DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s Amendment to the Claims (filed 8/7/2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Egusa (DE 10 2015 100 229 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Egusa (at least Figs. 12-14; also see annotated Fig. 12 attached herewith) discloses
(claim 1) an airbag system 10 comprising:
a side airbag 132 inflated and deployed toward a front side of a vehicle 12 at a side portion on a vehicle width direction center side of a first seat (driver’s seat 16) of the vehicle 12;
a front airbag 138 inflated and deployed at a vehicle's front side of a second seat (passenger’s seat) provided adjacent to the first seat (driver’s seat 16) of the vehicle 12 in a vehicle width direction; and
a control device 42 causing the front airbag 138 to be inflated and deployed together with the side airbag 132 at a time of a side collision of the vehicle 12,
wherein when the side airbag 132 inflated and deployed and the front airbag
138 inflated and deployed are viewed from a lateral direction perpendicular to a
front-rear direction of the vehicle 12, the side airbag 132 includes a main chamber with a sub chamber that protrudes from the main chamber and the sub chamber includes a contact region that contacts the front airbag 138, and wherein the main chamber of the side airbag includes a first end portion in the front-rear direction of the vehicle and the front airbag includes a second end portion in the front-rear direction of the vehicle and defining an overlapping portion at which the side airbag 132 and the front airbag 138 overlap each other in the front-rear direction of the vehicle and wherein the sub chamber is within the overlapping portion entirely between the first end portion and the second end portion in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (see annotated Fig. 12 attached herewith);
(claim 9) wherein the front airbag 138 is a front airbag for a front passenger's seat.
Claims 2, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watamori et al. (DE 10 2015 214 729 A1), previously cited by Examiner.
Regarding claims 2, 13, and 16, Watamori et al. (at least Figs. 1, 2, 4A-8; also see annotated Figs. 4A & 6 attached herewith) discloses
(claim 2) an airbag system 10 comprising:
a side airbag 42 inflated and deployed toward a front side of a vehicle 1 at a side portion on a vehicle width direction center side of a first seat (driver’s seat - at least Fig. 1) of the vehicle 1;
a front airbag 23-25 inflated and deployed at a vehicle's front side of a second seat (passenger’s seat 7 - at least Fig. 1) of the vehicle 1; and
a control device 15 causing the front airbag 23-25 to be inflated and deployed together with the side airbag 42 at a time of a side collision of the vehicle,
wherein when the side airbag 42 inflated and deployed and the front airbag
23-25 inflated and deployed are viewed from a lateral direction perpendicular to a
front-rear direction of the vehicle 1, the front airbag 23-25 includes a main chamber 24 with a sub chamber 25 that protrudes from the main chamber 24 and the sub chamber 25 includes a contact region that contacts the side airbag 42, and wherein the main chamber 24 of the front airbag 23-25 includes a first end portion in the front-rear direction of the vehicle and side airbag includes a second end portion in the front-rear direction of the vehicle and defining an overlapping portion at which the side airbag 42 and the front airbag 23-25 overlap each other in the front-rear direction of the vehicle and wherein the sub chamber 25 is within the overlapping portion entirely between the first end portion and the second end portion in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (see annotated Figs. 4A & 6 attached herewith);
(claim 13) wherein the front airbag 23-25 includes: the main chamber 24 inflated and deployed toward a vehicle's rear side; and the sub chamber 25 inflated and deployed so as to protrude from the main chamber 24 toward a center side in a vehicle's width direction (at least Fig. 6);
(claim 16) wherein the front airbag 23-25 is a front airbag for a front passenger's seat 7 (at least Figs. 1, 2, 4A-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egusa (DE 10 2015 100 229 A1) in view of JP 2021-062818A, previously cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 5, Egusa (at least Figs. 12-14; also see annotated Fig. 12 attached herewith) discloses the claimed invention, wherein the side airbag 132 includes: the main chamber inflated and deployed toward a vehicle's front side; and the sub chamber inflated and deployed so as to protrude from the main chamber.
But Egusa (at least Figs. 12-14; also see annotated Fig. 12 attached herewith) does not explicitly disclose the sub chamber inflated and deployed so as to protrude from the main chamber toward a center side in a vehicle's width direction.
JP 2021-062818A (at least Figs. 1-4, 6) discloses that it is known in the art to provide a side airbag 10, 24, wherein the side airbag includes: a main chamber 28 inflated and deployed toward a vehicle's front side; and a sub chamber 30 inflated and deployed so as to protrude from the main chamber 28 toward a center side in a vehicle's width direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sub chamber of the side airbag of Egusa with the sub chamber according to the teachings of
JP 2021-062818A, in order to achieve the desirable result of facilitating occupant protection.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Egusa (at least Figs. 12-14; also see annotated Fig. 12 attached herewith) discloses the claimed invention except for
(claim 7) wherein the side airbag 132 is provided with a first high-friction portion having a larger friction coefficient than a surface portion of a base fabric panel constituting the side airbag 132;
(claim 8) wherein the front airbag 138 is provided with a first high-friction portion having a larger friction coefficient than a surface portion of a base fabric panel constituting the front airbag 138.
JP 2021-062818A (at least Figs. 1-4, 6) discloses that it is known in the art to provide
(claim 7) wherein the side airbag 10, 24 is provided with a first high-friction portion 38 having a larger friction coefficient than a surface portion 28 of a base fabric panel constituting the side airbag 10, 24.
JP 2021-062818A also discloses the following:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side airbag of Egusa according to the teachings of JP 2021-062818A, in order to achieve the desirable result of facilitating occupant protection.
Further, regarding claim 8, given the teachings of JP 2021-062818A above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front airbag of Egusa according to the teachings of JP 2021-062818A, in order to achieve the desirable result of facilitating occupant protection.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watamori et al. (DE 10 2015 214 729 A1) in view of JP 2021-062818A, previously cited by Applicant.
Regarding claims 14, and 15, Watamori et al. (at least Figs. 1, 2, 4A-8; also see annotated Fig. 4A attached herewith) discloses the claimed invention except for
(claim 14) wherein the side airbag 42 is provided with a first high-friction portion having a larger friction coefficient than a surface portion of a base fabric panel constituting the side airbag 42;
(claim 15) wherein the front airbag 23-25 is provided with a first high-friction portion having a larger friction coefficient than a surface portion of a base fabric panel constituting the front airbag.
JP 2021-062818A (at least Figs. 1-4, 6) discloses that it is known in the art to provide
(claim 14) wherein the side airbag 10, 24 is provided with a first high-friction portion 38 having a larger friction coefficient than a surface portion 28 of a base fabric panel constituting the side airbag 10, 24.
JP 2021-062818A also disclose the following:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side airbag of Watamori et al. according to the teachings of JP 2021-062818A, in order to achieve the desirable result of facilitating occupant protection.
Further, regarding claim 15, given the teachings of JP 2021-062818A above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front airbag of Watamori et al. according to the teachings of JP 2021-062818A, in order to achieve the desirable result of facilitating occupant protection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 of the REMARKS:
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that at least the limitations “the first end portion of the main chamber of the side airbag” and “the second end portion of the front airbag” argued above pertaining to claims 1 and 2 are sufficiently broad that the rejections above are proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSELYNN Y SLITERIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614