DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzl (WO 2020/123884) in view of Gunther et al (Cell Reports, Vol 26, 2019, pp145-148).
Regarding Claim 1, Goetzl discloses a method of treating traumatic brain injury comprising (methods useful for treating acute TBI, Abstract) administering an effective amount of an agent to a human patient in need thereof (methods for treating a subject having a traumatic brain injury, comprising, administering an effective amount of a PrPc inhibitor to the subject, thereby treating the traumatic brain injury in the subject, Para. [0033]; the subject is a human subject, Para. [0069]).
Goetzl fails to explicitly disclose poly [4-styrenesulfonic acid-co-maleic acid] (PSCMA) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Gunther teaches repairing synaptic damage (Pg. 152, right hand column, first full paragraph from top) and teaches poly [4-styrenesulfonic acid-co-maleic acid] (PSCMA) (polymers blocking Aßo binding to PrPC do so by competitive inhibition upon PrPC binding. We examined this for poly (4-styrenesulfonic acid-co-maleic acid) PSCMA directly binds PrPC PSCMA affinity for Aßo is undetectable by BLI and, when co-applied with full-length PrPC in solution, completely blocks PrPC binding to an Aßo-coated BLI sensor, Pg. 149, right hand column, first full paragraph from top; PSCMA exhibits selectivity for blockade of Aßo binding PrPC, Pg. 150, left hand column, first full paragraph from bottom; The PrPC antagonist, PSCMA, was administered orally to APP/ PS1 mice for 30 days at the 3 mg/kg twice daily dose treatment began at 12 months of age, after Ab accumulation, synapse loss, and learning and memory deficits are well established Oral PSCMA rescued mice from pre-existing phenotypic learning and memory impairment, Pg. 152, left hand column, first partial paragraph from bottom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Goetzl by an agent as taught by Gunther for the purpose of treating TBI by blocking Aßo binding to PrPC (Goetzl, Para. [0033]). See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 2, Goetzl further discloses wherein the subject experienced a concussion and was unconscious for more than one second (the traumatic brain injury is acute TBI, Para. [0010]; Acute TBI was defined as having a concussion that met standard criteria for mild TBI, Para. [00101], See Gharibian, Pg. 5, first partial paragraph from bottom, which states an mTBI is the equivalent of a concussion and typical signs of an mTBI include loss of consciousness less than 30 minutes).
Regarding Claim 3, Goetzl further discloses wherein the subject experienced a concussion and was unconscious for more than 10 seconds (the traumatic brain injury is acute TBI, Para. [0010]; Acute TBI was defined as having a concussion that met standard criteria for mild TBI, Para. [00101], See Gharibian, Pg. 5, first partial paragraph from bottom, which states an mTBI is the equivalent of a concussion and typical signs of an mTBI include loss of consciousness less than 30 minutes).
Regarding Claim 4, Goetzl further discloses wherein the subject does not have a neurodegenerative disease (the subject has traumatic brain injury, Para. [0010]; Traumatic brain injury can increase the risk that a subject will subsequently develop a neurological disease the neurological disease is selected from the group consisting of: Alzheimer's disease, Para. [0068]; compositions used for preventing progression to a neurological disease, Para. [0089]; protocol is effective for preventing Alzheimer's disease, Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 5, Goetzl further discloses wherein the subject does not have Alzheimer's disease (the subject has traumatic brain injury, Para. [0010]; Traumatic brain injury can increase the risk that a subject will subsequently develop a neurological disease the neurological disease is selected from the group consisting of: Alzheimer's disease, Para. [0068]; compositions used for preventing progression to a neurological disease, Para. [0089]; protocol is effective for preventing Alzheimer's disease, Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 6, Goetzl further discloses wherein PSCMA is administered in combination with a second therapeutic agent (The administration of different combinations of anti-PrPc antibodies may be used to treat the traumatic brain injury, Para. [0094]).
Regarding Claim 11, Goetzl discloses a method of treating chronic traumatic encephalopathy (compositions and methods useful for treating chronic traumatic encephalopathy, Para. [0002]; the methods of the present invention would be useful for treating neurological diseases, including. CTE, Para. [00113]) administering an effective amount of an agent to a human patient in need thereof (methods for treating a subject having a traumatic brain injury, comprising, administering an effective amount of a PrPc inhibitor to the subject, thereby treating the traumatic brain injury in the subject, Para. [0033]; the traumatic brain injury is chronic repetitive TBI, Para. [0010]; Subject suffering from a traumatic brain injury can progress to chronic traumatic encephalopathy, Para. [0065]; preventing neuronal cytotoxicity of Aß42o methods would be useful for treating neurological diseases, including CTE, Para. [00134]; treatment with anti-PrPc antibody to prevent neuron cytotoxicity of Aß42o, Para. [00130]; compounds that inhibit or reduce Abeta42 binding activity of neuronal prion protein, Para. [0098]; the subject is a human subject, Para. [0069]). Gunther is in the field of repairing synaptic damage (Pg. 152, right hand column, first full paragraph from top) and teaches poly [4-styrenesulfonic acid-co-maleic acid] (PSCMA) (polymers blocking Aßo binding to PrPC do so by competitive inhibition upon PrPC binding. We examined this for poly (4-styrenesulfonic acid-co-maleic acid) PSCMA directly binds PrPC PSCMA affinity for Aßo is undetectable by BLI and, when co-applied with full-length PrPC in solution, completely blocks PrPC binding to an Aßo-coated BLI sensor, Pg. 149, right hand column, first full paragraph from top; PSCMA exhibits selectivity for blockade of Aßo binding PrPC, Pg. 150, left hand column, first full paragraph from bottom; The PrPC antagonist, PSCMA, was administered orally to APP/ PS1 mice for 30 days at the 3 mg/kg twice daily dose treatment began at 12 months of age, after Ab accumulation, synapse loss, and learning and memory deficits are well established Oral PSCMA rescued mice from pre-existing phenotypic learning and memory impairment, Pg. 152, left hand column, first partial paragraph from bottom). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Goetzl by an agent as taught by Gunther for the purpose of treating CTE by blocking Aßo binding to PrPC (Goetzl, Para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 12, Goetzi further discloses wherein the subject experienced a concussion and was unconscious for more than one second (Features of CTE may appear after a single episode of moderately severe acute TBI or be imposed on a repetitive series of episodes of mild acute TBI, Para. [0065]; Acute TBI was defined as having a concussion that met standard criteria for mild TBI, Para. [00101], See Gharibian, Pg. 5, first partial paragraph from bottom, which states an mTBI is the equivalent of a concussion and typical signs of an mTBI include loss of consciousness less than 30 minutes).
Regarding Claim 13, Goetzl further discloses wherein the subject experienced head a concussion and was unconscious for more than 10 seconds (Features of CTE may appear after a single episode of moderately severe acute TBI or be imposed on a repetitive series of episodes of mild acute TBI, Para. [0065]; Acute TBI was defined as having a concussion that met standard criteria for mild TBI, Para. [00101], See Gharibian, Pg. 5, first partial paragraph from bottom, which states an mTBI is the equivalent of a concussion and typical signs of an mTBl include loss of consclousness less than 30 minutes).
Regarding Claim 14, Goetzl further discloses wherein the subject does not have a neurodegenerative disease (compositions used for preventing progression to a neurological disease, Para. [0089]; protocol is effective for preventing Alzheimer's disease, Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 15, Goetzl further discloses wherein the subject does not have Alzheimer's disease (compositions used for preventing progression to a neurological disease, Para. [0089]; protocol is effective for preventing Alzheimer's disease, Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 16, Goetzl further discloses wherein PSCMA is administered in combination with a second therapeutic agent (The administration of different combinations of anti-PrPc antibodies may be used, Para. [0094]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzl (WO 2020/123884) in view of Gunther et al (Cell Reports, Vol 26, 2019, pp145-148) and Stein (US 8,614,203).
Regarding Claim 7, Goetzl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second therapeutic agent is an anti-inflammatory agent.
Stein is in the field of traumatic brain injury (abstract) and teaches an anti-inflammatory agent (administration of a therapeutically effective amount of a progestin or progestin metabolite, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Goetzl with an agent as taught by Stein for the purpose of treating traumatic brain injury (Stein, Abstract). MPEP 2144.06
Regarding Claim 8, Goetzl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second therapeutic agent is a glucocorticoid, dexamethasone, progesterone, or methylprednisolone.
Stein is in the field of traumatic brain injury (abstract) and teaches an a glucocorticoid, dexamethasone, progesterone, or methylprednisolone (administration of a therapeutically effective amount of a progestin or progestin metabolite, Abstract; the term progesterone refers to a member of the progestin family, Col. 4, Lns. 61-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Goetzl with progesterone as taught by Stein for the purpose of treating traumatic brain injury (Stein, Abstract).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzl (WO 2020/123884) in view of Gunther et al (Cell Reports, Vol 26, 2019, pp145-148) and Dennis (US 2015/0329636).
Regarding Claim 17, Goetzl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second therapeutic agent is an anti-inflammatory agent.
Dennis is in the field of antibodies targeting prion protein (Para. [0010]) and teaches an anti-inflammatory agent (the low affinity anti-BBB-R antibody herein is coupled with a label and/or neurological disorder drug, Para. [0115]; a neurological drug may be. a nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug.. i.e., ibuprofen, Para. [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Goetzl with an agent as taught by Dennis for the purpose of treating brain injury (Dennis, Para. [0153]).
Regarding Claim 18, Goetzl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second therapeutic agent is a glucocorticoid, dexamethasone, progesterone, or methylprednisolone.
Dennis is in the field of antibodies targeting prion protein (Para. [0010]) and teaches the second therapeutic agent is dexamethasone (the low affinity anti-BBB-R antibody herein is coupled with a label and/or neurological disorder drug, Para. [0115]; a neurological drug may be... dexamethasone, Para. [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Goetzl with an agent as taught by Dennis for the purpose of treating brain injury (Dennis, Para. [0153]).
Claims 9, 10, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzl (WO 2020/123884) in view of Gunther et al (Cell Reports, Vol 26, 2019, pp145-148) and Ashton (US 2011/0183944).
Regarding Claim 9, Goetzl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second therapeutic agent is a non-steroidal antiinflammatory drug, indomethacin, ibuprofen, carprofen, or celecoxib.
Ashton is in the field of formulations for preventing neurological disorders, Para. [0059]) and teaches the second therapeutic agent is a non-steroidal antiinflammatory drug or ibuprofen (celecoxib, Para. [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Goetzl with an agent as taught by Ashton for the purpose of treating traumatic brain injury (Ashton, Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claim 10, Goetzl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second therapeutic agent is a statin, simvastatin, atorvastatin, or lovastatin.
Ashton is in the field of formulations for preventing neurological disorders, Para. [0059]) and teaches the second therapeutic agent is a statin, simvastatin, atorvastatin, or lovastatin (simvastatin, Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Goetzl with an agent as taught by Ashton for the purpose of treating traumatic brain injury (Ashton, Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claim 19, Goetzl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second therapeutic agent is a non-steroidal antiinflammatory drug, indomethacin, ibuprofen, carprofen, or celecoxib.
Ashton is in the field of formulations for preventing neurological disorders, Para. [0059]) and teaches the second therapeutic agent is a non-steroidal antiinflammatory drug or ibuprofen (celecoxib, Para. [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Goetzl with an agent as taught by Ashton for the purpose of treating neurological injury (Ashton, Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claim 20, Goetzl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second therapeutic agent is a statin, simvastatin, atorvastatin, or lovastatin.
Ashton is in the field of formulations for preventing neurological disorders, Para. [0059]) and teaches the second therapeutic agent is a statin, simvastatin, atorvastatin, or lovastatin (simvastatin, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Goetzl with an agent as taught by Ashton for the purpose of treating neurological injury (Ashton, Para. [0059]).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612