DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the "Use" claims do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, as required by 35 U.S.C. 101. In re Moreton, 288 F.2d 708, 709, 129 USPQ 227, 228 (CCPA 1961)("one cannot claim a new use per se, because it is not among the categories of patentable inventions specified in 35 U.S.C. § 101 ").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-19, 22, 30, 32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Juhasz (DE 3901335 A1 – see translation provided by Examiner).
With respect to claim 17, Juhasz teaches a silencer for compressed air systems (device of Figure 3, [0001]), comprising: a housing (2) with an inlet opening (defined by openings though portion #5) for a compressed gas flow; a chamber (defined by interior space of housing #2, accommodating perforated disks #13 and damping body #25); a sound damper (25) provided in the chamber ([0016]); a grid (defined by downstream one of perforated disks #13) comprising at least two passages (18) through which the compressed gas flow is adapted to leave the chamber; and a skirt (defined by downstream-most portion of housing #2 extending beyond downstream one of perforated disks #13) arranged downstream of the grid (13), wherein the skirt is adapted to guide the compressed gas leaving the at least two passages (18) of the grid (18).
With respect to claim 18, Juhasz teaches wherein the skirt (defined by downstream-most portion of housing #2 extending beyond downstream one of perforated disks #13) has a cylindrical, polygonal, or hexagonal cross-section, or a combination of different cross-sections.
With respect to claim 19, Juhasz teaches wherein the skirt (defined by downstream-most portion of housing #2 extending beyond downstream one of perforated disks #13) has a constant cross-sectional area, or a cross-sectional area increasing or decreasing over a length of the skirt in a downstream direction.
With respect to claim 22, Juhasz teaches wherein a cross-sectional area of the skirt (defined by downstream-most portion of housing #2 extending beyond downstream one of perforated disks #13) at the inlet of the skirt is larger than a sum of the cross-sectional areas of all passages (18) at their respective outlets.
With respect to claim 30, Juhasz teaches wherein a cross-section of the at least two passages (18) is round (best seen in Figure 2).
With respect to claim 32, Juhasz teaches wherein the inlet of the at least two passages (18) and the outlet of at least two passages (18) have the same cross-sectional area.
With respect to claim 35, Juhasz teaches Use of a silencer according to claim 17 (device of Figure 3) for a braking system of a commercial vehicle ([0001]). It is considered to be well known and inherent that air brakes are commonly used in commercial trucking vehicles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-21, 23-29, 31 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juhasz (DE 3901335 A1 – see translation provided by Examiner).
With respect to claims 20-21, Juhasz teaches the silencer of claim 17. Juhasz further teaches wherein the skirt (defined by downstream-most portion of housing #2 extending beyond downstream one of perforated disks #13) has an obvious, but unspecified length.
Juhasz fails to explicitly teach wherein the skirt has a length between 2 and 200 mm, or wherein the skirt has a length of at least 50 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the skirt has a length between 2 and 200 mm, or wherein the skirt has a length of at least 50 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, specify a skirt length range would have been well known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, so as to tune the device.
With respect to claims 23-24, Juhasz teaches the silencer of claim 17. Juhasz further teaches wherein the at least two passages (18) have an obvious, but unspecified length.
Juhasz fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least two passages have a length between 3 and 200 mm, or wherein the at least two passages have a length of at least 10 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least two passages have a length between 3 and 200 mm, or wherein the at least two passages have a length of at least 10 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, specify a length range of the at least two passages would have been well known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, so as to tune the device.
With respect to claims 25, 31 and 33-34, Juhasz teaches the silencer of claim 17. Juhasz further teaches the at least two passages (18) have a cross-sectional area and associated shape.
Juhasz fails to explicitly teach wherein a cross-sectional area of the at least two passages respectively decreases from the inlet of the passage until a portion with a smallest diameter, and increases from the portion with smallest diameter towards the outlet of the passage; or wherein a portion with a smallest diameter of the at least two passages has a cross-sectional area between 80% and 95% of the cross-sectional area of the inlet of at least two passages and/or the outlet of at least two passages; or wherein a cross-sectional area of at least two passages is larger at the inlet of at least two passages than at the portion with a smallest diameter and the outlet of at least two passages, and the cross-sectional area of the at least two passages is larger at the outlet of at least two passages than at the portion with the smallest diameter; or wherein across-sectional area of at least two passages is larger at the outlet of at least two passages than at the portion with a smallest diameter and the inlet of at least two passages, and the cross-sectional area of at least two passages is larger at the inlet of at least two passages than at the portion with the smallest diameter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a cross-sectional area of the at least two passages respectively decreases from the inlet of the passage until a portion with a smallest diameter, and increases from the portion with smallest diameter towards the outlet of the passage; or wherein a portion with a smallest diameter of the at least two passages has a cross-sectional area between 80% and 95% of the cross-sectional area of the inlet of at least two passages and/or the outlet of at least two passages; or wherein a cross-sectional area of at least two passages is larger at the inlet of at least two passages than at the portion with a smallest diameter and the outlet of at least two passages, and the cross-sectional area of the at least two passages is larger at the outlet of at least two passages than at the portion with the smallest diameter; or wherein across-sectional area of at least two passages is larger at the outlet of at least two passages than at the portion with a smallest diameter and the inlet of at least two passages, and the cross-sectional area of at least two passages is larger at the inlet of at least two passages than at the portion with the smallest diameter, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Juhasz. Further, Applicant has not established any criticality to the claimed cross-sectional shapes of the passages, and altering the shape of the cross-sections of the passages would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill.
With respect to claims 26, Juhasz teaches the silencer of claim 17. Juhasz further teaches wherein the grid has an effective surface ratio of an obvious, but unspecified length.
Juhasz fails to explicitly teach wherein the grid has an effective surface ratio between 60% and 90%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the grid has an effective surface ratio between 60% and 90%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, specify an effective surface ratio of the grid would have been well known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, so as to tune the device.
With respect to claims 27, Juhasz teaches the silencer of claim 17. Juhasz further teaches the sound damper (25) which consists of a metal mesh, a foam or the like [0016].
Juhasz fails to explicitly teach wherein the sound damper comprises a fibrous material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the sound damper comprises a fibrous material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In this case, fibrous materials are well known to have damping characteristics in a similar manner to metal mesh, a foam or the like, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill for use in the Juhasz device.
With respect to claims 28-29, Juhasz teaches the silencer of claim 17. Juhasz further teaches the at least two passages (18) have a cross-sectional shape.
Juhasz fails to explicitly teach wherein a cross-section of the at least two passages is polygonal or hexagonal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wherein a cross-section of the at least two passages is polygonal or hexagonal, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Juhasz.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837