to combiner 455) that is electrically coupled to one combiner input of the at least two combiner inputs,
wherein the signal combiner component (455) is configured to select the respective modification based at least in part on the energy meter output (from control logic 410).
Claim 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnitz et al. (US 2020/0119591; “Arnitz”).
Regarding claim 8, Arnitz teaches an apparatus (figure 4) comprising:
at least two antennas (405);
at least two rectifier components (415), each rectifier component being electrically coupled to one or more antennas of the at least two antennas (405); and
a signal combiner component (422) that is electrically coupled to at least one rectifier component of the at least two rectifier components (415).
As for claim 9, Arnitz teaches a rechargeable battery (425; para. [0059]) that includes a battery input that is electrically coupled to a combiner output of the signal combiner component (422).
As for claim 10, Arnitz teaches wherein, for each antenna of the at least two antennas (405), the antenna is electrically coupled to a rectifier input of a respective rectifier component of the at least two rectifier components (415).
Regarding claim 11, Arnitz teaches at least one signal filter (410; Impedance-matching components 410 block power signals and harmonics. Para. [0044]), wherein at least one rectifier component (415) is electrically coupled to an antenna of the at least two antennas (405) based at least in part on the at least one signal filter (410).
As for claim 12, Arnitz teaches wherein the signal combiner component (422) comprises at least two combiner inputs (from converters 420), and
wherein each combiner input (inputs to 422) of the at least two combiner inputs is electrically coupled to a rectifier output of a respective rectifier component (415) of the at least two rectifier components (415).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (CN 108847722; “Ma”).
Regarding claim 18, Ma teaches an apparatus (figure 1) comprising:
at least two antennas (20);
at least two power splitter components (22), each power splitter component being electrically coupled to one or more antennas of the at least two antennas (20); and
at least two rectifier components (21), each rectifier component being electrically coupled to one or more power splitter components (22).
As for claim 19, Ma teaches a rechargeable battery that is electrically coupled to a respective rectifier output of each rectifier component of the at least two rectifier components (The device of Ma is drawn to a charging device for a mobile phone, Bluetooth earphone, or tablet computer. Mobile phones, Bluetooth earphones, and tablet computers comprise batteries that are rechargeable to supply power to the mobile phone, Bluetooth earphone, and tablet computer.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnitz in view of Logan et al. (US 2018/0337563; “Logan”).
Regarding claim 13, Arnitz teaches wherein the signal combiner component (422) comprises at least two combiner inputs (see figure 4),
wherein the at least two antennas comprise at least a first antenna (uppermost antenna 405 in figure 4) and a second antenna (lowermost antenna 405 in figure 4),
wherein the first antenna (uppermost antenna 405) is electrically coupled to a first rectifier component (uppermost rectifier 415) of the at least two rectifier components (415), and
wherein the second antenna (lowermost antenna 405) is electrically coupled to a second rectifier component (lowermost rectifier 415) of the at least two rectifier components (415).
Arnitz fails to teach the first antenna being part of a first antenna group and the second antenna being part of a second antenna group.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to connect a group of antennas to a single rectifier device. For example, see antennas 406/408 connected to rectifier device 306 in figure 5 of Logan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect a group of antennas to each rectifying device of Arnitz because such a modification would have been implementing a well-known power receiver configuration.
Regarding claim 14, Arnitz modified by Logan teaches wherein the first rectifier component (uppermost rectifier 415) comprises multiple rectifier inputs (as modified by Logan), and
wherein, for each antenna of the first antenna group, the antenna is electrically coupled to a respective rectifier input of the multiple rectifier inputs (See figure 4 of Arnitz and figure 5 of Logan).
As for claim 15, Arnitz teaches wherein the signal combiner component (422) comprises at least:
a first combiner input (connected to uppermost rectifier 415) that is electrically coupled to a first rectifier output of the first rectifier component (uppermost rectifier 415), and
a second combiner input (connected to lowermost rectifier 415) that is electrically coupled to a second rectifier output of the second rectifier component (lowermost rectifier 415).
As for claim 16, Arnitz modified by Logan teaches wherein the signal combiner (422) component is a first signal combiner component (portion of 422 coupled to uppermost rectifying device 415),
wherein the first antenna group (uppermost antenna 405 of Arnitz modified by Logan) is electrically coupled to the first rectifier component (uppermost rectifier 415) based at least in part on the first signal combiner component (422) being electrically coupled to the first antenna group (uppermost antenna 405 of Arnitz modified by Logan) and the first rectifier component (uppermost rectifier 415), and
wherein the second antenna group (lowermost antenna 405 of Arnitz modified by Logan) is electrically coupled to the second rectifier component (lowermost rectifier 415) based at least in part on a second signal combiner (portion of 422 coupled to lowermost rectifying device 415) component that is electrically coupled to the second antenna group (lowermost antenna 405 of Arnitz modified by Logan) and the second rectifier component (lowermost rectifier 415).
Regarding claim 17, Arnitz modified by Logan teaches wherein, for each antenna of the first antenna group (uppermost antenna 405 of Arnitz modified by Logan), the antenna is electrically coupled to a respective combiner input of the at least two combiner inputs of the first signal combiner component (422), and
wherein a combiner output of the first signal combiner component (portion of 422 coupled to uppermost rectifying device 415) is electrically coupled to a rectifier input of the first rectifier component (uppermost rectifier 415).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Leabman et al. (US 2018/0226840) teaches multiple antennas, multiple rectifiers, and signal combiners. Figures 5-7.
Ting et al. (US 2021/0359656) teaches multiple antennas, multiple rectifiers, and a power splitter. Figures 2-3.
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 September 3, 2026