DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, lines 3 and 4 recite “causing performance or continuing performance causes performance or continuing performance of the media presentation”. This limitation is repetitive on itself and it should recite “causing performance or continuing performance of the media presentation”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0320854 by Lien et al. (“Lien”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0300970 by Nguyen et al. (“Nguyen”).
As to claim 1, Lien discloses a method (Lien, Figure 5) comprising:
transmitting a first radar-transmit signal from a first radar-enabled computing device of a computing system (Lien, Each of these type-specific radar systems 102 emit radar to provide a radar field 110, and then receive reflection signals 112 from an object moving in the radar field 110. ¶ [0019-0020]), the first radar-enabled computing device within a first proximate region of a physical region, the physical region larger than the first proximate region (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043])(Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]);
receiving, at the first radar-enabled computing device, a first radar-receive signal (Lien, Each of these type-specific radar systems 102 emit radar to provide a radar field 110, and then receive reflection signals 112 from an object moving in the radar field 110. ¶ [0020]);
transmitting a second radar-transmit signal from a second radar-enabled computing device of the computing system (Lien, Each of these type-specific radar systems 102 emit radar to provide a radar field 110, and then receive reflection signals 112 from an object moving in the radar field 110. ¶ [0020]), the second radar-enabled device within a second proximate region of the physical region, the second radar-enabled computing device having access to the one or more stored radar-signal characteristics (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043])(Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]);
receiving, at the second radar-enabled computing device, a second radar-receive signal (Lien, Each of these type-specific radar systems 102 emit radar to provide a radar field 110, and then receive reflection signals 112 from an object moving in the radar field 110. ¶ [0020]); and
Lien continues to teach the determination of gestures based on the radar detection (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]).
Lien does not expressly teach
comparing a first radar-signal characteristic of the first radar-receive signal to one or more stored radar-signal characteristics, the comparing effective to correlate the first radar-signal characteristic to a first stored radar-signal characteristic of a registered user, the correlation indicating a presence of the registered user within the first proximate region;
comparing a second radar-signal characteristic of the second radar-receive signal to the one or more stored radar-signal characteristics, the comparing effective to determine that the second radar-signal characteristic correlates to the first stored radar-signal characteristic or a second stored radar-signal characteristic of the registered user, the correlation indicating the presence of the registered user within the second proximate region.
Nguyen teaches a biometric authentication system
comparing a first radar-signal characteristic of the first radar-receive signal to one or more stored radar-signal characteristics, the comparing effective to correlate the first radar-signal characteristic to a first stored radar-signal characteristic of a registered user, the correlation indicating a presence of the registered user within the first proximate region (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]);
comparing a second radar-signal characteristic of the second radar-receive signal to the one or more stored radar-signal characteristics, the comparing effective to determine that the second radar-signal characteristic correlates to the first stored radar-signal characteristic or a second stored radar-signal characteristic of the registered user, the correlation indicating the presence of the registered user within the second proximate region (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]).
The combination of Lien and Nguyen teaches the multiple client device in multiple regions detecting a user and comparing their biometric data with preregistered biometric data to determine a registered user.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lien’s radar detection system to include Nguyen’s radar based user authentication because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Lien’s radar detection system as modified by Nguyen’s radar based user authentication is known to yield a predictable result of determining the user being a preregistered user since improves the sensing system to permits certain users to provide allowable gesture inputs. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Lien’s radar detection system the ability to do Nguyen’s radar based user authentication since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the comparison of radar data to determine a registered user.
As to claim 2, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method wherein the physical region is a domicile, the first proximate region is a first room of the domicile, and the second proximate region is a second room of the domicile (Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]). As shown in figure 6 of Lien, the radar fields may be located in multiple different rooms.
As to claim 3, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method further comprising:
receiving, at a first time and at the first radar-enabled computing device (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]), a first portion of a command from the registered user (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]);
receiving, at a second, later time and at the second radar-enabled computing device (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]), a second portion of the command from the registered user (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]); and
determining, based on the presence of the registered user within the first proximate region at the first time and on the presence of the registered user within the second proximate region at the second, later time, that the first portion and the second portion of the command are associated (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047])(Lien, At 516, the method 500 passes each of the determined gestures or actions to an application or device effective to control or alter a display, function, or capability associated with the application. Figure 5, ¶ [0049]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 4, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method further comprising:
responsive to determining that the first portion and the second portion of the command are associated, causing performance of the command (Lien, At 516, the method 500 passes each of the determined gestures or actions to an application or device effective to control or alter a display, function, or capability associated with the application. Figure 5, ¶ [0049]).
As to claim 5, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method wherein:
the command is a two-part command (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]);
the first portion of the command is received through a first gesture recognized by a first radar system associated with the first radar-enabled computing device or is received through a first audio input recognized by a first audio system associated with the first radar-enabled computing device (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]);
the second portion of the command is received through a second gesture recognized by a second radar system associated with the second radar-enabled computing device or is received though a second audio input recognized by a second audio system associated with the second radar-enabled computing device (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]); and
the association of the first portion of the command and the second portion of the command is based on the command being the two-part command (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047])(Lien, At 516, the method 500 passes each of the determined gestures or actions to an application or device effective to control or alter a display, function, or capability associated with the application. Figure 5, ¶ [0049]).
As to claim 6, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method wherein:
the command is a single command (Lien, Note that in some cases a single gesture or action is determined for multiple different raw data 120, and thus multiple different type-agnostic signal representations 124, such as in a case where two radar systems or fields are simultaneously used to sense a movement of a person in different radar fields. ¶ [0022]);
the first portion of the command is received through a first part of a gesture recognized by a first radar system associated with the first radar-enabled computing device or is received through a first part of an audio input recognized by a first audio system associated with the first radar-enabled computing device (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]); and
the second portion of the command is received through a second part of the gesture recognized by a second radar system associated with the second radar-enabled computing device or is received through a second part of the audio input recognized by a second audio system associated with the second radar-enabled computing device (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]).
As to claim 7, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method further comprising:
responsive to the determination of the presence of the registered user within the second proximate region, configuring the second radar-enabled computing device to determine an association of the first and second portions of the command (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]) (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 8, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method wherein the configuring includes passing, to an entity associated with the computing system that is accessible by the second radar-enabled computing device, information about the first portion of the command (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]) (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 9, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method wherein one or more operations or applications are being performed within the first proximate region incident with performing one or more elements of the method, and further comprising, responsive to the correlation indicating the presence of the registered user within the second proximate region, causing performance or continuing performance of the one or more operations or applications within the second proximate region (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043])(Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]).
As to claim 10, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method wherein the one or more operations or applications is a media presentation within the first proximate region and causing performance or continuing performance causes performance or continuing performance of the media presentation within the second proximate region (Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]). The operation of a television provides the media presentation.
As to claim 11, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method wherein:
the first radar-enabled computing device is configured to anticipate the registered user based on the first radar-enabled computing device being located in the first proximate region (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]);
determining, at the first radar-enabled computing device, that an ambiguous user is present, the ambiguous user being the registered user, another registered user, or an unregistered person (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]); and
determining that the ambiguous user is the registered user based on the second radar-enabled computing device being configured to anticipate the registered user (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 12, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method further comprising detecting that the second radar-enabled computing device has been moved to the first proximate region (Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]); and configuring the second radar-enabled computing device to anticipate detecting the registered user (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 13, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the method wherein the first radar-enabled computing device is configured to anticipate a known gesture based on the first radar-enabled computing device being located in the first proximate region(Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]), the method further comprising:
detecting, at the first radar-enabled computing device, an ambiguous gesture (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]); and
determining, based on the first radar-enabled computing device being configured to anticipate the known gesture, that the ambiguous gesture is the known gesture (Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]).
As to claim 15, Lien discloses a computing system comprising a first radar- enabled computing device and a second radar-enabled computing device (Lien, The computing device 402 is also shown including one or more type-specific radar systems 102 from FIG. 1. As noted, these type-specific radar systems 102 each provide different types of the radar fields 110, whether by different types of radar-emitting elements 104 or different ways of using as little as one type of radar-emitting element 104, and thus provide different types of raw data 120. ¶ [0036]) connected to a communication network to enable operations (Lien, The computing device 402 may also include one or more network interfaces 408 for communicating data over wired, wireless, or optical networks and a display 410. ¶ [0035]) including:
transmitting a first radar-transmit signal from the first radar-enabled computing device of the computing system (Lien, Each of these type-specific radar systems 102 emit radar to provide a radar field 110, and then receive reflection signals 112 from an object moving in the radar field 110. ¶ [0020]), the first radar-enabled computing device within a first proximate region of a physical region, the physical region larger than the first proximate region (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043])(Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]);
receiving, at the first radar-enabled computing device, a first radar-receive signal (Lien, Each of these type-specific radar systems 102 emit radar to provide a radar field 110, and then receive reflection signals 112 from an object moving in the radar field 110. ¶ [0020]);
transmitting a second radar-transmit signal from the second radar-enabled computing device of the computing system (Lien, Each of these type-specific radar systems 102 emit radar to provide a radar field 110, and then receive reflection signals 112 from an object moving in the radar field 110. ¶ [0020]), the second radar-enabled device within a second proximate region of the physical region, the second radar-enabled computing device having access to the one or more stored radar-signal characteristics (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043])(Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]);
receiving, at the second radar-enabled computing device, a second radar-receive signal (Lien, Each of these type-specific radar systems 102 emit radar to provide a radar field 110, and then receive reflection signals 112 from an object moving in the radar field 110. ¶ [0020]); and
Lien continues to teach the determination of gestures based on the radar detection (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]).
Lien does not expressly teach
comparing a first radar-signal characteristic of the first radar-receive signal to one or more stored radar-signal characteristics, the comparing effective to correlate the first radar-signal characteristic to a first stored radar-signal characteristic of a registered user, the correlation indicating a presence of the registered user within the first proximate region;
comparing a second radar-signal characteristic of the second radar-receive signal to the one or more stored radar-signal characteristics, the comparing effective to determine that the second radar-signal characteristic correlates to the first stored radar-signal characteristic or a second stored radar-signal characteristic of the registered user, the correlation indicating the presence of the registered user within the second proximate region.
Nguyen teaches a biometric authentication system
comparing a first radar-signal characteristic of the first radar-receive signal to one or more stored radar-signal characteristics, the comparing effective to correlate the first radar-signal characteristic to a first stored radar-signal characteristic of a registered user, the correlation indicating a presence of the registered user within the first proximate region (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]);
comparing a second radar-signal characteristic of the second radar-receive signal to the one or more stored radar-signal characteristics, the comparing effective to determine that the second radar-signal characteristic correlates to the first stored radar-signal characteristic or a second stored radar-signal characteristic of the registered user, the correlation indicating the presence of the registered user within the second proximate region (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]).
The combination of Lien and Nguyen teaches the multiple client device in multiple regions detecting a user and comparing their biometric data with preregistered biometric data to determine a registered user.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lien’s radar detection system to include Nguyen’s radar based user authentication because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Lien’s radar detection system as modified by Nguyen’s radar based user authentication is known to yield a predictable result of determining the user being a preregistered user since improves the sensing system to permits certain users to provide allowable gesture inputs. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Lien’s radar detection system the ability to do Nguyen’s radar based user authentication since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the comparison of radar data to determine a registered user.
As to claim 16, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the computing system further comprising:
receiving, at a first time and at the first radar-enabled computing device (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]), a first portion of a command from the registered user (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]);
receiving, at a second, later time and at the second radar-enabled computing device (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]), a second portion of the command from the registered user (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]);
determining, based on the presence of the registered user within the first proximate region at the first time and on the presence of the registered user within the second proximate region at the second, later time, that the first portion and the second portion of the command are associated (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047])(Lien, At 516, the method 500 passes each of the determined gestures or actions to an application or device effective to control or alter a display, function, or capability associated with the application. Figure 5, ¶ [0049]); and
responsive to determining that the first portion and the second portion of the command are associated, causing performance of the command (Lien, At 516, the method 500 passes each of the determined gestures or actions to an application or device effective to control or alter a display, function, or capability associated with the application. Figure 5, ¶ [0049]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 15.
As to claim 17, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the computing system further comprising:
responsive to the determination of the presence of the registered user within the second proximate region, configuring the second radar-enabled computing device to determine an association of the first and second portions of the command (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]) (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]) (Lien, At 514, the method 500 determines, for each of the two or more type-agnostic signal representations created at operation 504, a gesture or action of the object within the respective two or more different radar fields. Figure 5, ¶ [0047]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 15.
As to claim 18, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the computing system wherein:
the first radar-enabled computing device is configured to anticipate the registered user based on the first radar-enabled computing device being located in the first proximate region(Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]);
determining, at the first radar-enabled computing device, that an ambiguous user is present, the ambiguous user being the registered user, another registered user, or an unregistered person (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]); and
determining that the ambiguous user is the registered user based on the second radar-enabled computing device being configured to anticipate the registered user (Nguyen, Any of the client devices 106-114 can function as a radar emitter and collector for biometric authentication purposes. For example, any of the client devices 106-114 can collect and compare biometric data of the user to preregistered biometric data to authenticate the user. After the user is authenticated, the client devices 106-114 can provide access to the user of the requested content, such as information that is locally stored on a respective client device, stored on another client device, or stored on the server 104. ¶ [0050]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 15.
As to claim 19, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, teaches the computing system wherein the first radar-enabled computing device is configured to anticipate a known gesture based on the first radar-enabled computing device being located in the first proximate region (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]), the method further comprising:
detecting, at the first radar-enabled computing device, an ambiguous gesture (Lien, at 502, receives different types of type-specific raw data representing two or more different reflection signals. These two or more different reflection signals, as noted above, are each reflected from an object moving in each of two or more different radar fields. These reflection signals can be received at a same or nearly same time for one movement in two radar fields or two different movements in two different fields at different times. Figure 5, ¶ [0043]); and
determining, based on the first radar-enabled computing device being configured to anticipate the known gesture, that the ambiguous gesture is the known gesture (Lien, consider six different radar fields 110, shown at radar fields 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, and 612 of FIG. 6. While difficult to show differences at the granular level of modulations schemes and so forth, FIG. 6 illustrates some of the different applications of these radar fields, from close to far, and from high resolution to low, and so forth. The radar fields 602, 604, and 606 include three similar radar fields for detecting user actions and gestures, such as walking in or out of a room, making a large gesture to operate a game on a television or computer, and a smaller gesture for controlling a thermostat or oven. Figure 6, ¶ [0044]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 14, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, does not expressly teach the method further comprising, responsive to determining the presence of the registered user:
providing, at the first radar-enabled computing device, training to teach the registered user to perform one or more particular known gestures;
maintaining, for the registered user, a first training history comprising the one or more particular known gestures as performed by the registered user during training, the second radar-enabled computing device further configured to access the first training history; and
responsive to determining, at the second radar-enabled computing device, the presence of the registered user, resuming training at the second radar-enabled computing device based on the first training history.
Additional prior art of White et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0083373) teaches a gesture training mode for authorized user (White, Figures 3-7, ¶ [0023-0026]). However, White does not expressly teach the training history and resumption of training based on that history as claimed.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to claim 20, Lien, as modified by Nguyen, does not expressly teach the computing system further comprising,
responsive to determining the presence of the registered user: providing, at the first radar-enabled computing device, training to teach the registered user to perform one or more particular known gestures;
maintaining, for the registered user, a first training history comprising the one or more particular known gestures as performed by the registered user during training, the second radar-enabled computing device further configured to access the first training history; and
responsive to determining, at the second radar-enabled computing device, the presence of the registered user, resuming training at the second radar-enabled computing device based on the first training history.
Additional prior art of White et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0083373) teaches a gesture training mode for authorized user (White, Figures 3-7, ¶ [0023-0026]). However, White does not expressly teach the training history and resumption of training based on that history as claimed.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
Conclusion
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623